Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox Blu-ray Disc Network Media Player with VUDU and Built-in Wireless LAN, MBP5130/F7

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox Blu-ray Disc Network Media Player with VUDU and Built-in Wireless LAN, MBP5130/F7

Experience the ultimate in high definition entertainment with the MBP5130/F7 Blu-ray Disc Player from Magnavox. With this network media player, you can stream movies straight to your HDTV from subscription Internet services like VUDU, Netflix and Blockbuster Online. Pop in a Blu-ray Disc and be blown away by the high definition picture and sound quality. Plus, this network media player features built-in WiFi that allows you to stream multimedia from your home wireless network. You've made the HD upgrade. Now let Magnavox and the MBP5130/F7 Blu-ray Disc Player help you get the most out of it.
Average Customer Rating:
3.281 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(228 Reviews) 210
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
61
3 stars
27
2 stars
23
1 star
52
Customer Recommendation60%136 out of 228reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
61
3 stars
27
2 stars
23
1 star
52
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox Blu-ray Disc Network Media Player with VUDU and Built-in Wireless LAN, MBP5130/F7

Jeez, such a deal.

12/03/2010
By ,
Scottsdale, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well not only does it work fine, but it was so easy to setup even a caveman could do it. I was expecting problems setting up the WiFi, but as long as you know your SSID & WEP (you have them written down somewhere right?) you'll be fine.
You get two free movies on Netflix and I think there's an offer for VuDu as well. But for 8 bucks a month (Netflix streaming only, 10 bucks if you also want discs) we may just cancel our HBO.
If you're perplexed when nothing shows up under Netflix after you're set up...its because you have to build your Instant View list online with your computer...you don't actually browse with the BluRay...you browse the list you've built.
Thats about it!...Definitely was worth the 69 buck black friday price...and still not a bad deal for 118.
Oh yeah, some of the other products say they are wifi but you have to buy an additional adapter. With the Magnavox you don't need anything additional except an HDMI cable.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for Magnavox Blu-ray Disc Network Media Player with VUDU and Built-in Wireless LAN, MBP5130/F7

Better Than Expected

11/25/2010
By ,
Ridge, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read the reviews of this player, and was somewhat torn on whether to buy this "value priced" player or buy a more expensive one. Last night I decided to go to my local Wal-Mart and try to find this one on display. There were none on display, but I did find several units in boxes on the bottom shelf. Purchased this player for $118 and brought it home. After unpacking, I connected the player to my livingroom system and powered it up. There is a delay when first booting it up but I don't find it troublesome. This player found my Cisco router right away and connected with great signal strength. My router is a decent distance away and I was afraid by the reviews on this product that it wouldn't connect. Set-up Netflix without a hitch and away I went watching my first video through WiFi as smooth as could be. Before connecting to Netflix I did upgrade the software for the unit, it went smooth, but did take about 20 min.. Great product....so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+136points
Review 3 for Magnavox Blu-ray Disc Network Media Player with VUDU and Built-in Wireless LAN, MBP5130/F7

Magnavox MBP5130

05/02/2011
By ,
Nashville, Tn
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not a bad player for the money but you can get a better product for around the same or lower price. It wasn't very hard to setup at all. I'm mean connecting it to a router is no harder than any other device. I didn't like the apps that came with it. It does have Netfix, which is why I bought it in the first place. But even to use it with Netflix you have to use your computer to go to the Netflix's website and put the movies you want to see in your "instant queue" before MB5130 will play it. There is no ability to connect to Hulu or Hulu plus. No Pandora. No Amazon. I didn't realize this until I got it home and started reading about other internet connected devices. This device is also extremely slow. Wow, is it slow! Sometimes I find myself pressing the button several times before it finally creeps along with what I want it to do.
Overall, it's okay. But keep looking... I think you can find better for around the same price. I think I'm gonna end up taking it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 4 for Magnavox Blu-ray Disc Network Media Player with VUDU and Built-in Wireless LAN, MBP5130/F7

Huge savings!!!

