Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Mr. Coffee 12-cup programmable coffee maker is a great kitchen appliance for coffee lovers. The machine not only provides freshly brewed coffee, but looks attractive sitting on the kitchen countertop. The Mr. Coffee Programmable Coffee Maker allows you to entertain with ease, as you can brew 12 cups of coffee at one time. There are different programmable settings that help you to make coffee the way you want. It has a fresh brew time and brew strength selector, which enables you to make a strong or a mild cup of coffee. The 12-cup thermal carafe coffee maker has a water filtration system which removes approximately 97% of the chlorine from water. Additionally, the carafe keeps your coffee hot for two hours and shuts itself off after the time has elapsed.
Average Customer Rating:
3.68 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
18
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation69%54 out of 78reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
18
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Very Good after a rough start

02/13/2011
By ,
Charlotte, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice programmable coffee 12-cup coffee maker that accepts both a 12-cup carafe and an 8-cup thermal carafe. With the brew strength option, you can satisfy most tastes. Good design; easy pour carafe.
The product is well packaged, but ours was lacking the filter disk for the included water filter system. A quick email to their customer service got a polite response within the stated 2-business days and the filter a week later.
The challenge with this product is one voiced about many coffee makers these days - an acute plastic smell taste, even after following the initial cleaning directions. (but since so many models/brands seem to have this problem we thoguht it worth the effort to try to work past it)
It took two days of effort to rid ourselves of this plastic taste ... we did 2 rounds of cleaning with vinegar-water followed by clean water and then two rounds of cleaning with baking soda in water (3T to 12cups, letting it sit in the resevoir for 30 minutes before brewing followed by clean water). We used a paper filter and not our permanent filter for this. After the first day, the odor was noticeably reduced, but still detectable. We left water in the resvoir overnight and the hatch open and then repeated the process again the next day.
Since then, we've had very good tasting coffee and a very nice functioning machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+80points
Review 2 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Very chic yet affordable product

03/11/2011
By ,
Ruckersville VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I absolutely love this coffee maker. It is very pretty to look at, very modern. It fits on my slide-out stand I have under my counter. The filtering system really makes a difference in the taste of my coffee. The only unsatisfying thing I would say is that it's not made in the USA. But then again, not much is these days. It's a shame.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Review 3 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

nice unit

12/03/2010
By ,
van wert ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The water filter works well-best tasting coffee ever from personal coffee maker. Design is eye catching and this unit is easy to program and use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Review 4 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker
05/31/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Like other reviews the coffee maker had a terrible odor of plastic out of the box. Followed the recommendations and ran vinegar through as well as baking soda diluted in water. It did work after about 2 rounds of each.
Now that it's clean and unscented it does make a fantastic pot of coffee!
It looks great and is easy to use however the spout drips coffee down the side of the pot when you pour. Overall it is a keeper thanks to the flavor of the coffee.
Not sure I would actually recommend it to a friend....wish maybe was an option.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Grand Prairie, TX
Problems with Carafe
Posted 09/29/2011
I love my Mr. Coffee 12-cup. It makes coffee just like a like it - strong, with the special feature. However, the carafe leaks coffee all over my counter, no matter how carefully I pour the coffee. Anyone else having this problem? I wrote Mr. Coffee for a solution, but have not received a reply.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Takes work to get rid of that plastic smell/taste

06/22/2011
By ,
Pittsburg, KS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've owned this coffee maker for about six months. Before making coffee, I ran vinegar/baking soda through, and did five cycles with clean water afterward. The first pot of actual coffee had an overwhelming smell of hot plastic, and tasted horrid. I set it aside, and brought out our "old faithful", another brand of coffee maker. I pulled this one out of the closet today, and have run three more cycles of the vinegar/baking soda mixture, just to see if it would help. I ran another five water-only rinse cycles afterward. I am finally drinking the first good cup coffee this product has made. Will be putting this coffeemaker in the computer room as a convenient backup to our favorite in the kitchen.
This coffeemaker looks great, and has handy features, but if it doesn't consistently make a good pot of coffee, I'd look elsewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 6 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Great Price for Performance

