Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Philips Norelco Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Philips Norelco Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

This Philips Norelco electric razor combines 2-dimensional GyroFlex for a close, comfortable shave. GyroFlex 2D has two-dimensional-contouring, pivots around, and tilts inward to adjusting to facial curves, minimizing pressure and irritation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.055 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(1407 Reviews) 1339
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
689
4 stars
395
3 stars
132
2 stars
94
1 star
97
Customer Recommendation81%1,129 out of 1,386reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 132 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
689
4 stars
395
3 stars
132
2 stars
94
1 star
97
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

excellent shaver good buy

12/02/2012
By ,
portage indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have used norelco shavers for years this one is better than the others
clean cut smooth nice to use different but do not be afraid to try it out
i really like the stand up charger also well satisified
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

TOO MANY PARTS!

01/06/2014
By ,
Oklahoma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had two (2) Norelo Electric razors in the past. They were neither one the "most" expensive models. In fact they were the mid-range razors. I liked both of my previous razors very much and used them for ~ 3 -5 years until one of the "On-Off" switch boards totally wore out on the inside and the other outer screen wore out. I couldn't buy replacement parts for either for much less than a new razor so I “retired” them both. This Norelco 1150x is a great feeling and shaving razor! It seems to do a fantastic shaving job! I do have one (1) problem with this 1150X razor. I can't see taking the "Shaving" head off and putting on the "Trimming" head every time I want to trim my fu-man-chu. I cut & trim it about 2 times per week & don't like having to pull off & pop on the different heads. I use my old razor w/ the flip trimmer to cut & trim my fu-man-chu. With my old razor all I have to do is grab it and flip the trimmer out to get to work . . . no hunting parts & "pulling" & "popping" before getting started.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Not Really Impressed

12/11/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I change to a new razor every couple of years instead of buying replacement heads. I always buy Norelco 70$-100$ model. Usually when i start i new razor i immediately notice how much better the new one is compare to the old dull one. This razor did NOT cut any better than my older model. In fact i found myself going over areas several times to try to get a clean shave. The idea of making the mustache trimmer a second removable head is a complete failure. Now every time i need to use the trimmer i have to remove the regular head and put it on. I'm no expert on this but I'm guessing that it will lead to wear after several hundred changes in a year, not to mention the amount of wasted time it takes to do. Had i seen this before i ordered i would not have gotten this model. The bragging items on this model are touch sensitive on/off button and water proofing that would let you shave in the shower. Neither of these are important to me since i shave in front of mirror at sink. This product wasn't for me. Hope my observations help.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Sorry, not recommended

09/26/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'm older and so have a good deal of shaving experience. I've always wanted to try a Philips rotary shaver, so got this one. However, I am disappointed and will return it. Comparing it to a usual straight-foil shaver the rotary has a larger metal and plastic area touching the skin and so it adheres and pulls the skin, not good. The shape of the cutting area is obviously odd, so you must keep turning the shaver this way and that to get everything. The rotary motor (the RPM) sounds rather slow. I don't think it shaves as closely as my old Panasonic straight-foil shaver. The shaver hurts: it seemed to shave some skin as well as bristles around the lips, leaving the area sore for a couple days. Simple cleaning is easy: just hold it under the tap. Deeper cleaning is ridiculously tedious: Remove just the heads (not the whole unit), then remove a retaining band before you can even get a brush in. If it shaved very well then much could be forgiven... but I'm returning the thing and will get another Panasonic straight-foil.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

great clean and smooth shave.

04/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this based off of the reviews and the price.
I've been using it for almost a year now and the blades are still as good as new. I'm in the Army so I have to have a clean shave at all times. This item works great for the price and even better that I haven't had to purchase a replacement head for it yet. I use this 3-5 times a week. The charge last a long time I only charge it about every 2 to 3 weeks or so and it will last me a while. It didn't come with a carrying case or anythibg but that's okay for the price I paid. I would definitely recommend this to someone on a budget wanting a basic norelco shaver this one works perfect for me and I don't see any need to upgrade anytime soon.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

More than satisfied!

09/01/2011
By ,
SW Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using electric razors for over 40 years. I was due for a replacement and chose the Norelco 1150X because it seemed to meet all of the requirements I was looking at a price within my range, $105 dollars. My wife found it on sale for $50. Of course I placed my order and waited.
I have been using my razor for about two weeks now and the 1150X has given me the closest, smoothest, lightest touch shave I have ever had with an electric razor. The design does make a difference. 2D performance lives up to the statement of flexibility, close and smooth shaving.
I found that using a pre electric shave lubricant enhances the shaving experience and relieves any burning sensation you may encounter with a new razor and one that delivers a close shave as the 1150X does.
I am more that satisfied with my 1150X and would recommend to anyone who is looking for a close and comfortable shave "right out of the box".
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

