Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola Family Mobile - Motorola Cliq XT Wireless Android Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Motorola Family Mobile - Motorola Cliq XT Wireless Android Phone

Motorla Cliq XT lets you enjoy websites other smartphones can't, thanks to Flash Lite from Adobe. And Cliq XT features Motoblur, which syncs all your favorite stuff so you can reply from your home screen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.267 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation53%8 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Family Mobile - Motorola Cliq XT Wireless Android Phone

GREAT PHONE! Works with 2.X

06/08/2011
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is fantastic. A lot of reviews here about how there is no upgrade to Android 2.1, but if you are fairly tech savvy, or know someone who is... not a problem. Root you phone (Google "root motorola cliq xt" for instructions), overclock it, and install the 2.X firmware. BAM my phone is now on par with other Android devices twice as expensive and running. I am currently running 2.3.3 Android firmware and it is running great. Even if you don't upgrade, the phone is still really cool. Not quite as powerful as a full fledged Android or iPhone without the root, but it is still pretty awesome. I like the Motoblur features. Turns your phone into a one stop shop for all your social networking at the tip of your fingers. 99% of us don't even need 2.X unless you just HAVE to have wireless tether or angry birds. LOL. Sure, the stock version doesn't run many of the Android apps, but for the money, you will be hard pressed to find anything better. 5 STARS
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+75points
Review 2 for Family Mobile - Motorola Cliq XT Wireless Android Phone

Look elsewhere

02/09/2011
By ,
Medford, OR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I bought my first Cliq XT in October, since it was the best device Walmart Family Mobile sold and it has Android. i noticed the interface being sluggish. It works alright but I was excited about news that the Android version would be upgraded and hoped that the bugs would be fixed. I added a second Cliq XT for my wife. Recently T-mobile and Motorola announced that they changed there mind and there won't be upgrades for Cliq XT.
Realizations that I've had once i found out there will be no efforts to fix the phone: I can't take advantage of the latest Google maps, my bank USAA has an awesome app for the Android but not for 1.5, I keep hearing talk about angry birds but I can't do it with my phone, and my Google Voice app keeps telling me to update the app even though it fails everytime. In fact many popular apps I search for have prerequisites for a newer Android OS. Spending $500 total on 2 phones is a big committment to the Walmart Family Mobile service, one saying that I like the service and am going to stick with it. Unfortunately i am becoming increasingly dissatisfied with my phone choice. I continue to recommend the service, just not this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 3 for Family Mobile - Motorola Cliq XT Wireless Android Phone

Will not be upgraded to Android 2.2

12/30/2010
By ,
St Louis
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I bought the phone I expected android programs to work on it. Guess I should have looked into it further but now Im stuck with a $200+ phone that won't run an Android 2.2 app.
According to the Motorola website the T-mobile cliq xt will be upgraded to 2.2 but the one walmart sells will not.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+105points
Review 4 for Family Mobile - Motorola Cliq XT Wireless Android Phone

Great Phone

11/25/2010
By ,
Kansas City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got tired of the $200+ phone bills so went with Walmart's plan and these phones. They work great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+49points
Review 5 for Family Mobile - Motorola Cliq XT Wireless Android Phone

Old Android version

12/06/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I didn't realize when I bought it that it has Android 1.5 installed. Unfortunately, that limits the apps that are available. Phone is nice but would be a better value if it had a more current version of Android. 1.5 is a pretty old version when you compare to most phones being sold now.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+46points
Review 6 for Family Mobile - Motorola Cliq XT Wireless Android Phone

Really needs software upgrade to android 2.1.

12/19/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lot of applications from market place can not be used due to android 1.5. Motorola is supposed to release the update this quarter. but that has not happens yet. Hope it comes soon. Without that phone is a average value.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+24points
Review 7 for Family Mobile - Motorola Cliq XT Wireless Android Phone

