Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HYUNDAI Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

HYUNDAI Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

You can breathe easy knowing you have the portable back-up power of the Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator. With the 4-stroke HX53 engine comprising 3.8HP 5500RPM 125CC Hyundai motor, the Hyundai portable generator offers 5.5 hours running time. It comes with a 16.6A 120-Volt AC outlet and 18.3A 12-Volt DC outlet for charging batteries while on the move. Crafted with an exhaust and muffler, this power inverter generator operates at just 65dB noise levels. It is lightweight, portable and runs multiple small electric items at once, making it suitable for camping and outdoor events. With built-in circuit breaker and overload protection, this heavy duty generator makes an ideal power source for your portable devices. The Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator also includes vehicle battery charge cables and delivers a consistent 2000-watt average power.
Average Customer Rating:
4.458 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation96%23 out of 24reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 49 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

Great for everything but the A/C

07/25/2014
By ,
Yakima Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Before I ordered this unit, I watched a, what I thought, was a very good video of a guy running his 13,500 BTU roof A/C unit on his 26' travel trailer. We have a 2014 22' trailer with a 13,500 BTU A/C, so after watching his video over and over, I went ahead and ordered one. It will run the fan even on high with no problem, but as soon as I kick in the compressor, it overloads and shuts down. It will run microwave and refrig. and all other accessories, so I will keep it. Fortunately we don't have very long stretches of hot weather, so running the fan will suffice. It is pretty darn quite but alittle heavy (70#), and you seem to have to chock it even when it's been running for awhile. All and all, seems to be a pretty good unit for the price ($568) including tax. My buddies $1000 Honda wont run it either.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
La follette, tn
Will start newer units is Starter capacitors
Posted 10/13/2014
I have this unit and it starts my 13,500 BTU A/C without problems. Most older A/C units and some of the cheaper newer A/C units do not have a sufficient starting capacitor. My unit is new and has a larger starting capacitor. It only draws 18 amps at start up. My friends A/C unit is about 7 years old and it will not start his under any circumstance. His older unit pulls 26 amps at start up. Other factors. An A/C unit has three motors. One compressor motor, one compressor fan motor, and one cabin blower motor. If the unit is turned on all at once it will cause the unit to pull start up amps from all three units. I turn on my cabin blower motor to run continuously, this way when the A/C compressor kicks in, it is not fighting the cabin motor for start up amps. (I understand some units do not have this options, most new travel trailers do.)
0points
Customer Avatar
La follette, tn
RV A/C
Posted 10/09/2014
The problem with RV A/C is it is hard to know just by the BTU size how many amps it pulls. For instance, my buddy's 13,500btu A/C has a peak start up pull of 26 amps, but runs at 10 amps once started. My camper has a 13,500btu A/C but it only pulls 17 amps at start up. It runs at 9 amps once running. My A/C is new, but also has a start up capacitor. So in closing, the BTU size is not a good way to pick a generator. Good luck.
P.S. My buddy and me are both very skilled in electronics and electricity working in these fields for a living.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

Very quite generator

10/09/2014
By ,
La follette, tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I supervise a shop which repairs large generators up to 200 KW. My team and I have a very good understanding of electricity and electronics. We have very good test equipment and a calibrated load bank. After receiving the generator I ran it at half load for about an hour and then the testing began. It did not come with oil in it, but it was supplied. Its overall build quality looks good with good fit and finish. At first we primed it and it started right away. I was amazed at how quite it was. Very quite. I hooked a load bank and took it up to its max of 2000 watts (16.67 amps). It held 2000 watts well. I then dialed up the load, and at about 2075 watts (17.29 Amps), the overload light flickered on. We then ran it up to 2200 watts (18.33 Amps) and the generators held for about 30 seconds and kicked off. We turned it off and let it cool down for a few minutes and restarted. Everything was back to normal. We then hooked up an oscilloscope at a 1500 watts load and the sine wave was very nice. Just about perfect. The generator operated at a perfect 60 Hz with only minor stumbling under fast load changes. The generator weighs in around 75 lbs. with fuel and oil. At first look this generator will be great for camping and back up power. Sound: we do not have a sound meter. I used an app load on my phone, but cannot be 100% sure of its accuracy. On low (eco mode) it was around 57 decibels. Under 2000 watts it came in at 64 decibels. Almost everyone here has some sort of generator, and we tested them all the same way. Not to mention the large ones we work on. This generator out of the box has hit the mark very close. If it holds up, and it looks like it will, this generator line will give the big name brands a run for their money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TEXAS
Posted 10/11/2014
This is the best review I have read of this GenSet and I have read a ton of them on the Web. I wish you had been able to post the THD (Total Harmonic Distortion) just to compare to the Red and Blue ones. Thank you very much for a great review.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

works great.

