Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Mainstays Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Complete your dining room or kitchen with this elegant mainstays 5-piece wood and metal dining set. This dining set has a sturdy steel table frame with a wood top and this is complemented by four chairs with upholstered seats. The hardware of this dining set with upholstered chairs has been sorted out individually so that it does not consume much time for assembling. With a sophisticated look this dining set will become the focal point of your dining room. With a compact size you can even place it into your kitchen nook. Built with a sturdy steel frame and strong wood top, this table is rugged enough to withstand years of use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.801 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(833 Reviews) 717
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
308
4 stars
266
3 stars
115
2 stars
73
1 star
71
Customer Recommendation80%669 out of 833reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
62 Questions | 308 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
308
4 stars
266
3 stars
115
2 stars
73
1 star
71
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Great table for small space

01/13/2014
By ,
Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This table looks so cute in my apartment. The actual table top looks way better than i thought it would. Has a nice finish. I put this together by myself, and it took about 3-4 hours. It has a lot of parts but the instructions are very easy to read and follow, so I had no problems. Only thing I'll say is that you mainly have to use an allen wrench (think thats what its called) and after a while it starts to hurt to turn because you are doing it so often.
Also, I got standard free shipping and it took forever to get here. And the guy was pretty unhelpful with getting it in my apartment.
Overall I think it is a great little table for the price, and its pretty sturdy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Bad experience ever

08/25/2014
By ,
Pasadena, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
All the things are hard to assemble. For the table, someone mail the wrong board and frame so I cannot put the screws in the right position of the board. (the board is too big while the frame is not the same size so they are not fit ). For the chair, you can't put all the screws in the right position too because all parts are not fit with each other. If I can, I will never buy anything at Walmart again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Great Table for a Breakfast Area.

07/02/2011
By ,
Suitland, Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son and I just moved from a one bedroom apartment to a two bedroom with den and breakfast area. Needless to say we have A LOT of space to fill. One of the most important things for my son and I was to have a place were we can sit down everyday casually as a family and enjoy a meal and lots of conversation. This table was cute and fit perfectly in our breakfast area with room to spare for a bakers rack and small deep freezer. My son and I put it together with very little assistance from my boyfriend.
The only issues I have with the table were there are no holes on the top to screw the table top to the base, so be prepared to use a little elbow grease. The instructions say don't use power tools but I am sure its okay as long as you don't over do it and two of the chairs were a little wobbly but a run to Home Depot fixed that in no time.
All in all I love the table and for a single mom working two jobs it fit just right into the budget.
Btw...reviews were on point. Thanks folks!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Very stylish for the price.

05/25/2013
By ,
Charlottesville, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live in a small apartment. As a single man, my needs are modest. I needed a dinette set appropriate to my needs. I bought it on line because I could never get that big box up to my 3rd floor apartment on my own, (Buyer beware!) It fits perfectly in my dining area. It took a couple of hours, maybe three, to put it together. It was well worth it. I would probably not want this as my main dining table in a bigger house, but for what it is, a small dinette set intended for places with limited space, you cannot beat it for style, functionality and value.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

I love this table.

12/30/2011
By ,
Georgetown ,ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this table was perfect , and the price was great.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Nice Table!

03/03/2011
By ,
Plattsburgh, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this table and recieved it in quick shipment. The only issue I had upon first inspection was the box was torn. After undoing everything I noticed the screws were missing and had to call the company. They sent me the set very quickly - 4 days. The table really is nice and not too hard to figure out. I put it together with a 3 yr old and 4 month old in front of me. The only issue I had was one chair wobbles. It would have been nice if the seats had covers (they stain easily) but otherwise great product.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Staining
Posted 09/29/2014
A can of spray stain guard works great only $5
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

You get what you pay for..

08/30/2014
By ,
Tonawanda, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The set right out of the package had assembly holes for the chair legs in the wrong places and such.. Got it together and it looked ok minus 2 chairs with unattached leg braces..too big to return walmart gave me $20 credit. and i only need 1 or 2 chairs since its just me. After a few months the finish/color started flaking and crumbling off. I now have a table I can't wipe down without using a rag to throw out because all it does is take off the finish. Even using just water.. You get what you pay for..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

great product; difficult setup

09/12/2014
By ,
St. Augustine, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great dining table. I had a hard time assembling with only an alan wrench and phillips head screwdriver. Not a great project for a novice like me.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Kitchen table

08/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this table
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Mainstays 5 piece set

08/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The kids love it. Nice set.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Good item with minor defects.

01/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I was satisfied with this product. Especially for the price, it looks very nice when put together. The chairs are comfortable, just a bit on the small side. The chairs were a tiny bit wobbly, but that could have been the way I put them together rather than a defect. My dining room is carpeted so its not an issue. The construction was fairly easy. The directs say to not use a drill, but I did without problems. Just proceed with caution. The big issue with the set was that the decorative 'apron' on the small sides of the table was warped, which made getting the table top centered on the frame a challenge, and it also noticible in that it looks crooked. But its not that bad, especially with the chairs pushed in. For barely $100 I still think its worth it. I'm sure I could have gotten new pieces sent from the manufacturer but I didn't notice the defect until the frame was already assembled. I didn't feel it was worth taking apart again. I'd recommend inspecting all the pieces first.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Inexpensive apartment dining set!

