Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with Digital Tuner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with Digital Tuner

The Magnavox MDR515H F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with digital tuner is your one-stop solution for recording digital video. You can completely automate the recording process and store up to 620 hours of video on the built in hard disk drive. The built-in tuner receives digital signals and lets you watch, fast forward, rewind or freeze live telecast while recording. Also, the digital tuner DVD recorder provides a four-way dubbing (HDD to DVD, DVD to HDD, DV to HDD, and DV to DVD). This digital tuner box facilitates easy scaling-up of videos up to 1080p full HD resolution so you can view even low resolution videos with excellent clarity. It is compatible with most DVD formats and plays audio CDs as well as MP3s. The Magnavox DVD recorder features virtual surround system that reproduces theatre-like multi-channel sound. It comes with many convenient editing functions that let you add chapters or delete scenes from the recorded videos.
Average Customer Rating:
4.106 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(662 Reviews) 593
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
346
4 stars
188
3 stars
45
2 stars
18
1 star
65
Customer Recommendation85%562 out of 658reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
346
4 stars
188
3 stars
45
2 stars
18
1 star
65
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with Digital Tuner

Good Product for Great Price!

12/15/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very affordable DVR with lots of storage! I use it to keep sports videos recorded with digital camera backed up to the hard drive and then burn copies for parents, coaches, etc. Also useful to convert old VHS movies to DVDs. User interface takes a little getting used to, but reading instruction manual always helps!
I have not connected to my television satellite box, so can't rate how useful it is with tv programming. It is however great for storing sports and family recordings and burning them to DVD!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 2 for Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with Digital Tuner

Some Parts Are Truly Excellent

11/02/2011
By ,
Central Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The tuner in this thing is incredible. Hook up a decent antenna to it, and you get beautiful picture and sound. Record it to the hard drive or a DVD, and it looks exactly like the original. The HDD will probably hold more than I'll ever need, and if I do fill it, I can just dub some of it to DVDs. There is a bit of a learning curve to record DVDs, but if you have had a DVD recorder in the past, it won't take you long to learn their way of doing it.
So why four stars? Any kind of input besides over-the air TV is NOT displayed in HD. There is no HDMI Input, so if you have cable, Uverse, Dish, DirecTV or something like that, you only have Antenna, Video and S-Video inputs from that source. The picture will be disappointing. It won't fill your HD-TV screen; there will be black bars at the top and bottom, and it won't be HD-quality.
Other than that, I am happy I bought this.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
There's a setting for 16:9 widescreen
Posted 11/04/2011
The Mag is factory-set to 4:3 Letter Box in the Video > TV Aspect menu. Change that to 16:9 Wide for widescreen programs. In fact my advice is to set it on 16:9 Wide for ALL recording and watching, as described here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12371974&postcount=62
Here's an index of other info and help files:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?p=12244086#post12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with Digital Tuner

Excellent Though Complex DVDR

09/02/2011
By ,
Tampa Bay
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually bought two of these, one from A__zon, and the 2nd from Walmart when A__zon raised the price. This is an amazing machine, with a 500GB harddrive and the ability to record to, or dub to, a DVD. The proper connection, set-up, and operation of the Mag 515 is somewhat complex, complicated by a user manual with some errors and misstatements. Many people have returned these units thinking they were broken, when in fact there are simple solutions for most problems. A thorough reading of the AVS Forum pages indexed at http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=940657 will solve all your problems. It is extremely helpful.
Once properly connected, set-up, and operated, this DVR is practically magic. Recording weekly shows for later playback is easy, show titles and chapters can be written, and too many features to name are available. I am recording some old movies off a classic movie channel, and dubbing them to archival-quality DVDs for my collection. I am also considering dubbing some of my old video material (home movies, etc) to DVD for archiving, and sending to family & friends.
There ARE a few quirks, and the interface with your programming provider varies, depending on who you have, where you're located, and how you're set up. I have found the complexities and quirks totally worth it, and thoroughly enjoy using both my Magnavox 515s.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with Digital Tuner

