Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Toshiba Satellite Black 15.6" C655D-S5084 Laptop with AMD Athlon II Dual-Core Mobile P340 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Toshiba Toshiba Satellite Black 15.6" C655D-S5084 Laptop with AMD Athlon II Dual-Core Mobile P340 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

This black Toshiba 15.6" Satellite laptop PC boasts a stunning widescreen display that lends a new visual dimension to your movies, gaming, photos and more. Equipped with a large hard drive and plenty of memory, this black Toshiba 15.6" Satellite laptop PC can supercharge multitasking, balancing the family budget or studying for finals.
Average Customer Rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation80%12 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Toshiba Satellite Black 15.6" C655D-S5084 Laptop with AMD Athlon II Dual-Core Mobile P340 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Extremely Satisfied!

12/19/2010
By ,
Conway, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This latop was more than I expected! This was purchased as a much needed upgrade from an EEE netbook laptop. I needed something with a larger screen, larger keyboard with number pad. This is for home web surfing and school research, personal finance software usage, photos, Napster To Go usage, TomTom sync and work use. Although I am fairly new to the Windows 7 op system, I am enjoying it's user friendly capabilities. The screen image is bright and has a bright, clear image. The keyboard suits all of my typing and accounting needs and is comfortable to use. My spouse works with many different laptop brand and types, so when we began our search for the perfect device within our budget, it was hands down it would be a Toshiba and I am not dissapointed one bit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+108points
Review 2 for Toshiba Satellite Black 15.6" C655D-S5084 Laptop with AMD Athlon II Dual-Core Mobile P340 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great!

12/21/2010
By ,
Murrieta, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was originally planning on getting the previous model (I believe that's what it was. It was a purple Toshiba Satellite) for $100 more, but due to the discontinuation of it in my store, I thought I'd try this one. Same specs, and had a built in webcam which was my first priority because I make music playing videos, etc.
The screen is wide, and very vivid. Like the previous reviewer, I'm not as familiar with Windows 7, but I'm liking it a whole lot more than Vista. I'm also getting used to the multi-touch controls on the finger pad, it's similar to Apple's. The numeric keypad is great too, keeps me in practice for my job.
Overall, I'd say the price is great, and it's well worth it if not worth more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+70points
Review 3 for Toshiba Satellite Black 15.6" C655D-S5084 Laptop with AMD Athlon II Dual-Core Mobile P340 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

It's worth more than the price!

12/23/2010
By ,
Lake Placid, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am also new to Windows 7 and so far I am liking it. This laptop is awesome. So far had it for a day and no problems. This really the best laptop at this price range. Its basically a steal. The screen is vivid and thanks to its dual core processor, there is no slowing down. I seen laptops with Celeron processors that are more expensive than this laptop. Can't go wrong with this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 4 for Toshiba Satellite Black 15.6" C655D-S5084 Laptop with AMD Athlon II Dual-Core Mobile P340 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Do Not Purchase this Laptop!

01/07/2011
By ,
Centennial, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I do understand that some people like this laptop, but I have worked as an IT professional for many years and have helped support thousands of desktop as well as laptop units. As such, my exposure has allowed me to gather a vast amount of feedback from "users".
I was a fan of Toshiba years ago, yet something has happened in the past few years and the Quality Control & Engineering Design has fallen dramatically.
The #1 problem with this unit is the noise. The fan problems are not just associated to this particular model. One can google toshiba fan noise issues and see a plethora of forums and unhappy users. It is annoying not just to the user but also to neighbors and co-workers...YES it is that loud.
If you want to save money and purchase a VERY comparable laptop, you may want to consider the following unit also available at Walmart:
HP - Compaq Presario CQ62-209WM Laptop/Notebook Sold in store for $398
...my intentions are NOT to ridicule those who like their Toshiba Laptop. Rather, I am attempting to inform those of you who are considering purchasing one and would appreciate some feedback from someone who has seen their fair share of machines.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 5 for Toshiba Satellite Black 15.6" C655D-S5084 Laptop with AMD Athlon II Dual-Core Mobile P340 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great deal, except one problem...

01/08/2011
By ,
Afghanistan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm currently deployed in Afghanistan and needed an "every day" laptop, nothing special, to keep in touch with friends and family, watch DVDs, and do basic web browsing. I found this laptop and felt it was better than a netbook for just a little bit more. It's a great laptop but I've had one issue from the beginning. The DVD/CD drive won't open unless I use a paperclip to manually open it. I've tried restarting the laptop, I've tried opening it from pressing the button on the side to open it, I've tried right clicking and pressing "eject" from the "My Computer" screen. It simply will not open the way it's supposed to. Me being deployed I cannot easily send this back to get another one, so the drive not opening properly is not a deal breaker. It works, it plays, it burns, it just doesn't open the right way. I will just have to live with this small issue for now at least.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Toshiba Satellite Black 15.6" C655D-S5084 Laptop with AMD Athlon II Dual-Core Mobile P340 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Short on features

12/27/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Was disappointed in features included -
only 2 USB ports,
NO HDMI
Volume thru speakers is insufficient and must be supplemented.
Similar priced models by HP, Acer & Gateway include more ports & HDMI.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 7 for Toshiba Satellite Black 15.6" C655D-S5084 Laptop with AMD Athlon II Dual-Core Mobile P340 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Good Buy

