Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips DVD/VHS Combo, Black DVP3345VB

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Philips Philips DVD/VHS Combo, Black DVP3345VB

This all-in-one Philips DVD/VHS Combo plays movies in a variety of formats, maximizing convenience and enhancing your movie experience. The Philips DVP3345VB Black Player has a DVD player that features CD, (S)VCD, DVD, DVD+R/RW and DVD+R DL playback, component and composite video output, analog audio left/right output and a progressive scan-over component. It also plays MP3 and displays JPEG digital camera photos, allowing you to use it for many tasks. The VCR on this Philips DVD/VHS Combo features a four-head design with hi-fi sound, daily/weekly repeat program, direct dubbing and one-touch recording, making it simple to use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.742 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(248 Reviews) 196
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
112
4 stars
64
3 stars
15
2 stars
10
1 star
47
Customer Recommendation75%185 out of 247reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
112
4 stars
64
3 stars
15
2 stars
10
1 star
47
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips DVD/VHS Combo, Black DVP3345VB

Transfer VHS to DVD

02/28/2012
By ,
North East US
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a new low priced vhs player to transfer my VHS tapes to DVD. This has just the functions needed (no tuner). I use this with the Magnavox Z320MW8 Refurbished DVD recorder. All works fine so far.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Dvd vcr
Posted 02/19/2014
I have one question, what is a tuner?....My sister just order this set, but is returning it because there is no tuner, please tell me what is that.
Thank you,
Milady
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Philips DVD/VHS Combo, Black DVP3345VB

Good option for dual medium,VHS & DVD

02/17/2014
By ,
Elkins
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product worked well, was easy to set up and best of all it was shipped free right to my door. I love that; I found it on line, ordered and was given the option to have it shipped free to my home, and best of all did not have to use my credit card on line but was given the option to pay in my local Walmart store using a purchase number generated by my order. The product came quicker than estimated and we set it up easily. In no time we were watching those old VHS tapes again but without all that old bulky equipment stacked up. Now we only have the cable box and one slim device that plays both mediums, DVD & VHS! Great!!! My only disappointment is the VHS can only record on the channel we are currently watching, the old bulky recorder had more ability to be programmed to record at various times and on different channels allowing us to watch one program and tape another. All in all, I am pleased with my purchase and would recommend this unit to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 3 for Philips DVD/VHS Combo, Black DVP3345VB

What a dissapointment, NO TUNER

11/29/2013
By ,
Biddeford, ME
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you normally plug your VCR or DVD directly into your TV, this is not the unit for you. It is the tuner inside of a DVD/VCR unit that allows you to get the signal directly from your cable line and then connect your DVD/VCR to your TV.
This unit has NO TUNER, which means the only way you're going to get a signal is if you have a cable box that normally attaches to your TV. The cable box actually has the tuner.
It would have been very helpful if Walmart had some indication in it's description as to what Tunerless means. I should have Googled it myself, so buyer...be alert and Google Google Google!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+51points
Review 4 for Philips DVD/VHS Combo, Black DVP3345VB

Read the Ad carefully!!

12/08/2013
By ,
venice fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I Bought this to save my old VHS tapes to DVD. The will not do that......Note : It says DVD/VHS not DVR! Believe it or not it will convert DVD to VHS tapes.....Now who wants to do that?
Thank Goodness I read the manual before I unpacked everything and hooked it up.
When I returned it to Walmart, they couldn't believe that the thing only turned DVDs unto VHS, and not turn VHS into DVDs until they saw it for themselves.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+36points
Review 5 for Philips DVD/VHS Combo, Black DVP3345VB

Great for basic use.

01/07/2014
By ,
San Bernardino, Ca.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I am satisfied. However, I rated this product only "fair" for "Meets Expectations". I have a brand new Samsung TV. I could not hook up this DVD player to my TV without a special set of cables that was NOT included. The owner's manual stated these cables were not included, but no mention on the outside box. So there I was, in my living room trying to set everything up, only to find out I need to purchase an additional set of cables. Needless to say I was very upset. Even though not every TV requires these cables, they should be included for those who need them. After all, how much could it cost the company? Also, most customers would be willing to pay a slightly higher price to include those cables so when we get home we know we have everything we need right there to set things up with no extra trips to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 6 for Philips DVD/VHS Combo, Black DVP3345VB

great for VHS watching.

12/01/2013
By ,
Stamford, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandson is playing all of his older VHS tapes again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
+16points
Review 7 for Philips DVD/VHS Combo, Black DVP3345VB

Couldn't play back previously recorded tapes.

