Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Apple Apple iPod nano, 8GB (Charcoal)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Apple Apple iPod nano, 8GB (Charcoal)

Redesigned for music and Multi-Touch, the sixth generation Apple iPod nano, in 8GB or 16GB, is smaller and lighter than ever, and is so much more than just an MP3 player. You can clip it to your sleeve, jacket, or running shorts and keep your favorite songs at your fingertips — along with the Genius feature, a built-in FM radio, pedometer, and more. And the anodized aluminum finish in six bright colors makes this new Apple iPod nano player even more brilliant. Apple iPod nano 6G, 8GB or 16GB : 1.5-inch Multi-Touch color display with 240-by-240-pixel resolution Innovative Multi-Touch user interface Newest generation is 46 percent smaller and 42 percent lighter Built-in volume controls Built-in clip Built-in FM radio with Live Pause Built-in pedometer Up to 24 hours of music playback
Average Customer Rating:
4.401 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(312 Reviews) 210
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
211
4 stars
58
3 stars
17
2 stars
9
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation88%275 out of 312reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
211
4 stars
58
3 stars
17
2 stars
9
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Apple iPod nano, 8GB (Charcoal)

ipod 16 GB 6th gen nano

03/15/2011
By ,
San Jose, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product due to the size which is very very small. I use it as a watch because I bought this great looking watch band for it. I love it because with 16 gigs I can put my audiobooks and podcast for educational listening along with tons of musical songs. My friends are amazed at the size and how it can be made into a watch by purchasing many different type of custom watch bands for it. The price is a bit high at about $180. The prior nano 5th gen will give you more features like video camera and video playback for the same price at around $180. However, I am very very happy with the new 6th generation nano due to the small size. It also has an FM radio and you can record your memos too! I am very very happy that Walmart sells Apple Products. Thank you Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+71points
Review 2 for Apple iPod nano, 8GB (Charcoal)

Exceptional value

01/06/2011
By ,
Arlington, WA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
was actually looking for the previous gen nano, but my son found that he LOVED this one. While much smaller it has all the wonderful benefits. Love the touch screen, the Radio was an added bonus also. Tons of storage space, and much more compact and convient. Walmart online had the best price even with all the competitor "deals" and with site to store, I simply ordered online and picked it up at customer service when it arrived. I didn't have to wait in lines, or worry that they wouldn't have the color my son wanted. Walmart helped me be the Santa that came through with everything on our Wish list! Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+103points
Review 3 for Apple iPod nano, 8GB (Charcoal)

iPod Nano

12/07/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son should actually be writing this review. This was a gift to him for his 12th birthday. I got him the 8BG which has more than enough storage capacity to store all of the photos and music that we already had on our computer plus his new purchases. This was his first iPod. With the exception that I do not allow him to take it to school, he has been inseparable from the iPod. He was really shocked to find that it was a touch screen upgrade from previous models. He loves that he can shop for his own songs online with his iTunes gift card. He enjoys the other features like, photos, the watch and pedometer. He just loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+74points
Review 4 for Apple iPod nano, 8GB (Charcoal)

Awesome

01/29/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Nano for my mother. It is easy to operate and fun to use. We got the pink Nano, the color is fantastic. I have an Ipod Touch and the Nano is just as cool. I love that you can choose different color Nanos. The screens and sound on this device meets the high expectations of the Ipod devices. If you are in the market, this is a great option. The clip on the back allows you to easily hook it to body while on the move.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 5 for Apple iPod nano, 8GB (Charcoal)

Loving the Nano...

01/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this as a Christmas present and I love it! I have not had an iPod prior to this, but do have an iPhone. I wanted something small that I can have for just music, nothing more. This is it. A lot of reviews said the battery life drains fast, I'm not sure what they are doing it is perfect for me and I listen all day at work without any issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Review 6 for Apple iPod nano, 8GB (Charcoal)

Great!!

12/15/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I only needed an ipod for the music, so i got this one hoping that it would be a good buy. And it was, it's pretty awesome and easy to handle. everyone says the touch screen is too small but if you're only using it for music, it doesn't matter, and to me it's the perfect size. Clip works great, i can work out without having to get an arm band or anything like that. Downloading is always easy with itunes also...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+174points
Review 7 for Apple iPod nano, 8GB (Charcoal)
07/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this ipod yesterday, and I am in love!! I was a little hesitant about purchasing after hearing some negative things about the size, and the lack of a power off button, but this ipod turned out to be perfect! It is portable, and easy to use. Also, it can turn off; you just have to hold the top button down. The radio feature was also a pleasant surprise. If you are looking for an ipod with a lot of features though, then this one is not for you. It is pretty much only good for music, fitness, and holding some photos and podcasts. All in all, this was a wonderful purchase. I definitely recommend this nano!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 8 for Apple iPod nano, 8GB (Charcoal)

New Nano 8g (touch screen)

10/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For my needs this is the best Nano yet. Other reviews are complaining about the lack of video and some other functions, if you want those capabilities the Touch would be perfect. This Nano does everything I need, it has Radio, fitness app, and the same music functions as before. I don't need an armband on runs any long as this nana is truly tiny. Great job Apple!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Review 9 for Apple iPod nano, 8GB (Charcoal)

Way more than I expected

03/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product resembles the ipod touch in many ways with the touch screen...except you can not add apps(that I see)...only can use the the apps given. But they are good enough for me :) the pedometer is a little tricky but it works. Also, a you can add wallpaper, that was a cute surprise :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+22points
Review 10 for Apple iPod nano, 8GB (Charcoal)

A great ipod to jog with.

