Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Philips Norelco Philips Norelco 1150X SensoTouch 2D Electric Razor

Philips Norelco Philips Norelco 1150X SensoTouch 2D Electric Razor

See details of $30 Rebate This Philips Norelco electric razor combines 2-dimensional GyroFlex for a close, comfortable shave. GyroFlex 2D has two-dimensional-contouring, pivots around, and tilts inward to adjusting to facial curves, minimizing pressure and irritation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.074 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(1101 Reviews) 1033
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
534
4 stars
317
3 stars
110
2 stars
77
1 star
63
Customer Recommendation81%882 out of 1,084reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 114 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
534
4 stars
317
3 stars
110
2 stars
77
1 star
63
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips Norelco 1150X SensoTouch 2D Electric Razor

excellent shaver good buy

12/02/2012
By ,
portage indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have used norelco shavers for years this one is better than the others
clean cut smooth nice to use different but do not be afraid to try it out
i really like the stand up charger also well satisified
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Philips Norelco 1150X SensoTouch 2D Electric Razor

Not Really Impressed

12/11/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I change to a new razor every couple of years instead of buying replacement heads. I always buy Norelco 70$-100$ model. Usually when i start i new razor i immediately notice how much better the new one is compare to the old dull one. This razor did NOT cut any better than my older model. In fact i found myself going over areas several times to try to get a clean shave. The idea of making the mustache trimmer a second removable head is a complete failure. Now every time i need to use the trimmer i have to remove the regular head and put it on. I'm no expert on this but I'm guessing that it will lead to wear after several hundred changes in a year, not to mention the amount of wasted time it takes to do. Had i seen this before i ordered i would not have gotten this model. The bragging items on this model are touch sensitive on/off button and water proofing that would let you shave in the shower. Neither of these are important to me since i shave in front of mirror at sink. This product wasn't for me. Hope my observations help.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Philips Norelco 1150X SensoTouch 2D Electric Razor

TOO MANY PARTS!

01/06/2014
By ,
Oklahoma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had two (2) Norelo Electric razors in the past. They were neither one the "most" expensive models. In fact they were the mid-range razors. I liked both of my previous razors very much and used them for ~ 3 -5 years until one of the "On-Off" switch boards totally wore out on the inside and the other outer screen wore out. I couldn't buy replacement parts for either for much less than a new razor so I “retired” them both. This Norelco 1150x is a great feeling and shaving razor! It seems to do a fantastic shaving job! I do have one (1) problem with this 1150X razor. I can't see taking the "Shaving" head off and putting on the "Trimming" head every time I want to trim my fu-man-chu. I cut & trim it about 2 times per week & don't like having to pull off & pop on the different heads. I use my old razor w/ the flip trimmer to cut & trim my fu-man-chu. With my old razor all I have to do is grab it and flip the trimmer out to get to work . . . no hunting parts & "pulling" & "popping" before getting started.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Philips Norelco 1150X SensoTouch 2D Electric Razor

More than satisfied!

09/01/2011
By ,
SW Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using electric razors for over 40 years. I was due for a replacement and chose the Norelco 1150X because it seemed to meet all of the requirements I was looking at a price within my range, $105 dollars. My wife found it on sale for $50. Of course I placed my order and waited.
I have been using my razor for about two weeks now and the 1150X has given me the closest, smoothest, lightest touch shave I have ever had with an electric razor. The design does make a difference. 2D performance lives up to the statement of flexibility, close and smooth shaving.
I found that using a pre electric shave lubricant enhances the shaving experience and relieves any burning sensation you may encounter with a new razor and one that delivers a close shave as the 1150X does.
I am more that satisfied with my 1150X and would recommend to anyone who is looking for a close and comfortable shave "right out of the box".
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Philips Norelco 1150X SensoTouch 2D Electric Razor

Not worth the money...

