Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Mainstays Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Complete your dining room or kitchen with this elegant mainstays 5-piece wood and metal dining set. This dining set has a sturdy steel table frame with a wood top and this is complemented by four chairs with upholstered seats. The hardware of this dining set with upholstered chairs has been sorted out individually so that it does not consume much time for assembling. With a sophisticated look this dining set will become the focal point of your dining room. With a compact size you can even place it into your kitchen nook. Built with a sturdy steel frame and strong wood top, this table is rugged enough to withstand years of use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.765 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(916 Reviews) 800
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
335
4 stars
284
3 stars
131
2 stars
79
1 star
87
Customer Recommendation79%721 out of 916reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
67 Questions | 321 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
335
4 stars
284
3 stars
131
2 stars
79
1 star
87
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Great table for small space

01/13/2014
By ,
Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This table looks so cute in my apartment. The actual table top looks way better than i thought it would. Has a nice finish. I put this together by myself, and it took about 3-4 hours. It has a lot of parts but the instructions are very easy to read and follow, so I had no problems. Only thing I'll say is that you mainly have to use an allen wrench (think thats what its called) and after a while it starts to hurt to turn because you are doing it so often.
Also, I got standard free shipping and it took forever to get here. And the guy was pretty unhelpful with getting it in my apartment.
Overall I think it is a great little table for the price, and its pretty sturdy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Bad experience ever

08/25/2014
By ,
Pasadena, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
All the things are hard to assemble. For the table, someone mail the wrong board and frame so I cannot put the screws in the right position of the board. (the board is too big while the frame is not the same size so they are not fit ). For the chair, you can't put all the screws in the right position too because all parts are not fit with each other. If I can, I will never buy anything at Walmart again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Great Table for a Breakfast Area.

07/02/2011
By ,
Suitland, Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son and I just moved from a one bedroom apartment to a two bedroom with den and breakfast area. Needless to say we have A LOT of space to fill. One of the most important things for my son and I was to have a place were we can sit down everyday casually as a family and enjoy a meal and lots of conversation. This table was cute and fit perfectly in our breakfast area with room to spare for a bakers rack and small deep freezer. My son and I put it together with very little assistance from my boyfriend.
The only issues I have with the table were there are no holes on the top to screw the table top to the base, so be prepared to use a little elbow grease. The instructions say don't use power tools but I am sure its okay as long as you don't over do it and two of the chairs were a little wobbly but a run to Home Depot fixed that in no time.
All in all I love the table and for a single mom working two jobs it fit just right into the budget.
Btw...reviews were on point. Thanks folks!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Very stylish for the price.

05/25/2013
By ,
Charlottesville, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live in a small apartment. As a single man, my needs are modest. I needed a dinette set appropriate to my needs. I bought it on line because I could never get that big box up to my 3rd floor apartment on my own, (Buyer beware!) It fits perfectly in my dining area. It took a couple of hours, maybe three, to put it together. It was well worth it. I would probably not want this as my main dining table in a bigger house, but for what it is, a small dinette set intended for places with limited space, you cannot beat it for style, functionality and value.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Nice Table!

03/03/2011
By ,
Plattsburgh, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this table and recieved it in quick shipment. The only issue I had upon first inspection was the box was torn. After undoing everything I noticed the screws were missing and had to call the company. They sent me the set very quickly - 4 days. The table really is nice and not too hard to figure out. I put it together with a 3 yr old and 4 month old in front of me. The only issue I had was one chair wobbles. It would have been nice if the seats had covers (they stain easily) but otherwise great product.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Staining
Posted 09/29/2014
A can of spray stain guard works great only $5
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

I love this table.

12/30/2011
By ,
Georgetown ,ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this table was perfect , and the price was great.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

You get what you pay for..

08/30/2014
By ,
Tonawanda, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The set right out of the package had assembly holes for the chair legs in the wrong places and such.. Got it together and it looked ok minus 2 chairs with unattached leg braces..too big to return walmart gave me $20 credit. and i only need 1 or 2 chairs since its just me. After a few months the finish/color started flaking and crumbling off. I now have a table I can't wipe down without using a rag to throw out because all it does is take off the finish. Even using just water.. You get what you pay for..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

great product; difficult setup

09/12/2014
By ,
St. Augustine, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great dining table. I had a hard time assembling with only an alan wrench and phillips head screwdriver. Not a great project for a novice like me.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Kitchen table

08/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this table
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Mainstays 5 piece set

08/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The kids love it. Nice set.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Absolute Best for the Price

02/16/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a small kitchen and haven't had a table in it for a long time. When I saw this set, I bought it right then and there. It looks good, is solid, and makes my place feel more like home.
The chairs look wonderful, but you wouldn't want to lean back in them for long to eat or talk. The padded seats are a faux suede and very nice. When putting them together, my husband gave me the option of having a slight gap at the back or the chairs being the slightest bit off-kilter. I went for off-kilter, so they don't sit flush on the floor, but nobody has ever noticed and it's just not an issue. In total, it took about an hour to put the set together (it gets faster and easier once you've figured out how the chairs go together).
I just couldn't beat the price on something this nice. The table is solid, looks great, and cleans up easily. And there's nothing tacky or cheap-looking about the set. I recommend it for anyone with limited space who wants a place to eat and/or play games, etc.
A great deal, especially for the price!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Good item with minor defects.

