Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Rival Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker

Rival Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker

The Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker features a sleek slim design. It takes any worry you have out of cooking this grain. With a capacity for six cups of cooked rice at a time, this electric rice cooker is especially useful when you are cooking multiple dishes or have guests. You can leave it cooking while you get to join in the fun with your friends. Features include cook and keep warm indicator lights, which aid in using the product and serving your meals. Other features are an integrated one-touch solution for convenience, as well as a non-stick removable inner pot that makes cleaning a breeze. This Rival rice cooker can also be used to steam vegetables and prepare healthy breakfasts like oatmeal. Whether your next meal is Mexican, Asian, or vegetarian this kitchen essential will get the job done. The electric rice cooker will produce rice ideal for dishes at home, pot lucks and parties.
Average Customer Rating:
3.446 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation68%38 out of 56reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 25 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker

Almost perfect

08/16/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted a rice cooker for one or two people, and this little guy is just the ticket. On smaller batches, there is sometimes spillage that seeps from under the lid, so I set it on a plate when in use. Interestingly, the largest batches cook the best with no spillage. Another thing to be aware of is, if it sits in the pot too long on "warm", the rice will brown a bit.
You can prepare more than just rice, so I find I use it almost daily. This is one of those inexpensive, easy-to-store appliances that I would no longer live without!
The instructions that came with the pot are minimal, but there is abundant info online if needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker

This cooker RIVALS (nyuk, nyuk) my pressure cooker

09/04/2012
By ,
Miami
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great product at a super affordable price. I've only cooked 1 and 2 cups, and it has come out perfect every time, except for a slight browning on warm for the suggested 10 to 15 minutes after cook time (that runs 30 minutes). After that first time, I kept the lid CLOSED after the cooking stage ended, but turned the cooker off, and it has turned out perfect every time since. Be sure and read the instructions. For some odd reason, it comes with its own measuring cup. A "cup" of rice in Rival's world is actually 3/4 of a cup, so make sure you read the directions first. I'm not prone to buying big, bulky cookers or gadgets for the kitchen because of kitchen clutter, but I have a flat top stove that is not dependable, and kept burning my rice every time. This issue has resolved my problem for under $15, and it's fabulous! Makes lots of rice perfectly, and it takes up very little counter space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker

Must-have appliance

10/24/2010
By ,
Central Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the perfect size for 2 people. We use ours almost daily for steel-cut oats, quinoa, wild rice, brown rice, etc. The only thing I wish it had is a beeper to let you know when it's done. Clean up is always a breeze and it's a great size to fit in the cabinet on the rare days we aren't using it. Because it's so easy to use and the food cooks so well we're actually eating better! Just a great little addition to the kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker

LOVE LOVE LOVE it! Pays for itself!

07/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of my favorite belongings (guess I am easy to please). My friend recommended it to me and so I gave it a try. Can't go wrong for $14, right? I use this at least once a week. I bought a big bag of rice for around $4 and it has lasted me a long time. This couldn't be easier to use and the rice turns out perfectly every time. I've used it with white rice, brown rice, and a quinoa/wild rice blend and they all turned out great. The best thing about it (besides saving you money) is that you just turn it on and forget it. It turns itself to the "warm" setting when finished. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker

Great product

01/24/2011
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was tired of the quality of quick cook rice, so I gave this rice cooker and some traditional rice a try. I am glad I did! This is the perfect rice cooker for small batches. It is easy to use and very affordable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker
09/19/2011
By ,
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have bought and exchanged this item 3 times in the store. Each time it had the same problem, the light goes off and it will not work anymore. My sister bought the same one about the same time I got my first one and hers is still working.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rival 6 cup rice cooker
Posted 10/23/2012
I have bought and returned this item 2 times in the store. Both times I used it twice and it doesn't work anymore. I will definitely try a different brand next time!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker

Horrible buy!

11/07/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the second exchange and it broke once again! We will be going back to the store again to exchange. Bad product - poorly made. The cooker just decides to stop cooking your rice when it wants... Wish Wal-Mart would read these review and stop carrying such a bad product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker

MY FAVORITE APPLIANCE!!