10/12/2010
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use. The clip is great for jogging. Has a nice amount of storage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Review 11 for Apple iPod nano, 8GB (Charcoal)

Lots of room for everything and an FM radio too!

07/17/2011
By ,
Johnson City , NY USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I still am learning about all the areas of this great device. My music fits with room to spare. The FM radio I use everyday also has preset stations for local areas by scanning and auto set up. The best thing is no batteries to buy! Charges from the USB port on the computer. This fits into my watch pocket of my pants or shorts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 12 for Apple iPod nano, 8GB (Charcoal)

Enjoying My Nano

07/25/2011
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an iPod shuffle and kept running out of space so it was time to upgrade. I read ALOT of reviews on this product before (9 months later) making the purchase. I wanted to, especially, pay attention to some of the negative or not so nice reviews so that I could go in with eyes wide open but I took advantage of reading the positive reviews as well. I finally broke down and decided to purchase this product with the mindset that I would hold on (tightly) to the receipt and return it at the first sign of trouble.
I am (very) pleased to say that I NEVER experienced any of the negative things that some of the other buyers experienced. I truly feel that I got what I paid for. I knew that it didn't have a camera (or some of the other things that the older version of the Nano had) so I didn't set my expectations on those things. My battery doesn't die quickly because I turn it off properly. My headphones work perfectly... sometimes too well.
While I haven't thrown the receipt away yet, I will. I am very pleased with the product and, for the purpose that I need it for, it works incredibly well. I have had NO ISSUES.
Good luck if you decide to buy it. And, the Walmart price (brand new... not refurbished) cannot be beat... and trust me... after nine months of research, I tried.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 13 for Apple iPod nano, 8GB (Charcoal)

Great for anyone that just wants music

06/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a great ipod. It really has everything I need for music. I also love that it has an FM tuner and pedometer. It's great that it's small and can hook onto things. I just bought a silicone case for it and some marshmallow ear buds and it's perfect. It's really great for running or doing outdoor activities because it's so small and lightweight. The clip on the back is very well made and hangs on very good and tight. This is a great product for anyone looking for a good high quality music player and is not interested in watching movies or looking at pictures.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Review 14 for Apple iPod nano, 8GB (Charcoal)

Great Product

04/29/2011
By ,
Fort Bragg, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I owned an Ipod when they first came out and mine broke a day after the warranty expired. I had, had quite a few problems with it in the year I owned it and was never buying Apple again... so 7 or so years later, here I am owning a 16 gig nano. I REALLY needed an MP3 player to keep me going on the treadmill. I liked the idea of something that I could just clip on my shirt and not have to worry about it. This player has exceeded my expectations. The sound quality is great, it's easy to use, and it even has a pedometer on it. I did have to call Apple the day I got mine because ITunes was not recognizing the player. I had to download ITunes through Internet Explorer to my desktop and right click and run it as an administrator for Windows 7 and I haven't had a problem since in 3 weeks. I am loving this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for Apple iPod nano, 8GB (Charcoal)

Meh...

11/30/2010
By ,
NH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you are looking for an iPod that is great for running or JUST listening to music and are willing to go back on features from the previous generation of Nano, this one is for you! If you like the video and game capabilities of the former generation of Nano DO NOT BUY THIS ONE! Why would I want to pay more for fewer features? I was disappointed and, luckily was able to exchange for something I truly enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+18points
Review 16 for Apple iPod nano, 8GB (Charcoal)

So disappointed!

01/02/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I really wish that Apple would not have named this product nano, which infers that it would have the same capabilities as the last generation nano. I expected the same features in a smaller shell. Not so. I learned an expensive lesson about reading the product description :0(
The new nano only has MP3, photo and radio capabilities. The features that my son loved the best, downloading tv shows and movies, are not available on this model.
As for the price, this gadget is about the same price as the last generation, so you get a lot less for your money. I am further disappointed with the fact that if we return this and upgrade to the touch or classic, we will pay a much higher price.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+7points
Review 17 for Apple iPod nano, 8GB (Charcoal)

touch screen is very, very cool

06/15/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ipod nano is a very well designed product. The touchscreen gives you full control over how you want to listen to your music, browse playlists, find podcasts, or whatever. It clips right onto your waistband when you jogging. Just an excellent design all around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 18 for Apple iPod nano, 8GB (Charcoal)

Should've brought this long ago!

05/18/2011
By ,
Winston-Salem, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the Nano! I always felt iPods were expensive, but this is worth it! It's so cute and the sound is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 19 for Apple iPod nano, 8GB (Charcoal)

Nano Ipod is Great!

05/14/2011
By ,
Cicero, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use, and this is my first Ipod. I wish I had bought the 16g Nano. I load a lot of my cd collection onto the Nano. Compact, easy to carry. I really love my new toy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 20 for Apple iPod nano, 8GB (Charcoal)

Love it

10/26/2010
By ,
Los Angeles, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this nano its so small that you could put it anywhere, i also got it cheap so i love the way you can use your finger to move the icons like if it was an iphone. I gave it to my sister in law and she loved it especially because of age
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
1-20 of 211 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next