Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Graco Graco - Portland 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Graco Graco - Portland 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Average Customer Rating:
3.66 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
34
3 stars
16
2 stars
4
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation83%77 out of 93reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 35 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
34
3 stars
16
2 stars
4
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Graco - Portland 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Doesn't match Graco Stanton espresso dresser

08/09/2012
By ,
Lincoln, NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We ordered this, hauled it to our nursery, opened it and had to haul it back to the store because it didn't match. This dresser is much redder than our Stanton espresso crib. I don't know why the description says it goes with it because it definitely doesn't. I don't know about the quality of the product - we love our Graco cribs so I'm assuming it's good too, but we didn't assemble it since it didn't match.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Graco - Portland 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Great Chest of Drawers!!!!

11/09/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased two of them for my twin girls.... The only reason I am giving them a 4 and not a 5 star is the color... I ordered espresso, but they have more of a red tint to them... Other than that they are great... I did change the hardware to a brushed nickle finish and it made them look higher end than what they are...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Graco - Portland 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Great Dresser

06/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I bought this dresser in the combo with the crib for our first baby. It is really sturdy and the color of the wood is beautiful! The only thing that I didn't like was that it had the smell like it was recently stained or maybe it was from the glue they use, but I left the drawers open and put fabric softner sheets in each one and the smell was gone within a few days :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Graco - Portland 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Not as good as I had hoped

07/03/2012
By ,
Calais, ME
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought this dresser to go with the Graco Stanton Convertible Crib in Expresso. Neither of the two products is Expresso in color. They are both a dark cherry color, which is nice, but should not be called expresso. The size of the dresser is great, and the style is nice as well. The quality of the product is less than I had hoped but will do for a baby's room for now. The unit is fairly sturdy overall, however the drawers appear to be the weaskest part and I fear we may have an issue with them later. There were a couple of small nicks in the side and the stain was worn off or not properly stained on a couple of spots on the front of the drawers. I figure I will just get a corrector pencil to fix the problem, but don't feel I should have to do that will a brand new product. Basically, if my spouse hadn't already had the product assembled when I first saw it, we probably would have returned it, along with the crib to get something in a true expresso color and a dresser of better quality (crib is great quality for the price).
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Graco - Portland 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Surprised....

03/13/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We put the dresser together last night, I was so impressed with the color of the dresser, no scratch marks or dents. We have never ordered anything online at walmart before and we tried the ship to site method. It was very quick and easy. It took a little longer to get to the store than other reviewers said, but it still arrived way before the estimated due date.
I only gave it a 4 because: nothing had labels on them. It was a little frustrating to try and find pieces that are labeled "A, B, C" etc on the directions but not one piece had an "A, B, C" on it. It ended up taking us three hours to put together because of this. The only other thing I noticed was the back pieces for the dresser were/are not the same color as the dresser it's self. The two backboards were dark brown where as the dresser is more of a cherry wood. Once it was finished we loved the final product, just ended up taking most of the night when we wanted to start on the crib.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Graco - Portland 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Gracco Dresser.... goods and bads

12/23/2011
By ,
Lake Stevens, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This dresser shipped to my house in only a matter of days, which was nice. The espresso color online is darker than the dresser in real life. This dresser has a bit more cherry tones to it, but it doesn't look bad with the Gracco Lauren espresso crib and changer that we bought. It comes in a box in a million pieces. I was pretty disappointed that there were absolutely NO INSTRUCTIONS included. It took 3 grown men and about an hour to figure out how to put it together from scratch. Luckily, all the pieces were there and they were all intact, no damage. It is pretty heavy and totally sturdy. Overall, I'm happy with it. But buyer beware if you're not a handy person that can figure out how to put together furniture. Maybe you'll get lucky and your box will have instructions. If not, good luck trying to hunt them down online as we had no success.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Graco - Portland 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

got what we paid for

06/19/2011
By ,
quarryville, pa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The dresser seems sturdy at this point. When putting the dresser together, don't try and follow the directions, they are very confusing, follow the diagrams. Some of the cam locks that came with it broke, so we had to call the service number. The cam locks are being shipped at no charge. Service person was very nice. The dresser overall looks very nice and I think we received our moneys worth for it. I would recommend this dresser to other buyers seeking childrens/nursery furniture.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Graco - Portland 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Great, high quality dresser!

03/06/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading some reviews, I was nervous with purchasing this dresser. When it was delivered I knew it had to be good quality just from how heavy the package was!
This crib is very sturdy and the color is beautiful! I bought it to go with the Stanton Crib in espresso and it matches perfectly. The only change I made was to the pulls. They are wood, so I replaced with some nice nickel knobs instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Graco - Portland 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso
05/24/2011
By ,
San Diego, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am expecting our first child so I haven't had a chance to really use this yet, but I just did all her laundry and filled this dresser with clothes.. it holds quite a bit, it looks really nice.. it seems sturdy.. I'm overall happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Graco - Portland 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Good quality, great value

11/06/2011
By ,
Oceanside, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this with a Graco bundle that contained the Freeport crib and changing table and a mattress. I was VERY pleased with the quality of everything. The furniture is wood and easy to put together. One of the drawers had the holes for the cams/screws drilled a little off, but we just drilled 2 small pilot holes and used 2 screws to complete the drawer. No big deal. Otherwise, it was perfect. The finish looks great and all pieces match very well. A very affordable ready-to-go baby room!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Graco - Portland 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Great Sturdy Dresser

12/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and brother complained about how heavy this is as they were bringing it in the house. This dresser is very sturdy and looks great!!! I absolutely love it. It looks expensive and matches perfectly with the Stanton crib and Portland Combo dresser. The best part is the price. I wanted good furniture but didn't want to spend a huge amount of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Graco - Portland 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Poor!