01/23/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Save your money. Norelco has ruined a good razor. I have an old discontinued Norelco SmartTouch XL, which is still an excellent razor. This SensoTouch is not, for several reasons...
1. They've reduced the number of holes and slots in each foil, dramatically reducing the cutting speed and closeness. My XL has holes and slots covering each foil; the SensoTouch only has them on the outer edge of each foil. The difference is obvious.
2. The trimmer is integrated on the XL; it's a separate attachment on the SensoTouch, requiring you to take it with you everywhere your razor goes.
3. The XL recharging cord plugged directly into it; the SensoTouch requires a special charging "stand" that must also be hauled around with you.
4. The XL had a pivoting head and separately cushioned foils which did the same thing as the 2D or even 3D head on the SensoTouch, but a lot simpler and more effective. The new design is gimicky and I suppose justifies the higher pricetag because it looks sexy on the box.
For those reasons, I returned this $100 razor, which seemed cheaply constructed and didn't do a very good job of shaving, and bought a $60 Braun 3 instead, which I am much more satisfied with. Numbers 1-4 above are not a problem with the Braun: the shave is fast and close, the trimmer is attached, the cord plugs directly into it, and the foil adjusts to your face just fine, and the replacement heads are cheaper than the Norelco.
Norelco, bring back the XL! When you have a good thing, don't mess with it!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Philips Norelco 1150X SensoTouch 2D Electric Razor

Had preferred a blade

11/11/2013
By ,
Duluth, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had preferred a blade, but with the ability to wet shave with shave cream, I get a better shave. In the past the one thing that held me back from a Norelco was the fact I had a beard that needed precise trimming on the sides. They solved thatelima with the snap-on trimmer. Meanwhile, the charging stand is so compact that you can easily take it with you for extended-stay trips. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Philips Norelco 1150X SensoTouch 2D Electric Razor

Great razor

11/05/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 4th Norelco razor. Used all the others till the re-chargable batteries died. Love the floating head on the model I purchased and its waterproof so you can use it with shaving cream or in the shower. The best Norelco I have owned so far.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Philips Norelco 1150X SensoTouch 2D Electric Razor

Excellent electric shaver - cost is too high

01/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my son was first beginning to shave he had very sensitive skin. Ordinary electric shavers raised red bumps on his skin that were painful and looked like a bad acne break out. I bought him this shaver and it did not do that to him. My husband borrowed it one day and he really liked it, said it didn't pull at all and did a better job than his. So I bought another one for him. Eventually, one was misplaced and hasn't been found for awhile, so I bought a 3rd one for them. My only complaint is that these shavers never seem to go on sale with a decent mark-down. Luckily I found an "instant off" off coupon that was online only to make the cost reasonable for it. I'd been watching the store and online prices for awhile and the coupon made it the best deal
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Philips Norelco 1150X SensoTouch 2D Electric Razor

very nice

05/16/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm 44 and have used electric razors since I could shave. Tried all makes and models over the years and this is by far the best. I know there are the next generation 3-D models out there, but they are over my price range.
This model is so nice it seems to just float on your face. I always have trouble around my neck and curves but this hugs your face and gives a quicker and cleaner and softer shave.
trimmer is a separate head but I find it to be a superior trimmer than others that flip out of the base. It is wider and seems more powerful than others I've had.
charging cord plugs into base unit, not shaver. not a big deal but you need to take the base if you travel. also, no travel case included.
Overall, great deal and a great shaver.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Maryland
maybe it's just me
Posted 06/19/2013
it seems like this product is getting nothing but positive reviews which makes me wonder if maybe it's just me but... I'm not as satisfied with the performance of this product as others seem to be. I don't think my beard is thicker or tougher than the average beard but I honestly think it would take at least one hour for me to get a smooth shave using this Norelco. I go over the same spot again and again and can still feel and see stubble - I always end-up using a razor blade to finish the job. It works best when using water and gel but no matter what approach I use the results are the same. I had purchased a remington and wasn't happy with it so decided to try the Norelco. As a side note, I'm also bothered by the sound of this product - it's sounds slow and anemic but doesn't stall and maintains a charge for a very long time. I also inadvertently hit the on/off switch with my thumb while shaving - again maybe it just me but the on/off switch seems to be where I just naturally rest my thumb. Other than those points, it's a great shaver.
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/20/2011
I have been trying to buy this razor and i can't figure out how to order i want to talk to some one about it.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for Philips Norelco 1150X SensoTouch 2D Electric Razor

