Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lasko Lasko Electric Flat Panel Heater, 6221

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Lasko Lasko Electric Flat Panel Heater, 6221

The Lasko 1500-Watt Flat Panel Heater is a highly effective space heater that is fully capable of providing additional heat to most rooms in your house. This portable Lasko flat panel heater features an enhanced, adjustable, digital thermostat with two heat settings. This Lasko flat panel heater also comes fully equipped with invaluable safety features such as the space heater's eight hour, automatic shut-off timer, overheat protection and cool touch housing. Plus, this space heater goes easy on the environment and your utility bill with its digital, thermostat controlled "Auto" feature.
Average Customer Rating:
4.427 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(337 Reviews) 256
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
219
4 stars
80
3 stars
14
2 stars
11
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation91%306 out of 337reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
219
4 stars
80
3 stars
14
2 stars
11
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Lasko Electric Flat Panel Heater, 6221

Nice heater but disappointed

12/13/2011
By ,
Arizona
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The design is very nice especially the "slim" outline. Controls are easy to handle for degrees of temperature and particularly setting the duration of time to operate. Even though I read the description, and reviewed other customers ratings, I unfortunately based my purchase on the reviews -- my mistake. I was aware that it was a stationary heater but most of the reviews raved about heat output. Unfortunately, I would still prefer a space heater with a fan (and if it could swivel). This Lasko model requires one to be approximately 2 feet or less away to feel any heat. Any further away, the heat is barely perceptible. As for "heating a bathroom" it definitely did not work for me. Others, however, may be satisfied with this space heater. A bit over-priced product in my estimation. I still prefer a space heater with a fan which will blow the hot air so one can feel it at a reasonable distance because that ultimately is my personal choice after trying this Lasko heater.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Review 2 for Lasko Electric Flat Panel Heater, 6221

Good digital thermostat heater

10/06/2010
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This heater runs much quieter than i thought it would mainly because it is much quieter than my previous Holmes heater. The digital thermostat is nice, you set the temperature and it will keep it at that temp (but using high heat only) and shut off when it reaches 2 degrees over and turns back on after it drops 1 degree below what you have it. The only thing that bugs me is that you have to have it on auto mode (which only uses high heat) for it to shut off at the temp you set, otherwise if you set it to high or low temp manually by pressing the heat button, it will stay on forever until you turn it off, set the timer, or put it back into auto mode by selecting your temperature again. Also it does not have a fan only mode like some other ones do but that isn't a big deal either because I am using it as a heater and it's title is a heater so I don't care about that. But other than that it runs fairly quiet, heats the room up fairly quickly, does a good job at keeping it at the set temp on auto mode. Overall this is a great heater for the price plus it has a 3 year warranty!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+176points
Review 3 for Lasko Electric Flat Panel Heater, 6221

Good Heater

03/01/2011
By ,
Tampa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted a heater after my old Holmes fan heater broke. This one was very reasonably priced, so I decided to try it. It is very good at heating near you, but it cannot heat my entire room very well or very quickly. However, it is good because it regulates the temperature at whatever you set it to, and you can leave it on all night and it will keep it at the temperature.
There were 2 things I didn't love:
1) It is much bigger than I had expected. I didn't read the dimensions, but I had figured it would be smaller sized, from the picture. It is very tall, and very bulky. Difficult for quick handling, and a little heavy.
2) It doesn't do a great job blowing the air far out into the room. I was looking for a fan heater, and while it's great if you're within 2 feet of the heater, it's not if you put it on the floor and are trying to heat the whole room.
Overall, a good product, and it good for quick heat if you stay near it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Review 4 for Lasko Electric Flat Panel Heater, 6221

Great heater!

01/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This heater exceeded all of my expectations. It easily heats my room which is about 450 sq ft. If I leave my closet door open, it will heat that room at the same time (another 120 sq ft). Very pleased with the auto shut off. You select the temp you want and it will heat until it is about 1-2 degrees over and then shut off. When the temp dips back down (about 3 deg below the desired temp), it turns itself back on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+107points
Review 5 for Lasko Electric Flat Panel Heater, 6221

Just bought my 2nd one.

