Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic CenterPoint Laser Boresighter

Generic CenterPoint Laser Boresighter

The CenterPoint Laser Boresighter will help to improve your aim and allow you to zero in on your hunting target. Get the shot you want the first time without wasting excessive amounts of ammo with this convenient piece of tactical gear. This pistol boresighter is designed to fit .17 to .50 caliber guns. It can also be added to many 12, 16 and 20 gauge firearms. This versatile gun accessory can be used with both rifles and pistols that feature a minimum 3.8-inch barrel. This product comes with six adapters for easy application. Use the CenterPoint Laser Boresighter for target practice out on the range or while hunting for various types of wild game.
Average Customer Rating:
2.174 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation35%8 out of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 14 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for CenterPoint Laser Boresighter

got 6 guns on paper with some creativity

01/06/2014
By ,
Hot Springs, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As we all know - you get what you pay for - and this is no different. I removed it from the package and attempted to boresight my first rifle. It seemed to work great. Then I removed it and tried the same gun again and got a totally different position. The sight itself is a great design and is of reasonable quality. However, the attachments that allow it to fit (kinda) snug inside the barrel of your gun absolutely stink. They screw to the boresighter and slide into the barrel of the gun. There are different sizes and they are all adjustable. They way you adjust them is by twisting them causing them to expand and fit kinda snug inside the barrel. Its a great idea, but the problem is they are so cheaply made that even though they get fairly snug inside the barrel, they are not perfectly symmetrical. So when you slide them in the barrel they dont allow the sighter to be aligned perfect or be consistent. And you know that even a millimeter of misalignment will cause the scope to be inches or even feet off at just 20 yards. You may be wondering why i gave this 4 stars - here is why...
The attachments screw to the bore sighter at the end of the skinny shaft and then you slide that part of the sighter inside the barrel. Instead of using the included attachments, I got out my gun cleaning kit. Its a winchester super delux kit. It just so happened that the cleaning rod for my .17 rifle is the same diameter and has the same threads as the boresighter. I attached one of the rods (which made the sighter go farther into the barrel reducing the margin for error) and then added a mop of the caliber of gun i was using instead of the attachments that came with the sighter. It turns out that my gun cleaning mops were much more symmetrical than the included attachments. I then sighted 6 rifles. The next day I went to the farm to shoot and all 6 guns were low and left approx 3 inches at 30 yards. You cant get much better than that from a high end sighter. Even better, is that they were all off the same amount in the same direction. So now i know it is constant. Apparently they didnt calibrate it perfect from the factory. But how could they if they used the attachments that came with it. It looks like I can calibrate it myself. i just have to buy a small enough allan wrench but I may never get around to it since I am pleased as it is.
I posted a picture with the cleaning rod that fits my .17 caliber and a mop that fit my .308
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for CenterPoint Laser Boresighter

Dont waste your money!!

03/16/2011
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This boresighter is complete junk. I have used higher end boresighters but I didn't own one so I thought I would take a chance on this one because I needed it now and couldn't wait for shipping. You can buy cheaper higher quality boresighters online. To start with the battery compartment/switch is the stupidest thing I have ever seen. This alone would have only knocked it down a little bit in my mind but on top of that its not actually accurate. Once in the barrel and "tightened down" (I say that because it never actually gets very tight) a quick turn of the boresighter while on showed that the laser dot would move in about a 1 ft circle at only 10 yards. You can literally see the boresighter wobble about the axis of rotation. I don't normally write reviews of products but this piece of trash has pushed me over the edge. Long story short don't waste your time or money on this junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for CenterPoint Laser Boresighter

work but not perfect

01/28/2014
By ,
emmaus pa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ok here is the real deal with this boresighter
I purchased this to sight in a 177 Crosman Optimus Breakbarrel Air Rifle
I have found that the 177 compression grommet that is included is really just a hard plastic sleeve
with a rubber o ring at either end when you tighten it It should squeeze the rings, however it does not do a good job in theory if you spin the laser in the gun barrel it should stay the same but it doesn't it moved for me a 1/2 inch from up to down on the cross hairs
The grommets for all other calibers work nicely
they need to come up with a better design for the 177
the shaft on the sighter should have round spacers to slide onto the shaft to hold the outside end parallel with the inside it relies on the cone shape to center it
It does not work very good but it will get you close
if you have no mechanical talent you shouldn't be looking down the scope
overall it is a nice item and works well for the larger powder guns
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for CenterPoint Laser Boresighter

used it 3or4times verygood and happy with it

09/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great buy for the money you dont need ammo to sight anything in buy one ,I now have two for other calibers -I love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for CenterPoint Laser Boresighter

Do Not Purchase!!!

12/12/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have other quality Bore Sighters, but didn't have one that would work for the .17, so for the price, was joyed to find this one on the self, problem is, this will not fit the .17, not even close, was able to shove the rubber adapter piece in about 1cm with lots of force, but then looking at the main shaft, it was not close to fitting, so returned it. The battery compartment was anything but quality workmanship as well... not worth saving a couple of dollars for a piece of junk that is not machined to acceptable or advertised calibrations...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for CenterPoint Laser Boresighter

Buyer Beware

03/19/2011
By ,
Jackson, Mo
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was able to get it working, though the instructions are sketchy. The "manual" is nothing more than a one page leaflet.
I was able to get it sighted in "close enough", to where I can fine tune my scope at the range now.
The real trouble began when it was time to remove it. The rubber stopper designed to steady the laser and align it wouldn't budge. Partially unscrewing it reduce the diameter didn't help.
If you decide to buy this, be sure to keep a bottle of gun oil and a cleaning rod handy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for CenterPoint Laser Boresighter

Taking it back....HUGE Waste!