very nice

05/16/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm 44 and have used electric razors since I could shave. Tried all makes and models over the years and this is by far the best. I know there are the next generation 3-D models out there, but they are over my price range.
This model is so nice it seems to just float on your face. I always have trouble around my neck and curves but this hugs your face and gives a quicker and cleaner and softer shave.
trimmer is a separate head but I find it to be a superior trimmer than others that flip out of the base. It is wider and seems more powerful than others I've had.
charging cord plugs into base unit, not shaver. not a big deal but you need to take the base if you travel. also, no travel case included.
Overall, great deal and a great shaver.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Maryland
maybe it's just me
Posted 06/19/2013
it seems like this product is getting nothing but positive reviews which makes me wonder if maybe it's just me but... I'm not as satisfied with the performance of this product as others seem to be. I don't think my beard is thicker or tougher than the average beard but I honestly think it would take at least one hour for me to get a smooth shave using this Norelco. I go over the same spot again and again and can still feel and see stubble - I always end-up using a razor blade to finish the job. It works best when using water and gel but no matter what approach I use the results are the same. I had purchased a remington and wasn't happy with it so decided to try the Norelco. As a side note, I'm also bothered by the sound of this product - it's sounds slow and anemic but doesn't stall and maintains a charge for a very long time. I also inadvertently hit the on/off switch with my thumb while shaving - again maybe it just me but the on/off switch seems to be where I just naturally rest my thumb. Other than those points, it's a great shaver.
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/20/2011
I have been trying to buy this razor and i can't figure out how to order i want to talk to some one about it.
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Great razor

11/05/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 4th Norelco razor. Used all the others till the re-chargable batteries died. Love the floating head on the model I purchased and its waterproof so you can use it with shaving cream or in the shower. The best Norelco I have owned so far.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Excellent electric shaver - cost is too high

01/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my son was first beginning to shave he had very sensitive skin. Ordinary electric shavers raised red bumps on his skin that were painful and looked like a bad acne break out. I bought him this shaver and it did not do that to him. My husband borrowed it one day and he really liked it, said it didn't pull at all and did a better job than his. So I bought another one for him. Eventually, one was misplaced and hasn't been found for awhile, so I bought a 3rd one for them. My only complaint is that these shavers never seem to go on sale with a decent mark-down. Luckily I found an "instant off" off coupon that was online only to make the cost reasonable for it. I'd been watching the store and online prices for awhile and the coupon made it the best deal
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Now that was a close shave

11/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After finally needing to replace my old Norelco after almost 10 years of use, I decided to go with the 6100 series. The only problem with my old one was the batter was no longer holding a charge for very long. I was lucky to get 3 shaves. So far, love the 6100. The one hour charging time is awesome! I've had it for a little over a week, but I still don't know how many shaves I can get from one charge. I generally only shave every other day, so I've gotten 5 or 6 shaves so far and still going strong. I also like how the shaving head is raised away from the shaver. Makes shaving easier
The only negatives I have so far is I really expected it to be quieter. I think it's actually a little more noisy than my old one, but still not that bad. The only other thing I'm not crazy about is having to change the shaving head to use the trimmer attachment instead of the easy pop up trimmer on my old one. But, I'd call that a wash to have the easier raised shaving head.
Again, haven't had it long enough, but I'm looking forward to being able to rinse it out to clean it. Overall, highly recommend this shaver.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)
08/24/2011
By ,
Mooresville, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Norelco 1150x Electric Razor
I've been a Norelco user for over 50 years and during this time have enjoyed the comfort, convenience and economy of rotary electric shaving. When I compare the comfort and quality of shave of this razor and the economy model triple headers I've been using, I don't feel like the price differentials that Norelco charges are justified. Unless I were into shaving in the shower (I'm not) or while scuba diving (I'm not) I'd go for the lesser priced models. Not having a travel case, having to carry the stand to charge when traveling and having a separate detachable trimmer are all inconvenience items that are avoided with some of the lesser priced models.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

NOT FOR ME

01/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First off I must say I am 71 years old and have used blades for most of my life. I thought this shaver would be great for me because I could use shaving cream or shaving gel with it. Well after using it for over three weeks without a close shave and a lot of razor burns on my neck I decided it was not for me and returned it for a refund. I was hoping it would be great for me because of the price of blades but it was not to be.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Great Shaver

