Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for First Alert First Alert 2092F 1.3 Cubic Foot Water, Fire and Theft Combination Safe

First Alert First Alert 2092F 1.3 Cubic Foot Water, Fire and Theft Combination Safe

Protect your valuables with the First Alert 2092F 1.3 Cubic Foot Water Fire and Theft Combination Safe. Designed to protect your, money, files, papers and documents against theft, fire or flood, the safe can withstand temperatures up to 1700 degrees Fahrenheit. This First Alert fire safe comes with a waterproof seal that will keep your important contents inside dry even if it is fully submerged in water. The safe is also designed to float in water, making it easy to find during a flood. It is a four number fireproof combination safe that allows you to select and store your own personal code. The safe features an adjustable shelf that you can even remove completely to maximize the storage space. Its hinges are totally concealed, giving it a classy and modern look. The four solid steel blocks in the First Alert 2092F 1.3 Cubic Foot Water Fire and Theft Combination Safe ensures that your valuables remain secure.
Average Customer Rating:
4.539 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(102 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
25
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation96%98 out of 102reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 75 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
25
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for First Alert 2092F 1.3 Cubic Foot Water, Fire and Theft Combination Safe

Better and bigger than I expected

12/18/2012
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great item and bigger than I expected. More space in the inside than I expected. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for First Alert 2092F 1.3 Cubic Foot Water, Fire and Theft Combination Safe

First Alert 2092F Safe

03/03/2014
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very heavy and well made safe. As others have noted, the handle is a bit "cheesy" but if the handle were to break, entry into the safe would absolutely not be gained. It's really not a big deal, and if you don't act like a 600 lb gorilla when opening it, the handle should last indefinitely. I like the safe a lot. Plenty of room, and when filled with what I have in it, the total weight approaches 200 lbs. It is also pretty bulky and a thief (snatch and grab) would indeed have a very difficult time making off with this safe. The only problem I encountered ... no keys were shipped with the safe. I had to call First Alert and order them (free), but in order to do so, I had to fax them a notarized statement that I was the owner of the safe. Good policy. In addition, after informing Walmart of the problem with the notarized statement etc. etc. they (Walmart) refunded me $15.00 for the hassle and inconvenience. Not bad Walmart. Not bad at all.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for First Alert 2092F 1.3 Cubic Foot Water, Fire and Theft Combination Safe

perfect size 1.3 cu ft

03/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It comes in a larger box then the actual safe package ...all corners had thick corner pads inside.to protect during shipping
although about 90 lbs...its hard to get a hold of to pick up...plan on a trolly of some kind . maybe even a mechanics rolling board to put on to roll around. The safe itself took a few trys to get open...shelf and space is good..I am glad i got the 1.3...unless you have alotof things to keep the fire rating etc was a bit better than the smaller ones...I did not want electronic...there is also a key that works independent of the combo...think about that/consider vs the competitors.
This was to replace a safety deposit box at the bank with less than half the space.$55 a year..
I had it shipped to the store so that in case there was damage..visable on the outside I could check it there instead of shipping it to the house.The gal at Walmart was helpful and helped get it to the car
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for First Alert 2092F 1.3 Cubic Foot Water, Fire and Theft Combination Safe

What I Expected

10/12/2011
By ,
Plymouth, ME
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading a lot of reviews about a lot of safes, I decided on this one for several reasons. With a very limited income, I needed something affordable. I also wanted a safe that is rated to protect dvds, external hard drives, etc. in the event of a fire. Being waterproof was also a requirement in case of being soaked by water from fire hoses.
I got the safe with a dial combination rather than electronic because I didn't want to have to think about batteries, etc. Another benefit of this is the override key, which makes it easy to use if I want just to open it with a key instead of using the combination, or if something happens to me and a family member needs to get into it but has trouble with the combination.
Some reviewers had trouble getting the combination to work, but I got it after the first try. The manual explains how to use the dial better than the sticker on the safe itself. I've tried it many times and it always works.
Some reviewers also said that things get slightly damp inside, which I found to be true, so I'm using tightly sealed plastic containers. Also, I bought online an inexpensive, small, reusable silica dehumidifier, which I hope will work.
I hope I never need to find out if the safe does everything it says it does in a fire.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for First Alert 2092F 1.3 Cubic Foot Water, Fire and Theft Combination Safe

Excellent for safe keeping valuables

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This safe is very good for keeping valuables and has enough space for safekeeping a good amount of stuff. It is also at a very good price with good safety features and weight.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for First Alert 2092F 1.3 Cubic Foot Water, Fire and Theft Combination Safe

Safe

11/12/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Heavy and bulky. Otherwise it is just what we needed. Two shelves, two keys, and a combination. came by Fedex. and the guy didn't want to lift it. Weight was 106 pounds in box. It was suppose to be 75 pounds. Had trouble getting it through the house. Very heavy. Needed three people to manuver it . does not fit well in closet. tight squeeze.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for First Alert 2092F 1.3 Cubic Foot Water, Fire and Theft Combination Safe

Good Value - Roomy

07/12/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think this safe is excellent for anyone who needs room to store documents or other valuables.
I like the combination, so that you don't have to always have a key with you. Another nice feature is that it has a key over-ride just in case.
The only thing that is a bit of a down side to this product is that it does not let you choose your own combination. The combination is lengthty. Good for security and having said that, I have not had a bit of trouble remember the combination that has been assigned to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for First Alert 2092F 1.3 Cubic Foot Water, Fire and Theft Combination Safe

Great product at a great price.

