Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Mainstays Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Update the look of your dining area with the Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set. This elegant piece has a sturdy steel table frame and a wooden top with four metal chairs that have upholstered seats. The Mainstays 5-piece dining set is available in multiple colors, so you can choose the one that works best with your room decor. The upholstered seat has some cushioning, so it is comfortable to sit in whether you are just having a quick meal or relaxing with guests after a nice dinner. This compact dining set has clean lines and a modern style that works well in many different settings. Use it in your dining room to add a contemporary look or use it in the kitchen for a more casual feel. The compact size means it will fit in smaller areas such as a kitchen nook.
Average Customer Rating:
3.734 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(1007 Reviews) 891
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
364
4 stars
310
3 stars
140
2 stars
87
1 star
106
Customer Recommendation78%784 out of 1,007reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
74 Questions | 339 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
364
4 stars
310
3 stars
140
2 stars
87
1 star
106
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Great table for small space

01/13/2014
By ,
Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This table looks so cute in my apartment. The actual table top looks way better than i thought it would. Has a nice finish. I put this together by myself, and it took about 3-4 hours. It has a lot of parts but the instructions are very easy to read and follow, so I had no problems. Only thing I'll say is that you mainly have to use an allen wrench (think thats what its called) and after a while it starts to hurt to turn because you are doing it so often.
Also, I got standard free shipping and it took forever to get here. And the guy was pretty unhelpful with getting it in my apartment.
Overall I think it is a great little table for the price, and its pretty sturdy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Bad experience ever

08/25/2014
By ,
Pasadena, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
All the things are hard to assemble. For the table, someone mail the wrong board and frame so I cannot put the screws in the right position of the board. (the board is too big while the frame is not the same size so they are not fit ). For the chair, you can't put all the screws in the right position too because all parts are not fit with each other. If I can, I will never buy anything at Walmart again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Great Table for a Breakfast Area.

07/02/2011
By ,
Suitland, Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son and I just moved from a one bedroom apartment to a two bedroom with den and breakfast area. Needless to say we have A LOT of space to fill. One of the most important things for my son and I was to have a place were we can sit down everyday casually as a family and enjoy a meal and lots of conversation. This table was cute and fit perfectly in our breakfast area with room to spare for a bakers rack and small deep freezer. My son and I put it together with very little assistance from my boyfriend.
The only issues I have with the table were there are no holes on the top to screw the table top to the base, so be prepared to use a little elbow grease. The instructions say don't use power tools but I am sure its okay as long as you don't over do it and two of the chairs were a little wobbly but a run to Home Depot fixed that in no time.
All in all I love the table and for a single mom working two jobs it fit just right into the budget.
Btw...reviews were on point. Thanks folks!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Very stylish for the price.

05/25/2013
By ,
Charlottesville, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live in a small apartment. As a single man, my needs are modest. I needed a dinette set appropriate to my needs. I bought it on line because I could never get that big box up to my 3rd floor apartment on my own, (Buyer beware!) It fits perfectly in my dining area. It took a couple of hours, maybe three, to put it together. It was well worth it. I would probably not want this as my main dining table in a bigger house, but for what it is, a small dinette set intended for places with limited space, you cannot beat it for style, functionality and value.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Nice Table!

03/03/2011
By ,
Plattsburgh, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this table and recieved it in quick shipment. The only issue I had upon first inspection was the box was torn. After undoing everything I noticed the screws were missing and had to call the company. They sent me the set very quickly - 4 days. The table really is nice and not too hard to figure out. I put it together with a 3 yr old and 4 month old in front of me. The only issue I had was one chair wobbles. It would have been nice if the seats had covers (they stain easily) but otherwise great product.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Staining
Posted 09/29/2014
A can of spray stain guard works great only $5
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

I love this table.

12/30/2011
By ,
Georgetown ,ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this table was perfect , and the price was great.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

You get what you pay for..

08/30/2014
By ,
Tonawanda, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The set right out of the package had assembly holes for the chair legs in the wrong places and such.. Got it together and it looked ok minus 2 chairs with unattached leg braces..too big to return walmart gave me $20 credit. and i only need 1 or 2 chairs since its just me. After a few months the finish/color started flaking and crumbling off. I now have a table I can't wipe down without using a rag to throw out because all it does is take off the finish. Even using just water.. You get what you pay for..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

great product; difficult setup

09/12/2014
By ,
St. Augustine, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great dining table. I had a hard time assembling with only an alan wrench and phillips head screwdriver. Not a great project for a novice like me.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Kitchen table

08/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this table
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Mainstays 5 piece set

08/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The kids love it. Nice set.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Absolute Best for the Price

02/16/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a small kitchen and haven't had a table in it for a long time. When I saw this set, I bought it right then and there. It looks good, is solid, and makes my place feel more like home.
The chairs look wonderful, but you wouldn't want to lean back in them for long to eat or talk. The padded seats are a faux suede and very nice. When putting them together, my husband gave me the option of having a slight gap at the back or the chairs being the slightest bit off-kilter. I went for off-kilter, so they don't sit flush on the floor, but nobody has ever noticed and it's just not an issue. In total, it took about an hour to put the set together (it gets faster and easier once you've figured out how the chairs go together).
I just couldn't beat the price on something this nice. The table is solid, looks great, and cleans up easily. And there's nothing tacky or cheap-looking about the set. I recommend it for anyone with limited space who wants a place to eat and/or play games, etc.
A great deal, especially for the price!
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Good item with minor defects.