12/18/2011
By ,
Washington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In a short time after using this heater, I bought another. The digital thermostat proved to make the difference in comfort level. Most I considered have 5 degree setpoint increments. That proved to be too wide. This allows single degree changes.
My initial intent was to use this heater to supplement the central system. I now use it the other way around. The main system is now the backup. The 2nd unit was bought because I find it convenient to have one in LR and the other in MBR. This allows an overlap to transition between daytime/nighttime, but I only need to run one at a time. The house main system is kept on a low setpoint as a backup. It rarely comes on anymore.
Some other reviews note these heaters don't run hot. Many are accustomed to the radiant space heater which glow orange/red. While they "feel" much warmer right in front of heater, the point, at least for me, is to heat a room. This handles a single room even when outside drops into the 20s. The Btu output, usually reported in wattage, is 1500w. This is typical for a house lighting circuit. Beyond that requires heavier wiring and higher rating for both receptacle and circuit breaker. I wanted something I could move to any standard house receptacle without having to install new circuits. They are typically 15A. This heater has been functionally excellent within this electrical safety criteria.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 6 for Lasko Electric Flat Panel Heater, 6221

A very good heater

02/14/2011
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleasantly surprised how quickly this heater can bring up the temperature of my small home office, which is over an unheated garage.
The thermostat works well and does exactly what it is supposed to, turning the unit on and off automatically. I much prefer the digital display that this unit has, as you are dealing with actual temperature settings, rather than an uncalibrated dial, as most heaters have.
I've only been using the heater for a few weeks, so I can't comment on its longevity. However, I have no reason to doubt its durability, as it seems well-made.
It is also relatively small, thin and unobtrusive, which is great.
Overall, I highly recommend this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+48points
Review 7 for Lasko Electric Flat Panel Heater, 6221

Excellent

12/02/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only been using it for two weeks and can't speak on its longevity, but, functionally, this is possibly the best small space heater I've ever used.
Heats most medium sized rooms in under 5 minutes, but the best part is the temperature control!
Trying to sleep with a flat panel that only has an ON/OFF switch usually assures you a restless night. By 2am it's so hot you can't sleep anymore and have to turn it off.
This one I can set for 72 degrees. When it hits 73 degrees, it shuts off. When the temperature falls to 70 degrees it goes back to work.
Let's hope the motor doesn't burn out too soon!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 8 for Lasko Electric Flat Panel Heater, 6221

Great heater for the price.

10/31/2011
By ,
Seattle, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PROS:
Large heat panel - the air blows upwards more instead of at the floor, fan is pretty quiet but powerful.
High & Low settings - high works very well without dimming my lights, low works great to keep room warm.
Digital Display - very easy to read, and exact temp read out makes setting the thermostat nice.
CONS:
Thermostat - only works in high not low, which makes me nervous when I leave it unattended.
Controls - every time you push a button it beeps, which I find annoying.
Safety - heater stays on even if tipped over, not very safe around children or pets.
I also wished that it oscillated, but overall I'm extremely happy with it for the price I paid.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 9 for Lasko Electric Flat Panel Heater, 6221

good heater

12/04/2010
By ,
nashville,tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a good heater.I move it from room to room and it does a good jod.It is quiet.I like the fact that you can set thermostat and that it displays room temp.It is good as a supplemental heating source.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Review 10 for Lasko Electric Flat Panel Heater, 6221

Love my little heater

12/29/2012
By ,
Orange County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're looking to heat a small room, look no further. This little heater was perfect. It looks stylish enough with a neutral design that can fit into any setting. My room is about 10' by 11' and it heats up to a reasonable temperature with the door closed. Also, I have thermal curtains to retain the heat (and keep it out during summer).
It does have a thermostat, and shuts off automatically after hitting a temperature you set. For some reason, it only lets you use the thermostat when the heater is on HIGH, and not low, but this wasn't a huge issue. I generally heated my room from around 55 to a more reasonable 68. I haven't tried to heat it up into the 70's, because 68 is warm for me, but I'm sure it has the power.
I have cats, and while the front plate does get quite hot, they never got tempted enough to burn their nose. I don't think it's hot enough to do serious damage before their reflex to pull away kicks in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Lasko Electric Flat Panel Heater, 6221

Amazing

02/24/2011
By ,
Amarillo, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best room heaters I have ever purchased. I did have a heater that was twice as large from Sunbeam and this little heater wins hands down! I turned it on and within a few seconds (literally) the chill was gone and within minutes my bedroom was comfortable. I actually had to turn the temp down, because my room was a little too toasty. I'm so glad I ordered two of them, originally, I decided on 2 because my room is fairly large and the heater is kind of small; but now I have an extra one for my kid's room when it gets really really cold.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 12 for Lasko Electric Flat Panel Heater, 6221

Fast to Heat!