09/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very pleased with the product and the instructions that came with it.
Loved the idea of getting this heavy item on my door step. No lugging it around in the car.
What surprised me was that the the unlock sequence numbers are pre-programmed and it is very unforgiving. Next time around I will order the button type.
Great product. Large and roomy to keep lots of papers and other valuable stuff.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for First Alert 2092F 1.3 Cubic Foot Water, Fire and Theft Combination Safe

Excellent product

11/14/2013
By ,
PSL, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This safe was delivered right to my door. It weighs about 100 lbs., so I was surprised to see the delivery guy at my front door. I was able to slide it into the bedroom and unpacked it there. I use the key most of the time because it is easier and faster to get into the safe. It had one of those gel packs for moisture which I kept. I keep the wife's jewelry and a couple of handguns in the safe.
If you are unable to slide it along the floor, you will need a substantial hand truck or dolly to move it. If you are planning on stealing the whole safe, make sure you have a strong partner to help lift it into the getaway car.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for First Alert 2092F 1.3 Cubic Foot Water, Fire and Theft Combination Safe

Nice combination lock safe.

08/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Safe was ordered to hold my silver, gold, cash and coins.
Pros - Contrary to some of the previous reviews there are indeed 4 bolts, a set of two bolts on either side. Which seems as it would add protection against tampering with the hinge. Spacious interior with an adjustable tray. Combination Lock works every time. Comes with a key override in case the combination is forgotten, the combination lock is broken or if you are in a hurry.
Cons - Adjustable tray is plastic and bends with weight. It would have been nice if they had a rear guard, lip or locking mechanism to give the tray addition support. Combination cannot be changed. Color is Grey, even though the picture on Walmart's online site shows it clearly being black.
All the bad aside it is exactly what I needed and will do just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for First Alert 2092F 1.3 Cubic Foot Water, Fire and Theft Combination Safe

Safe is Exactly as Described

12/03/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This safe was purchased to replace an older Sentry safe with an electronic keypad. Over the years the electronic keypad failed to the point that I would have to enter the combination multiple times before the safe would open. This First Alert safe with the conventional combination dial works perfectly, and has a slightly larger interior than the Sentry Safe. I have only used this safe for one week, but at this time I am extremely satisfied with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for First Alert 2092F 1.3 Cubic Foot Water, Fire and Theft Combination Safe

Just What I was Looking For!

10/25/2014
By ,
Baton Rouge, La.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, I was pleasantly surprised when the Safe arrived very shortly after placing the order, a week ahead of anticipated delivery date. Thus far, I am very pleased with every aspect of the safe. The size is what I needed to hold items of importance, the combination is easy to work, and it opens and shuts easily. I also like the pegs and slot in the door for small items. It fits well in a corner of the selected area. I look forward to using it for many years to come.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for First Alert 2092F 1.3 Cubic Foot Water, Fire and Theft Combination Safe

Look's very nice.

11/03/2014
By ,
Buffalo Center, Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice looking product. Should work well for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for First Alert 2092F 1.3 Cubic Foot Water, Fire and Theft Combination Safe

Good size. Good price.

10/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We looked several places & on line; this safe was best for us by far. It easily fits on the floor of a closet and clothes can be hung over it. Price wise, it was a bargain compared to other we considered.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for First Alert 2092F 1.3 Cubic Foot Water, Fire and Theft Combination Safe