01/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I was satisfied with this product. Especially for the price, it looks very nice when put together. The chairs are comfortable, just a bit on the small side. The chairs were a tiny bit wobbly, but that could have been the way I put them together rather than a defect. My dining room is carpeted so its not an issue. The construction was fairly easy. The directs say to not use a drill, but I did without problems. Just proceed with caution. The big issue with the set was that the decorative 'apron' on the small sides of the table was warped, which made getting the table top centered on the frame a challenge, and it also noticible in that it looks crooked. But its not that bad, especially with the chairs pushed in. For barely $100 I still think its worth it. I'm sure I could have gotten new pieces sent from the manufacturer but I didn't notice the defect until the frame was already assembled. I didn't feel it was worth taking apart again. I'd recommend inspecting all the pieces first.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Two and a half years old, falling apart!

04/07/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this table in November of 2012, right around Thanksgiving. My husband and I put it together. It was slightly difficult because of the way the holes are lined up but we got it. He's a mechanic so if anyone can do it, he can. Well, the table is now about two and a half years old and it is literally falling apart. The table itself is fine but the chairs are HORRIBLE!! One chair has already gone to the trash because the seat has literally unattached itself from the legs. I picked up the chairs today to wash my kitchen floor and two screws fell out of them. Screws are constantly falling out of them, like it's nothing. They aren't even stripped. They just fall out! I don't know, maybe I got a defective table and you'll have better luck with yours but I wish that I had just invested more money in a better set. I thought I had a deal but you get what you pay for...
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

seat cushions

03/23/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this item 11/30/14 and i was satisfied from it looks but the my seat cushion keeps coming undone from the support. I believe it to be a hazard for someone to fall or step on one of the screws that keeps falling on the floor, yea it looks nice for my small apartment but as far as the seat cushions connecting to the support i believe the wood they choose to connect with the screws was a bad choice because the screws strips the wood.
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Inexpensive apartment dining set!

10/11/2013
By ,
Queens NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this dining set for my mom who is living in a small apartment in NY City where there
really isn't a lot of room for traditional dining sets. We hired a building maintenance person to
put the set together and found it to be more difficult than expected. It took a long time to put
it together approximately 3 hours but once set up the dining set looks really nice, solid and it
fit perfectly up against a corner kitchen wall. My mom is really happy with her new dining set
in her kitchen and has a small TV set up against the one corner where she can have her coffee
in he mornings and watch the morning news. For the price and construction of this dining set
you would have to look long and hard for something comparable to this. Most times you just
get a cheap table with no chairs for this price. I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Great Price! Looks Great!

04/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The box arrived in just a few days after ordered online in great condition. The parts are all in one box so the bow is heavy. My family lives on second floor apt, but my husband was able to drag it up by himself, but it was quite heavy. The chairs took a little time but was no hard task to complete. I just wish the holes for the chair pads were already pre-drilled. I was able to screw them in using a small screw driver with no real problems. At first I thought the holes on the table didn't match up and was going to call customer service, but found I had the table legs on the wrong side, so if you run into this problem just rearrange the legs. All the parts and screws were there and it was easy to set up. The table top is solid and not that flimsy particle wood which made this a great buy! If you want to jazz up your seat pads you can add a fabric and staple them over the pads to match any decor. Walmart sells fabric by the yard. After you can screw in the chair pads. I think the price is unbeatable for what you get honestly. My son was eating and left greasy finger prints on the chair fabric which was tan and wholah! The stain came right out with soap and water. No regrets! I was skeptical at first, but glad I went ahead and bought it anyway :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

terriblequality

03/10/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cant believe how bad this table is peeling wobbly not worth20dollars I want my money back
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Waste of money!

04/14/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I first got this set, I loved it. Beautiful wood, and chairs, looks great in our kitchen. We use it every day, 2-3 times a day. About a month after it was put together, the screws started falling out of the seats, causing the seats to come off completely. My husband screwed them back in, and again they fell out. I thought it was my husband doing a poor job, so I had my father in law fix the chairs, and again they fell out. Right now, we have 3 out of 4 chairs that are completely incapable of being used. My kids are no longer able to eat at the table because the chairs can't be used. A complete waste of time and money, and now I have to go out and buy either another complete set, or find chairs that match my table. Very unhappy.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

terrible

05/02/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Table does not come with pre drilled holes you must do that your self pieces of the chairs did not fit properly as they look in the pictures the screws have already started to fall out ( note: the screws were fastened tightly as they should be) and the table top is already peeling and this is only after two months of use so unless you change furniture like you change clothes this table is a waste of money
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Pretty Good, Better Than Expected, One Issue

12/09/2013
By ,
Hendersonville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a really, really nice dining set for small families. It's simplistic design makes it really easy to pair with just about any color and style of decor. For fun I switch it up maybe 2 or 3 nights a week with different color table runner and plates. The only issue is that the table doesn't have pre-drilled holes for securing it to the base. Basically you have to become a carpenter or eyeball it. This could potentially leave one end longer than the other if you aren't careful. The chair cushions also suffer from this flaw. All in all, I had the whole thing put up and in the dining room in under 45 minutes (table and chairs). It doesn't wobble and it really doesn't look as fiscally responsible as the price would suggest. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a good dining set.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 801 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  41 Next