Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Mainstays Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Update the look of your dining area with the Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set. This elegant piece has a sturdy steel table frame and a wooden top with four metal chairs that have upholstered seats. The Mainstays 5-piece dining set is available in multiple colors, so you can choose the one that works best with your room decor. The upholstered seat has some cushioning, so it is comfortable to sit in whether you are just having a quick meal or relaxing with guests after a nice dinner. This compact dining set has clean lines and a modern style that works well in many different settings. Use it in your dining room to add a contemporary look or use it in the kitchen for a more casual feel. The compact size means it will fit in smaller areas such as a kitchen nook.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(948 Reviews) 832
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
345
4 stars
290
3 stars
136
2 stars
85
1 star
92
Customer Recommendation78%743 out of 948reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
69 Questions | 328 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
345
4 stars
290
3 stars
136
2 stars
85
1 star
92
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Great table for small space

01/13/2014
By ,
Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This table looks so cute in my apartment. The actual table top looks way better than i thought it would. Has a nice finish. I put this together by myself, and it took about 3-4 hours. It has a lot of parts but the instructions are very easy to read and follow, so I had no problems. Only thing I'll say is that you mainly have to use an allen wrench (think thats what its called) and after a while it starts to hurt to turn because you are doing it so often.
Also, I got standard free shipping and it took forever to get here. And the guy was pretty unhelpful with getting it in my apartment.
Overall I think it is a great little table for the price, and its pretty sturdy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Bad experience ever

08/25/2014
By ,
Pasadena, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
All the things are hard to assemble. For the table, someone mail the wrong board and frame so I cannot put the screws in the right position of the board. (the board is too big while the frame is not the same size so they are not fit ). For the chair, you can't put all the screws in the right position too because all parts are not fit with each other. If I can, I will never buy anything at Walmart again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Great Table for a Breakfast Area.

07/02/2011
By ,
Suitland, Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son and I just moved from a one bedroom apartment to a two bedroom with den and breakfast area. Needless to say we have A LOT of space to fill. One of the most important things for my son and I was to have a place were we can sit down everyday casually as a family and enjoy a meal and lots of conversation. This table was cute and fit perfectly in our breakfast area with room to spare for a bakers rack and small deep freezer. My son and I put it together with very little assistance from my boyfriend.
The only issues I have with the table were there are no holes on the top to screw the table top to the base, so be prepared to use a little elbow grease. The instructions say don't use power tools but I am sure its okay as long as you don't over do it and two of the chairs were a little wobbly but a run to Home Depot fixed that in no time.
All in all I love the table and for a single mom working two jobs it fit just right into the budget.
Btw...reviews were on point. Thanks folks!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Very stylish for the price.

05/25/2013
By ,
Charlottesville, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live in a small apartment. As a single man, my needs are modest. I needed a dinette set appropriate to my needs. I bought it on line because I could never get that big box up to my 3rd floor apartment on my own, (Buyer beware!) It fits perfectly in my dining area. It took a couple of hours, maybe three, to put it together. It was well worth it. I would probably not want this as my main dining table in a bigger house, but for what it is, a small dinette set intended for places with limited space, you cannot beat it for style, functionality and value.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Nice Table!

03/03/2011
By ,
Plattsburgh, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this table and recieved it in quick shipment. The only issue I had upon first inspection was the box was torn. After undoing everything I noticed the screws were missing and had to call the company. They sent me the set very quickly - 4 days. The table really is nice and not too hard to figure out. I put it together with a 3 yr old and 4 month old in front of me. The only issue I had was one chair wobbles. It would have been nice if the seats had covers (they stain easily) but otherwise great product.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Staining
Posted 09/29/2014
A can of spray stain guard works great only $5
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

I love this table.

12/30/2011
By ,
Georgetown ,ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this table was perfect , and the price was great.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

You get what you pay for..