12/08/2011
By ,
LUTZ, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HAVING USED THE RIVAL RICE COOKER SEVERAL TIMES A WEEK FOR OVER A YEAR, I AM SOOOO HAPPY AND WISH I HAD FOUND IT SOONER!
I EVEN FRY AN EGG IN IT! IT HEATS SO FULLY AND QUICKLY! THEN, TURNING THE EGG, I SLAP A SLICE OF CHEESE...
ADD TOAST...
AND VOILA! A HOMEMADE BREAKFAST SANDWICH IN 2 MINUTES!
PERFECT FOR A STOVELESS STUDIO...OR ON THE ROAD!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker

wow! what a miracle worker this is

08/26/2014
By ,
Washington State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't say enough good stuff about this little bargain beauty. It arrived fine, works great, is small and easy to handle.
One word of caution :DIRECTIONS, follow them, use the included little cup and follow those directions and you will get perfect fluffy rice every time.
I have only used my favorite brand of white rice, so can't say how it does on brown rice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker

Wouldn't heat up the second time I tried to use it

01/08/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first time I used the rice cooker I could smell toasting plastic. The second time I tried to use it it would not heat up. Sometimes you can spend too little on a product. This is one of those times.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker

Works great!

03/02/2012
By ,
mid town
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tried for years to cook rice on a stove with out drying, burning or crusting it on the bottonm of the pan. Put in a 50/50 mix of white and heavy brown rice and it cooked it to perfection. I'm keeping this guy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker

Cute steemer

07/01/2014
By ,
Kennesaw,ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Makes enough rice for 4/5 big boys,quick and easy clean up...luv it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker

You get what you pay for

02/29/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was one of the cheapest rice makers which is why I bought it (I am on a tight budget). If you want perfect rice, get a more expensive one. The rice comes out cooked normally, but I think the Warming function is a tad too hot and the rice cakes together at the bottom of the pot. I just unplug the machine when it's done cooking to avoid this. Otherwise it works fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker

Nice of the price

11/23/2013
By ,
brooklyn,ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How's good for the price and cooks fast. Great for small family or single person
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker

It WAS good...

10/02/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
At first my rice cooker worked fine for quite a while, but then it just recently stopped working. The light does not change from warm, and it won't go into the cook setting. Then this morning when I tried one last time, there was a funny smell (like something was beginning to burn) which kind of scared me so now this rice cooker is unplugged and sitting on my counter. I will shortly be buying a new one because I use it so often, and I will not be buying this one again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker

Not sure about the negative reviews

01/29/2014
By ,
Fairfax, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had my little rice cooker for 3+ years now, and it's still working fine. I'm Asian, and I'm using it about once a week or so for rice, quinoa, and other whole grains. The only wear and tear I've seen is that the non-stick surface is getting scratched, but that's my fault for using any old spoon with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker

Broke after two uses

02/07/2013
By ,
Wilkesboro, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one because my old rice cooker had finally given out after around 8 years of steady use. I thought this one was perfect for two people, because it's small. I used it twice, it stopped working. I waited a few months, thinking I had just purchased a defective one. Bought a second one, on the second use it again emitted a burned rubber smell and stopped working. Don't waste your money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker

if it would keep working it would be great!

09/02/2012
By ,
Mechanicsburg, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this appliance and it worked great the first 2 times. I went to use it again and it wouldn't turn on at all. I was so up set because it actually worked really well, and my sons and I really enjoy rice and beans. I do not recommend this product, pay for the more expensive brand if you want something with quality and long term use in mind.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker

doesn't work at second time

10/29/2012
By ,
Norman,OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used to have a Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker and it worked fine until 2 years later ( I used it almost everyday). So recently I bought a new one but it doesn't work at second time use. Then I exchange for another one and it went off at the second time use again. I have to return it again and consider changing another type.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker
08/18/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The lights went off and stopped working within three days of use.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
The Emerald Coast of Florida
Rival 6-Cup Rice Cooker
Posted 08/24/2011
What happend to us is that we didn't always dry off the bottom of the inner pot which may be the reason our rice cooker lived a short life and eventually quit working. And with another rice cooker it tripped the GFI circuit and took us days to figure out that we just needed to RESET the button on a plug-in outlet in the garage. Thanks for your review and heads-up that this Rice Cooker may have a serious defect (as we are getting it tomorrow.) Good Luck...j&j
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1 2 3 Next