T*VO On The Cheap

04/12/2011
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Magnavox DVR with a 500 GIGabyte hard drive and built in digital HD tuner means that I can now record up to 103 hrs. of HD programming without videotape or DVD discs. Just like T*VO, but without the $600.00+ investment and monthly contract charge. And because it has its own tuner, I don't need cable, just rabbit ears. It's easy to hook up (just 1 HDMI cable and an antenna (or cable) wire. It's easy to program, and if I need to share, I can dub my downloaded movies and programs to DVD with the built in DVD player/recorder. What's not to love?
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with Digital Tuner

Good product review. Answered all my questions.

01/29/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought the first-gen Phillips in Summer '07. I started with a similar Polaroid product and was unhappy with the menu, and within 2 months, the fan couldn't keep up and started to make noises even though I was careful to place the unit in a well-ventilated area. I took that original Polaroid back to Walmart and discovered the Phillips 3575, which I have been very happy with for almost the last 4 years. You'll never find a bigger booster of this product than I. However, in the last year or so, the HDD seems to have developed defects that cause programs to freeze during playback, which then make it impossible to transfer to DVD without editing out the defects. Also, if I am in the middle of recording another program during these freezes, I am forced to turn off or unplug the unit and turn it back on, which then creates gaps in the newly-recorded program. For playback purposes, at first I could use the menu's 'forward search' option to 'jump ahead' of these defects, but now they are becoming more frequent and, once 'frozen', harder to work around. I have also been looking for a companion for the Philips, and this Magnavox seems like just what the doctor ordered, but I'm not ready to trash the Philips. Any suggestions out there for a 'work-around' that maybe I haven't considered? If possible, I would like to keep it and hook the newer Magnavox to a separate HDTV with a cable box.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
On HDD problems
Posted 05/25/2011
OMG, WM finally added a sorely needed Comments function. Well done!
I also have a refurb'd 3575 that I bought from another user that has a "bad" HDD. It apparently had/has a bad spot on the HDD that causes it to freeze on playback in the sectors holding Titles 1, 2, or 3. I leave three old titles there and never play them, so no problems since.
My HDD still works, just noisier and slower startup than normal.
In troubleshooting this, I've used two of the utility programs built into the Philips/Magnavox FW: SKIP 079 Self-Check & Initialize/Format, and SKIP 013 HDD Facotry Check.
My HDD won't initialize/format with SKIP 079 (1st sign of a bad HDD) and SKIP 013 shows my HDD is "NG" (No Good). If you get an NG, you might need a replacement or an upgrade (up to 500GB capacity)... a DIY job that's "incredibly" easy.
Here are instructions for using the SKIP Codes and procedures for checking the HDD using SKIP 079 and SKIP 013:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12355769&postcount=39
These SKIP procedures both delete timer programs, channel memory(?), and recorded titles so you'll have to do the procedures when you don't mind that or after cleaning titles off to DVDs, etc. Write down your timer rec programs for ref.
If your HDD turns up "NG" like mine, see the many subjects in that linked file related to HDD replacement and upgrade.
There's even some instructions on how to externalize your HDD with a Dock-and-Play system, which makes your multiple HDD portable between recorders set up with a dock-and-play system.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with Digital Tuner

Blower running all the time

09/19/2011
By ,
Pocatello, ID
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I, too, was concerned about the blower running all the time. I found an answer online. I turned off the "auto clock set" and the blower now runs only while the unit is on. I turn on the "auto clock set" only once in a while now to let it auto set, then turn it off again. It would be nice if Magnavox/Phillips would issue a firmware update to address the issue since it is an OS problem. Otherwise it's a sweet machine.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with Digital Tuner