01/04/2011
By ,
Rocky point, N.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this laptop. I had been looking at this same one at office depot $100 more than wal-mart was selling it for.. Needless to say, I never had the money to purchase it. Then Christmas 2010 rolled around, and I did some smart saving. I was finally able to get the computer I was looking at to begin with. I love how fast it is. I did notice however, that the micraphone would not pick up sound from the other parties with noise on my end. The room had to be completely quiet. Over all, I would definately recommned this laptop to anyone... It is a good starter computer, or one for someone who had to do alot of computing for business and/or play. Completley satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Toshiba Satellite Black 15.6" C655D-S5084 Laptop with AMD Athlon II Dual-Core Mobile P340 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Loaded with bloatware

01/08/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Took me over two hours to remove all the junk that came preinstalled. Norton (notorious for slowing down your system, then bugging you to upgrade) is particularly useless because Microsoft provides free antivirus software. MS office trial. Wildtangent games, a bunch of Toshiba branded stuff. For some reason, it wouldn't let me create an account named "Administrator". Tech support suggested restoring the system (which just put back all the stuff I spent hours removing)
Physically, the trackpad is awful. Most other laptops I've used have the trackpad recessed a bit. This prevents stray clicks from being brushed by my thumb.
Absolute garbage, DO NOT BUY!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 9 for Toshiba Satellite Black 15.6" C655D-S5084 Laptop with AMD Athlon II Dual-Core Mobile P340 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

awesome

01/03/2011
By ,
Rogers, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been in search for a laptop for quite sometime. I saw this one in my local walmart right next to the one i have been eyeing up for ages (hp garden dreams laptop) This one is actually better. Very fast for everything. i love it! i'm and who can beat the price of 398??? Toshiba is a great brand of laptop. my brother's toshiba has been in iraq with him and the screen may be broken but hooking up to a monitor works just fine. this is why i went with toshiba. I have had several HP's in the past and a dell... they stink. This will help me on my job hunt and keep my typing skills up to par. AWESOME LAPTOP!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Toshiba Satellite Black 15.6" C655D-S5084 Laptop with AMD Athlon II Dual-Core Mobile P340 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Computer Geek & say this is the Best Bang For Buck

01/08/2011
By ,
Walmart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beyond my expectations. I had an high end (DV9730 entertainment notebook) from HP that's bricked now. This notebook runs so much cooler and reliable that the HP.
If you don't need the rarely used HDMI or a few extra USB ports (that a $10 hub will fix if needed) this model is the way to go! You still get "budget" parts but they are the better budget parts. You are getting a an LED (not sure if this was a free upgrade because it did not have on the details at time of purchase) vs the old LCD. ATI video card that is better IMO than the budget Intel one. 10-Key number pad, N- wireless card for faster speeds, card reader, face recognition software, and Office Started 2010 (not the trail; it will not expire on you!), It comes with windows 7 64-bit meaning it will support the full 8GB of RAM later on.
I have ran Photoshop CS3, Adobe Premier without a problem, and pushed this notebook to the limits.
I was nervous about the 1MB of L2 cache but so far it has not been a problem. The DDR3 really helps with the speed. It runs smooth and rather fast. I notice little things here & there BUT I am not the normal computer user. I am a computer geek and max this $400 notebook out.
Pros: Price, Average battery life (2hrs 45mins on 4 cell is GREAT), Windows 7 64-Bit, Face software, FULL Office Starter Starter, 10-Key, LED, Nice picture, pinch & twirl touch pad, Not shine so no more finger prints, nice size, nice feel to keys, DDR3, upgrade to 8GB DDR3 RAM (nice), very little bloat-ware, plus so much more.
Cons: 2 USB ports & no HDMI (not a big deal for me), Speakers are on the VERY quite side. (I'm always muted so I don't mind.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Toshiba Satellite Black 15.6" C655D-S5084 Laptop with AMD Athlon II Dual-Core Mobile P340 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

LOVE THIS :)

01/05/2011
By ,
Massillon, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This laptop in great. I'm very satisfied with it & I would recommend it to anyone. There's soo much memory space & it runs really fast. The speakers are loud which is nice. My only complaint is the webcam quality, which I'm going to mess around with the setttings to see if I can change that. Overall, I love this :) Very happy :D
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Toshiba Satellite Black 15.6" C655D-S5084 Laptop with AMD Athlon II Dual-Core Mobile P340 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Extremely Satisfied

12/28/2010
By ,
Marietta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this laptop for my dad without even thinking twice about it. I have used all types of laptops before from the different jobs that I have had and I knew Toshiba is one of the best ones out there. The price was great! Where else would you find a lower price for this one? I am getting 2 more of these for my kids.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Toshiba Satellite Black 15.6" C655D-S5084 Laptop with AMD Athlon II Dual-Core Mobile P340 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great laptop, great price!

01/10/2011
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this as a present for myself. Wanted the Toshiba brand, and this had all the specs I wanted at a great price! Very pleased. Super fast, easy set up with D-link router - up and running in about 10 minutes!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Toshiba Satellite Black 15.6" C655D-S5084 Laptop with AMD Athlon II Dual-Core Mobile P340 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

toshiba laptop

01/07/2011
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awesome laptop with a great price, I purchased this for a christmas present and they were more then surprised...and pleased with everything it does. great buy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Toshiba Satellite Black 15.6" C655D-S5084 Laptop with AMD Athlon II Dual-Core Mobile P340 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Beautiful

12/27/2010
By ,
Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really lovely computer for 398. I have one for work and this one will be for play. Looks much more expensive than 398 and will suit our needs!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points