No upgrade to 2.1 android

01/02/2011
By ,
Chester, NH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Motorola is not upgrading this phone to android 2.1 on the walmart mobile system.If you buy it from T-mobile you will get the upgrade. so plan on being stuck with 1.5. the phone does work okay but it does need to be rebooted almost daily. Too bad because I always liked motorola products next time I will subscibe to ATT and use an Htc or Samsung, someone who has better product support.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+17points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Near Seattle/Tacoma WA
phone upgd & Android
Posted 06/01/2011
Since you've learned you're stuck with a phone that won't be upgraded by Walmart either sell it now while it's still got a higher value for a model you've researched more BEFORE buying it. ALSO, as to the Walmart version not being upgraded see if the manufacturer has a solution or a third party solution becomes available.
A lot of people see buying a cellphone in different ways. Are you getting it for the "NO CONTRACT" selling point? Is it because of current finances prevent getting a better phone often FREE with a contract? Is not paying a deposit a factor? WHATEVER it is or combination of several reasons you do end up paying for whatever DEAL you get eventually. SO, try yo think of this as a stepping stone to your NEXT phone &/or plan.
There is ALWAYS something better just around the corner. Join the rest of the world in realizing buy something you expect to replace within a year tops! And expensive models too! But, contract phones offer upgrades, often decent ones after 1 yr. If you really need it hold out for the 2yr mark for the latest and greatest without the longer, costlier commitments AND ALWAYS shop the other Walmart Plans, the other Cell Service Providers, etc for the better deals. Paying the early termination fee can often be worth it and some services (AT&T) even reduces theirs monthly so eventually it isn't much, CHECK if you see a better deal.
Buy something you plan on replacing in a year and you'll never go wrong. A bit of advice is to check online auction sites (ahem..) and check for potential resale values of what you pick. That way you have a chance of getting SOME of your money back by selling it after you get a new phone. (or keep them in good shape so they make your kids happy with their "first" cellphone).
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Family Mobile - Motorola Cliq XT Wireless Android Phone

Good phone, once you upgrade to 2.1

04/12/2011
By ,
Fairport NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you're not techie enough to root the phone and upgrade it to 2.1, I wouldn't recommend it. Most of the apps will be outdated before you know it. By the end of it all you'll be left sitting with a razr in a smartphone package at a $250 price point.
However, it can be rooted to 2.1, and once over clocked seems to work very nice :)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pittston
Question
Posted 06/08/2011
i was wondering... how good does it work i read somewhere that when you do root it to 2.1 it dont work all that great i want to find out before i go and buy this phone
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Family Mobile - Motorola Cliq XT Wireless Android Phone

An outdated phone

02/21/2011
By ,
Westbury, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone for $250+ taxes as part of Walmart Family Mobile plan. I am satisfied with the service, but very disappointed with the phone. I had spent so much money in the hope that the os would be updated to android 2.1 as Motorola's web site had promised.
Motorola reneged on its promise and now I am stuck with an outdated phone on which most of the modern apps would not run.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 10 for Family Mobile - Motorola Cliq XT Wireless Android Phone

Great Android phone

01/13/2011
By ,
murrells Inlet, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the phone but it would help to have a printed user manual in the box with the phone. Takes good photos and video and the flash is a good addition to the phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 11 for Family Mobile - Motorola Cliq XT Wireless Android Phone

Poor performing phone

09/10/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone will not work in my home. I do not recommend buying the phone if you do not have additional home phone service. During the initial register call, I was asked to provide social security #, drivers #, home address, etc. Could not understand the English of the customer service rep.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 12 for Family Mobile - Motorola Cliq XT Wireless Android Phone

Great Phone!!

12/24/2010
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is awesome and its great that I can use it with a cheaper plan. Wal-Marts family mobile plan is awesome. This phone does everything and is great to have. It keeps me in touch with everyone. Would definately recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Family Mobile - Motorola Cliq XT Wireless Android Phone

great phone great plan

02/28/2011
By ,
Newton NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
got this phone for the walmart plan and it works great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Family Mobile - Motorola Cliq XT Wireless Android Phone

Horrible phone

10/14/2011
By ,
Nebraska
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone doesn't register incoming call and texts on a regular basis. It does not send or recieve pictures as advertized even with the data pack. It crashes when playing certin games on it like scrabble.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Family Mobile - Motorola Cliq XT Wireless Android Phone

Nice Phone/Computer/Toy

01/03/2011
By ,
Woodstock, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are very happy with these phones. They do most everything any on the market does, and my son even said the display is better than his friend's iphone...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points