Excellent recorder

03/09/2011
By ,
Carlisle, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I rate the MDR515H/F7 at five stars because I’ve found it to be an excellent recorder which does everything that it’s advertised to do. As a former VCR user I had a steep learning curve facing me when I got the 515. But, by first reading the excellent review posted by wajo2 on 11-3-10 and its many links to additional information, plus, thoroughly reading the very adequate manual, I found that setup went reasonably smoothly and daily usage of this unit has been more than satisfactory.
The only serious setup problem that I encountered was when I caused the unit to lock up (my fault) during setup and had to unplug it for several hours (overnight) before the time display reverted to the dot pattern that indicates that the unit is ready to be re-setup. After that everything went smoothly.
As far as the negative comments that have been posted, I feel that being familiar with the available information before you dive into the setup and usage of this recorder will go a long way toward making your experience with the 515 a pleasant and successful one.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+128points
Review 8 for Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with Digital Tuner

BUY IT

09/06/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a one day shipping to the house. I ordered it late in the afternoon and it was shipped the next day and I received it the following day.
The unit setup easily without any hassle. Of course, I already had a PIONEER DVR bought off the shelf in a Wal-Mart store in 2007. The two units have similar Menu options for setup so I had some understanding in configuring the Maganox DVR. I did not use the built-in digital receiver since I am using cable TV service with upgraded channel packages. I took the output from the cable box ran it to the 'Input' (backside) of the DVR. This allows me to record any channel I tune on the cable box.
The Magnavox DVR appears to be very good in design and operation. I would recommend this unit to anyone asking for a recommendation.
I did buy the 3 year Warrenty package only for pure protection. I did buy a warranty package for my PIONEER unit but nothing ever happened to that unit. It is a roll of the dice on purchasing the Warranty package.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 9 for Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with Digital Tuner

Unit was Defective

07/02/2011
By ,
Ventura, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unfortunately, I was not able to give this unit a test drive, as it was defective upon arrival.
I did not test all the components; however, two of the components I tested did not function:
- L1 S-Video jack
- L2 RCA video jack
The unit was promptly returned. I ordered and second unit and that one was also defective upon arrival in a similar fashion as the first. The second unit components that were defective were:
- L1 S-Video jack
- L2 S-Video jack
I can understand an occassional unit being defective out of the box, but two in a row?
I think the unit, if not defective, will meet my needs (although the feature set is lacking, compared to an older Panasonic DVR/VCR combo unit). Maybe I am a glutten for punishment because I am going to try a third purchase and keep my fingers crossed that the unit is not defective as were the previous two.
If another brand were available to consumers in this country, I would not hesitate to try them before ordering a third unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
L1/L2 inputs are NOT defective!
Posted 07/08/2011
The L1 and L2 inputs are NOT defective!
They have to be SET with a MENU for the type of cable you're using: Composite Yellow or S-Video.
That menu is the Video > Video Input menu. Options are Video in (composite yellow) or S-Video in.
One person returned 6 of the prior model, Mag 2160, for the same reason. He never questioned whether HE might be the problem... it's IN THE MANUAL.
It's also here in the SETTINGS subject:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?p=12244086#post12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with Digital Tuner

Great Alternative to Cable and Dish Network

10/08/2011
By ,
Buford, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We originally signed up for Charter Cable TV service, but found that the signal would go out when it rained, got too hot or cold which we got lots of promises that the problem would be cured soon, but after 3 years of inferior service we decided to change over to Dish Network, which worked much better.
Recently, we decided to 'Ditch the Dish' and start using FTA as a way of saving money, but didn't want to give up DVR as our busy schedules made it impossible to watch TV during scheduled broadcasting times. This led to searching for a FTA Receiver with built-in HDD and DVD Recorder for which we decided on the Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with Digital Tuner.
We couldn't be happier with our decision as the Magnavox was easy to setup and use. It provides the ability to record programs and pause live TV which was very important to us. We highly recommend this product to anyone looking for an alternative to Cable or Dish Network.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 11 for Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with Digital Tuner

I know I gave it a Meet Expectations"rating but...