11/26/2010
By ,
Upstate, New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After finding this blu-ray player on the Walmart website, I was prepared to pay $118 for it because it seemed to have everything that I was interested in (i.e. Netflix streaming, true wi-fi - no adapter needed) and VUDU.
I went to the store to purchase this item and to my surprise it was on sale for $69 instead of $118. All hail black Friday!
I'm watching a movie that I streamed from Netflix with my new Magnavox wi-fi Blu-ray player, and I couldn't be happier.
Set up of the wi-fi connection was very simple (took me all of 5 minutes), and I would recommend this item to anyone who wants bang for your buck with a blu-ray player.
If I had to complain about any aspect of this item it would be that the netflix application only gives you access to your instant queue and not other categories (recently viewed, new movies, new tv shows, children and family, etc.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 5 for Magnavox Blu-ray Disc Network Media Player with VUDU and Built-in Wireless LAN, MBP5130/F7

It all Works & Excellent product !

12/24/2010
By ,
Chicago,IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Paid $118 got a $ 40 gift card,nice to get free money. Read the reviews some good other not so good. All I can say I have good luck with electronics. This blueray for the price and features,can't be beat. Yeah it's not the best,but for what you get it should cost more. VERY easy hook up with HDMI cable cheap one at that. Picture is very good. I did update the firmware. My wireless netgear 3700av router with this unit and netflix is fast and great video quality. Downloads super fast les than 45 seconds for HD movies, I get 7 bars on meter and only using 2.4GHZ &130MBP with ATAT DSL. I also use it with the 5GHZ @300MBP blazing fast to. It helps to be a little tech savy. If your still using g type wireless routers you may not have good luck with netflix downloads. Plays both dvd and bluerays discs like a pro. Very happy with my cheap player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 6 for Magnavox Blu-ray Disc Network Media Player with VUDU and Built-in Wireless LAN, MBP5130/F7

No Netflix

12/05/2010
By ,
South Euclid, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this item on Black Friday and was excited by the value of a wireless Blu-Ray player fpr 69! I checked out other reviews and everyone said they were able to stream Netflix and how easily everything set up. After trying unsuccessfully for two days to set this up, I finally got a customer service rep from Magnavox on the phone who told me the wireless card was bad. Back to Wal-Mart I went. Exchanged for a new unit and brought it home. SAME PROBLEM! Call customer service again, this time I'm told it needs a firm ware update. Fine, update takes about twenty minutes. Get online and can't find the Netflix app. Call customer service again. Netflix is NOT AVAILABLE on this unit. This is going back tomorrow. I'm so ticked I can barely see. I guess I should have realized when it said Vudu on it that that would be the only thing you could use, but I didn't know Vudu was a pay-for-rental movie/ tv episode app. If you want to stream Netflix, this is not the Blu-Ray player you want.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-4points
Review 7 for Magnavox Blu-ray Disc Network Media Player with VUDU and Built-in Wireless LAN, MBP5130/F7

Great features, but lacks on performance

01/02/2011
By ,
Olathe, KS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After the Black Friday ad with incorrect information both online and in the circular (showed two model numbers as being equivalent), we finally got this unit as it was the one we wanted after reading the original ads. The unit nice size Blu-Ray player and loads the BR discs with reasonable speed. It also has many apps to choose from (most are in the Vudu option). But, every time we use it the unit has no wireless connection - we have to go back to the menu and manually enter our password and do at least two connection tests before we are back online each time we use it. Yes, we've done the slow updates and are running the current software. Annoying to say the least. We used the Pandora app and it worked ok - the unit kept losing our wireless connection. No, it wasn't our network, it is the device. Also, the device does not remember our Pandora log in even though we've selected that option. The SD card feature was easy to format. Read the reviews of other products and purchase one of those.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Magnavox Blu-ray Disc Network Media Player with VUDU and Built-in Wireless LAN, MBP5130/F7

Great product for Netflix!

