Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Wintec Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter

Wintec Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter

The Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter is an internal wireless network adapter that installs into most desktop computers. Connecting to a wireless network is hassle-free compared to running expensive network cables and installing connections in the walls of your home. Once the wireless PCI adapter has been installed and set up, the computer will seamlessly detect and connect to the available wireless networks inside a range of 100 meters as soon as it starts up. You get an extended range and stronger connectivity with the FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter. This desktop PCI wireless card includes 2 antennas and installation CD that makes the installation easy. Browse at higher speeds and connect to the digital world with the wireless adapter. It is compatible with Windows XP, Vista or Windows 7 operating systems.
Average Customer Rating:
4.277 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(253 Reviews) 197
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
173
4 stars
35
3 stars
13
2 stars
6
1 star
26
Customer Recommendation85%215 out of 253reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 173 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
173
4 stars
35
3 stars
13
2 stars
6
1 star
26
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter

Mostly good - get it

06/08/2011
By ,
Kansas City, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Set-up is simple and quick. Utility software that it comes with is pretty good; nothing fancy but it supplies you with what you need, advanced user or not. Internet speed is mostly commendable - a few issues with videos buffering or pages loading but the rest of what I use it for (downloading/gaming) doesn't seem to have any issues. I experienced a notable number of disconnects. For the past few days it's been stable but for the first week or so I had some issues with my connection. Nothing too bad just annoying while gaming. I'm an avid gamer and computer geek so there is some experience and knowledge behind this review. I would absolutely recommend giving this product a try, keeping in mind it's inexpensive and it can be returned if need be.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter

Great card for $15

12/07/2010
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a cheap card to connect to a G network at home. I saw this priced about the same as cheap cards that max out at G standard but this was N which, with the correct wireless router, should connect much faster and is backward compatible with both G and B 802.11 standards.
I opened the computer, popped it into an open PCI slot and closed up. Once I turned on the computer, which runs Windows 7 64bit, it recognised the card but was unable to assign drivers - but was fine when I put the CD that accompanied the card in and ran the device manager.
Once connected I was then able to update to the latest drivers with Windows Update. It uses a Realtek 8190 wireless N chip on the board.
I think its a fantastic deal for $15. Plus shipping was included and really fast for me - I got it in 2 days!
The card works well and I get good speeds. Would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter

Excellent

01/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered this product off of Walmart Site to Store, took 6 days, which I expected. The product is just awesome. Have this item connected to the Belkin Play N600. I'm at "Excellent" signal two rooms away from the router at 150 Mbps. I'm unable to get full N because I have other devices on the router that are G, and thus the router can't broadcast N and G at the same time; that's with EVERY router ever made. So don't be upset if this device won't get you full N speeds; look at your other devices first. This product is surprisingly small. Clicked in the PCI slot without a hitch. Then installed the driver with the provided CD. Works instantly, with 0 disconnects so far. This piece of technology is just amazing. If you have doubts because of price; just get it. Do it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
ed
Posted 12/06/2011
any n router can operate at bgn for compatibility with all
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter

Great wi-fi card

04/13/2011
By ,
Mesa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Installed in my desktop running Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit. New 'hardware found' came up and I browsed to the cd disk that came wth the card. Windows instantly found the correct driver on the cd and insalled it. I've always used Netgear or Belkin cards in the past which always install their own useless wireless control panel software. None of that here, just hardware and driver. Works great and is a very solid built card. Easiest hardware I have ever installed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter

Great value

06/15/2011
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
$15 for an N card, what else needs to be said.
Some drops and noise, but I am also located 250 ft from a shared router and 2.4GHz phones, so really not that bad. Delivered on time. Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit did not auto install drivers, the install disk worked, and once I updated the latest drivers from the web, I went from 30% signal to consistant >70% on strength and quality with no packet losses. Works on Skype, MagicJack, Ventrillo with minor latency (again, see my distance from router which may be the issue).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter

DO NOT INSTALL THE WIRELESS UTILITY!