10/09/2011
By ,
Macclenny, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I have had numerous brands of drip coffee makers in over 30 years and this Mr. Coffee product seems to be the best one yet. I did the initial cleaning then made eight cups of coffee. It brewed very fast and the coffee stayed hot for the full two hours while the hotplate was active. We did not notice a plastic taste. Since we have a dedicated filter faucet for the kitchen sink, we don't need to use the filter mechanism; but it seems to be a very good idea, it is easy to install and replace the filter, and has a reminder dial of when to replace the filter. We bought this coffee maker when the leading consumer magazine's November 2011 issue recommended it -- and our old maker took way too long to brew coffee. The product looks good, is sleek in size, and has many useful features. The time of day and timer are easy to set. Should you consider the purchase of this coffee maker, you will not be disappointed. By the way, we usually make coffee in the morning and then again at night; so if we get at least a year of use, for the price this can't be beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Mr. Coffee Programmable 12 cup Coffee Maker

06/21/2011
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great little coffee maker! We certainly love our coffee and have had Krups Machines up until this point. Our combo Krups Coffee Maker and Espresso Maker recently crashed. We were introduced to this machine by my Grandfather who received it as a gift. The first thing I appreciated about this machine, at that time, was that it kept the coffee very hot. Plus the machine was sleek and contemporary.
Well, I purchased one and have been very happy with it. The coffee tastes great and there is an option to brew regular or strong. You also have an option to purchase a Thermal 8 cup carafe which can be used with this machine. This machine keeps the coffee very hot, which was the main selling point for me.
I did not notice any strange taste or smell associated with the machine (like some reviewers have), but I did follow common sense and ran some vinegar and water through for the 1st cycle, followed by clear water for a second cycle. The first pot of coffee was perfect and has been since.
The only reason I did not give this product 5 stars is that in order to produce the richness of a Krups or Dilonghi, it must be set to strong each time. Not a big deal, but it is what it is, and therefore, not perfect in my coffee loving mind. Overall, this little machine holds its own when compared with it's high-end counterparts, at a fraction, of a fraction of the price! If you want a reliable, good machine at a reasonable cost, which provides you with a hot, rich cup of coffee each and every time, I would highly recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 8 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Great Coffee Maker

07/08/2011
By ,
West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this coffee maker to replace my Gevalia that quit working after 5 or 6 years. I wanted a black and stainless to match my kitchen but needed one asap so I found this one at walmart and so far it works great! Would rather have stainless instead of crome, but it's attractive and takes up less space than the Gevalia. I've had it for a couple of weeks and I haven't used the timer so can't comment that feature. The issue of coffee leaking from the spout isn't that bad- it does leak but if you are careful it's not so bad. The plastic smell and taste wasn't too bad either, goes away. Makes a nice HOT cup of coffee which is what I was hoping for. I would like to purchase the thermal carafe. Hopefully this coffee maker will last a long time. I would recommend this to all my coffee drinking friends!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Lites out!!!

05/03/2011
By ,
Cleveland Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Coffee maker appearance Great Coffee Has all the bells & whistles..beeps when coffee done ..beeps when coffee turns off after 2 hours Lights everywhere BUT where really needed NO Lights in Clock..Really great looking but what was the designers thinking of?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 10 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Meets expectations

05/24/2011
By ,
Tucson
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job. Water pre-filter to use but not needed unless water is not good from the spigot. Strong brew setting is a nice touch.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Works Perfectly

11/18/2011
By ,
ROSEBURG, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I carefully read all the reviews on this item before making my final purchase taking in the bad and good comments. I can't understand the bad ones, this is one nice looking coffee maker that works beautifully and the coffee is hot and tastes wonderful. If you are considering this buy it, you can't go wrong with the price and it works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 12 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Like this coffee maker!