11/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this blueray player only for the Netflix feature. We had it hooked up and set up quickly, with no problems! Our wireless router is in the other room (approximately 20 ft plus through a wall) and the connectivity was great.....played movies with no problems. I actually went and purchased another one for our basement....hoping I might get the same results!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+30points
Review 9 for Magnavox Blu-ray Disc Network Media Player with VUDU and Built-in Wireless LAN, MBP5130/F7

Wifi and Netflix works

11/08/2010
By ,
San Diego
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this today and I was able to get it set up fairly easily. The DVD was just an hdmi cable into TV. Wifi involved setting the password and remembering which type of encryption. Netflix involved getting an update and loading, getting a password and entering online. Setting up new components always takes me a few times to get it right. But the setup looks better and is much easier than using my laptop. We also watched a non blu-ray DVD and it looked great. So it was worth it and was a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 10 for Magnavox Blu-ray Disc Network Media Player with VUDU and Built-in Wireless LAN, MBP5130/F7

Wireless connection is a joke

11/19/2010
By ,
Waco, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this player specifically for the fact that is has a wireless connection. But when I get it all hooked up and 10 ft away from my router it can't connect for anything. I bought it for my parents and their router is actually further away than mine. After about 2 hours of dealing with it I decided it wasn't worth it. I tested out Netflix and it worked on a wired connection as expected. I tried 1 Blu-Ray and it worked as expected. I decided to return it and just run a long ethernet cord instead to a better brand wired player. Any unit that costs this little and has wireless doesn't seem like it's worth anyone's time. If you're looking for a cheap player, this will do as long as you don't need the wireless to work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+23points
Review 11 for Magnavox Blu-ray Disc Network Media Player with VUDU and Built-in Wireless LAN, MBP5130/F7

Good value for the Price

10/02/2011
By ,
Patchogue, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I originally purchased model #MBP5120 with a regular price of $68 only to find that it does not have a Netflix app. Also had numerous problems with the internet connection. Customer service at Funai provided good support but the fix required a Firmware update which had to be accessed from the internet, burned to a CD and than loaded to the DVD player. This model(5130) was listed in the store at $98.00 but on the Walmart web page for $78.00. It has the Netflix, Blockbuster and VUDU apps but nothing else. Also was told by the sales associate that this model is being discontinued. Set up was better than the cheaper model. Still performed a firmware update but it seems to work fine. If all you need is player to watch Blue Ray and occassional Netflix movies, this is well worth the price. However, if this is to be your primary DVD player, I recommend paying the higher price for a Samsung or SONY model as it exhibits a stronger router signal than the Magnavox unit.(5 bars vs 3).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 12 for Magnavox Blu-ray Disc Network Media Player with VUDU and Built-in Wireless LAN, MBP5130/F7

Works well!

11/28/2010
By ,
Jeffersonville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was one of the poor saps that bought the 5120 model on Black Friday thinking it streamed Netflix. It doesn't. Walmart exchanged it for this one no problem. At $118 I wouldn't consider this unit but at $69 this unit is a bargain! It's not the most stylist unit out there but it plays dvds, blu-rays and streams Netflix well. I'm very happy. I bought the extended warranty and recommend that highly. This unit was made by Funai. Anyway, connecting was easy and quick. One thing that held me up though is that the unit saw my network but it shortened the name leaving two words out. The unit didn't connect until I typed in my full network(SSID) name manually. Also, to get the internet and Netflix to work I had to set my router to extended range. Lastly, don't forget to setup the units mac address if you have your router set for mac filtering. This is exactly what we needed being on a tight budget. I just hope it lasts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 13 for Magnavox Blu-ray Disc Network Media Player with VUDU and Built-in Wireless LAN, MBP5130/F7

Great and here's a WiFi secret...

12/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great with wifi. Here's a secret way to get a better signal. Simply pull out the little white wifi antenna on the rear; it's just plugged into its own dedicated usb connection. Be careful not to pinch the antenna too hard.. the manual warns against messing with the antenna as though this is rocket science.
Then add an external extension usb cable but check to make sure the antenna's internal led is blinking. Some extension usb cables are different. I tried three different cable brands before I got the antenna to light up. The way to know if you're getting the best signal is when downloading Netflix, Vudu the light on the antenna blinks rapidly and continuously.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 14 for Magnavox Blu-ray Disc Network Media Player with VUDU and Built-in Wireless LAN, MBP5130/F7

