Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sylvania Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

Sylvania Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

Watch your favorite movies on the go with the Sylvania SDVD1030 10 Portable DVD Player. The portable DVD player plays back DVDs, CDs as well JPEGs and MP3 files. Its compact size lets you place it in your vehicle and view movies whilst you drive. You can also play music and view photos on this 10" TFT LCD DVD player with speakers. The swivel screen lets you change the angle to suit to your requirement and you can view it from your place of comfort. The bright LCD screen delivers sharp and crisp images in high quality. The Sylvania DVD player comes with an AC car adapter. The built in SD/MMC/USB 1.1 card reader lets you play movies or photos using memory sticks. This portable swivel screen DVD player has a built-in rechargeable lithium polymer battery for better performance and durability.
Average Customer Rating:
4.345 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(466 Reviews) 387
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
103
3 stars
21
2 stars
16
1 star
28
Customer Recommendation89%413 out of 465reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
200 Questions | 349 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
103
3 stars
21
2 stars
16
1 star
28
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030
10/07/2011
By ,
Orange, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The player seems to function okay, but I notice that I hear a slight "whirring" noise as the DVD spins and the cover of the area where you insert the DVD doesn't seem to be securely closed. When I apply a little pressure on top, the "whirring" noise ceases. I am hoping that this will not be a problem in the future. Other than that, with my limited use thus far, the player seems to be a pretty good device.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

Good DVD player. Low price

08/26/2013
By ,
Charleston, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this unit to play dvd's in an area where I travel to work, and where there is no internet, cell reception, or television. The quality is adequate, but light weight. The construction is far from heavy duty (something mentioned on almost all the other player reviews). However, with gentle care, I believe it will last and work for two to three years. It's small and easy to bring along, fitting nicely in a briefcase. The remote is super light weight, and very small, and superfluous. The unit works well without it because with a small screen player, the screen is always close, and the controls are duplicated on the player face. I'm glad I bought it at this point. I bought this one because it was not very expensive compared to the others and because although the reviews expressed some problems, they seemed to be the same problems that the more expensive player reviews mentioned. The screen resolution is average, but ok. Volume is relatively weak, but comes through fine on ear buds or headphones. The swivel screen is useful.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

Good picture/sound, Strange button fuunctions.

09/18/2013
By ,
Phoenix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for a 12 hour car ride. My daughter watched movies the whole trip. Very easy to use, love the swivel design. Battery life was good and the car adapter being included was awesome. The only complaints are the buttoms. Very strange design. The pause button is also the volume up button and the stop button is also the volume down button. To pause or stop you do a single push, to change the volume you need to hold the button down.. The buttons do take quite a bit of effort to push and are quite loud. This makes the unit feel very cheap. It does come with a remote but I did not play around with it, it seems equally as odd. There are more buttons on the remote than my home theater system and very small ones at that. Overall the unit did what I needed. The sound and picture were great, the design and user interface are just strange but I can live with that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030
09/03/2013
By ,
Chester County, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered online (easy); item was ready for pickup in 2 days (fast). Unfortunately, after charging and making sure it was set to DVD mode, no matter what DVD I put in, the unit kept "loading" but not playing. I returned the DVD player to the store (no problem there). I was very disappointed as I thought this model had everything I wanted. So I took a chance and found a store that had this model in stock (make sure you call the store first as even though it listed online that certain stores had the model I wanted, when I called, I found out they didn't). After holding my breath, when I hit play IT WORKED!! I really like everything about this portable DVD player. The sound is good, the picture great - love the bigger screen - and feel that it was a great value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

GREAT picture / sound quality for this commuter!

01/01/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW!! I was hesitant to purchase a portable dvd player in the first place, but decided on two different players - this Sylvania 10" player and a Phillips 9" from another store. This one beat the Phillips out of the water - the price is fantastic, the picture quality is amazing, and the sound through the headphones is crystal clear. The sound quality is not as great without the headphones, but what do you expect from tiny speakers?
I reverse commute on the train, and this is exactly what I needed!
GET IT - you won't be disappointed. Plus, you can always return it if you don't like it, but I was ridiculously surprised and amazed at the picture and sound quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+217points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

Great Portable DVD Player / Sound is Loud & Clear

02/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This player was just what I was looking for. I wanted a larger screen than the average 7-9inch portable player, and I got excited when I saw this under $100. I admit I was alittle concerned by the bad audio reviews. I don't know why, because when I played it for the first time, the sound was loud enough to compete w/our television and be heard clearly across the room. In short, it's pretty darn loud at half volume. Picture is clear, vibrant too. Easy to operate, and I love it's sleek design too. I'm not the least bit disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+384points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

Great for the Kids

06/28/2011
By ,
arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for a family vacation out of town. I have A 2 & 5 yr old, this dvd player kept them occupied the whole time so they were not getting bored or out of hand. The dvd player battery seems to last very long with a full charge. The volume is pretty good in a home or room, but when on the road you get the wind noise and road noise & does not sound that loud. But we have an audio input on our stereo and was able to use our car stereo for sound which kept them more into the movies. FYI - comes with car charger, wall charger, remote, headphones & video out cables. Does not have video inputs. Which could be used for hooking up gaming systems or other equipment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

Great value!!!