06/20/2014
By ,
Cleveland, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we got this because we needed power at a nascar race for our camper. it was easy to setup and started right away. ran nice and was not loud at all. we used it all weekend and it powered out 36' camper, microwave and all. It handled everything we tossed at it. The only thing I would have liked to work would have been the AC unit but for that we would need something much bigger and we wanted a small unit. I brought 10 gals of gas for the weekend and only used 5, it does use up more with a bigger load on it but once in save mode it lasted almost 4 hours on the 1.8 gal tank. For the price its a great bang for the buck, I would love to have one of the honda 3000's but we dont came without power much to justify the 2 to 3K you pay for one of the honda's If this last a few years I feel I got my money out og it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

Great Generator

08/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I operate a food truck and needed a generator that would be quiet and reliable. This Generator has met my needs. I have been using it 5 days a week for about six months and it starts on the second pull every time. I run it about 5 hours at a time (1/2 load) on 1 gallon of gas.
Some reviewers say its louder than a Honda, it is very close. I have set up next to other trucks running a Honda EU2000 and was able to compare them. You really have to pay attention to hear a difference. With that said, why pay twice as much for Honda. After about 2 months of use I did notice that my generator was getting louder. I removed the blue covering and the black cover over the muffler and noticed that the bolts that hold the muffler to the engine were loose. I tightened them and it ran quieter than when I first got it. The fix was simple and didn't take very long to do.
CHECK THE OIL! This generator will use oil. I change the oil often (remember I use it almost daily) and I noticed that it does get low. Checking your oil and changing it regularly is a good practice to get into anyway. Friction causes heat and heat causes damage, so regular oil changes will keep your generator running fine for a long time. It only takes about 10 minutes.
You cannot connect two these together (which would be a nice feature) but running another cord is less expensive than a parallel kit anyway. So, not a deal breaker.
This generator has proven itself to me, so not only do I recommend this generator, but I will be purchasing another Hyundai HY2000si generator in the near future to accommodate changes in my power requirements.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

Just what I wanted. Half the price of a Honda.

10/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The generator was exactly as expected. I did a thorough preflight to make sure spark plug was tight and oiled the dry air filter. It is heavy and maybe not as quiet as the Honda but I think it might be more powerful than the Honda. I have only used it for two days running a chainsaw on a 50 foot cord. It performed perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

Great Generator for the money..

09/21/2014
By ,
Show Low, Az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read many reviews and watched the U tubes on it.. my experience after one outing, a total of 3 days of off and on use I was extremely impressed with its ease to start and the quietness of the unit on the econo mode... I have tried the unit on my 1100 watt micro... about half of the time the unit off of the enono mode would not keep up with the load.. I am not saying anything negative about the unit yet... It may need a little more breakin... All in all this is a great buy and I believe it will handle the loads that I anticipated and as advertised ...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

Work's exactly as described on site and forum..

06/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Will run your big a/c, thought it wouldnt until i shut down power inverter on fuse panel in 28ft toy hauler. You guy's that said it worked had me wondering, until I shut everything else down.
Work's perfect, run's them big a/c units other 2000 watt unit's won't.
Thank's everyone, Great deal Walmart, fast delivery also, oh ya and very quite
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

One word WOW

06/09/2014
By ,
Minneapolis MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had purchased a competitors Inverter for charging trolling motor batteries and found the unit to be very noisy and it leaked gasoline. I returned the unit and purchased the Hyundai unit. I have found that the unit is quiet, capable of handling heavy electrical loads and it starts. The gas consumption with a light electrical load has exceeded my expectations. I am glad I went blue!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

