Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HYUNDAI Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

HYUNDAI Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

You can breathe easy knowing you have the portable back-up power of the Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator. With the 4-stroke HX53 engine comprising 3.8HP 5500RPM 125CC Hyundai motor, the Hyundai portable generator offers 5.5 hours running time. It comes with a 16.6A 120-Volt AC outlet and 18.3A 12-Volt DC outlet for charging batteries while on the move. Crafted with an exhaust and muffler, this power inverter generator operates at just 65dB noise levels. It is lightweight, portable and runs multiple small electric items at once, making it suitable for camping and outdoor events. With built-in circuit breaker and overload protection, this heavy duty generator makes an ideal power source for your portable devices. The Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator also includes vehicle battery charge cables and delivers a consistent 2000-watt average power.
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%17 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 33 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

works great.

06/20/2014
By ,
Cleveland, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we got this because we needed power at a nascar race for our camper. it was easy to setup and started right away. ran nice and was not loud at all. we used it all weekend and it powered out 36' camper, microwave and all. It handled everything we tossed at it. The only thing I would have liked to work would have been the AC unit but for that we would need something much bigger and we wanted a small unit. I brought 10 gals of gas for the weekend and only used 5, it does use up more with a bigger load on it but once in save mode it lasted almost 4 hours on the 1.8 gal tank. For the price its a great bang for the buck, I would love to have one of the honda 3000's but we dont came without power much to justify the 2 to 3K you pay for one of the honda's If this last a few years I feel I got my money out og it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

Great for everything but the A/C

07/25/2014
By ,
Yakima Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Before I ordered this unit, I watched a, what I thought, was a very good video of a guy running his 13,500 BTU roof A/C unit on his 26' travel trailer. We have a 2014 22' trailer with a 13,500 BTU A/C, so after watching his video over and over, I went ahead and ordered one. It will run the fan even on high with no problem, but as soon as I kick in the compressor, it overloads and shuts down. It will run microwave and refrig. and all other accessories, so I will keep it. Fortunately we don't have very long stretches of hot weather, so running the fan will suffice. It is pretty darn quite but alittle heavy (70#), and you seem to have to chock it even when it's been running for awhile. All and all, seems to be a pretty good unit for the price ($568) including tax. My buddies $1000 Honda wont run it either.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

Great Generator

08/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I operate a food truck and needed a generator that would be quiet and reliable. This Generator has met my needs. I have been using it 5 days a week for about six months and it starts on the second pull every time. I run it about 5 hours at a time (1/2 load) on 1 gallon of gas.
Some reviewers say its louder than a Honda, it is very close. I have set up next to other trucks running a Honda EU2000 and was able to compare them. You really have to pay attention to hear a difference. With that said, why pay twice as much for Honda. After about 2 months of use I did notice that my generator was getting louder. I removed the blue covering and the black cover over the muffler and noticed that the bolts that hold the muffler to the engine were loose. I tightened them and it ran quieter than when I first got it. The fix was simple and didn't take very long to do.
CHECK THE OIL! This generator will use oil. I change the oil often (remember I use it almost daily) and I noticed that it does get low. Checking your oil and changing it regularly is a good practice to get into anyway. Friction causes heat and heat causes damage, so regular oil changes will keep your generator running fine for a long time. It only takes about 10 minutes.
You cannot connect two these together (which would be a nice feature) but running another cord is less expensive than a parallel kit anyway. So, not a deal breaker.
This generator has proven itself to me, so not only do I recommend this generator, but I will be purchasing another Hyundai HY2000si generator in the near future to accommodate changes in my power requirements.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

One word WOW

06/09/2014
By ,
Minneapolis MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had purchased a competitors Inverter for charging trolling motor batteries and found the unit to be very noisy and it leaked gasoline. I returned the unit and purchased the Hyundai unit. I have found that the unit is quiet, capable of handling heavy electrical loads and it starts. The gas consumption with a light electrical load has exceeded my expectations. I am glad I went blue!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

Great Unit

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Setup was quick and easy. I added the oil that was shipped with the unit and gas and it fired on 2nd pull. The
Manual did not have a detailed break in discussion so I ran it unloaded for about an hour in both econ and regular mode.
I then loaded it with my RV air conditioner, small refrigerator and a few lights and it did great although it was a bit too much load for the econ mode.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

Quiet

07/19/2014
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very glad that this generator performed as advertised. I started up right away and was quite. It's very stylish and powerful. Very happy with my purchase. The price very good compared to similar brands. We took it camping the same week we received it. I bought it for my 18 foot travel trailer when there is no hooks. It ran everything just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

Work's exactly as described on site and forum..