06/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This portable dvd player exceeded my expectactions. The 5 hour built in battery actually lasted me over 7 hours without recharging and showed no signs of going dead after a 7 1/2 hour trip to the beach. Best $100.00 I have ever spent on a dvd player. The only thing that got me was the glare on the screen, but what can you expect in a car with no tinted windows on a clear sunny day while traveling? The sound was good and no skipping at all even on some rough roads. The best part is that you can use it anywhere and also when your power goes out from a thunderstorm you can keep watching your movies. Great choice!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030
06/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My only complaint is that there isn't a carstrap to attach it to the head rest since our 18 month old has to hold it and can have trouble with it. Other than that I think the picture quality for the price is outstanding, reminiscent of flat screen LCD TV's. The big screen is wonderful and has a pretty decent speaker for the price. The swivel screen is a sweet feature, comes with a remote control and car charger so it's an amazing value. I think on our first charge we got pretty close to 5 hours so that claim is pretty accurate.
No complaints at all and after having purchased it I have no complaints based on the price, the only thing we wish it had was the straps for the head rest.
Thank you Wal-Mart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

Exceeded Expectations

01/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this DVD player for my husband for Christmas. The screen is a great size, the controls are easy to see and operate (there are no extra bells and whistles to confuse things), and the picture quality is beautiful. The screen swivels so you can adjust for glare or to allow someone else to watch (or not watch). The only thing that could make it better is if they put a case in with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+292points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

great buy for all ages

01/08/2014
By ,
St. Petersburg, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started out looking just for a portable dvd player that I could use any where. Ordered one and when it came screen was so small I sent it back. Good for kids in the car. Then I found this Sylvania with a 10 inch screen. It is great. Crisp clear picture, decent sound, easy to use. couldn't be happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

too early to tell

02/23/2011
By ,
Ft Myers, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this DVD player online and received it in early February. Less than three weeks and ten hours of play time later, the unit would try to load, then display "no disc" and stop. We really like the screen size and features, expecially for $98, so we returned the unit to a local Wal Mart and re-purchased it online again, this time with the 3 year extended warranty for $17. Wal Mart accepted the unit for refund without the original packaging.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

Great Deal for a Portablee DVD Player.

03/31/2014
By ,
Everett, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Met all of my expectations. After looking for a month this price was way better than all others online. Once I received it I was actually surprised at the great product. The only thing negative I could say about it is the audio sound is not the best. Kind of tinny, so I attached a speaker to it and it is perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

better than expected

12/11/2010
By ,
houston texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hesitate to buy but sound good picture good no problems to date
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+124points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

Good buy

08/23/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read the reviews and was slightly hestitant in this purchase. After researching many portable dvd players- I decided to purchase this one because as far as size and cost- there is not one available. In other reviews people talk about the DVD player freezing and working poorly. This is due to low battery- nothing else. Had they plugged in the machine they would have realized that it works fine and there is nothing to "cue" you into the fact that the battery is getting low except for the freezing. Also this machine does not recharge while plugged into the cigarette lighter. Only when plugged into the wall... Good purchase and very please with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

Great DVD Player

02/17/2014
By ,
Wolfeboro, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found the picture was very clear and the sound was excellent! If you know how to use a VCR player, you shouldn't have any problem using this item. Nice to have on long trips or watching something when the TV is being watched by someone else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

A great buy!

11/19/2013
By ,
Guy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my grandson for when he rides in our car. It is a great dvd player. It keeps him entertained for hours. No more fussing or crying. The 5 hours battery does help.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

Sylvania Needs to Fix Problems-Don't Waste Your $$

06/28/2011
By ,
Toooooooo Hot Arizona!
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the reviews which mentioned the volume was low and hard to hear; yet others mentioned the volume was fine--no problem! The same issue included the dvd locking up or freezing on the player. I really wanted a 10" or larger player, which is difficult to find. Soooooooo, I decided to order it and hoped that I received a machine that had no problems. Unfortunately, that was not the case. The first dvd I put in was an off brand and froze. The second dvd was part of a complete season and also froze. The volume was terrible at the highest level. With any background noise, you wouldn't be able to hear anything. I was very disappointed. It was returned immediately. Don't waste your money purchasing this machine until Sylvania makes changes to the speaker system and player.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

Real Value

01/06/2011
By ,
Lucama ,NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very pleased with sound and ease of operation. Many DVD players do not have good sound ,this one does.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sylvania 10" Portable DVD Player with Swivel Screen and Built-in Extended Life Rechargeable Lithium Polymer Battery, SDVD1030

6 of one 1/2 a dozen of another

02/01/2011
By ,
Altoona, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product in itself is great, picture is perfect, the options are nice to have, but there is one draw back, the volume. If you are alone somewhere quite, then you will have no problems, but if you are not you will never hear it. Head phones come with the thing, but they won't stay in your ears at least they wouldn't with me. So I went out and bought a pair of Memorex ear buds and rigged them with a hanger for tension purposes....they fit really snug and I actually had to turn down the sound because it was way too loud....other then that its a good product with a great price and the delivery turn around time was tremendous, I had the thing in 2 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 388 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  20 Next