08/30/2014
By ,
Tonawanda, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The set right out of the package had assembly holes for the chair legs in the wrong places and such.. Got it together and it looked ok minus 2 chairs with unattached leg braces..too big to return walmart gave me $20 credit. and i only need 1 or 2 chairs since its just me. After a few months the finish/color started flaking and crumbling off. I now have a table I can't wipe down without using a rag to throw out because all it does is take off the finish. Even using just water.. You get what you pay for..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

great product; difficult setup

09/12/2014
By ,
St. Augustine, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great dining table. I had a hard time assembling with only an alan wrench and phillips head screwdriver. Not a great project for a novice like me.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Kitchen table

08/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this table
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Mainstays 5 piece set

08/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The kids love it. Nice set.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Absolute Best for the Price

02/16/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a small kitchen and haven't had a table in it for a long time. When I saw this set, I bought it right then and there. It looks good, is solid, and makes my place feel more like home.
The chairs look wonderful, but you wouldn't want to lean back in them for long to eat or talk. The padded seats are a faux suede and very nice. When putting them together, my husband gave me the option of having a slight gap at the back or the chairs being the slightest bit off-kilter. I went for off-kilter, so they don't sit flush on the floor, but nobody has ever noticed and it's just not an issue. In total, it took about an hour to put the set together (it gets faster and easier once you've figured out how the chairs go together).
I just couldn't beat the price on something this nice. The table is solid, looks great, and cleans up easily. And there's nothing tacky or cheap-looking about the set. I recommend it for anyone with limited space who wants a place to eat and/or play games, etc.
A great deal, especially for the price!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Good item with minor defects.

01/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I was satisfied with this product. Especially for the price, it looks very nice when put together. The chairs are comfortable, just a bit on the small side. The chairs were a tiny bit wobbly, but that could have been the way I put them together rather than a defect. My dining room is carpeted so its not an issue. The construction was fairly easy. The directs say to not use a drill, but I did without problems. Just proceed with caution. The big issue with the set was that the decorative 'apron' on the small sides of the table was warped, which made getting the table top centered on the frame a challenge, and it also noticible in that it looks crooked. But its not that bad, especially with the chairs pushed in. For barely $100 I still think its worth it. I'm sure I could have gotten new pieces sent from the manufacturer but I didn't notice the defect until the frame was already assembled. I didn't feel it was worth taking apart again. I'd recommend inspecting all the pieces first.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Easy to put together

05/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We needed a smallish table and chairs for our apartment, and didn't want to spend a ton of money. This has completely filled our requirements! Our local store had one in stock, in the dark wood. It was very well packaged, and the parts were all intact and not scratched up. The table top is solid wood, not laminated pressed-board. The seats are not too "floofy", and the legs of the table and the chairs are decently put together metal. My husband and I are both old and kinda broken, and it only took us a couple of hours to put together. The most difficult part is definitely the cross-bar piece on the bottom of the chairs. Hint: As you are assembling the chair pieces, don't tighten them all the way until you are done. You want a little "give" as you are fitting all the pieces together. Once it's all together, then tighten them just before you put the seats on. Do the same thing when you assemble the base for the table. We put it all together and tightened, then realized that we didn't have it "square", so we had to loosen the screws and redo them a little more carefully. All in all, we are pleased with this purchase!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Mainstays 5 piece dining set

05/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very cheaply made, the wood or whatever material the set is made out of crumbles when the screws provided were put into it, the chairs are barely held together and I've had to use duct tape to help secure the seat cushions to the chairs frame, the chairs also wiggle back and fourth because the legs are loose and when they are sat in they feel like they are going to fall apart, I knew it was not Gonna resemble a high end table only paying $100 for it and did not by any means expect the world outta of this table but I did expect to be able to able sit down at the table with out having to worry about the chairs collapsing underneath me and my family or not having to use duct tape to secure seat cushions. I definetly understand the concept "you get what you pay for" and it was just supposed to be temporary until we buy a home and get a nice table but I figure at this rate the table will not be safe to use with my infant daughters within a couple months after purchasing. I have been shopping at Walmart since I was born and love Walmart and make it very convenient to do all to most of you shopping needs in one place and it's is known that when it comes to specialty items you understand that it may not be the best quality but they make it affordable and a majority of the time (and i say majority because I'm still using a fishing pole I got from there in 2001 and still works just fine) quality is sacrificed for affordability. However I did think I was gonna be able to get some decent short time use out of it. Will still continue to be a long time shopper of Walmart but I just won't be buying any more "Mainstays" products.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Inexpensive apartment dining set!