Great Deal...NETFLIX is AWESOME

11/29/2010
By ,
OHIO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Despite all of the mixed reviews about this product I decided to try it anyway. I purchased my player from Walmart specifically because it is one of the few Wi-Fi players (offering Netflix) that do not require you to purchase a seperate adapter. When I first hooked it up it did not take long at all to get started. I set up my wireless connection within 5 minutes. I was a little skeptical when after connecting to my network my player only showed a signal strength of 1 bar. However once I activated my Netflix, I saw that I had nothing to worry about. My videos were of great quality and did not freeze or stop to buffer...it has been pretty much smooth sailing from there. Compared to most players out there that offer the same capability this is a great deal. When you factor in the price of the Wi-Fi adapters most players will cost you at least $200, so at $118 this is definitely a steal. As for those people experiencing poor signal strength or difficulty setting up your connection I would advise that you go through each step individually because initially my player said that it could not access my network and that I needed to manually configure my connection however when I pressed OK it proceeded to successfully set up my connection anyway.
I would definitely recommen this product!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 15 for Magnavox Blu-ray Disc Network Media Player with VUDU and Built-in Wireless LAN, MBP5130/F7

Pandora app was removed

04/03/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Was very happy with product especially at the Black Friday price I got the player and probably would have given it 4 or 5 stars if I were to have rated it a month ago. Is it the top of the line, no but you couldn't go wrong with a player that had Netflix, Pandora and built in wireless for $79. In fact at the time you'd have to spend about double the price to get all of those features. It's slow to start up and load compared to other players but I could live with it for the price. In fact I bought 2 of them. It was nice being able to stream Pandora through my receiver and speakers.
However, just recently Magnavox REMOVED the Pandora app from VUDU. What a bunch of crock. Overall the player is decent and still has Netflix but how can they just up and pull an important app like that? I would not rebuy it, even at that price if I knew it was missing that app, it's too important to me. Guess I should have stuck with the bigger name players. No more Magnavox for me!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 16 for Magnavox Blu-ray Disc Network Media Player with VUDU and Built-in Wireless LAN, MBP5130/F7

VERRRY slow!

02/21/2011
By ,
Anna,TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was excited about getting this blu ray player with a built in wireless connection for such a great price, now I know why it was so cheap. I guess the old saying of 'you get what you pay for' applies here. The movie quality is good and the set up is easy enough but the speed in which the player turns on/off, opens the drive and plays the movies is unbelievably SLOW! So I would say if you are a very patient person who doesn't mind waiting minutes to start your movie than this is a great deal. I however, am going to return mine and keep looking.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 17 for Magnavox Blu-ray Disc Network Media Player with VUDU and Built-in Wireless LAN, MBP5130/F7

for the reason i bought this, it works great

01/07/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i recently got rid of my phone and cable to save money, only keeping an internet service. i had hulu and the boyfriend purchased netflix and we liked that better so i dropped the hulu. i bought this only for netflix. connecting to my wifi was easy and quick, the update for netflix software was making us fall asleep but it finished and we were able to watch movies from our instant queue in no time. YOU NEED TO ADD THEM TO THE INSTANT QUEUE. it's not too much of an inconvenience though because you can do it from your laptop or iphone app in bed so... i'd say this product is worth it. all i needed was a tv and hdmi cable and we were good to go. MAKE SURE BOX SAYS NETFLIX/VUDU if thats what you're purchasing it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 18 for Magnavox Blu-ray Disc Network Media Player with VUDU and Built-in Wireless LAN, MBP5130/F7

Poor wi-fi reception

02/13/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The unit has poor wi-fi reception in a location where another wi-fi device, e.g., a laptop, reports an excellent signal. I returned the unit.
Also, the technical support was atrocious -- highly uninformed about the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Review 19 for Magnavox Blu-ray Disc Network Media Player with VUDU and Built-in Wireless LAN, MBP5130/F7

OK for the Price

10/30/2010
By ,
daytona beach,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it work as it says ...but make sure if you going to used it wireless you have a really strong signal in your room , i got 4 bars out of 6 and it will not stay connected to Netflix . work fine wireless in other room we full signal..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 20 for Magnavox Blu-ray Disc Network Media Player with VUDU and Built-in Wireless LAN, MBP5130/F7

Awesome Bluray player

12/23/2010
By ,
Salina, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best buy for the money! Love the instant connection to the internet with the built in WiFi, we subscribe to Netflix and play movies instantly, we have a wireless router in our home so it was pretty simple to set up. why pay more? this is all you need for DVD and Bluray viewing. highly reccomended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
1-20 of 211 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next