09/24/2011
By ,
CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At first i thought "what a great deal!" when i put the product in and installed the drivers, i thought i was going to have a good thing with this card.
Turns out, this card caused me a lot of problems. The first few days it had decent speed. then it dropped to about 1-2Mbps. I went to speedtest.net and found out it was actually averaging about 1 Mbps (over about 10 attempts) the highest it went was 4Mbps, the previous test and test after that dropped back down to about .5Mbps, being the only computer on in the house.
So after a little tinkering rather than just returning it, I decided to plug in my usb adapter, and delete all software/drivers for the card. Reinstalled using just Windows update and my speed jumped to a consistent 6-8 Mbps.
FINAL WORDS:
after uninstalling the cd software and just letting windows run the card, I more than doubled my speed. For the price, it caused a lot of hassle, but in the end it is worth it (if you let windows install the drivers. the cd drivers are outdated anyway)
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter

Easy to Install / Works Great !

09/18/2013
By ,
Panama City Beach, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This wireless adapter installed in my (2004 - Dell - Desk-Top Computer - Windows XP) in under 1/2 hour. 1. Be sure you have a wireless router... 2. Be sure you have an available PCI Slot on the back of your computer... 3. Turn off your computer and un-plug all wires... 4. Open computer and remove slot plate cover... 5. Firmly insert adapter and secure, be sure it will fit the slot... 6. Close computer and attach your wires. 7. Turn on your PC and insert the Install Disk... 8. Follow menu instructions and add the router password, (located on the back of router or call your provider) and your computer is now wireless and can be moved to most locations in your home! You Do Not Need the 'Ethernet Cable' anymore or connected for this procedure! And that's how it worked for me.... ! Good Luck with Yours !!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter

Wireless adapter that works with Linux OS

04/01/2011
By ,
Southern Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This wireless PCI card will work in all the regular Windows OS, but you have to choose carefully when you are building a Linux system. Not all adapters work in Linux. I am running Linux Mint Julia 64 bit, and with a little research (Google) and patience, this adapter works. Since configured, it has worked flawlessly, and the price is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter

wireless adapter

07/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product came fast and works perfectly fine. My only complaint is there is no instruction manual on how to install the product in your computer. I find a manual would be very helpful to those who don't know much about computers, like me. We had to call my brother to help talk us through the installation. Overall the product is as described and works good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter
05/30/2011
By ,
Clayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have two desktop computers. I have the modem/router on my desktop. My husband was using a USB connected wireless router. He was having all kinds of connection problems. Since installing this device, he has not had any problems connecting to the internet. He said it was the best thing he has purchased in a while.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter

This is a great product.

12/28/2010
By ,
Junction city ks.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a very helpful product, and i would reconmend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter
09/27/2013
By ,
Hudson, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had my on board ethernet card go bad so I decided to go wireless. After waiting over a week it finally arrived. Installation was easy. I had to use the CD to complete the install. This card worked great for about 1 hour then it lost the connection in the middle of browsing. Reinstalled the software and it worked for about 5 minutes. I called tech support and left a voice mail. Charles called me back after about 1 hour. After explaining the problem he said a tech would be in any minute and he would walk across the building and explain my problem. Charles called me back several hours later and said the tech suggest a total reinstall of my windows xp spac3. A local tech suggested doing a restore which I did. Now Mozilla will not load but I can connect with IE with the same lack of reliability.
I am going to return this card to Walmart and spend a little more on hopefully a better card.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter

It performs well for the price you pay.

01/03/2012
By ,
Ankeny, IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is not a big name brand product and that is why it is cheap. I do not know if it performs any better than big name brand products, but I will say that it does not work as good as my integrated wireless network on my Toshiba laptop that was bought in 2009. For some odd reason the signal is lost frequently especially when I am running Pandora.com. The signal penetrates through a bathroom (two walls) into the kitchen where the wireless modem is hooked up, which is about 30 feet. According to the software that came with the device, it has about 85% signal strength from that location. It was also a little difficult to get it working once the device and software was installed. It may be my fault that the device does not function exceptionally well. When my internet demand is not that great like gamers and I only use it for casual internet usage this device does its job just fine for the money I paid for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter

Good product

12/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In use for about 2 weeks. Works like a charm on Windows 7 64bit with good connection and signal strength. No issues with resuming from standby or hibernate modes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter

A cheap card that acts like a cheap card ...

