Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sunpentown Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Sunpentown Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

The Warm Cool Sunpentown dual mist humidifier will effectively relieve your dry nose, throat, lips and itchy skin. This ultrasonic water humidifier disperses a warm or cool mist straight into the room of your choice. The Sunpentown humidifier comes with a split nozzle for wider coverage and a transparent water tank for easier functionality. The dual mist warm cool humidifier operates in a super quiet mode that ensures that you are not disturbed by its operation. The Sunpentown ultrasonic humidifier sports an ION exchange filter that releases pollution free mist into the room. The humidifier works effectively in rooms that are up to 500 square feet in area. The device comes with split nozzles that can be adjusted to any direction in a 360 rotation feature.
Average Customer Rating:
4.155 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(110 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
27
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation82%90 out of 110reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 127 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
27
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

So disappointed

03/28/2012
By ,
Amarillo, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was the third humidifier we tried. The first one, a Sunbeam I believe, didn't even work when we took it out of the box. The next one showered our room in white soot and did not work on our congestion (it was a cool mist though).
I thought the dual mist would be awesome due to the dual heat/cool settings and ample output, however that was not the case. The tank was empty by morning when placed on the warm setting contrary to the claim that it would last much longer. Furthermore, we could not feel a noticeable difference between the warm and cool settings. Upon contacting the customer service to determine what I did wrong in setting up the unit, the rep said that there would only be a 2 degrees difference between the two settings. Say what?? It went in the box and back to Wal-Mart the very next evening after we got it. So disappointed.
Instead, we now use a rinky-dink Vicks warm mist humidifier. It works great with ample noticeably WARM mist emission and is very quiet with no soot. Love my Vicks!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Our first IDEAL Humidifier!

03/16/2012
By ,
Missouri Ozarks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After years of buying cool mist and warm steam vaporizers/humidifiers, I finally found the perfect one! (I consulted Consumer Reports this time!) This humidifier is so easy to fill and to clean. We have very hard water, but lime buildup was never an issue. The clear tank makes it easy to keep tabs on the water level, though it does have a warning light when the water level gets low. We used the cool mist daily this winter in a great room. With an inexpensive tabletop humidistat, we were able to keep the humidity at a comfortable level using the convenient knob for adjustment. I used the warm steam in the bedroom when I came down with bronchitis. This goes from cool mist to warm steam with another convenient knob. You can easily adjust the direction of flow, plus it's also very quiet. Did I mention that this humidifier is perfect?? The filter may be a little more expensive, but the ease of use of this humidifier more than makes up for it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Efficient and quiet

12/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used in our bedroom. Works great. Easy to fill and maintain. Quiet operation...we do not even know when it is operating. Excellent at increasing room humidity. We no longer wake up in the morning with dry throat.
Delivery from Walmart was speedy and package arrived in great condition.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Returned

01/21/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased and returned it shortly after. I had the cheap Vick's vaporizer for a couple of years and it worked great. I bought this unit after it putzed out on me. Made us drier and didn't help at all, seemed to make it worse. I believe this unit emits white dust. I was filling it up and noticed a white film on the water reservoir. Pros: doesn't take up my whole night stand like the Vick's vaporizer, pretty quiet, 360 rotation of steam vents. Cons: white dust, costly water ion filter, leaky refill cap ( I purchased anothe Vick's warm mist humidifier with the same type of cap and it didn't leak), not worth the price. I purchased the Vick's warm humidifier for less than half the price of this unit and it works way better than this one!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Quality control is lacking.....

12/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have previously owned and used two of these units for three years. They were fantastic!
Needing to replace those, I purchased two of these from Amazon and one from Walmart. They were all defective in one way or another.
The Walmart purchased humidifier was very noisy, so much so it could not be used while trying to sleep. The mist control was almost useless. It went from a lot of mist to way too much, lacking the first 60% of the control that it should have had.
Its a great design and if working properly, my favorite humidifier I have used in 15 years.
I even bought another humidifier for $160 from BB&B, and that did not work properly either after the first month. It left pools of water on the furniture and floor and after three weeks it too became quite noisy. At least you can always return any item to BB&B, no questions asked. No other store can match that policy.
I've since settled on a $50 Homedics, cool mist humidifier. See how that works out.
Very disappointed with this purchase. Its a great design, looks fantastic, just needs someone to fix the noise issue and mist control.
BTW, it has nothing to do with it coming from Walmart.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Faulty initial unit replaced. Works very well.