10/07/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I previously gave this product a bad review, but I guess because it was bad, it was removed. Anyway, this dresser showed up with broken and missing pieces. The top of the dresser was severly scrached and had gashes in it...to make it better you could see that the scrathes were filled in with a marker! It is a complete pain to put together. I would not recommend this product at all. For the price I expected better.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Graco - Portland 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Manufacturer can not replace basic parts

04/05/2012
By ,
sacramento, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If there is a problem with the product, you are supposed to email/call the manufacturer. They are supposed to get back to you within 48 hours. I emailed them, and did not hear from them. I sent another email. After not hearing from them for over a week, I called them and left a message. No response. Finally, I called them again a few days later and finally spoke to a representative. They couldn't find a record of any of my emails, even though I had records of them on my email account. After all of this, they do not have a replacement for the damaged drawer face I received in my package, so they told me that I need to take apart my entire dresser, package it and bring it back to Walmart so that I can get a new one. BEWARE!!!! Check all of the pieces for damage before you start building, or you'll have to deal with what I have had to deal with these past few weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Graco - Portland 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Great dresser to grow with My Baby

10/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, easy to assembly even ALONE. Would recommend to anyone. Real wood not that saw dust compressed wood stuff.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Graco - Portland 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Nice finished product

07/23/2013
By ,
Fort Collins, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The dresser looks modern and nice once it is all put together. The color of it was perfect. It matched perfectly with the Graco Expresso changer and 3 in 1 crib we got prior to purchasing this dresser. However, while putting the dresser together we noticed putting on the right side of the dresser one of the washers was totally stripped so we couldn't screw in one of the screws on the bottom. We had to improvise and use a hammer and wood glue to keep it together. The instructions say you don't need to use any electric tools. We ended up using an electric drill to drill in the back of the dresser because they holes were not pre-drilled to use a screw driver. Overall, I would rate this as average it is difficult to put together and we had some major set backs with washer being stripped and having to use a drill to put the backing on.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Graco - Portland 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Outside is nice, inside is extremely poor

07/03/2013
By ,
Sioux Center, IA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The dresser looks nice and the exterior is solid. However, the "wood" for the drawers is very poor quality. Many of the twist lock fasteners are pushed right through the cheap material. It is cracked and flakes apart. All screws must be hand tightened. If you're not careful, especially if you want to use power tools, you will strip the material and the screws won't hold tight. To top it off, the drawer material stinks something awful and our baby clothes are quick to soak up the stench. We've had this dresser for almost a year now and the smell has not gone away. We bought the 4-piece set and the crib, changing table, and mattress are just fine. But the dresser is the most expensive of the 4 pieces but by far the worst of them. It sells on it's own for $250 but worth a fraction of that based on our experience.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Graco - Portland 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Doesn't Meet Expectations

09/02/2012
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The color is NOT anywhere near espresso - it is definitely cherry! Our crib and changing table are espresso (also by Graco) and the dresser does not match at all. The color difference stands out big time! So much so that I will be taking this dresser back to the store. As for the quality of the dresser it seems to be pretty sturdy and heavy. If it weren't for the color I would probably be pretty happy with the purchase. However, for the price I would expect to get a dresser that is true to its description.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Graco - Portland 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Pleased with Purchase

11/07/2012
By ,
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this dresser to match the graco lauren crib. Both have a red cherry wood finish (not neccessarily a dark espresso color). I was really pleased with the look and quality of the dresser, especially for the price. It doesn't look cheap at all. My husband complained that it took a while to put together. I beleive he worked on it for at least an hour or two as the directions weren't always clear. I am overall pleased with the dresser and look forward to using it in our baby room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Graco - Portland 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

basic dresser

07/25/2012
By ,
Florence, SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This dresser is basic and Ikea-style (you will spend a few hours putting it together). It is lighter in color than the espresso crib and rocker that I purchased and I am not happy with that part of it, but it is not so much lighter that I will return. We haven't had the baby yet so I can't really speak to it's functionality, but it seems like it will be worth the price that we paid as we only plan to use it for a couple of years.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Graco - Portland 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Directions confusing- no words just pictures

05/11/2012
By ,
Bentonville, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The directions were confusing because there were no words only pictures. We had to take a few parts off and turn them around because they were backwards, but once we figured it out, we were pretty happy with the results. The drawers have a strong smell from the finish, so it may be good to lay them out in the sun to bake the finish so it doesn't get on baby's stuff. The drawers do feel a little rickety when pulling them in and out. The color has quite a bit of cherry in it, but it coordinates well with the Graco Stanton-expresso crib which also has some cherry in it. Overall it's a decent product for the money. The dresser is heavy and feels like a strong wood. The drawers feel a little cheap, but as a whole it looks great in our nursery.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 87 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next