Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Rival Rival 1.5-Cup Mini Chopper

Rival Rival 1.5-Cup Mini Chopper

The Rival 1.5-Cup Mini Chopper features a 1.5-cup work bowl capacity and a stainless steel blade. The Rival 1.5-Cup Mini Chopper also features a pulse function control.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation71%27 out of 38reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 7 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rival 1.5-Cup Mini Chopper

Terrific mini chopper for the small jobs

04/23/2012
By ,
Woonsocket, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this chopper mainly because I love making tacos for my family, but the prep work (cutting olives, tomatoes and lettuce) took me about an hour and a half to get them to a tiny size that would be ideal for my little one. I used this chopper on taco night and fell in love! What used to take my an hour and a half now took me five minutes! And the size?!?! Tiny, perfect pieces every time! Now, mind you people, this is a small chopper for around ten dollars. DO NOT get this if you plan on chopping nuts, and hard food such as that. You dont need a chopper, you need a food processor. This little chopper is terrific for the men and women who don't want to spend an hour or more chopping little things like onions, tomatoes, olives. I put a 4 out of 5 on the features because the top button is harder to press then I would like but I can understand why being the mother of a 2 year old. It would be dangerous to have around her if it were easy to press. No worries, use the heal of your hand and it's easy for any adult :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rival 1.5-Cup Mini Chopper

Great for the money

08/17/2011
By ,
Culpeper, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hate chopping onions because they always make me cry, so I bought this for the sole purpose of chopping onions, and I love it. It also chops other things like celery, soft fruit, etc. I haven't put anything hard in it, like carrots or nuts, because I don't know if it would break it or not. I'd rather not chance it. But it is great for anything that's not hard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rival 1.5-Cup Mini Chopper

Rival mini-chopper

03/10/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is my 3rd identical chopper, and it does a Great Job, the only problem is that the tip on the lid that is needed to run the blade breaks off very easy. The same thing happened to the previous 2.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rival 1.5-Cup Mini Chopper

great for making baby food :)

06/27/2011
By ,
Hewitt, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this little thing. I use it to make homemade baby food. I've pureed cooked apples, raw mangos and other raw fruits and cooked chicken breast to name a few things. I'm careful with it when I handle it and wash it as it doesn't seem as durable as a full size processor. But I only paid $9.95 for it in the store and you do get what you pay for. So far it has worked GREAT. If it's still working once my son is on table food, I plan to use it for salsa!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rival 1.5-Cup Mini Chopper

Good chopper/good price

02/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice little chopper at a very good price. It takes a little practie and experimentation to get it to chop the amount you want. It is very easy to "over" chop the food.
I recommend it for the prie and quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rival 1.5-Cup Mini Chopper

Cheap, still not worth it.

01/20/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
While it may physically hold 1.5 cups, it will not evenly chop more than about 1/2 cup at a time.
Also - and I'm not sure if my item is defective or if all of them are this way - it is unbelievably difficult to press down the 'pulse' button. I'm a 280 pound man and I have to literally press as hard as I can, leaning into the button to turn this thing on. It's kind of perversely impressive that they could make it that difficult, but still somehow functional. I've used this thing once, and I fully expect to crack the casing doing this within the next couple uses.
And when that happens, I'll shell out a little bit more and buy something that has a snowball's chance of being functional.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rival 1.5-Cup Mini Chopper

Does it all and very well

02/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this for years and it still works great and has never failed to do a good job on anything I've put in it. I just had all of my teeth pulled and will not have any lower teeth for 3 months. This little unit has been a real life saver to chop anything a lot or a little and any kind of food so even though I can't chew I can eat everything (except salad). For lunch I just had a Healthy Choice frozen dinner by putting it in the Rival just briefly after cooking and it was really good.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rival 1.5-Cup Mini Chopper

Worked 10 seconds chopping 1/4 cup pecans

12/15/2010
By ,
McKinney, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked very well with nothing in it. As soon as I put a 1/4 cup of shelled pecans in it, it worked for about ten seconds then never would come back on, even empty. Went back and returned and bought a Black & Decker. Much better!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
walnut cove
have a ?
Posted 10/25/2012
does it plug in the wall
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Rival 1.5-Cup Mini Chopper

Good Household item.

