Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sunpentown Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Sunpentown Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

The Sunpentown SU-4010 Humidifier will effectively relieve your dry nose, throat, lips and itchy skin. This ultrasonic water humidifier disperses a warm or cool mist straight into the room of your choice. The humidifier comes with a split nozzle for wider coverage and a transparent water tank for easier functionality. The dual mist warm cool humidifier operates in a super quiet mode that ensures that you are not disturbed by its operation. The device sports an ION exchange filter that releases pollution free mist into the room. The humidifier works effectively in rooms that are up to 500 square feet in area. The device comes with split nozzles that can be adjusted to any direction in a 360 rotation feature. The ultrasonic water humidifier has a total water storing capacity of 4 liters giving you ample amount of refreshing spray mist. It is an energy efficient device that provides quality performance with minimal energy consumption.
Average Customer Rating:
4.18 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation83%74 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 123 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

So disappointed

03/28/2012
By ,
Amarillo, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was the third humidifier we tried. The first one, a Sunbeam I believe, didn't even work when we took it out of the box. The next one showered our room in white soot and did not work on our congestion (it was a cool mist though).
I thought the dual mist would be awesome due to the dual heat/cool settings and ample output, however that was not the case. The tank was empty by morning when placed on the warm setting contrary to the claim that it would last much longer. Furthermore, we could not feel a noticeable difference between the warm and cool settings. Upon contacting the customer service to determine what I did wrong in setting up the unit, the rep said that there would only be a 2 degrees difference between the two settings. Say what?? It went in the box and back to Wal-Mart the very next evening after we got it. So disappointed.
Instead, we now use a rinky-dink Vicks warm mist humidifier. It works great with ample noticeably WARM mist emission and is very quiet with no soot. Love my Vicks!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Our first IDEAL Humidifier!

03/16/2012
By ,
Missouri Ozarks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After years of buying cool mist and warm steam vaporizers/humidifiers, I finally found the perfect one! (I consulted Consumer Reports this time!) This humidifier is so easy to fill and to clean. We have very hard water, but lime buildup was never an issue. The clear tank makes it easy to keep tabs on the water level, though it does have a warning light when the water level gets low. We used the cool mist daily this winter in a great room. With an inexpensive tabletop humidistat, we were able to keep the humidity at a comfortable level using the convenient knob for adjustment. I used the warm steam in the bedroom when I came down with bronchitis. This goes from cool mist to warm steam with another convenient knob. You can easily adjust the direction of flow, plus it's also very quiet. Did I mention that this humidifier is perfect?? The filter may be a little more expensive, but the ease of use of this humidifier more than makes up for it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

very quiet

10/29/2013
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Based on a good review by Consumer Reports and a great price I purchased the SU-4010 humidifier. It is very, very quiet and works great. Only downside is that the cleaning brush was not included in the box. Other than that I recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Small and effective

03/11/2011
By ,
Mid-Coast Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased two of these because the rated output suggested I would need two to humidify my whole house. Wrong. One does a super job, so I'll rtn #2. This unit is (1) Quiet, (2) Clean and residue free, even with our "hard" water, and (3) is quite capable as a whole house humidifier if run 24/7 (Home area is 1800 sq. ft.) Started at 25% RH, and were up to 38% in 3 days when it was wicked cold and super-dry outside.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Received it used and faulty!

09/26/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought it on-line, picked it up at Walmart, and turn it on as soon as I got home (of course I followed the direction).
It would not turn on. It was used and faulty item. Returned it right away. Afraid to order it again on-line.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Quite humidifier with dual directional misters.

11/13/2013
By ,
Springfield MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Followed Consumer Reports recommendations. Humidifier is quiet, has the dual directional misters which is good to do 2 rooms. Good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Excellent humidifer

06/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This humidifer is quiet and has excellent humidity output. I'm very satisfied with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

INVESTMENT FOR YOUR SINUSES!!!

12/10/2010
By ,
KENNESAW, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WHAT I LOVE ABOUT MY DUAL MIST WARM/COOL HUMIDIFIER I CAN USE IT ALL YEAR AROUND. LIKE FOR AN EXAMPLE, WITH GAS HEAT IN THE WINTER, COOL MIST HELP KEEP MOISTURE IN THE AIR SO YOUR SINUSES WILL NOT DRY OUT WHILE SLEEPING. BY BUYING DUAL HUMIDIFIER IT SAVE YOU MORE MONEY INSTEAD OF BUYING 2 DIFFERENT HUMIDIFIERS. IT'S A NICE INVESTMENT!! THANK YOU!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier
04/04/2013
By ,
Audubon, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The quality of this humidifier is very good. It appears to made of high quality plastic, and the controls are easy to use. I have not experienced any water leaks. The rubber seal for the cartridge works as expected, but I took precautions not to over tighten the cartridge after refilling the tank with water. I was surprised how clean the tank remains after prolonged usage, considering the possibility of bacterial/mold growth. However, I did take the company's recommendation to use distilled water. The only negative to the unit is that it requires regular attention (i.e., refilling the tank every other day and cleaning the top and the bottom sections weekly). However, these tasks are worth the benefits. Also, if you intend to place the humidifier on a carpeted floor, you will need to rest it on a thin board first so that the air filter on the bottom is not blocked by the carpet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier
07/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is so quiet! I use it every night for my baby. I like that I can still hear her over it and the fact that you can adjust the mist into two different directions. It's compact and works just as well as the higher priced items
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Quiet and efficient!