12/06/2013
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First this is not going to zero your scope and at best it might get you on paper. Firstly both ends of the rod should have a plug. The tapered one end doesn't hold a center well and really doesn't work. Just for giggles I would get it dead center, remove it and re-insert it and it would be easily off 6" from its original placement at 25 yards out. In theory sure but real world this design fails. Save your money and sight your scope the old fashioned way.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for CenterPoint Laser Boresighter

Will not fit .17

06/24/2014
By ,
34972
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because my Bushnell wouldn't do .17. This says right on the package that it would, but the collet for the .17 won't even fit into the barrel. It just may be lousy quality control and another unit may work, but I wasn't impressed with the rest it anyway. Will be returning in the a.m.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for CenterPoint Laser Boresighter

Worked fine

11/25/2013
By ,
Schuylkill Haven, Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you take your time, adjust to fit snug before insertion, and do not overtighten, it works good. Other people with bad reviews must not be very mechanically inclined. If they can not work the boresighter, they should definitely not mount a scope.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for CenterPoint Laser Boresighter

This is an awful boresighter

12/25/2010
By ,
Scott Depot, WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was looking for a boresighter to sight in my 22 long rifle. I put the 22 cal adapter on the sighter, ran it into the barrel of the rifle, tightened it up, looked through my scope and it was way off. I then proceded to remove the boresighter from my rifle and the rubber piece on the adapter tore off, and jammed in the barrel. I spent the net hour and a half getting the piece of rubber out of my barrel. DO NOT BUY THIS BORESIGHTER! It is junk! I allmost ruined a familyaire loom trying to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for CenterPoint Laser Boresighter

returned Junk!

08/04/2014
By ,
Chapin, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was at least 5 inches off an already sighted in gun
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for CenterPoint Laser Boresighter

Not worth the money.

12/24/2010
By ,
Rome, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
While the laser comes out straight as far as the bore sighter itself, it's not very bright. It's nearly impossible to see in daylight. There aren't enough arbors to adequately cover all the sizes listed on the packaging. It claims to work with pistols as well as rifles. It worked fine on my .22 rifle but, not on my .40 pistol because one arbor is too large and the next size down was so much too small that at full spread it was still loose and would flop from side to side inside the barrel.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for CenterPoint Laser Boresighter

Biggest waste of 40 bucks

06/19/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this item thinking well i don't wanna waste to much ammo sighting my gun in. so i bought it went home put it in my gun then when i went to pull it out i tried loosing it wouldn't come out i had to break the adapter piece and push the adapter piece out with my cleaning rod. i wouldn't recommend this item to someone i hated, just waste the ammo sighting in your scope it would be well worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for CenterPoint Laser Boresighter

worthless beyond close targets

12/16/2010
By ,
Ft Stewart
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this is okay for at least or up to 25 yards, beyond that the laser loses power and the dot becomes one fat blurry pixalated spot on the target, used on my savage 30.06 and had no luck boresighting beyond the 25 with my rounds hitting targets. if your looking to sight your close quarters weapon or pistol then it would work.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for CenterPoint Laser Boresighter

Worked for me

12/06/2013
By ,
Tampa. FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It seems to work better with the larger calibers. Just gently tighten so it's barely snug. It's good enough to get you on the paper to finish your zeroing.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for CenterPoint Laser Boresighter

Works and gets you in range

08/18/2011
By ,
Rancho Cucamonga Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reading the review I almost didnt buy this item however I figuired I give it my own review. Simple item, never had the issue with the tip getting stuck in the bore but then i didnt tighten it will it was stuck either. Turned till it would enter snug out of the barrel, then turned a few more times inside it., aimed and looked thru the scope.
My shots at the range that day where right where the lazer dot was pointing ( low and left) I made the adjustments on my scope and next time and the range I was almost dead on at 75 yards. Couldnt be happier. No its not youre high end item but for what you get it works pretty good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for CenterPoint Laser Boresighter

Run Away

04/12/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I should have read the reviews here before purchasing at my local store. This is complete junk, particularly for the .17. Do Not Buy This Product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for CenterPoint Laser Boresighter

Don't waste your money!!

10/12/2013
By ,
glasgow, ky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I attempted to site 2 different rifles with this piece of junk. It didn't get either one of them even close. Wasted alot of time and too much ammo!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for CenterPoint Laser Boresighter

Actually, not too bad

01/30/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yes, its a bit awkward to insert and remove from the muzzle, but it really is not that bad. I have an older "manual" boresighter and I tested them both on a .22 rifle with a scope. This laser sighter revealed how inconsistent the manual sighter was. You do have to be careful inserting/removing the tips, but it does work. It was a simple way of eyeballing the scope until I could get to a range. I remember the days of wasting rounds just trying to hit the target so I could make final scope adjustments. This seems to take care of that part.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for CenterPoint Laser Boresighter

will not get you close to center of target

03/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
does not get you close to center of target
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next