02/10/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Use it to make baby good and spices for cooking.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rival 1.5-Cup Mini Chopper

Do not buy this chopper

09/27/2012
By ,
Bismarck, ND
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this chopper and would not recommend to anyone. The lid is not durable at all. The first chopper I purchased the lid broke shortly after buying. I called the company and they sent me a new one and within days the lid broke again. The design on the lid is very poor quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Central Virginia
Poor design for the lid
Posted 10/13/2013
I agree with TDJBBM. The lid makes this a mistake and the manufacturer probably knows it by now.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Rival 1.5-Cup Mini Chopper

Little one but power ful

12/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This chopper is very good and has 70 watt motor. I bought another Rival model for thanks giving at walmart for $4.5, but it was use less and it had only 40watt motor.
This one is good...
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rival 1.5-Cup Mini Chopper

Great one

12/07/2013
By ,
Norman Ok.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my chopper for quite some time and never had a problem with it at all. Nothing broke, alway's work's.I can't believe all the bad coment's, when I've had such good luck with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rival 1.5-Cup Mini Chopper

not worth the hassle

11/28/2011
By ,
Alexandria, Al
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price was great, but the lid is NOT durable at all. The lid broke where it has to be engaged to work. Not worth the hassle of taking back to the store. I will buy a slightly higher brand for durability.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rival 1.5-Cup Mini Chopper

Two years and still going strong!

05/24/2013
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little guy is incredible. I've been using it for about two years now, about 3-4 times a week. I primarily use it for chopping onions and garlic, but I've also used it to make small portions of sauces (such as chimichurri) and dips (cheese-based). It's not fancy by any means, but it gets the job done! I've tried chopping nuts as well, but you just have to be careful to pulse the nuts a few times so they don't turn into powder. When I bought this I figured that for the price, it wouldn't last longer than a few months. I've been anything but delicate with it - I've dropped the removable parts and put them through the dishwasher hundreds of times. Perhaps some reviewers got a bad batch of the chopper, as mine has been durable.
I'm pleased the mini chopper is still making my jobs in the kitchen a little easier, even after two years!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rival 1.5-Cup Mini Chopper

works grt for the price

08/16/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i ve been using this since a year now n it has always done wht i wanted. only complain is the delicate jar, i droped its lid into sink n now its cracked but still works for me. planning to buy the new one with bigger jar.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rival 1.5-Cup Mini Chopper

Broken to begin with.

09/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Is was broken to begin with, but the price was too cheap to bother returning it to the store 25 miles away. As soon as I got it home I heard the motor rattle in the casing and when I turned it on it could hardly spin the blade. I had one of these Rival choppers before and I loved it. The old one came with some shredding disks that this one did not have. I use to love Rival products (my ordinal crock pot lasted more than 20 years), but the company doesn't seem to care to make good products any more.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rival 1.5-Cup Mini Chopper

Great tool

09/11/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this figuring I'd have to return it, but I love it and am going back for another one. I have to chop chicken up for my dog and this does the trick. I was worried that it was too small, but it's just right. When finished, you can throw it in the dishwasher ( I don't use a heating element, I have the( condensation) newer type of drying. I would check directions if you plan on using that cycle. But I am completely satisfied with it. I need another because i don't always wash dishes every day. I've never had one before, but this one does the job for about 1/3 of what I expected to pay.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rival 1.5-Cup Mini Chopper

Great Mini Chopper

01/28/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simple Fast and Easy for small jobs. Cleans up in the dishwasher.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rival 1.5-Cup Mini Chopper

I love this little chopper!

08/05/2012
By ,
Bryan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this little chopper, it works it's small, and sells for a very modest price. I use it for chopping small amounts of nuts and for chopping onions and cilantro. I have also used it to make a date and nuts paste for a no-sugar Curves bar. I dropped the cover that makes it work, and the hinge broke! I miss using it, I hope I can get another cover. else I will get another one of the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rival 1.5-Cup Mini Chopper

small but nice

11/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is just me and my husband this is great for us
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next