Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Mainstays Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Complete your dining room or kitchen with this elegant mainstays 5-piece wood and metal dining set. This dining set has a sturdy steel table frame with a wood top and this is complemented by four chairs with upholstered seats. The hardware of this dining set with upholstered chairs has been sorted out individually so that it does not consume much time for assembling. With a sophisticated look this dining set will become the focal point of your dining room. With a compact size you can even place it into your kitchen nook. Built with a sturdy steel frame and strong wood top, this table is rugged enough to withstand years of use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.832 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(707 Reviews) 591
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
262
4 stars
232
3 stars
98
2 stars
62
1 star
53
Customer Recommendation81%575 out of 707reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
54 Questions | 290 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
262
4 stars
232
3 stars
98
2 stars
62
1 star
53
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Great table for small space

01/13/2014
By ,
Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This table looks so cute in my apartment. The actual table top looks way better than i thought it would. Has a nice finish. I put this together by myself, and it took about 3-4 hours. It has a lot of parts but the instructions are very easy to read and follow, so I had no problems. Only thing I'll say is that you mainly have to use an allen wrench (think thats what its called) and after a while it starts to hurt to turn because you are doing it so often.
Also, I got standard free shipping and it took forever to get here. And the guy was pretty unhelpful with getting it in my apartment.
Overall I think it is a great little table for the price, and its pretty sturdy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Bad experience ever

08/25/2014
By ,
Pasadena, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
All the things are hard to assemble. For the table, someone mail the wrong board and frame so I cannot put the screws in the right position of the board. (the board is too big while the frame is not the same size so they are not fit ). For the chair, you can't put all the screws in the right position too because all parts are not fit with each other. If I can, I will never buy anything at Walmart again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Great Table for a Breakfast Area.

07/02/2011
By ,
Suitland, Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son and I just moved from a one bedroom apartment to a two bedroom with den and breakfast area. Needless to say we have A LOT of space to fill. One of the most important things for my son and I was to have a place were we can sit down everyday casually as a family and enjoy a meal and lots of conversation. This table was cute and fit perfectly in our breakfast area with room to spare for a bakers rack and small deep freezer. My son and I put it together with very little assistance from my boyfriend.
The only issues I have with the table were there are no holes on the top to screw the table top to the base, so be prepared to use a little elbow grease. The instructions say don't use power tools but I am sure its okay as long as you don't over do it and two of the chairs were a little wobbly but a run to Home Depot fixed that in no time.
All in all I love the table and for a single mom working two jobs it fit just right into the budget.
Btw...reviews were on point. Thanks folks!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

You get what you pay for..

08/30/2014
By ,
Tonawanda, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The set right out of the package had assembly holes for the chair legs in the wrong places and such.. Got it together and it looked ok minus 2 chairs with unattached leg braces..too big to return walmart gave me $20 credit. and i only need 1 or 2 chairs since its just me. After a few months the finish/color started flaking and crumbling off. I now have a table I can't wipe down without using a rag to throw out because all it does is take off the finish. Even using just water.. You get what you pay for..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

great product; difficult setup

09/12/2014
By ,
St. Augustine, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great dining table. I had a hard time assembling with only an alan wrench and phillips head screwdriver. Not a great project for a novice like me.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Very stylish for the price.

05/25/2013
By ,
Charlottesville, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live in a small apartment. As a single man, my needs are modest. I needed a dinette set appropriate to my needs. I bought it on line because I could never get that big box up to my 3rd floor apartment on my own, (Buyer beware!) It fits perfectly in my dining area. It took a couple of hours, maybe three, to put it together. It was well worth it. I would probably not want this as my main dining table in a bigger house, but for what it is, a small dinette set intended for places with limited space, you cannot beat it for style, functionality and value.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Nice Table!

03/03/2011
By ,
Plattsburgh, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this table and recieved it in quick shipment. The only issue I had upon first inspection was the box was torn. After undoing everything I noticed the screws were missing and had to call the company. They sent me the set very quickly - 4 days. The table really is nice and not too hard to figure out. I put it together with a 3 yr old and 4 month old in front of me. The only issue I had was one chair wobbles. It would have been nice if the seats had covers (they stain easily) but otherwise great product.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Staining
Posted 09/29/2014
A can of spray stain guard works great only $5
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

I love this table.

12/30/2011
By ,
Georgetown ,ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this table was perfect , and the price was great.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Kitchen table

08/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this table
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Mainstays 5 piece set

08/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The kids love it. Nice set.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Good value

04/16/2014
By ,
Atl GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for inexpensive product, that is also not too heavy if i have to move. Also not to big so it fits into smaller spaces. This set met my expectations. I use it daily for dining, together with my kids. Over a year later it still looks good. Table has by now few tiny dents, but still looks good. Chairs have tan padded fabric seats, which can get stained quickly so chair covers are a must. Overall, i think it looks pretty elegant for the low price it has. It gets a little wobbly so you should be careful with it. When i was putting it together I got stuck at the step where you attach legs to the top and they expect you to put screws with a screwdriver into a solid top.... yes there were no pre-drilled holes and it is not wood but hard composite. I am pleased with this inexpensive purchase though.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Great Price! Looks Great!