01/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I was satisfied with this product. Especially for the price, it looks very nice when put together. The chairs are comfortable, just a bit on the small side. The chairs were a tiny bit wobbly, but that could have been the way I put them together rather than a defect. My dining room is carpeted so its not an issue. The construction was fairly easy. The directs say to not use a drill, but I did without problems. Just proceed with caution. The big issue with the set was that the decorative 'apron' on the small sides of the table was warped, which made getting the table top centered on the frame a challenge, and it also noticible in that it looks crooked. But its not that bad, especially with the chairs pushed in. For barely $100 I still think its worth it. I'm sure I could have gotten new pieces sent from the manufacturer but I didn't notice the defect until the frame was already assembled. I didn't feel it was worth taking apart again. I'd recommend inspecting all the pieces first.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Great Price! Looks Great!

04/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The box arrived in just a few days after ordered online in great condition. The parts are all in one box so the bow is heavy. My family lives on second floor apt, but my husband was able to drag it up by himself, but it was quite heavy. The chairs took a little time but was no hard task to complete. I just wish the holes for the chair pads were already pre-drilled. I was able to screw them in using a small screw driver with no real problems. At first I thought the holes on the table didn't match up and was going to call customer service, but found I had the table legs on the wrong side, so if you run into this problem just rearrange the legs. All the parts and screws were there and it was easy to set up. The table top is solid and not that flimsy particle wood which made this a great buy! If you want to jazz up your seat pads you can add a fabric and staple them over the pads to match any decor. Walmart sells fabric by the yard. After you can screw in the chair pads. I think the price is unbeatable for what you get honestly. My son was eating and left greasy finger prints on the chair fabric which was tan and wholah! The stain came right out with soap and water. No regrets! I was skeptical at first, but glad I went ahead and bought it anyway :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Inexpensive apartment dining set!

10/11/2013
By ,
Queens NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this dining set for my mom who is living in a small apartment in NY City where there
really isn't a lot of room for traditional dining sets. We hired a building maintenance person to
put the set together and found it to be more difficult than expected. It took a long time to put
it together approximately 3 hours but once set up the dining set looks really nice, solid and it
fit perfectly up against a corner kitchen wall. My mom is really happy with her new dining set
in her kitchen and has a small TV set up against the one corner where she can have her coffee
in he mornings and watch the morning news. For the price and construction of this dining set
you would have to look long and hard for something comparable to this. Most times you just
get a cheap table with no chairs for this price. I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Great value

06/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this set back in 2009 in the natural wood color and I still have it in my kitchen to this day. It was easy to put together and looks so nice. I would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a simple, yet good-quality table set for an affordable price. It has held up great too! I would recommend putting pads on the feet of the table and chairs so you don't scratch your floor but other than that, it is perfect. I couldn't be happier with it
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Great table, not so great chairs

07/01/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The table itself is great quality. It's sturdy, not bulky and perfect size. The chairs on the other hand were a pain in the neck to put together. And the very next day the screws from the chair just fell out without me even sitting on it! I believe the problem is the screws are being screwed into a cushion and not an actual piece of wood or something. But my clever husband just put a few pieces of clear duct tape to keep them in place. PLEASE LISTEN ABOUT THE SCREWS! I saw it in someone's review but paid it no mind. That is the only con to this item.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Great for the price

07/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a college student who just moved into a 2 bedroom apartment. The price was beyond reasonable and the look of it when it is put together is great. Its a great size for an apartment. I had my coworker who is also in college and his roommate help me put it together & it took both of them around 1 1/2 hours. The holes on the table top did not match up so they had to make their own holes but besides that I have no complains! It's great for a temporary use table & it's an up to date style.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Great set but some manufacturering defects

07/02/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a pretty nice dining set for the money. While putting it together I second guessed a few times but just follow the directions and it does work. The table, however, was difficult because the premade holes did not line up so I had to improvise by using a hammer and wood screw to get a hole to put it together. Overall it turned out pretty well and besides the table difficulty it was pretty straightforward.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Pretty Good, Better Than Expected, One Issue

12/09/2013
By ,
Hendersonville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a really, really nice dining set for small families. It's simplistic design makes it really easy to pair with just about any color and style of decor. For fun I switch it up maybe 2 or 3 nights a week with different color table runner and plates. The only issue is that the table doesn't have pre-drilled holes for securing it to the base. Basically you have to become a carpenter or eyeball it. This could potentially leave one end longer than the other if you aren't careful. The chair cushions also suffer from this flaw. All in all, I had the whole thing put up and in the dining room in under 45 minutes (table and chairs). It doesn't wobble and it really doesn't look as fiscally responsible as the price would suggest. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a good dining set.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Good for money

07/06/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The seats keep coming up , only issue I keep incurring . Gonna gorilla glue next time . The natural color was so laminated so returned and got the espresso - much better .
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 892 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  45 Next