03/13/2011
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For several weeks I've been searching online for a coffee maker. My 4-cup Mr Coffee is on its last leg after several years of use. I noticed that most of the reviews (various websites) for the 4-5 cup Mr Coffee makers mentioned a burnt plastic smell or taste. This 12- cup programmable Mr Coffee looked appealing because of all the features. I decided to go in to Walmart and check it out. A 12-cup machine is much bigger than what I and my husband need, but I purchased it and decided I would find a space for it. The booklet says to wash and rinse before using. However, to avoid any chance of a burnt plastic taste, I went through the entire decalcifying process. I did spill some water. The spout design is much smaller (than the 4-cup) and curves downward for some reason. This morning I decided to try to see if I could hook the spout onto the machine while pouring in the water. Also, when pouring the coffee into my mug, I did the same thing. This seemed to work both times because I didn't still a drop of water or coffee. I'm happy to report I got great tasting coffee! The brew strength selector is one of the nice features and will come in handy. Very nice coffee maker and hot, great tasting coffee. And, I haven't even tried it yet with the water filter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

A bit disappointed

08/06/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read reviews before buyiing online. I didn't see a review that said the plastic inside has a strong chemiical smell. I can't imagine how it's not affecting the taste of the coffee but I put so much creamer and such I don't notice. My husband drinks his black and hasn't said anything... so maybe it goes away in time. I made the mistake of washing it through with water and vinegar and some vinegar got onto the plastic shiney part on front (that sort of looks like metal but isn't) and it's cloudy and it can't be buffed or made to shine anymore. I think I'll return the coffee maker because we have a Mr. Coffee at work a few bucks more and much nicer than this one. This one looks a bit cheap. Or I might not go through that hassle because it isn't horrible.. it's just not exactly what I had hoped for with the cloudy fake metal front.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Great coffee!

05/07/2011
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this, and love it! So easy to use!
I did purchase the thermal carafe also. I love it!
This has to be the fastest coffee maker I've ever
used, even timed it! 8 minutes!
Great tasting coffee! Love that it has a water filter :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker
11/27/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i don't like that the clock is not lit, otherwise... so far so good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 16 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker
11/17/2010
By ,
Toms River NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looks nice nice features and makes good cup of coffee also makes 12 cups and also can use an 8 cup carafe if you want to buy one does both glass and carafe which is a nice feature. Has cleaning cycle and 2 hr heat plate for glass pot only which has a setting glass or carafe. Only negative takes a long time to drip otherwise very pleased with results and purchase
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 17 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Do Not Purchase!

06/19/2011
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Our long-time coffeemaker broke, so we purchased this Mr. Coffee unit to replace it. We've never been so disappointed in a coffeemaker.
If you do not seat the filter basket EXACTLY...coffee ground water will overfill into the clear water reservoir.
After only one month of ownership, we will need to replace this unit today. The digital clock face is unreadable, as condensation covers the inside of the face. The on/off button no longer works. To turn off the unit, it must be unplugged!
If you are considering this unit, please think twice before buying. We have owned Mr. Coffee coffeemakers before and have been very pleased. This design is seriously flawed, or we obtained a lemon.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker
07/15/2011
By ,
Sunny, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for the price! No problems! Makes a nice cup of coffee!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Bought the metal thermal pot and permanent filter!

06/22/2011
By ,
DFW, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 7 years, my $130 Cuisinart gave out. My intent was to buy a Bunn coffee maker, however after reading the reviews about leaks and energy usage for instant hot water, I declined. I noticed the Mr. Coffee maker and liked the look AND the fact that the lid opening is very large so I can easily pour water into it. I also bought the gold permanent filter and the metal thermal pot. Wow....I am so pleased with how the coffee maker functions, the look, the taste of coffee, and the price!! It might not last 7 years, but for the price I can buy a new one each year if I need to.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Works Great

11/27/2010
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchase this product about 2 weeks ago and I love it. Its works great and I love the appearance. It just stands out in my kitchen. It has really good features. At first I was kind of confused on how to set up the brew delay but once I figured it out its very easy to set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next