11/01/2013
By ,
New England
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little heater with enough power to warm up small room quickly. Excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 13 for Lasko Electric Flat Panel Heater, 6221

Great Heater OVERALL

01/05/2013
By ,
Shelby NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this heater for use in my bathroom. I was really amazed at the the amount of heat it puts out and how fast the room warms up.
The only negatives I could add are 1-the fan makes an odd noise about twice a minute, but I found that by putting a small object under the front of the stand and making the heater lean back slightly it completely quit the sound. 2-it does pull a lot of electricity, about 25cents an hour in my area where electricity is .15cents per kilowatt (i measured with a professional monitor). Doesnt sound like much, but if you run it for a period of time it mounts up fast. No concern to me, because I only use it for short periods to heat up the bathroom. I would not recommend it for long term use because of the expense. 3-the heater does not occilate, but I knew this and don't need this feature.
The price is fantastic and the heat is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Lasko Electric Flat Panel Heater, 6221

Very good heater for the price

11/25/2012
By ,
Lacey, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought a two-pack, figuring I could run each at Low Heat and place them on both sides of my attached but unheated garage for better heat distribution. While no one, including Lasko, specifies the Low Heat output, I've confirmed it at 50% with an Ammeter.
I've only opened one so far. The grille rattled at the bottom, a common problem, easily fixed by wedging a small piece of high temperature Nylon tie wrap between the bottom grille edge and plastic case.
It's an attractive and functional unit. The Auto or regulated temperature function works fine. It purposely doesn't work on Low Heat, since it requires full heat output.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 15 for Lasko Electric Flat Panel Heater, 6221

Awesome!

11/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great heater, bought 4 of them(gave one to my mom). We use them throughout the house and move them around as needed. They keep every bedroom warm at night and they do not burn on touch. Ordering some for my Aunt who came over and wants two of her own.
I'm a value buyer and these heaters deliver!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 16 for Lasko Electric Flat Panel Heater, 6221

Lots of heat

11/10/2013
By ,
Exit 4 - NJ Turnpike
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This heater puts out a lot of heat at its 1500 watt maximum (it also has a 750 watt low setting). It's pretty quiet too. I cannot comment on its long-term durability since I've only been running it for 2 months now on a daily basis.
The auto-timer function only works on the high setting. And it's only a countdown timer function (i.e. 7 hours, 8 hours, etc. before turning off) It cannot be programmed to turn on or off at a specific time.
I use it near my feet while I'm surfing the Internet and working on my computer. If you use a desktop computer and it sits on the floor, just make sure it isn't sucking in hot air directly from this heater to cool itself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 17 for Lasko Electric Flat Panel Heater, 6221

warms up my bathroom

03/02/2011
By ,
La Plata, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My bathroom is cold despite having a heat register. This small, compact heater does the trick.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Review 18 for Lasko Electric Flat Panel Heater, 6221

Bigger and Better than Expected

11/30/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had my doubts about ordering this heater because of the mixed reviews. First of all, it is much bigger than anticipated. The picture on the website makes you think it's really "flat". It's not flat in depth. It is flat in the front, but it's not thin like a flat panel TV. In fact, it's a little bulky, and tall enough that you can stand it on the floor. I am using it as a bathroom heater, and I find that it performs best when you put it on the floor because the heat blows slightly upward out of the panel. It does not have a strong fan, but it does put out a lot of heat, and succeeded in heating my large bathroom very quickly. The thermostat is handy, but not really necessary for my purposes. This heater does NOT have oscillation, but I didn't want an oscillating heater for a bathroom...I'd rather direct heat. While I was waiting for this to be delivered, I had buyers' remorse, and wondered if I should have gotten a different heater. However, when it arrived, my fears were alleviated. I had considered buying the 2-pack of these, but not knowing if I'd like them, I decided to spring for only one. I think this is a good bathroom heater, or for use in a smaller enclosed space. This will not heat a large expansive area with vaulted ceilings. It's more of an area heater. I took off one star for value, as I am not sure it's really worth the price I paid for it due to it's limitations. But I intend to keep it and use it for my original purpose as a bathroom heater.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Forgot to add...
Posted 12/01/2011
In my review, I forgot to mention noise level. Some reviews have said that this heater is noisy. I don't think it's noisy at all; I think it's noise level is normal for a heater of this type. You can hear it running, but the noise doesn't drown you out. Just sounds like a normal heater blowing. If "white noise" bothers you, then maybe this isn't the best choice for a bedroom setting, but no heater is entirely quiet. So don't be turned off by the reviews that call this heater "noisy". It's not.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Lasko Electric Flat Panel Heater, 6221
11/10/2011
By ,
Antioch, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First one isn't working right but second one works great. I just unpacked it and turned it on and it's still on and no problems. They look nice. Are quiet. Lots of toasty air coming out of it. Will see how it works tonight, when it gets down in the 20's. I am happy with the second one so far. The price was right.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 20 for Lasko Electric Flat Panel Heater, 6221

Efficient and great design!

10/31/2011
By ,
Spanish Fork, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this heater to use in my baby's room. I love that it shows the temperature and you can program it to stay at a certain temp. It fluctuates from one degree less than the set temperature to two degrees higher than the set temperature. It does make noise, but I think it's a reasonable amount. Doesn't wake up my baby when it goes off and on. I use it in a 10'x11' bedroom, and it is super efficient in there -- doesn't have to run much to keep the room heated. I also love the design because it takes up less floor space and isn't an eye sore.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
1-20 of 257 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next