Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sylvania Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

Sylvania Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

Watch your favorite movies on the go with the Sylvania SDVD1030 10 Portable DVD Player. The portable DVD player plays back DVDs, CDs as well JPEGs and MP3 files. Its compact size lets you place it in your vehicle and view movies whilst you drive. You can also play music and view photos on this 10" TFT LCD DVD player with speakers. The swivel screen lets you change the angle to suit to your requirement and you can view it from your place of comfort. The bright LCD screen delivers sharp and crisp images in high quality. The Sylvania DVD player comes with an AC car adapter. The built in SD/MMC/USB 1.1 card reader lets you play movies or photos using memory sticks. This portable swivel screen DVD player has a built-in rechargeable lithium polymer battery for better performance and durability.
Average Customer Rating:
4.34 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(477 Reviews) 398
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
303
4 stars
107
3 stars
22
2 stars
16
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation89%422 out of 476reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
212 Questions | 361 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
303
4 stars
107
3 stars
22
2 stars
16
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030
10/07/2011
By ,
Orange, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The player seems to function okay, but I notice that I hear a slight "whirring" noise as the DVD spins and the cover of the area where you insert the DVD doesn't seem to be securely closed. When I apply a little pressure on top, the "whirring" noise ceases. I am hoping that this will not be a problem in the future. Other than that, with my limited use thus far, the player seems to be a pretty good device.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

Big screen at affordable price, with drawback

08/21/2014
By ,
Seattle metro
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I needed to buy a couple more portable DVD players, one to replace a unit that failed after a year and another as a new unit. The unit that failed may have been due to mishandling; this player looked almost exactly like the one that failed, and has the same model number. For a 10 inch portable player, this one was priced very competitively; I also liked how the old one performed, what with its volume control wheel next to the power switch. This new unit, unfortunately, even though having the exact same model number, does *NOT* have the volume control wheel. As other reviewers may have indicated, the volume reverts to the max loudness when you turn it back on, which can be very disconcerting. You also need to change the volume by remembering to long-press the STOP and PLAY/PAUSE buttons.
Of the two units purchased, one worked okay, but the missing volume control wheel is a big drawback. The second unit was DOA. Argh!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

Good DVD player. Low price

08/26/2013
By ,
Charleston, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this unit to play dvd's in an area where I travel to work, and where there is no internet, cell reception, or television. The quality is adequate, but light weight. The construction is far from heavy duty (something mentioned on almost all the other player reviews). However, with gentle care, I believe it will last and work for two to three years. It's small and easy to bring along, fitting nicely in a briefcase. The remote is super light weight, and very small, and superfluous. The unit works well without it because with a small screen player, the screen is always close, and the controls are duplicated on the player face. I'm glad I bought it at this point. I bought this one because it was not very expensive compared to the others and because although the reviews expressed some problems, they seemed to be the same problems that the more expensive player reviews mentioned. The screen resolution is average, but ok. Volume is relatively weak, but comes through fine on ear buds or headphones. The swivel screen is useful.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

excellent

07/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched this item quite a bit. I read the good and the bad. In the end I decided to give it a try. It was cheaper than amazon and the return policy seemed easier to deal with just in case. It came less than 24 hours after I ordered it, that was an absolute shock to me. The picture is clear, the volume is perfect and best of all it lasted a 6 hour plane ride. I recommand this to anyone who is traveling with small child.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

Good picture/sound, Strange button fuunctions.

09/18/2013
By ,
Phoenix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for a 12 hour car ride. My daughter watched movies the whole trip. Very easy to use, love the swivel design. Battery life was good and the car adapter being included was awesome. The only complaints are the buttoms. Very strange design. The pause button is also the volume up button and the stop button is also the volume down button. To pause or stop you do a single push, to change the volume you need to hold the button down.. The buttons do take quite a bit of effort to push and are quite loud. This makes the unit feel very cheap. It does come with a remote but I did not play around with it, it seems equally as odd. There are more buttons on the remote than my home theater system and very small ones at that. Overall the unit did what I needed. The sound and picture were great, the design and user interface are just strange but I can live with that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

Good value for the performance

06/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value. Volume control is a little tricky. Important to read the owners man to see how to change. The panel shows the up and down arrows, however, you have to hold them down to activate the volume.
The max volume seems limited. OK, but could be a little louder at the max setting.
Battery life is very good.
All other controls are easy to understand.
Picture quality is very good from almost every angle.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030
09/03/2013
By ,
Chester County, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered online (easy); item was ready for pickup in 2 days (fast). Unfortunately, after charging and making sure it was set to DVD mode, no matter what DVD I put in, the unit kept "loading" but not playing. I returned the DVD player to the store (no problem there). I was very disappointed as I thought this model had everything I wanted. So I took a chance and found a store that had this model in stock (make sure you call the store first as even though it listed online that certain stores had the model I wanted, when I called, I found out they didn't). After holding my breath, when I hit play IT WORKED!! I really like everything about this portable DVD player. The sound is good, the picture great - love the bigger screen - and feel that it was a great value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

EXTREMELY PLEASED BATTERY REALLY LASTS!