10/11/2013
By ,
Queens NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this dining set for my mom who is living in a small apartment in NY City where there
really isn't a lot of room for traditional dining sets. We hired a building maintenance person to
put the set together and found it to be more difficult than expected. It took a long time to put
it together approximately 3 hours but once set up the dining set looks really nice, solid and it
fit perfectly up against a corner kitchen wall. My mom is really happy with her new dining set
in her kitchen and has a small TV set up against the one corner where she can have her coffee
in he mornings and watch the morning news. For the price and construction of this dining set
you would have to look long and hard for something comparable to this. Most times you just
get a cheap table with no chairs for this price. I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

BETTER THEN EXPECTED!!!

12/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I purchased this item I wasn't expecting the highest quality parts or even it to look really nice or expensive...well I couldn't of been more wrong. Not only was the table and chairs the perfect exact match to the rest of my furniture in color, it was made and crafted extremely well. I was blown away on how heavy and sturdy the dinner table was. Its dark brown with the natural wood swirls laid within the table and a mirror-shine finish. It was extremely easy to assemble and it looks amazing in my dining room. My wife was skeptical at first because of the low price, as was I, but we both are blown away! Its an amazing set for an amazing price!!! Thank you Walmart.com and Mainstay Co. for offering such an amazing deal on a great product! Most definitely will be a re-peat customer! Sincerely Happy, Phil H.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Good value

04/16/2014
By ,
Atl GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for inexpensive product, that is also not too heavy if i have to move. Also not to big so it fits into smaller spaces. This set met my expectations. I use it daily for dining, together with my kids. Over a year later it still looks good. Table has by now few tiny dents, but still looks good. Chairs have tan padded fabric seats, which can get stained quickly so chair covers are a must. Overall, i think it looks pretty elegant for the low price it has. It gets a little wobbly so you should be careful with it. When i was putting it together I got stuck at the step where you attach legs to the top and they expect you to put screws with a screwdriver into a solid top.... yes there were no pre-drilled holes and it is not wood but hard composite. I am pleased with this inexpensive purchase though.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Great Price! Looks Great!

04/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The box arrived in just a few days after ordered online in great condition. The parts are all in one box so the bow is heavy. My family lives on second floor apt, but my husband was able to drag it up by himself, but it was quite heavy. The chairs took a little time but was no hard task to complete. I just wish the holes for the chair pads were already pre-drilled. I was able to screw them in using a small screw driver with no real problems. At first I thought the holes on the table didn't match up and was going to call customer service, but found I had the table legs on the wrong side, so if you run into this problem just rearrange the legs. All the parts and screws were there and it was easy to set up. The table top is solid and not that flimsy particle wood which made this a great buy! If you want to jazz up your seat pads you can add a fabric and staple them over the pads to match any decor. Walmart sells fabric by the yard. After you can screw in the chair pads. I think the price is unbeatable for what you get honestly. My son was eating and left greasy finger prints on the chair fabric which was tan and wholah! The stain came right out with soap and water. No regrets! I was skeptical at first, but glad I went ahead and bought it anyway :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Highly Recommend!

01/07/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The table was delivered on time. Assembling the table wasn't difficult, but the L-shaped key was a little small for tightening the screws. If you have screwdrivers, then use that for assembly. The dining table set looks exactly how it does on the site.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

looks good. bad quality

01/07/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The left leg on every single one of the chairs was not evenly curved. once the chairs were put together fully they were all wobbly. When being manufactured the pieces were not correctly made.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Amazing catch!

01/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pretty nice for the price!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Great Buy For Such A Low Price

10/22/2014
By ,
New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First, I ordered this set on a Friday with standard shipping. To my surprise I received it Monday morning! In my opinion, the picture does not completely do this set any justice. The set is very nice and the chairs, which are of some sort of suede fabric, are comfy. The Espresso table is actually pretty nice. It is not made up of cheap wood where the screws come popping through when trying to set it up like a previous table that I purchased from Wal*Mart had done before. Instead the wood was thick enough that the screws didn't even have a chance to break through the surface. All in all the set is actually nice for a small dining room setting i.e. an apartment, condo. I also like how they have all of the tools and screws you need (minus the Phillips screw driver) in a numbered package. The only reason that I did not give the set a five star rating is because when it came time to matching the table it did not have previous markings to guide you on where to place the screws which could through you off a bit. Other than that it is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays 5-Piece Wood and Metal Dining Set, Multiple Colors

Lasting after 17 months

01/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my daughter's first apartment in August, 2013. She had a small eating area and this fit perfectly. The wooden top makes this set look more expensive than it was. This was the first piece of furniture she ever put together and was able to do so by herself. After 17 months and daily use; including several parties, one of the chairs is starting to wear and loosen up. The chairs held adults up to and maybe over 200 lbs. I hope this helps.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 718 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  36 Next