Great Unit

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Setup was quick and easy. I added the oil that was shipped with the unit and gas and it fired on 2nd pull. The
Manual did not have a detailed break in discussion so I ran it unloaded for about an hour in both econ and regular mode.
I then loaded it with my RV air conditioner, small refrigerator and a few lights and it did great although it was a bit too much load for the econ mode.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

Hyundai Portable Inverter Generator

09/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After researching the various options available, I discovered that this generator was 40% cheaper than the Honda and Yamaha models. The reviews were very positive so, due to the price, I decided on purchasing it and I have not been disappointed. It is simple to operate and only requires you to fill with the included oil and your own gas and it's ready to go. Worked first time out with no problems, fired right up. I'm using it primarily for a pitching machine I recently bought, and have had no issues at all.
It is about 70 lbs and does not have wheels so you have to be a bit larger to handle carrying it. I was able to carry it with no problems, but it was too heavy for my 11 year old son to carry on his own.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

As Advertised & very quiet

10/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, good looking unit. I have had both Honda & Generac models similar. Almost as quiet as Honda; 1/2 the price!! Is larger & heavier than the afore mentioned products, but not enough to matter for the $$. Would buy again for sure
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

Outstanding Generator

10/02/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this generator to replace my RVs defective Onan Microlite generator. The Cummins dealer declared the parts required were no longer available and they recommended that I replace it with a new Microlite (same wattage) for almost $4000.
I saw a youtube video showing the Hyundia HY200si supplying a RV with an Air conditioner. Thus I bought the unit and it works great (A/C, Microwave, etc.). The secret is after the Gen is running, turn OFF the Econ switch!
The generator is well built and starts every time. I saved $3500 and I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

Quiet

07/19/2014
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very glad that this generator performed as advertised. I started up right away and was quite. It's very stylish and powerful. Very happy with my purchase. The price very good compared to similar brands. We took it camping the same week we received it. I bought it for my 18 foot travel trailer when there is no hooks. It ran everything just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator
06/27/2011
By ,
Veguita, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Light weight and easy to handle generator. Ergonomically simple too, with exception of pull start. The chrome piece around the pull port has already frayed the rope. I recently used for several hours to carge small RV and run lights, TV and microwave. It will not run the AC (overload control shuts unit down). Units is also hard to start sometimes. It requires a lot pf pumping of the promer bubble and full choke (especially when cold). I am hoping this gets better as the unit breaks in. If unit gets better with operation I would possible buy another to link with so that I might run my camper AC. I'm not sure if this is possible though.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

Nice and quiet!

07/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't had an opportunity to really put it to a load test for any lenght of time, but the initial start up was encouraging. Quite running, just a little larger than it's counterpart that Honda makes, but at a third the cost I don't think you can go wrong with it. The only complaint so far is I'm not impressed with the location of the fuel fill, its very hard to prevent any overflow or spillage from going straight down on the controls/switches, so use caution when filling and don't overfill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

Good price for features

08/21/2013
By ,
S. L. Ut.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is heavy and it is large (compared w/Honda 2000.) It also gives you 400 more running watts if you need them.
At a little over half as much as the Honda, price is its best feature. It is a little more difficult to start (3 to 9 pulls/1 for the Honda) and it seems a bit louder.
Durability and portability are the issues with this gen. A handcart solves one problem and time will resolve the other. I LIKE this machine and have faith in it - we'll see what happens.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

EZ TO START- WELL DESIGNED-SL LOUDER THAN EXPECTED

12/23/2013
By ,
hawaii
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FAST SHIPPING- REC'D IN GOOD CONDITION. EZ START. LITTLE HEAVY-- LITTLE LOUDER THAN EXPECTED.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

Maybe it will work and then maybe not??

09/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
On utub it looked like a great deal and when I got it the first 2 weeks was great used it once a week at the race track after 2 weeks it stopped charging it took 3 more weeks to find someone to work on it. I don't use it that much it's been 12 months and it has stopped charging again right in the middle of a race. I should have spend the extra monye and got a Honda??
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator
10/22/2012
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product! started on fourth pull. well made and super quiet!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hyundai HY2000si Portable Inverter Generator

great generator for camping or loss of power@ home

09/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great generator for camping or loss of power in your home, starts first or second pull,
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next