Really good safe at a great price

04/10/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Summary: If you need something more than just a metal lock box -- but something less than a full-sized business safe -- at an affordable price (under $200) with the added benefit of it being fire- & water-proof under most conditions, this one is worth being on your short-list of choices.
Details: I looked at reviews for several different sizes, manufacturers and models of safes and settled on this one. It seemed to be the best match for what I needed, and -- as usual -- Walmart had the best price I could find (most others in the $200-225 range).
It was heavier than I expected for it's size, almost 100 lbs, so it is hefty. I had it delivered to a store close-by for pickup (which was way better & cheaper than having it delivered), so it came in a shipping box, lined with styrofoam and containing the actual product box which was also well packeged. You'll want a pickup or SUV to take this home; it'll fit in a car trunk but you'll probably have to tie the lid down.
Interior of safe is very roomy; plenty of space for documents, jewelry and other small valuables -- even a couple of full-sized handguns and ammo (if you're so inclined). Most of today's laptop computers probably wouldn't fit in it, but smaller mini-laptops, a Kindle Fire, PDA's, a Tom-Tom or Garmin auto GPS, etc would fit with room to spare. The plastic shelf can be moved to 3 levels within the safe or removed completely. The inside panel of the door has a small space in the top, about the size of a Quarter roll for really small items and a set of hooks for keys, necklaces or thin bracelets (like a tennis bracelet).
The overall size of the safe, for me, was large enough to be useful but small enough that it doesn't take up much floor space. You could tuck it in a corner, cover it with small cloth and put a plant on top -- hide it in plain sight and it would not be obvious at all.
I purchased the manual combo lock because I didn't want to have to rely on a battery operated lock. The combination is different than your old school locker combo or a combination padlock you might pick up from the local hardware store, so be prepared for a little bit of learning and be patient; the number and rotation pattern takes a little getting used to... I would recommend you open and lock it several times BEFORE you put anything of value in it, just to get the feel of how it works. It's not hard, just tricky.
The combo numbers are preset and nothing in the booklet tells how to change the numbers. I've read other reviews on this safe where users said you can call their help line and they can tell you how to change the numbers (as of this writing, I haven't called to find out). There is a sticker on the safe with the combo numbers and spin pattern; keep it and hide it somewhere. Also, a barrel-type key lock hidden under a removable tab at the bottom of the combo dial (pictures don't show it) opens the safe if all else fails. The handle is plastic, but it seems pretty heavy-duty. It doesn't feel cheap or flimsy at all when you use it to open & lock the door. The door is secured by horizontal 1/2-inch diameter (or a little larger) bolts, so when you close & lock it, it is very tight.
The safe sits on 4 round plastic feet about 1/4 - 3/8 -inch thick. I've read where others have drilled holes and mounted it to the floor, but I think you'd really have to go through alot to do this (industrial drill & bits, re-seal to maintain water & fire -proof characteristics, etc). Beside, they make a bolt-down model of this same safe.
Size, features and price; this was the best choice for me for a household safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for First Alert 2092F 1.3 Cubic Foot Water, Fire and Theft Combination Safe

Sturdy Safe

10/27/2012
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little apprehensive at first when I picked up my safe. The box was much bigger than I had expected. Luckily the young lady at pick-up opened the box for me and showed me the larger size was due to packing. Also I was extremely lucky the young man that took the safe out to my car could lift it into my back seat. I didn't realize it weighed 100 lbs. Anyway, I am very happy with my new safe. It turned out to be just the size that was listed on the web site so it fit perfectly where I intended to put it. It is extremely sturdy. Luckily the keys work because I haven't figured out how to open it with the combination as yet. I'm sure it's just me not following the instructions exactly as printed. I was impressed with the amount of space inside.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for First Alert 2092F 1.3 Cubic Foot Water, Fire and Theft Combination Safe

Perfect for my needs.

01/01/2014
By ,
Ct
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had read some reviews that said this is plastic..... which it is.
However, I found it to be very sturdy and well made. Comes with one shelf - many slot options to make the shelf space as tall or short as you need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for First Alert 2092F 1.3 Cubic Foot Water, Fire and Theft Combination Safe

plenty big enough for our needs

10/01/2014
By ,
Lincoln, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a fire/water proof safe big enough to hold a 3-4 in binder. This safe is wonderful. Not only does it hold my binder but there's also room for all my husband's ammo. This safe seems well built and the combination works well although my husband said he will probably use the key. It's nice to have that option.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for First Alert 2092F 1.3 Cubic Foot Water, Fire and Theft Combination Safe

Purchase meets/exceeds expectations....

03/04/2014
By ,
Olympia, Wa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am quite happy with the purchase. It has much plastic in the design, which is actually good because it means that those parts will not be prone to corrosion, but does not feel cheap. Although I do wish the handle was a little more heavy duty. Aside from that, great value.
I like that this brand/model has a keyed option. People were complaining about the complexity of the combination, but I found it very straight forward, and merely wondered at those peoples... capacity.
Bigger than I expected, and 100 lbs. is no joke.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for First Alert 2092F 1.3 Cubic Foot Water, Fire and Theft Combination Safe

Excellent for home, not office though.

07/17/2012
By ,
Tallahassee, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Instructions at firstalert.com are much clearer, especially for the combination.
Had trouble first time around opening the door until I went to the website and found that it's vacuum sealed. After that, no problem.
I passed on the digital because batteries need to be replaced about every 6 months and I didn't want to deal with it since it has the combo plus two keys. If I was in and out a lot, I'd opt for the digital version, though.
The packaging around the safe was solid and about as good as one could get it. The box had good stiff cardboard. But the outer box at the top seal was a mess: looks like someone sealed it, then opened it, then resealed with a lousy taping job.
The customer service guy at Walmart did a nice job and very helpful. Spent much time finding me a special cart to lug the thing out to my try.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 95 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next