10/11/2013
By ,
Queens NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this dining set for my mom who is living in a small apartment in NY City where there
really isn't a lot of room for traditional dining sets. We hired a building maintenance person to
put the set together and found it to be more difficult than expected. It took a long time to put
it together approximately 3 hours but once set up the dining set looks really nice, solid and it
fit perfectly up against a corner kitchen wall. My mom is really happy with her new dining set
in her kitchen and has a small TV set up against the one corner where she can have her coffee
in he mornings and watch the morning news. For the price and construction of this dining set
you would have to look long and hard for something comparable to this. Most times you just
get a cheap table with no chairs for this price. I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Great Price! Looks Great!

04/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The box arrived in just a few days after ordered online in great condition. The parts are all in one box so the bow is heavy. My family lives on second floor apt, but my husband was able to drag it up by himself, but it was quite heavy. The chairs took a little time but was no hard task to complete. I just wish the holes for the chair pads were already pre-drilled. I was able to screw them in using a small screw driver with no real problems. At first I thought the holes on the table didn't match up and was going to call customer service, but found I had the table legs on the wrong side, so if you run into this problem just rearrange the legs. All the parts and screws were there and it was easy to set up. The table top is solid and not that flimsy particle wood which made this a great buy! If you want to jazz up your seat pads you can add a fabric and staple them over the pads to match any decor. Walmart sells fabric by the yard. After you can screw in the chair pads. I think the price is unbeatable for what you get honestly. My son was eating and left greasy finger prints on the chair fabric which was tan and wholah! The stain came right out with soap and water. No regrets! I was skeptical at first, but glad I went ahead and bought it anyway :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Waste of money!

04/14/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I first got this set, I loved it. Beautiful wood, and chairs, looks great in our kitchen. We use it every day, 2-3 times a day. About a month after it was put together, the screws started falling out of the seats, causing the seats to come off completely. My husband screwed them back in, and again they fell out. I thought it was my husband doing a poor job, so I had my father in law fix the chairs, and again they fell out. Right now, we have 3 out of 4 chairs that are completely incapable of being used. My kids are no longer able to eat at the table because the chairs can't be used. A complete waste of time and money, and now I have to go out and buy either another complete set, or find chairs that match my table. Very unhappy.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Beautiful

05/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently got this Dining Room set (early part of May, 2015). I really love this product. My Dining Table and chairs look just like the picture. I took my time to assemble this product. It was not hard for me, I carefully read the instructions. I love the color (natural). I am so proud of my Dining Room Set.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Two and a half years old, falling apart!

04/07/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this table in November of 2012, right around Thanksgiving. My husband and I put it together. It was slightly difficult because of the way the holes are lined up but we got it. He's a mechanic so if anyone can do it, he can. Well, the table is now about two and a half years old and it is literally falling apart. The table itself is fine but the chairs are HORRIBLE!! One chair has already gone to the trash because the seat has literally unattached itself from the legs. I picked up the chairs today to wash my kitchen floor and two screws fell out of them. Screws are constantly falling out of them, like it's nothing. They aren't even stripped. They just fall out! I don't know, maybe I got a defective table and you'll have better luck with yours but I wish that I had just invested more money in a better set. I thought I had a deal but you get what you pay for...
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

seat cushions

03/23/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this item 11/30/14 and i was satisfied from it looks but the my seat cushion keeps coming undone from the support. I believe it to be a hazard for someone to fall or step on one of the screws that keeps falling on the floor, yea it looks nice for my small apartment but as far as the seat cushions connecting to the support i believe the wood they choose to connect with the screws was a bad choice because the screws strips the wood.
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 833 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  42 Next