12/21/2010
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My last Norelco shaver died about a month ago. I pulled out my prior Norelco (which I used as a backup just in case) and started using it. Boy what a difference. Started getting razor burn. So I sped up my research on the various new models to choose from and decided to spend a bit more than I usually do and buy a more expensive shaver this time. Most of the shavers I've purchased over the years were on the lower end of the product line. Of course in the past there weren't reviews on the internet from customers about various shavers. Still I read good reviews from happy customers even for the less expensive models. Now, the shaver that died lasted quite a number of years and provided me with a decent shave with very little razor burn. I wasn't sure if I really would get a noticeable improvement with this new more expensive unit so I was happy to find out that I did. The unit was very quiet. My previous one was OK in terms of noise (the backup was really noisy... I had forgotten the difference over the years). This new one is so quiet one may wonder if its working. But more importantly was the nice shave I got with almost absolutely no burn at all. After the first few days, my skin was use to the shave and no burn at all. With my previous unit (the one that died) I only would get razor burn if I tried to get a really really close shave under my neck by shaving over and over again and again.... but with this new one I could get as close as the other shaver and not feel any burn at all. Now I haven't yet tried a wet shave with the unit yet (which wasn't possible with my previous unit).
When I was looking at various models I saw the "3D" units which are even more expensive than this one. In fact since I got this one on sale at Walmart the 3D ran more than double this one. (I got this one for $75 at Walmart which was a great price.) My older shavers were more like $40-50. Not sure how much better the 3D versions work but I'm quite happy with the SensoTouch 2D model 1150X. this one was more expensive than what I'm used to spending on a shaver but in my mind from the results it was worth the extra $$.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+240points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Had preferred a blade

11/11/2013
By ,
Duluth, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had preferred a blade, but with the ability to wet shave with shave cream, I get a better shave. In the past the one thing that held me back from a Norelco was the fact I had a beard that needed precise trimming on the sides. They solved thatelima with the snap-on trimmer. Meanwhile, the charging stand is so compact that you can easily take it with you for extended-stay trips. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Good value, works well, seems to be good quality

09/28/2012
By ,
Lake Arrowhead, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using Norelco electric razors for more than 40 years and have been pleased with their performance and durability. I used my last rechargeable for almost 20 years, but finally got fed-up with the hassles of replacing the NiCad cells every few years and decided to buy new.
I bought this model as it came with the charging stand and has Li-ion batteries which may hold up better than the NiCads. It charges very quickly, shaves well (but so did the old one) and seems to hold charge for a long time. Only real negative about this model is that the trimmer is not a pop-out like the older models, instead you need to pull the whole head off and replace it with the trimmer. Also I am not so enamored with the funky blue styling and the fiddly charging stand, I actually preferred to old model in many ways.
Summarizing, yes it is a good electric razor; but it is a little bit like the new version of MS Office, they just changed stuff to make it different, not better.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Kinda big

06/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my 2nd P-N electric razor and its great. As titled, it is rather big but I guess they had to fit the ion lithium battery in there somehow. I use it in the shower and haven't had any problems with it getting wet. It cuts as close as a razor but is way faster and safer. My only concern is being able to find reasonably priced replacement heads in the future. The old razor worked great but the head needed replacing and P-N had stopped making them so they were brutally expensive as in > $125. Almost like P-N figures they'll discontinue making the heads so you have to buy a whole new razor. So the ratings reflect average value based on the replacement head cost concern. Otherwise, its a great product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

No better than lesser expensive shavers

11/11/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was expecting a much closer shave. Am going to give it the full three weeks time period recommended before I make a firm decision on whether or not to keep it. So far I would say it is definitely not worth the cost.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Bought this Philips Norelco for my husband

02/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband was in debate of this shaver and another Norelco made by Wal-Mart for a couple of weeks. Valentines was coming up and I didn't know what to get him as he's one like myself hard to buy for when he has everything he needs plus! I liked the description, the bright color as I do read reviews and saw some liked the older version better "like my husband was using". He had bought some heads for his older Norelco and they didn't fit about six months ago so I thought I'll go ahead and decide for him. I made the right decision as he loves it, the new heads also fit it as he will use in about a year. This Shaver he charged over night has lasted since Valentines Day and he shaves everyday but the weekends he's off, he's not had to recharge it yet so the battery life is great, it's easy to clean just run it under hot water, he's not taken the head apart to do a deep cleaning yet as it cleans up very well. He is sure this shaver will last him a long time it is a very good quality, The only reason he wanted to replace his old Norelco he couldn't buy and replace the heads anymore. Norelco stands to it's name and a great close shave. This shaver can be used with water or dry as can be used in the shower. My husband always uses it as a dry shave. Very clean shave.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)
09/06/2011
By ,
Central Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unreal how lightweight it is. Can't even believe that it is working but amazing results. Haven't charged it yet in over two weeks. Great.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Philips Norelco Shaver 6100 (Model # 1150X/40)

Problems...........

02/05/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shaver works 'okay' however it was sold with mail-in rebate for 'Bonus Replacement Shaving Head (Harte Hanks) Bonus offer was driving point in making purchase. Two months later no bonus replacement shaving head and unable to get resolution.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 468 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  24 Next