02/06/2013
By ,
Morton, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This card was a disappoitment. First, it took a full two weeks to arrive! I have been spoiled by NewEgg. Walmart uses the least cost carriers for their deliveries; I have had this experience with them before. Slow is their norm. I wish it was better; I am a Walmart stockholder.
Second, I pulled the card out of my PC after spending a day trying to get it to work properly. It was a buggy performer from the start. It would not hold a connection.
Third, updating the driver from Realtek was impossible. MSN lists the RealTek support site as having security or maleware issues and would not allow a download. I wrote RealTek informing them of this issue and asked them to send me the driver. They did not respond.
Fourth, After reading some of the other problems others have had with this card, it may have more issues than just needing a driver update. Windows Compatibility lists this card as incompatable with Windows 7.
In summary, I got what i paid for. Glad to read some people didn't have any problems installing right out of the box. For me, this card was a lesson on being penny foolish.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter

Exactly what I needed.

06/30/2012
By ,
Columbus, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything seems to be USB today. Earlier I bought a USB wireless adapter (dongle) but it didn't work. This plugged right in and worked without issues. No wires... and I still an available USB port. I don't know how fast it is, but I not complaints!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter

easy install

12/08/2013
By ,
Chisholm, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this for a week and already see vast improvement over the USB Type. Install and load the drivers that come with the disk find your service, done. Very strong signal and you freed up a USB Port.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter

Great for extending wireless connection

10/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It work 200 yrd from the router, at the same connection speed as in the same room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter

Worked great while it lasted.

09/03/2011
By ,
VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
**Warning: Wordy review with some useless details.**
I was using this Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter for nearly a month with no problems at all until two weeks ago. It was literally working one minute and then decided it wasn't going to connect anymore the next. There was no movement or tinkering involved and it was installed by someone I know who's worked with computers for a little over a decade. [NOT Geek Squad.]
I could still see all the wireless networks in my area but it just wouldn't connect-- I kept getting an error message telling me to refresh the list because available networks may have changed. And Windows XP's Device Manager told me the card itself was still working properly.
Being well-educated in computer "stuff" myself, I was stumped. I tried everything from putting the modem right next to it, changing slots, switching computers [red flag came up at this point], rebooting and bringing it to an expert [I repeat, NOT Geek Squad] -- but still nothing. The "ACT" [I'm assuming that stands for "Active"] light just kept on blinking and the "LINK" light never came back on.
The [Realtek Wireless LAN Utility] software that comes with it is decent, but to be honest I stuck to using Windows Zero Config while it was working. With my current problem all it would tell me was "Not Associated" anyway, even though my modem's signal clearly reaches. [Yes, I quadruple-checked the network key and other wireless settings like I always do.. *Dramatic eye-roll.*] The software itself is kind of outdated but it's not a big deal. Rather, it doesn't make much of a difference. But I'm the type of person who likes to have the most recent version.. so I just downloaded the newest one from the Realtek website.
For now I guess I'll just return it, get the same model and see what happens. If the same problem happens again then it's definitely not worth getting a third time.
If anyone can figure out what caused my problem [other than the device being faulty, which it probably was], kudos to you and I hope you can post a solution up for everyone else to see.
P.S.
I also bought CNET's CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter at the same time and it works just fine on the same computer [which is located one floor and three rooms away from the modem] and every other Windows XP computer I've plugged them both into. [Sorry, haven't tried it on that Vista crud or the awesome Windows 7.] It uses the same "Realtek Wireless LAN Utility" software as the FileMate. In my opinion this little white stick was the better half of what I bought. It might work better with an extension cable for some, since its size unfortunately half- to partially blocks the USB ports around it.
P.P.S.
If you've made it this far congrats and thanks for reading. I hope this was at least a little helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
CNET CWU-906 Wireless-N USB Adapter
4.5 out of 5(139)
 
 
 
Link Depot 50' Ethernet Enhanced CAT6 Networking Cable, Blue
4.9 out of 5(34)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Wintec FileMate PCI Wireless-N Network Adapter

Good product, great price!

05/17/2013
By ,
Webb City, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After a lot of time (and patience) I still could not get the downloaded linux driver to work on linux, so I had to install WinXP instead. The included Windows driver worked great on WinXP after it was configured correctly. It is my opinion that unless you are a real Linux guru, do not purchase this product for use on a Linux computer. If you are planning to use this wireless adapter for a Windows XP computer, it works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 198 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next