No better than lesser expensive shavers

11/11/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was expecting a much closer shave. Am going to give it the full three weeks time period recommended before I make a firm decision on whether or not to keep it. So far I would say it is definitely not worth the cost.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Philips Norelco 1150X SensoTouch 2D Electric Razor

Great Shaver

12/21/2010
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My last Norelco shaver died about a month ago. I pulled out my prior Norelco (which I used as a backup just in case) and started using it. Boy what a difference. Started getting razor burn. So I sped up my research on the various new models to choose from and decided to spend a bit more than I usually do and buy a more expensive shaver this time. Most of the shavers I've purchased over the years were on the lower end of the product line. Of course in the past there weren't reviews on the internet from customers about various shavers. Still I read good reviews from happy customers even for the less expensive models. Now, the shaver that died lasted quite a number of years and provided me with a decent shave with very little razor burn. I wasn't sure if I really would get a noticeable improvement with this new more expensive unit so I was happy to find out that I did. The unit was very quiet. My previous one was OK in terms of noise (the backup was really noisy... I had forgotten the difference over the years). This new one is so quiet one may wonder if its working. But more importantly was the nice shave I got with almost absolutely no burn at all. After the first few days, my skin was use to the shave and no burn at all. With my previous unit (the one that died) I only would get razor burn if I tried to get a really really close shave under my neck by shaving over and over again and again.... but with this new one I could get as close as the other shaver and not feel any burn at all. Now I haven't yet tried a wet shave with the unit yet (which wasn't possible with my previous unit).
When I was looking at various models I saw the "3D" units which are even more expensive than this one. In fact since I got this one on sale at Walmart the 3D ran more than double this one. (I got this one for $75 at Walmart which was a great price.) My older shavers were more like $40-50. Not sure how much better the 3D versions work but I'm quite happy with the SensoTouch 2D model 1150X. this one was more expensive than what I'm used to spending on a shaver but in my mind from the results it was worth the extra $$.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+178points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Philips Norelco 1150X SensoTouch 2D Electric Razor
08/24/2011
By ,
Mooresville, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Norelco 1150x Electric Razor
I've been a Norelco user for over 50 years and during this time have enjoyed the comfort, convenience and economy of rotary electric shaving. When I compare the comfort and quality of shave of this razor and the economy model triple headers I've been using, I don't feel like the price differentials that Norelco charges are justified. Unless I were into shaving in the shower (I'm not) or while scuba diving (I'm not) I'd go for the lesser priced models. Not having a travel case, having to carry the stand to charge when traveling and having a separate detachable trimmer are all inconvenience items that are avoided with some of the lesser priced models.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Philips Norelco 1150X SensoTouch 2D Electric Razor

My husband really likes it!

02/11/2014
By ,
Ozark, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was strongly suggested that my husband switch to an electric shaver now that he is taking a blood thinner medication. So after a lifetime of using razor brands this is very new to him. His initial reaction is that he feels he still gets a close shave and is very pleased with the product!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Philips Norelco 1150X SensoTouch 2D Electric Razor