12/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit arrived on time and seemed to work but began leaking from the base of the unit. After a short call to Sunpentown's customer service, they sent out a new base unit which works perfectly. The unit produces both warm and cool mist and produces quite a bit of it. It is a also extremely quiet. I would have given it 5 stars had it not been for the problem with the first unit.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

So far . . . quiet, pumps out the water vapor

01/13/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The unit works pretty well so far. It's quiet and over about a 9-12 hours puts about a gallon and whatever of water into the air. I've mostly used it on the cold mist setting, so I'll have to see how the warm mist setting works. I can tell the unit is heating the water (warm mist), but doesn't seem to be much temp difference in the mist.
But the mist comes out pretty good and it's a quiet operating unit. Consumers Report said it was a pretty good one and so far I'd agree. I don't have any water mist getting on surfaces. Seems to go into the air. If you're not careful, you could leak or spill water when refilling, but otherwise, I haven't had any problems.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Easy to use/clean but the fan is loud

12/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
we purchased two of these humidifiers after reading reviews on consumer reports. I open the first one and started it up and noticed that the fan made a high pitched winy noise. I called manufacturer and they replaced the base with a new one. Its better but we still couldn't handle the noise it made in the bedroom. We are keeping them as they do work well just not quiet enough for bedroom use.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Great product

01/02/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job and is quite.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Supentown humidifier

01/27/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It was good at first, but after a few days it became rather noisy. We returned it and bought a Homedics unit (from another company) that is working great.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Great humidifier

01/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did my homework prior to purchase through Consumer Reports. There are a lot of humidifiers out there but this one received the best ratings. This is a no brainer! It's a bit noisy for the bedroom so I moved into the living room. Problem solved! Living in Colorado it is very dry, even more so in the winter. I usually fill it at least 4 times per day. In the time I've had it, the I door humidity has risen to a whopping 26%. Not a staggering increase, but every bit helps. If you're considering purchasing this unit, go for it. You won't be disappointed.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier
04/04/2013
By ,
Audubon, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The quality of this humidifier is very good. It appears to made of high quality plastic, and the controls are easy to use. I have not experienced any water leaks. The rubber seal for the cartridge works as expected, but I took precautions not to over tighten the cartridge after refilling the tank with water. I was surprised how clean the tank remains after prolonged usage, considering the possibility of bacterial/mold growth. However, I did take the company's recommendation to use distilled water. The only negative to the unit is that it requires regular attention (i.e., refilling the tank every other day and cleaning the top and the bottom sections weekly). However, these tasks are worth the benefits. Also, if you intend to place the humidifier on a carpeted floor, you will need to rest it on a thin board first so that the air filter on the bottom is not blocked by the carpet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Quiet but awkward

01/26/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quiet and energy efficient but the refill process is clumsy, messy and slow. Nobody spoke up at the design review.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Easy to handle & great results!

01/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am happy with my purchase, but the price was reduced shortly after I purchased it. I did not like that!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Small and effective

03/11/2011
By ,
Mid-Coast Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased two of these because the rated output suggested I would need two to humidify my whole house. Wrong. One does a super job, so I'll rtn #2. This unit is (1) Quiet, (2) Clean and residue free, even with our "hard" water, and (3) is quite capable as a whole house humidifier if run 24/7 (Home area is 1800 sq. ft.) Started at 25% RH, and were up to 38% in 3 days when it was wicked cold and super-dry outside.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+102points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Bull with steam coming out both nostrils

01/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super easy to set up and use. Refilling is easy. Have used only on cold mist setting and feel that it serves the bedroom end of our house nicely Goes almost 24 hours on one fill with constant output. Impressive.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

very quiet

10/29/2013
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Based on a good review by Consumer Reports and a great price I purchased the SU-4010 humidifier. It is very, very quiet and works great. Only downside is that the cleaning brush was not included in the box. Other than that I recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

INVESTMENT FOR YOUR SINUSES!!!

12/10/2010
By ,
KENNESAW, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WHAT I LOVE ABOUT MY DUAL MIST WARM/COOL HUMIDIFIER I CAN USE IT ALL YEAR AROUND. LIKE FOR AN EXAMPLE, WITH GAS HEAT IN THE WINTER, COOL MIST HELP KEEP MOISTURE IN THE AIR SO YOUR SINUSES WILL NOT DRY OUT WHILE SLEEPING. BY BUYING DUAL HUMIDIFIER IT SAVE YOU MORE MONEY INSTEAD OF BUYING 2 DIFFERENT HUMIDIFIERS. IT'S A NICE INVESTMENT!! THANK YOU!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

This keeps my whole house humidified!

12/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a small, 1,250 sq ft, house and I keep this on the middle level. I fill it up in the morning and evening and it runs all day. It's been a couple of weeks and so far no problems at all.
I would say that you definitely cannot keep this on a surface that can be damaged by water. The way this is set-up it's virtually impossible not to drip a little taking the top on/of.
Otherwise ENJOY!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

GREAT product!

12/10/2012
By ,
Coastal Rhode Island
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My original purchase was a cool mist by Vicks #4550 by Kaz (see my review). Having been disapointed with that purchase (EXTREMELY noisy so it was returned to the store) I looked online -- this model seemed to have good reviews (here and elsewhere), so I ordered it.
NIGHT and DAY difference between this and the Vicks. First -- this one is ultrasonic, so the "mist" that comes out is more like "fog" -- just a vapor. The best part -- THERE IS NO SOUND WHATSOEVER!
We have Sunbeam SHG50PDQ-U Hygrometer placed in each room at the thermometer (we have electric baseboard heat). We have been running the machine intermitently and it has been very easy to keep the humidity at about 60%. VERY noticable difference in breathing!
I would recommend this product without reservation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 95 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next