04/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The box arrived in just a few days after ordered online in great condition. The parts are all in one box so the bow is heavy. My family lives on second floor apt, but my husband was able to drag it up by himself, but it was quite heavy. The chairs took a little time but was no hard task to complete. I just wish the holes for the chair pads were already pre-drilled. I was able to screw them in using a small screw driver with no real problems. At first I thought the holes on the table didn't match up and was going to call customer service, but found I had the table legs on the wrong side, so if you run into this problem just rearrange the legs. All the parts and screws were there and it was easy to set up. The table top is solid and not that flimsy particle wood which made this a great buy! If you want to jazz up your seat pads you can add a fabric and staple them over the pads to match any decor. Walmart sells fabric by the yard. After you can screw in the chair pads. I think the price is unbeatable for what you get honestly. My son was eating and left greasy finger prints on the chair fabric which was tan and wholah! The stain came right out with soap and water. No regrets! I was skeptical at first, but glad I went ahead and bought it anyway :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Good table for the price

08/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a small table for our breakfast nook. One that kids could play on, color, do play doh, etc. and cleans up easily. This table meets all of that criteria, and it's also a great table to have meals on. It's small and the chairs push completely under, so there aren't chairs sticking out from under the table, taking up room space. The light color is lighter than I expected, but that's okay, it looks good. Very smooth surface that can easily be wiped with a paper-towel/Clorox wipe. I put this together on my own and it took about 1 1/2 hours. Just a couple of tips: first, don't over tighten the screws. I did this with a drill and had a screw top break off, so I had to drill a new hole in the table. Also, don't tighten the chair screws until the very end. There are several steps to put together the chairs and it helps if the metal pieces aren't tight and can move around a little. Other than that, I couldn't ask for a better table for $125! All parts were included and packaged well. Directions come in Spanish and English. You will need a Phillips head screw driver.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Inexpensive apartment dining set!

10/11/2013
By ,
Queens NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this dining set for my mom who is living in a small apartment in NY City where there
really isn't a lot of room for traditional dining sets. We hired a building maintenance person to
put the set together and found it to be more difficult than expected. It took a long time to put
it together approximately 3 hours but once set up the dining set looks really nice, solid and it
fit perfectly up against a corner kitchen wall. My mom is really happy with her new dining set
in her kitchen and has a small TV set up against the one corner where she can have her coffee
in he mornings and watch the morning news. For the price and construction of this dining set
you would have to look long and hard for something comparable to this. Most times you just
get a cheap table with no chairs for this price. I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Totally frustrating.

07/15/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First trip to the store I purchased this...no hardware in the box. I e-mailed the parts company,they tell me it is on back order for 2 months...I tell them that I actually work for HOME DEPOT and there is no way SCREWS can be on back order for 2 months. They tell me to go to the store to get the hardware from another box.
After getting him and fully following the instructions the WHOLE unit is out of level,the cushions are "screwed" to the metal brackets with nothing more than drywall screws and every 3rd screw doesn't bite into the terrible OSD base of the cushions. Total nightmare. I used to build houses and this table now looks like a 5 year old built it...and trust me,I am not old at all,I am 31.
I would not recommend this to anyone! Poor design and poor quality. The only reason why I even purchased it in the first place was due to the color of the table top!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Don't buy

09/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this nice looking dining table and chair set. It is very hard to assemble. I took 3-4 hours to assemble all chairs to find out the screws do not fit at table head board.The board is defective, I called the customer service they promised to send the correct one by mail. after 10 days I finally received the table head only to find out that it is the same. There is no way it can fit on the stand. It will take another 2 hour to dis-assemble it. I am going to return it to Walmart. Why did I decide to buy this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Pretty Good, Better Than Expected, One Issue

12/09/2013
By ,
Hendersonville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a really, really nice dining set for small families. It's simplistic design makes it really easy to pair with just about any color and style of decor. For fun I switch it up maybe 2 or 3 nights a week with different color table runner and plates. The only issue is that the table doesn't have pre-drilled holes for securing it to the base. Basically you have to become a carpenter or eyeball it. This could potentially leave one end longer than the other if you aren't careful. The chair cushions also suffer from this flaw. All in all, I had the whole thing put up and in the dining room in under 45 minutes (table and chairs). It doesn't wobble and it really doesn't look as fiscally responsible as the price would suggest. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a good dining set.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

DO NOT BUY IN THE BOX

09/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
IMPOSSIBLE TO PUT TOGETHER. I usually have no trouble putting together walmart furniture but this set was absolutely impossible. We ended up having to drill our own pilot holes and buy our own screws.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR :-(

09/29/2014
By ,
San Antonio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I should have read the reviews before purchasing this table! !! Since we just moved to a small apartment I figured this would be nice. IT TOOK HOURS TO PUT TOGETHER. And I am really good at building and putting things together. The table didn't even line up evenly with the legs!! The seat tops are a type of material that is going to last. Like I said you get what you pay for..
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

You get what you pay for...

08/28/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I chose this dining set first because of the price. I am working two jobs, I have a baby on the way and it was within my budget, plus it looked nice. Well first of all let me tell you, it was very hard to put it together!! Chairs AND table are wobbly! Like c'mon I get maybe one chair, or two but EVERYTHING?! the table doesnt have any holes in it so how am i supposed to put the screws in it!?The table looks "nice" but as soon as you sit on the chairs you know why you paid that price. The only reason I am going to keep this is because first there is NO WAY i can get that out of my apartment (second floor) being pregnant. It was a whole mission to get it delivered at home because they just didnt want to take it to the second floor.
If you can, Id say save your money for something better.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 592 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  30 Next