Good razor, poorly designed extras

03/12/2011
By ,
Eau Claire, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this razor. My previous Norelco had floating heads which prevented me from pushing the heads against my face as much as I wanted. This razor has heads that don't shy away when you push against them, yet they still move and conform to your skin.
Pros:
* Good shave.
* Easy clean.
* Li-ion battery (instead of Ni-Cad).
* Suction cups under the charging base are a nice touch.
Cons:
* Separate trimmer head attachment instead of a flip-out one.
* You can't plug the charging cord into the razor to use it. It has to charge on the base before use. (On long enough trips, you would have to bring the base, along with the power cord, to recharge.)
* The charging base holds the razor, but it doesn't include a way to hold/attach the trimmer head, cleaning brush, or head cover.
* If you set the charging base up against a wall, the razor hits the wall before latching into the base properly. You have to pull the base slightly away from the wall for proper latching. (This might not be a problem on a surface smooth enough for the base's suction cups to keep the base in place, but I store mine on a wooden shelf.)
* The shell is so smooth that I can't easily feel the power button. I have to look for it.
* When charging it makes a very high pitch tone. It might not bother others as much as it does me since it's not very loud.
* A quick flash of the status lights would be a good "system check" when first starting the razor, but this doesn't happen.
My cons are rather nit-picky and none are deal-breakers. Overall this is a good razor. I don't see how a more expensive razor could do a better job shaving. Note that I've only owned Norelcos in the past so my opinion has that bias to it and I can't compare it to other brands.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Philips Norelco 1150X SensoTouch 2D Electric Razor

great shaver for price

03/10/2014
By ,
Patchogue N.Y.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decided to try electric shaved. Couldn't have been happier great shave for the price.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Philips Norelco 1150X SensoTouch 2D Electric Razor

Good value, works well, seems to be good quality

09/28/2012
By ,
Lake Arrowhead, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using Norelco electric razors for more than 40 years and have been pleased with their performance and durability. I used my last rechargeable for almost 20 years, but finally got fed-up with the hassles of replacing the NiCad cells every few years and decided to buy new.
I bought this model as it came with the charging stand and has Li-ion batteries which may hold up better than the NiCads. It charges very quickly, shaves well (but so did the old one) and seems to hold charge for a long time. Only real negative about this model is that the trimmer is not a pop-out like the older models, instead you need to pull the whole head off and replace it with the trimmer. Also I am not so enamored with the funky blue styling and the fiddly charging stand, I actually preferred to old model in many ways.
Summarizing, yes it is a good electric razor; but it is a little bit like the new version of MS Office, they just changed stuff to make it different, not better.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Philips Norelco 1150X SensoTouch 2D Electric Razor

Shaves nice but OVER priced

03/02/2014
By ,
Westfield MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This give a good shave and is what I have expected from Norelco. I just think that it was way over priced
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Philips Norelco 1150X SensoTouch 2D Electric Razor

A super shaver that rivals a blade at a good price

02/01/2014
By ,
Mandarin, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Philips Norelco 1150X SensoTouch 2D purcased from WalMart online is an excellent value, especially with the instant rebate applied. This Norelco is not the top one in the flexible-head razor family but shaves identically to the other higher priced models. One exception is that it holds a full charge for "only" 30 minutes. I feel that if you take longer that 5-10 minutes to shave, you have more time on your hands than I do! Cleanup is easy, and the snap-on sideburn trimmer is a useful tool. All in all, this is the razor that totally suits my needs at a savings of nearly $20 for the same one in a local department store.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Philips Norelco 1150X SensoTouch 2D Electric Razor

Expensive but, worth every cent.

04/16/2013
By ,
Jamestown, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used a Norelco shaver for over 30 years. After my shaver finally quit, I purchased a Norelco model that was on sale at half the price of my previous one. Serves me right for being a cheapskate; it did not shave nearly as well, so I had to return it after 2+ weeks. I purchased this model at nearly double the cost and found it to be worth every penny. This model shaves better than my past shaver that was one model below this one. I should mention that I have a very heavy beard, which requires shaving at least once a day for a close shave. I'm VERY happy with the performance of this shaver.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Philips Norelco 1150X SensoTouch 2D Electric Razor

Gift for son-in-law.

02/23/2014
By ,
Fresno, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product was good but it did not get delivered in time before Christmas as promised. Very disappointing.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 253 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next