08/31/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
...it exceeded my expectations! I bought this because I wanted to finally convert from the VCR. I'm in college and I can't get all the awesome channels I have at home. I decided to look into getting something that can record on DVD (for my parents to easily mail to me haha), but in the same time I also wanted a DV-R for home. I Googled "DVD recorder / DV-R combo" and this is what I found, (I actually wasn't sure that such a thing existed). This is the only thing of such that I found, and I also love how you can record to DV-R then edit, then put on the DVD.
We have a bunch of 120 minute DVD's around and something I always miss is "Formula 1" from the "Speed Channel". With the features of this, my parents can edit the commercials out of the 1.5 hour programs down to squeeze onto the 120 minute DVD's easily.
I strongly recommend this to anyone who is getting ready to throw stones at their VCR....
PS It's been a while since I really reviewed something, but this is something I really think people should look at!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Your parents might need this.
Posted 09/05/2011
Here's a some "Essential Info" on Dubbing that your parents might like to know:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12298490&postcount=19
They might also like this list of help files on everything else:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?p=12244086#post12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with Digital Tuner

Throw away your VCR!

07/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm still kicking myself for waiting so long to buy this thing. Life is simpler now; life is better. This was the best entertainment purchase I've ever made, period.
The unit was a breeze to set up and basic recording and playback are as easy as pie. It is a fairly complex machine though, and there is a learning curve. That's because it has a lot of functions, but don't be intimidated, just keep the manual handy and take it one step at a time. Each step is simple, there are just a lot of those simple steps you can take, so don't try to learn it all at once; just focus on what you need to know at the moment.
As has been mentioned in other reviews, take the time to check out this web page... http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12244086&postcount=1 You'll find some invaluable information there, but if it seems a bit thick don't let it confuse you. Just remember, simple steps, one at a time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 13 for Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with Digital Tuner

Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD DVR and DVD-R

04/11/2011
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product and outstanding value. This unit allows you to record over the air HDTV and catalog shows. The inboard 500GB hard drive has lots of storage capacity to record all shows in the full High Quality mode. Playback is HD and is beautiful on a large screen LCD or plasma TV. This is far superior to the old VCR tape units. You can easily scan through shows and skip over commercials, thus reducing the time it takes to watch a show. Programming and naming show titles is pretty straight forward using the remote control and with the menu system displayed on the TV. A wide range of outputs allows easy connection to different TV input setups. The HDMI interface works great on newer LCD TVs with HDMI input. The digital TV tuner is quite sensitive and picks up lots of stations in a suburban area even with an indoor TV antenna. The inboard DVD/CD recorder/ player works really well to record shows to DVD archive and also plays DVDs and music CDs very nicely. This product is a great idea that meets expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 14 for Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with Digital Tuner

Initial Problems Resolved To complete Satisfaction

12/25/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had item shipped to store and arrived with carton damage, but accepted after inspection. At home the unit ultimately failed to work correctly. We returned it to the store and ordered another that performed flawlessly. I AM VERY HAPPY with this unit. It is a big improvement over previous model sold under Phillips name (though it works just as well) excellent firmware and menuing, easy to use Remote and BIG SURPRISE - simple to use Titling system that is super improvement over previous Models. Also uses x4 speed DVDRW's for dubbing. Good tuner and picture quality super large 500GB Hard Drive for 100's of hours of recording. CAUTION - this will not record Cable channels like HBO or Showtime (and I knew this before buying). This is a convenience purchase so we can watch shows broadcast too late in the evening for people who go to work at 5:00AM Price for second unit was higher than the first one that went bad, but Walmart graciously adjusted our charge and credited our card. Thank you Walmart.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with Digital Tuner

Another defective unit, really poor support.