09/23/2013
By ,
Pompano Beach, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After much research, I purchased this in the hope of having a decent machine in my bedroom that I could record and play back VCR tapes, as well as DVDs. The DVD portion was fine, but it could not reasonably play back any tape I put in it. I have three other VCRs that I use frequently (some daily). All tapes I put in the new machine played back with audio cuts, black outs, jittery jumping pictures, and just plain nothing at times. The same tapes would play back fine in the other three VCRs, all of different manufacturers. The machine is going back to the store today.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+24points
Review 8 for Philips DVD/VHS Combo, Black DVP3345VB

Inaccurate description of product

01/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cannot recommend this product because it was not until the unit was opened at Christmas that we realized that a tuner needed to be purchased for this product. I do not believe this was stated on the website. So...this was a little disappointing.
I haven't had time to get a tuner to even see if the unit works. Hopefully it'll be good. The unit was a Xmas present for my shut-in mother.
I would just like to ask your IT/website administrators to double check to make sure this info is accurately presented on the site.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
+122points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PA
Tuner not needed to use product
Posted 01/05/2012
You only need a tuner if you are going to record BROADCAST or CABLE TV. You can play back existing VHS tapes and DVDs and you can record from non-TV input sources without the tuner.
The older VCRs had a built-in ANALOG tuner. I don't think these will work with digital signals (which is now pretty much all you can find), and I think you will find it difficult to find any VCR today that includes a built-in digital tuner. If you are interested in recording TV so you can watch it at a later time, you would probably be happier with a PVR (TIVO or something provided by your cable company). If you want to keep recordings for longer, you might want to research copyright law before you invest more money.
If you are just having trouble connecting the device to your TV (i.e., if you have an old TV with no video inputs), then maybe what you really need is an RF modulator. This takes a composite video input and creates an RF-modulated analog signal (usually on either channel 2 or 3).
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Philips DVD/VHS Combo, Black DVP3345VB

Philips Delivers

01/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As an ex Philips employee I have previously owned many Philips/Magnavox products in the past. They have always provided me years of trouble free service and delivered what I expected. The DVP3345VB seems to follow this standard. This unit replaced a 10 year old Sony DVD/VHS player. Hook up was seemless and as a player both the DVD and VHS picture quality are great. When comparing this unit against similar ones purchasing this one was a no brainer. Philips delivers quality products at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+179points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Stone Mountain, GA
Posted 10/23/2013
Hi, will I need to purchase a tuner if I get this product?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Philips DVD/VHS Combo, Black DVP3345VB

Great for the parents

12/29/2010
By ,
Reno, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item for my parents who insist on maintaining their VHS viewing abilities. They had no interest in copying VHS to DVD, so this works perfect for them. My Mom set it up without a single problem, something that is a bit of a milestone for her (she is a huge technphobe). Thus, for the older crowd that may be a bit frightened by all the new fangled stuff, I would highly recommend this simple VHS/DVD combo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+62points
Review 11 for Philips DVD/VHS Combo, Black DVP3345VB
12/29/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was easy to set up, is easy to use, and showed a great picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+23points
Review 12 for Philips DVD/VHS Combo, Black DVP3345VB

Disappointing lack of a tuner,otherwise good

05/10/2012
By ,
Henderson, NV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
With the exception of the lack of a tuner, it is a very nice player/recorder. Other than to keep the price low, I don't understand manufacturers leaving out the tuner. Many cable systems, mine included, provide a cable signal that is acceptable to VHS tuners and can be recorded on VHS tapes.
It is possible to record using another vcr's tuner by feeding the record out signals of the vcr with tuner to the video in jacks of the DVP3345VB.
It is possible to buy vcrs that can record off the air, but they usually are much more expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+18points
Review 13 for Philips DVD/VHS Combo, Black DVP3345VB

good VHS recording/playback

11/20/2013
By ,
Central Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very happy to find a VHS recorder/player.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 14 for Philips DVD/VHS Combo, Black DVP3345VB
10/05/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything I have used on the product, UP TO DATE, has met my expectations. Unit was specifically bought to be able to view library of VHS tapes. Have a blu-ray player so that part of the unit was just duplicated but for the price, it was still worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Review 15 for Philips DVD/VHS Combo, Black DVP3345VB

Easy to use

12/30/2010
By ,
Bulverde, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up and use. Light and compact. Replaced a DVD/VHS combo and price was great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Review 16 for Philips DVD/VHS Combo, Black DVP3345VB

ok dvd/vcr combo

12/21/2010
By ,
Yonkers,NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've used this machine only about 6 times already and it played some dvd's all the way through and some got stuck. The ones that got stuck I played in my more expensive dvd player in my living room and they played. I only got this one because my daughter has movies on vhs tapes that she loves to watch. I only recomended this because of the vhs part.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+55points
Review 17 for Philips DVD/VHS Combo, Black DVP3345VB

Works great

11/27/2013
By ,
Gainesboro, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 18 for Philips DVD/VHS Combo, Black DVP3345VB

Broken when received & 2nd one was, too.

10/28/2012
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this model to replace a recently broken vcr, and it jammed on the first tape we put into it. My husband returned it to a Walmart store and purchased the identical one at the store to replace the one we received in the mail. It ate the first tape we put in it, so neither vcr played even one tape for us.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Review 19 for Philips DVD/VHS Combo, Black DVP3345VB

Did not have tuner. Returned product.

09/29/2013
By ,
Buffalo, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this to replace a vcr/dvd recorder that I used to record direct TV programs. Nowhere in the review did it mention that this product did not have a tuner. Did not meet my needs so I took it back to the store (where I found out it was cheaper than online), and I ended up paying shipping charges for a product I can't use and don't have.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+11points
Review 20 for Philips DVD/VHS Combo, Black DVP3345VB

Bum Deal

01/06/2011
By ,
houston, tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Device did not work AT ALL... The cable man tried to connect it to every TV in the house...NOTHING. Will return for exchange
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+32points
1-20 of 189 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next