11/14/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this humidifier...the cool or warm mist option is great. So quiet that it was perfect for my newborn!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Awesome humidifier...

02/15/2014
By ,
McMinnville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great humidifier... We have a 1300 sq ft house and it works for our entire house... We have it sitting about 6 ft from our return vent...
Our air was so dry that we were shocking everything... The first day I kept it on high to get the moisture started now I've got it down around medium or a little less and it lasts 24 or more hours with one filling... Plus since I bought it I've turned my heat down by 6 degrees and it still feels about the same temperature... Oh yeah... And it's very quiet... Can't even hear it run...
Great investment...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

BETTER AIR TO BREATHE

03/14/2011
By ,
CHARLOTTE, N.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE HUMIDIFIER WE PURCHASED PUT MOISTURE BACK INTO THE AIR WE BREATHE. I WAS EXPERIENCING NOSE BLEEDS IN THE AM, DRY MOUTH. NOW SINCE USING THE PRODUCT, I'M NOT GETTING UP IN THE MORNING WITH NOSE BLEEDS.
MY THROAT IS NOT DRY AND I SLEEP BETTER.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Good humidifier

11/07/2013
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very quiet, lasts 2 nights on average humidity.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

GREAT product!

12/10/2012
By ,
Coastal Rhode Island
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My original purchase was a cool mist by Vicks #4550 by Kaz (see my review). Having been disapointed with that purchase (EXTREMELY noisy so it was returned to the store) I looked online -- this model seemed to have good reviews (here and elsewhere), so I ordered it.
NIGHT and DAY difference between this and the Vicks. First -- this one is ultrasonic, so the "mist" that comes out is more like "fog" -- just a vapor. The best part -- THERE IS NO SOUND WHATSOEVER!
We have Sunbeam SHG50PDQ-U Hygrometer placed in each room at the thermometer (we have electric baseboard heat). We have been running the machine intermitently and it has been very easy to keep the humidity at about 60%. VERY noticable difference in breathing!
I would recommend this product without reservation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier
12/12/2011
By ,
Washington NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Does not live up to expectations. Did not cover 300 sq. foot area, maybe will cover 100 sq. ft.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Silent Humidifier

02/01/2014
By ,
Bountiful, Utah
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ran the humidifier the other night for my husbands illness. I did not hear it once during the night! Good mist flow.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Love it

03/10/2012
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in Arizona so the air can get about as dry as it comes, for years I was always waking up with my mouth and throut extremly dry and hourse to the point it would wake me up in the middle of the night and I always had to have something to drink by my bed. I set this up turned it on and havent had an issue since then. I love how easy it is to fill, its not loud, keeps the air cool or warm and for the money I dont feel you can beat it. I like how long it last to, I dont have to worry about the water running out in the middle of the night and the adjustable ports on top are nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier
05/09/2012
By ,
Taos, NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This thing was a complete disappointment. I have NEVER bothered to write a review before, but to spend this much money on something and be this disappointed with it, I HAD to. This thing looks like it's going to be bigger than it actually is, the other reivews let you think this thing works like a charm when it doesn't, the hot steam does NOT work...it has a silver round thing inside the humidifier which heats up, but by the time the steam flows out, it's COLD and certainly is not a warm mist coming out...at all. The mist is just as cold as it is when you put it on the cold setting. And only when you put the setting on the LOWEST setting does this humidifier last for 10 to 12 hours...and if you leave it on the lowest setting you hardly get any mist out of this thing. In order for you to get any type of mist out of this device, you have to have it on set on the middle setting or your not getting any type of decent humidity what so ever. This product is a complete waste of time and money. The only thing that was nice about this was the filter...which isn't even needed because water turning into mist to humidify a room doesn't really need a filter. Ugh, what a complete disaster this product is. Don't waste your money. Seriously, I think the rest of the reivews are fake!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sunpentown Ultrasonic Dual Mist Warm / Cool Humidifier

Disappointing but most have been in this range.

12/27/2011
By ,
Utah
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have owned numerous humidifiers through the years. I bought this one about 6 or 7 months ago and used everyday till it broke a few days ago. I only ever used the cool mist setting-not sure the warm mist ever worked. It produced moisture that you could see which was kind of cool. It didn't produce the white film. The filter for this one was unusual--it goes in the water and is kind of a water filter instead of filtering the output. I replaced that filter once and as I remember, it was much more expensive than the normal humidifier filters. In my bathroom sink, I could never fill the container all the way--only about 80%. I usually ended up dripping some water on my sink counter which was where I kept it. The area where the water drains in is very hard to clean. You aren't supposed to submerge the base because it contains the motor. I had to lean it sideways on the kitchen sink and try to clean it that way. This last time I cleaned it, I tried setting it in the sink. I think some water spilled down the sides and probably got into the motor and it hasn't worked since. All in all, I wouldn't purchase this again. It was expensive and didn't last very long. The container fill was difficult and it was messy and would always drip water. The filter was also expensive. The pros were that it was pretty quiet. In 24 hours, if you wanted it constantly running, I would have to fill the container twice. It looked good. But overall, a disappointment for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 74 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next