08/07/2011
By ,
Columbia, SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Own two earlier versions of this unit which are great. But this model 515 will no longer power on after one month of use. Called Funai support. Useless. No service centers within 50 miles (I live in a decent sized city). NO WAY TO REMOVE A DVD WITHOUT POWER (unlike many computer dvd drives) and the dvd in the drive is borrowed. Funai support says if I break their seal on the case to remove the borrowed dvd all warranty will be voided and they will not accept it back. If functional, the 515 is best HDD/DVD recorder on market. Problem is that there seem to be a lot of these 515's that don't function. And the simple things like removing a DVD from a non-functioning drive? Not on this or any of it's siblings so any problems are magnified. Then their support is not helpful either, so buy this at your own risk. ....Now, I'm going to remove the borrowed dvd and try returning it to Walmart with the "void if damaged" label broken. Incidentially, am experienced in audio/video/computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
There's a Soft Reset that'll revive "dead" units
Posted 08/09/2011
Prob. too late for you, but new 515 owners might benefit from info on a Soft Reset that will revive a dead unit, as described here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=15670232&postcount=3020#Replug
Funai is working to find the source of the problem, but this Soft Reset at least gets it working again.
Once back on line, MAKE SURE AUTO CLOCK IS EITHER OFF OR SET FOR MANUAL CHANNEL SEARCH, AS DESCRIBED HERE:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12298425&postcount=11#Set2
A complete list of indexed help files is here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?p=12244086#post12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with Digital Tuner

GREAT BUY---HEXT GENERATION NEEDS HD CAPABILITY

07/21/2011
By ,
BRANSON WEST, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'VE HAD THE OLDER VERSION OF THIS UNIT WITH THE SMALLER HARD DRIVE AND LOVED IT BUT ENDED UP RECORDING ALOT IN THE SLOWER SPEEDS BECAUSE OF THE SMALLER DRIVE.
THE UPDATES MADE TO THIS UNITS ARE---- SOME GOOD---- SOME ?????? . FOR SOME REASON THEY THOUGHT THEY NEEDED TO REARRANGE SOME OF THE BUTTONS ON THE REMOTE, AS A PREVIOUS OWNER, THIS WAS NOT A GOOD IDEA. THE OTHER MODS THEY MADE ARE OK, NOT SURE MOST PEOPLE WILL USE THEM BUT NICE TO HAVE. IT'S NICE TO BE ABLE TO LABEL WHAT YOU ARE GOING TO RECORD INSTEAD OF HAVING JUST A DATE & TIME OF THE RECORDING. MAKES PLAYBACK OF YOUR FAVORITE SHOW EASIER TO FIND BY NAME.
WHEN I SAW THIS UPDATED VERSION & THE PRICE REDUCTION I JUST HAD TO HAVE IT----GLAD I DID----WORKS SUPER.
PS---IF YOUR LIKE ME WITH AN OLDER UNIT IT LOOKS LIKE THE OLD REMOTE WILL WORK WITH THE NEW UNIT,SOLVES BUTTON CHANGE PROBLEM----SORTA
ALL IN ALL, A THUMBS UP ON THIS UNIT----A 5 OUT OF 5 FOR ME
NOW WAITING FOR THE HD VERSION
PPS---- VERY EASY TO SETUP & USE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with Digital Tuner

Good but missing a few needed features

11/28/2010
By ,
Columbus Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have 4 of the Phillips and/or Magnavox recorders of this type. They far surpass the old tape VCRs for convenience, capacity and ease of use. This new Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R, has some good improvements over the previous models. Some excellent, previous reviews. on here detail the features. Thus, I will not list all of the improvements. I will however, point out 3 badly needed missing features on these units.
First, they need A/B remote control selector capability, like some of the old JVC, VCRs had. This would allow one to use 2 units in the same environment without the remote controls conflicting with each other.
Second, unless, I just cannot figure out how to do it, there is no way to upload or download the contents of the hard drive to another USB mass storage device. One needs to be able to back-up the internal hard drive and/or transfer the HD's contents to their other recorders. It will write to DVDs, but DVDs do not have enough capacity to transfer a whole hard drive. The ability to create folders to group programs would also be helpful.
One thing I miss on this newer Magnavox MDR515H/F7, is the recording light. My older Phillips units have a blue indicator light that comes on when it goes into recording mode. At a glance, from across the room, one can tell if the machine came on as programmed. Likewise, if I see that blue light on, at some odd time, I know that a setup mistake was made like punching in AM instead of PM.
All in all,,, I would highly recommend this unit. A few feature tweaks and it would go from good to fabulous.
Hope this is Helpful,
DB
Columbus Ohio.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+229points
Review 18 for Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with Digital Tuner

