Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven

The Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven is just the right size for countertop cooking. It is designed to suit your style and is a necessary addition to your kitchen. The Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven in black has multiple power levels and cook-friendly features.
Average Customer Rating:
3.706 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation73%37 out of 51reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven

Hey, it does what it'd designed to do...

02/25/2014
By ,
Washington State
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My title says it all.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven

Didn't Last a Year!

11/26/2010
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When we saw this microwave sitting on the shelves for 50 dollars, it should have been a clue. They were all on one shelf, FULL, and waiting for the next sucker to pick them up. It was too good to be true and not even a year from the date, ours decided to go on strike this very night. At first we were just fine with it. Food was hot, quick to heat, and only a minor adjustment from our Panasonic 1200 Watt to this 900 Watt thing.
Tonight, I guess this microwave just had enough. The manual did not help. Customer service did not help and neither did the manufacturing website. We are stuck until further notice. If you want a temporary product, this is great. But if you're in a house like mine--full of coffee drinkers, soup eaters, and kids who need hot cereal before school, I suggest you do NOT purchase this machine. Hamilton Beach is better known for their blenders and roasters and steamers. This microwave was a mistake. On the day before it's demise, it made a weird "beeeep" noise and I guess that was its protest. A day later, entering my time to heat up got nothing but two swift beeps and no action. I am not pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Houston, Texas
Broke after a year
Posted 06/19/2013
It quit working properly after about 9mths. It started taking longer to heat things than normal. We unplugged it for a few day and let it rest. It then started to work correctly again. Last week after barely a year it has completely quit heating.
0points
Customer Avatar
LACEYS SPRING AL.
Did`nt last 2 months
Posted 04/17/2012
I bought this hamilton microwave on my anniversary 03/10/2012. I paid 65.00 plus tax it quit tonight 04/17/2012 good thing i bought the 1 year replacement plan taking it back tomorrow.Not getting another one of these.They are NO GOOD !!!!!!!!
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven

Don't even think about it

10/12/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We recerived this as house warming gift from my parents. This is the biggest pile of GARBAGE out there. The first died in a matter of weeks. Returned it for the same item. The second? Lasted less than a WEEK. I will be returning this to the store and either getting store credit or a different model. It's NOT worth the time/hassle no matter HOW inexpensive it is.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jacksonville, AR
GREAT MICROWAVE
Posted 03/06/2012
I got my Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven in 2009 for $44 at the Wal Mart in Forrest City, Arkansas. I moved 3 times and the micro wave has always worked great.
Heated the food very hot and I did not have one bite of trouble out of it.
I am even had the extended 2 year warranty. The microwave would still was working the security door lock broke is the only reason need new one.
The Microwave was doing great and was at least 3 years old when the door lock was broken which the insurance said they send me a check as soon as I find the receipt. They need the transaction number and warranty code.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven

Don't waste your money

11/10/2010
By ,
Burton MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this microwave because of the compact size and 900 watts. Thought it would be comparable to my older Sharp Carousel. What a joke! About the only thing it's good for is heating a cup of liquid. Can't make baked potatoes, they get hard and burn, can't heat frozen sandwiches for the same reason. I am bringing the Sharp back up from the basement. By the way, the Sharp is 17 years old and still looks and works great. I just wanted some more counter space in my new house. You get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven

Door hook fell off after 3 years

10/18/2014
By ,
Idaho
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I thought this was a great microwave and bragged it up to my girlfriend who always seemed to over-cook food in it. I kept telling her it was more powerful than hers at home, and then I was surprised to find out it was only 900 watts. That being said, I have to advise against this product due to the unreliability of the door hooks. One fell off last night and the oven shut completely down...no way, no how was it ever going to light up again. Such a shame to have a nice machine take a dive for such a small piece of plastic.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven

Would not recommend

02/10/2014
By ,
ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had this microwave for probably a year now, maybe a bit longer, it made a strange noise then smelled like it was on fire (it wasnt of course) but I unplugged it and wont use it again, just have to get a new one, will make sure its not this brand..
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven

Great product - perfect for my home.

11/01/2013
By ,
Burlington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This microwave oven is much more than I expected. The size and wattage are exactly what I needed and the the appearance is very becoming in my kitchen. The pull door in stead of push button door, is so much easier as I have arthritis. The amount of cooking options totally happily surprised me and having color option, I was able to match it with my other appliances. I love my Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven

dont buy

11/19/2010
By ,
jacksonville, fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i brought it, and the same day i plugged it in.. and tried to cook something it would work. i enter the minutes i wanted and pressed start, and all it did was beep once, but it didn't start. then i tried to press the pizza button and still nothing.. Ive had three people re-read the instruction and still nothing.. its not worth the buy especially since u cant cook in it! i am returning it today.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven

does the job well

01/27/2014
By ,
Catskills, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this 1/14/11.. I have had not 1 problem with it. I got the black one to go with my blk Hamilton beach toaster oven. I have always used Hamilton Beach appliances. in my opinion they make a durable product... to heat water i set @1:30 not 2 min.and popcorn @2:5 not 3 min. ...it is very hot...i have the 900 watt one...even with frozen food I set according to box instructions and i have to reduce the time by 1 minute...I also use the quick cook settings on occasion and it works every time...I get just what i expected for the price and more..it does great baked potatoes..
luv it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven

So far...