06/26/2014
By ,
tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this DVD player after buying and Returning several others. Others we tried did not have the battery charge time that they advertised. This unit actually played 1 hour (6+ hours) longer than advertised which is wonderfully refreshing! My husband is disabled and when the electricity goes out, he has nothing to occupy his time. This DVD player has great picture & sound. It's easy to operate. It would be really good for kids. I'm Very happy and would recommend it to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

GREAT picture / sound quality for this commuter!

01/01/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW!! I was hesitant to purchase a portable dvd player in the first place, but decided on two different players - this Sylvania 10" player and a Phillips 9" from another store. This one beat the Phillips out of the water - the price is fantastic, the picture quality is amazing, and the sound through the headphones is crystal clear. The sound quality is not as great without the headphones, but what do you expect from tiny speakers?
I reverse commute on the train, and this is exactly what I needed!
GET IT - you won't be disappointed. Plus, you can always return it if you don't like it, but I was ridiculously surprised and amazed at the picture and sound quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+224points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

good value works all the time ..i use it while im

08/21/2014
By ,
sanantonio,TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
while im waiting at the school for my grandbaby to come out.works great ...so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

Great Portable DVD Player / Sound is Loud & Clear

02/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This player was just what I was looking for. I wanted a larger screen than the average 7-9inch portable player, and I got excited when I saw this under $100. I admit I was alittle concerned by the bad audio reviews. I don't know why, because when I played it for the first time, the sound was loud enough to compete w/our television and be heard clearly across the room. In short, it's pretty darn loud at half volume. Picture is clear, vibrant too. Easy to operate, and I love it's sleek design too. I'm not the least bit disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+390points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

Great for the Kids

06/28/2011
By ,
arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for a family vacation out of town. I have A 2 & 5 yr old, this dvd player kept them occupied the whole time so they were not getting bored or out of hand. The dvd player battery seems to last very long with a full charge. The volume is pretty good in a home or room, but when on the road you get the wind noise and road noise & does not sound that loud. But we have an audio input on our stereo and was able to use our car stereo for sound which kept them more into the movies. FYI - comes with car charger, wall charger, remote, headphones & video out cables. Does not have video inputs. Which could be used for hooking up gaming systems or other equipment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

As expected

08/16/2014
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Arrived quickly, set up easy. I do not like earbuds, but these are not as uncomfortable as some. Good picture, sound is of good quality and volume is adequate. Overall, I am well pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

Nice DVD player for the money

07/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked this DVD player up as a replacement to the one we had been using for about 3 1/2 years in the back seat of our SUV for my son's viewing pleasure.
Things we like about this one:
Remote Control- Makes it much easier for mom in the front seat to be able to start his movies.
Angle Adjustment- Since he now sits in one of the door seats, this makes it a LOT easier for him to see his movies as we simply adjust the screen over to him.
Screen Size- Large screen also makes it easier for him to see since he's a bit farther away from the screen than before when he was right in the middle.
I mounted this one the same as I mounted the old one; used a piece of 550 cord (basically parachute cord) underneath the pivot for the screen and then around the storage compartment lid of our SUV. Works like a charm. Any good piece of thin rope should do as the unit is not heavy at all.
We haven't had an issue with this unit yet and I would recommend it for anyone looking for a good, basic portable DVD player with a few nice upgrades (remote, angled viewing).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

Awesome!

08/16/2014
By ,
Ballston Lake, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great DVD player for camping. The 5 hour battery life is great. Added a small pair of speakers for better sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030
06/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My only complaint is that there isn't a carstrap to attach it to the head rest since our 18 month old has to hold it and can have trouble with it. Other than that I think the picture quality for the price is outstanding, reminiscent of flat screen LCD TV's. The big screen is wonderful and has a pretty decent speaker for the price. The swivel screen is a sweet feature, comes with a remote control and car charger so it's an amazing value. I think on our first charge we got pretty close to 5 hours so that claim is pretty accurate.
No complaints at all and after having purchased it I have no complaints based on the price, the only thing we wish it had was the straps for the head rest.
Thank you Wal-Mart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

Great value!!!

06/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This portable dvd player exceeded my expectactions. The 5 hour built in battery actually lasted me over 7 hours without recharging and showed no signs of going dead after a 7 1/2 hour trip to the beach. Best $100.00 I have ever spent on a dvd player. The only thing that got me was the glare on the screen, but what can you expect in a car with no tinted windows on a clear sunny day while traveling? The sound was good and no skipping at all even on some rough roads. The best part is that you can use it anywhere and also when your power goes out from a thunderstorm you can keep watching your movies. Great choice!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

too early to tell

02/23/2011
By ,
Ft Myers, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this DVD player online and received it in early February. Less than three weeks and ten hours of play time later, the unit would try to load, then display "no disc" and stop. We really like the screen size and features, expecially for $98, so we returned the unit to a local Wal Mart and re-purchased it online again, this time with the 3 year extended warranty for $17. Wal Mart accepted the unit for refund without the original packaging.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

Exceeded Expectations

01/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this DVD player for my husband for Christmas. The screen is a great size, the controls are easy to see and operate (there are no extra bells and whistles to confuse things), and the picture quality is beautiful. The screen swivels so you can adjust for glare or to allow someone else to watch (or not watch). The only thing that could make it better is if they put a case in with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+294points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

better than expected

12/11/2010
By ,
houston texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hesitate to buy but sound good picture good no problems to date
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+124points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 399 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  20 Next