Good DVR...buy it if you need a DVR/DVD recorder

11/18/2011
By ,
Rougemont, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my 1st DVR. It replaces an old VCR. I really like what this unit can do. It takes time shifting of TV watching to a much more flexible state from the VCR days. This machine is very good at doing what it is supposed to do. I didn't give it 5 stars throughout for the following reasons:
1) The dubbing from the HDD to DVD could be better/faster. It will only go in high speed if you use the sp speed. Otherwise, it dubs in real time.....a 150 min program will take 150 min to dub.
2) The instructions say you can add to an unfinalized dvd made on another dvd recorder. I couldn't get it to accept my partially filled dvds made on a Panasonic.
3) Naming your files (recordings) is painfully slow.
Not trying to sound too negative about this product. There is very little choice in the market in this category. The large HDD is a nice plus (200+ hrs on sp speed). After using this for over a month, I am trying to justify buying a 2nd one. Can't yet, as I'd need another TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Some help for you
Posted 11/20/2011
Here;s a help file that explains how to record stuff so you can use high-speed dub (HSD) for all your shows (you have to record at a rec mode that will fit the capacity of a disc, and that also depends on how LONG the title is):
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12298490&postcount=19
You can't use UNfinalized discs from a Panasonic or other non-Mag, non-Philips machine. Here's a help file that explains what you can and can't do (Options 1 and 2)::
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12298483&postcount=18#RecDVD5
Here's a help file on what you CAN do with discs from a diff. Mag or Philips machine:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12298483&postcount=18#RecDVD4a
Can't help on naming with a Mag 513 except to note that timer recorded shows with the Mag 515 can be PRE-TITLED so every instance of that show in the Mag's title list will show that show's name on the 1st line... no more hunting by date/time.
Here's an index of other help files:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?p=12298483#post12298483
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with Digital Tuner

Good unit for price

08/29/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit was easy to hook up. Three cables and it was up and running. I was disappointed in the scan for channels capability. I have an antenna system and live in the middle of three different cities, one southwest, one northwest and one northeast. My other digital tuners allow me to rescan at different antenna rotations and update the channels. In other words you can add in channels and the units memory keeps what was already there. This unit will not add in digital channels (unless I missed something in the book). It will add analog, but of course the whole purpose of this was to receive digital over my antenna, so that being said, I was disappointed the unit has to rescan every time I change cities. Other than that, the hdd works well, picture quality is good. Controls are pretty much standard. If you can operate a computer, you should have no problem with this unit. It would have been nice if Magnavox had included in their description the lack of channel rescan.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
You missed something.
Posted 09/01/2011
Here's a help file on adding channels with a rotating antenna using the Manual Channel Preset menu:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12298432&postcount=12#Scan10
Here's an indexed list of all help files:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?p=12244086#post12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Magnavox MDR515H/F7 500GB HDD and DVD-R with Digital Tuner

Performs its intended function

08/28/2011
By ,
Austin, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It seems to work pretty well. I am using it with Time Warner analog cable and only the HDD portion for recording at this time. I have used the DVD for playback only and it seems to make a fairly good quality picture. I have not found a need to record anything to DVD yet. As a matter of fact it would have been great to get this thing for $50 less and leave the DVD off altogether. I have noticed the clock resetting itself to the incorrect time in one hour increments. This has happened 3 times and I need to get the user manual out to see what is going on there. Speaking of the user guide, I did need to spend some time with it. This in not as simple as a cable or satellite company DVR where you just go to the program guide find the show and hit record. This would be my preference but in my situation I do not have that option at this time. This unit adds back some time-shift capabilities.
It functions well.
The price is affordable.
It does what I need it to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 594 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  30 Next