01/22/2011
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Came online to read the reviews on this after buying from my store. All the reviews seem bad, which surprises me. Well, let's start.
First, I should start by saying I've only had this for a few days. I'll change this if something goes bad like the rest. But SO FAR the microwave is working great, better than the one i replaced. The only problem I've noticed is that the frozen burritos I've microwaved in it tend to turn out soggy if I don't pay attention to them and flip them over part way. Other than that, it cooks faster, it looks nicer, overall, I like it so far for $50. If you have a issue setting a timer, press the timer button, put in the time, press the timer button again, and then push start. If you like to leave the microwave unplugged like I do to save energy, just press "reset" before you try to cook anything, because it insists you set the time lol...if you press "reset", it'll let you cook without setting the clock ^-^ (also, if you set a timer, the timer will disappear while it's counting down, that doesn't mean it's stopped, it's still counting down, if you press "start" it'll show you how long it has left).
Not sure what happened with the other person not being able to make it cook, but my guess is they couldn't figure out how to make it let them get past setting the clock :P Well, if you run into the same problem as them, now you know how to fix it~
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven

Worth the money

09/09/2013
By ,
Marquette, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a college student and don't have much money to spend on these kinds of things. I didn't expect much from this microwave considering it's less than $50. I've had it about a week, and so far it does its job as well as you can expect for a bottom of the line microwave. It heats up ramen and leftover pizza. It's just the right size, too. It doesn't take up a ton of room but you can still fit a large dinner plate in it.
The only complaint I have so far is that it doesn't have an "add" button that will add a minute or 30 seconds to the already running time. That's easy enough to work around though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven

More than your Money's worth

09/03/2013
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The features of this product surpassed my expectations. At 900 watts of power, generally being used to reheat as opposed to preparing foods it is an excellent product that is able to defrost, heat in a minimal amount of time and with its many pre-settings is convenient for use. The outer finish is easy to clean and keep degreased with frequent use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven

didn't last a year of minimal use

10/21/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought new at Walmart and after 8 months it just quit. It made a burned electrical smell, won't respond to the buttons even after waiting 30 seconds with the plug pulled as recommended by the recording from Hamilton Beach. Complete garbage, no quality !
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hamilton Beach Microwave
Posted 11/25/2013
The same thing happened to me. The metal thing on the inside, right side caught fire. Money thrown away. I won't buy this brand again, especially since someone else had the same experience.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven

Great Little machine

12/02/2010
By ,
Nokesville, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have no idea what everyone is "beefing" about, but I simply love this little microwave. I have owned it for more than one year and have had not one single problem. It looks fantastic. I only wish that it came with an inside light that went on when the door was open. Other than that, it was just what I was looking for, My previous one was bought from Costco. I paid over $100 for it. It was stainless steel but did not last long. I was looking for a small one and really did not even think about the price. I merely wanted a small black microwave that looked good. I thought that this was the best looking one around. I never even read the negative reviews. Now, I am so glad that I didn't because I would have passed up a phenomenal little bargain. I bought it for looks alone. I simply love it and it operates like a champ. SUZI Q
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven

Exceeded My Expectations

06/24/2013
By ,
Hannibal, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this microwave about 3 years and have loved it. It is 900 watts so it has as much power as one of those giant behemoth sized microwaves yet it is compact. The turntable is just large enough so that microwave popcorn bags don't get stuck, so there's really nothing you can't do with it that you could with a larger one. I've cooked baked potatoes and about anything else you can think of you could cook in a microwave and they come out amazing. Overall, I have no complaints about this microwave.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven
08/06/2013
By ,
Seattle WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is the first microwave that I have seen that does not have an alert beep that lets me know the item is done cooking. I also don't care for the "clock" red light staying on all the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven

Disappointed

06/17/2013
By ,
Houston, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product 8 months ago. It no longer heats food. I spoke to a repairman and said to purchase a new one.
Do Not Buy this!~:-(
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
No More Hamilton Beach
Posted 09/16/2013
bought this microwave , it lasted 1year and 1 week. Please don't waste your money.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven

You don't get what you pay for

01/25/2011
By ,
orange county, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife complained about my 20 year old Panasonic because it was too big. It worked beautifully. We needed a new microwave adn got this one.
Wrong on all useful accounts. It heats very unevenly. I like Jimmy Dean Sausage Bisquits. This thing destroys them. Cooking two at once, which is the usual way of doing it, one is hard and crunchy on one side, the rest is maybe warm. The other is hardly warm at all. I watched as it was heating a sauce in a bowl. there was about a two inch circle of boiling off to the side of the bowl, taking it out, the rest of it was still cold. At least stirring leveled that out. Maybe they made these things better a year ago according to one review, but the current crop is junk!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven

Great Little Microwave

03/18/2014
By ,
Phoenix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you don't have a lot of counter space, but you need a microwave that can still boil a cup of water or reheat pizza in a reasonable amount of time, this is the microwave for you. It has all the usual functions of a larger, more expensive microwave, such as defrost, popcorn etc.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hamilton Beach 0.9 cu ft Microwave Oven

EASY TO OPERATE

09/24/2013
By ,
CALVERTON NEW YORK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FOR THE PRICE CAN'T BEAT. HAS FEATURES OF HIGHER PRICED UNITS.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1 2 3 Next