06/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Will run your big a/c, thought it wouldnt until i shut down power inverter on fuse panel in 28ft toy hauler. You guy's that said it worked had me wondering, until I shut everything else down.
Work's perfect, run's them big a/c units other 2000 watt unit's won't.
Thank's everyone, Great deal Walmart, fast delivery also, oh ya and very quite
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

Nice and quiet!

07/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't had an opportunity to really put it to a load test for any lenght of time, but the initial start up was encouraging. Quite running, just a little larger than it's counterpart that Honda makes, but at a third the cost I don't think you can go wrong with it. The only complaint so far is I'm not impressed with the location of the fuel fill, its very hard to prevent any overflow or spillage from going straight down on the controls/switches, so use caution when filling and don't overfill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

Outstanding Generator

10/02/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this generator to replace my RVs defective Onan Microlite generator. The Cummins dealer declared the parts required were no longer available and they recommended that I replace it with a new Microlite (same wattage) for almost $4000.
I saw a youtube video showing the Hyundia HY200si supplying a RV with an Air conditioner. Thus I bought the unit and it works great (A/C, Microwave, etc.). The secret is after the Gen is running, turn OFF the Econ switch!
The generator is well built and starts every time. I saved $3500 and I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator
06/27/2011
By ,
Veguita, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Light weight and easy to handle generator. Ergonomically simple too, with exception of pull start. The chrome piece around the pull port has already frayed the rope. I recently used for several hours to carge small RV and run lights, TV and microwave. It will not run the AC (overload control shuts unit down). Units is also hard to start sometimes. It requires a lot pf pumping of the promer bubble and full choke (especially when cold). I am hoping this gets better as the unit breaks in. If unit gets better with operation I would possible buy another to link with so that I might run my camper AC. I'm not sure if this is possible though.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

EZ TO START- WELL DESIGNED-SL LOUDER THAN EXPECTED

12/23/2013
By ,
hawaii
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FAST SHIPPING- REC'D IN GOOD CONDITION. EZ START. LITTLE HEAVY-- LITTLE LOUDER THAN EXPECTED.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

Good price for features

08/21/2013
By ,
S. L. Ut.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is heavy and it is large (compared w/Honda 2000.) It also gives you 400 more running watts if you need them.
At a little over half as much as the Honda, price is its best feature. It is a little more difficult to start (3 to 9 pulls/1 for the Honda) and it seems a bit louder.
Durability and portability are the issues with this gen. A handcart solves one problem and time will resolve the other. I LIKE this machine and have faith in it - we'll see what happens.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator
10/22/2012
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product! started on fourth pull. well made and super quiet!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator
11/16/2012
By ,
Orange, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worked as advertised out of the box. Oil filler could be a little longer to avoid spills when filling/topping off.
The unit is a little heavier than I'd anticipated -- about 25 lbs (50%) heavier than than the 1600/2000 Watt competitors (which average about 50 lbs). But you get an additional 400 watts running/200 watts peak for the additional weight.
Seems to be surging a little with no load (although that could just be that I don't have enough fuel in it during the test runs).
Can't find a tri-fuel conversion kit available in the U.S. (doesn't appear to be enough clearance between the air filter and fuel tank) but should be a good backup in the event of a power failure/earthquake.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

Worth it for the money

10/07/2013
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got it today for a great deal $482 plus tax it was worth it. Its lounder then the Honda & bigger but for the price it is worth it. I only tested with saw but I will test with a 13,500 Marine AC next weekend. About 30 feet away it sounds like a weed wacker motor.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

BE PREPARED

09/05/2013
By ,
BAYONNE, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GETTING READY FOR THE NEXT SUPERSTORM
MY FAMILY WILL NOT BE WITHOUT POWER FOR 2 WEEKS NEXT TIME!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator
Based on 1 ratings-only review
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5