Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Electronic Arts Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360)

Electronic Arts Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360)

Need for Speed Hot Pursuit is poised to transform online racing by bringing to life the adrenaline and intensity of high speed cop pursuits and changing the way that people connect and compete with their friends. Need for Speed Hot Pursuit introduces a revolutionary social network called Need for Speed Autolog, which seamlessly connects players with their friends by automatically tracking and comparing each person's performances. Autolog also serves up challenges based on what your friends have been doing, creating a simple, yet brilliantly dynamic social-gaming experience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.642 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation96%64 out of 67reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 25 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360)

Sweet game! :)

12/09/2012
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very cool game I think! Its addictive and sometimes hard to put the controller down. Great graphics and fun game play.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360)

Have lots of racing fun at half price!

01/15/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have all of the Need for Speed (NFS) games. I like this one because I get to play the police or the racer.
I do miss being able to upgrade the cars the way I like, this game just gives you "better" cars as you progress.
I think this was carried over from the Burnout games which was also done by the same collaborators this time. Note: I have all of the Burnout games too :)
The menu is a bit confusing at first, because the scrolling words go by quickly and the colors make it hard to read Plus, if you aren't putting your stats and pics online, half of it is unnecessary.
Tip to game creators: Maybe no online stuff unless you have decided to go online with the game and race others, etc.
But all in all if you like the more arcade type racing games VS the more reality type racing game, you will really like this one.
I do like the game quite a bit even with the couple of small annoyances and recommend it as a 4 out of 5.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360)

Most Wanted is still the best

11/16/2010
By ,
UT, USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Due to a shipping “error”, I received my copy of Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit three days before its release so I’ve been playing this game a lot. Also, this review is written from the racer career perspective, not the cop career.
Being a fan of NFS from the start, I preordered Hot Pursuit without a second thought. Most Wanted is by far my favorite racing game. When I heard Criterion Games was developing Hot Pursuit, I was a little disappointed. I've seen their work on the Burnout series and, while it's okay, it looks and feels too generic for my taste. I was worried that Criterion would bring that generic flavor to Hot Pursuit. Unfortunately, I was right. It's not as apparent as I thought it would be, but it's still there. The cars handle a lot like Burnout cars. It feels like they do all the turning from the middle of the car instead of the front of the car where the wheels are. It's like they're pivoting from side to side instead of steering (if that makes sense). This makes controlling the car significantly more difficult. Not only is controlling the car more difficult, but acceleration and braking seems too simulated. These cars stop really quickly and gain speed almost unrealistically. If you look at the 0-60 times and count, the specs are realistic but the graphics make it seem like you're going a lot faster than you really are. For example, the scenery whizzes by faster than it should be.
One thing that really annoys me is how dramatic driving these cars is. If you casually graze a "common" car, your car has a complete meltdown which includes exploding into a million little pieces. All this happens while the clock keeps running and the competition gets miles ahead of you. These wrecks take about 5-8 seconds to happen and recover from. By then, the other racers are long gone and catching up is difficult. I liked the older NFS games (like Most Wanted) when the wrecks just caused you to lose speed but were usually not too damaging to the race results. The wrecks in this game are over done (like Burnout). Something else I've noticed is that if you get too close to a guard rail (or something similar), the game seems to pull you into them. It's like a magnetic force. And, of course, once you run into the guard rail, dramatic effects. The screen jerks around, the car bounces, etc. Basically, the wrecks in this game are unnecessarily theatrical and very distracting.
Graphics are probably the best of any Need for Speed game. The scenery and cars are very realistic. That saying, Hot Pursuit is definitely designed to run on HDTV. I don't have an HDMI cable for my Xbox so I'm playing the game in standard definition on a 65" screen and the words are next to impossible to read. Another problem for me is seeing oncoming traffic. It blends in with the horizon until it's right there in front of me and nearly impossible to avoid. Then, of course, I hit the car head on and have to go through a dramatic car crash sequence and end up losing the race.
Gameplay is a little more challenging than previous NFS games. The roads have side trails (shortcuts) that you definitely have to use if you want to win first place. The only problem is being able to see them. Maybe it's because I'm not using HDTV, but I can never see the turnoff for the shortcuts and end up missing them or hitting a guard rail resulting in a crash. Winning races is also a lot more difficult. Most Wanted was great because it was easy enough that you had a sense of accomplishment but challenging enough that it wasn’t boring. Hot Pursuit is the first NFS in a long time that has gotten me to swear out of frustration.
When I heard Hot Pursuit wasn't going to have a story line, I was curious about how they were going to approach the purpose of the game. It's basically like the original NFS combined with free roam. In all honesty, I think they made a poor attempt. The only time you can play "Cops and Racers" is if you select a race that involves cops. Even then, there is a set course for you to follow with a finish line. I don't like this because it's basically an endurance race to see how long you can go before the cops get you or how quickly you can get to the finish line. There's not the same thrill as Most Wanted because you don't get to choose where you want to drive, you follow the course. And you don't have to evade the police, you have to cross the finish line to end the pursuit. It's not as fun. The free roam feature is nothing more than letting you drive around Seacrest County. As far as I know, there are no police chases in free roam.
Unlike the newer NFS games (and more like the original ones), you don't buy cars and upgrade them. You choose the car you want to drive from a list. That's it. No upgrades, no garage, and very little customization (you can change the color of the car from a preselected color palette). The farther along in the game you get, the more cars you unlock.
Now I’m going to nitpick at all of the tiny flaws. First, the sound effects are very cheap. The tire squeal noise doesn’t sound like tires. In fact, it’s a very obnoxious sound. Also, the sound it makes when you move up and down the menu items grates on your ears. I think they should have spent more time making the SFX more aesthetically pleasing. Finally, the map doesn’t enlarge. I have no idea where I’m driving because the only part of the map visible is a 1/4 mile ahead of you and a 1/4 mile behind you.
Alright, now that I’ve got the things I don’t like about the game out of the way, I’ll focus on what I do like. The cars are great. I’m glad they still include the Porsche Carrera GT in their games even though it’s getting pretty old (it’s one of my favorite supercars of all time). I do wish they added more variety to the car list, though. They have four variations of the Lamborghini Gallardo but they left out the Lexus LFA (how could they leave that car out, have you heard the sound it makes?!). I also really like Seacrest County. It reminds me a lot of NFS: High Stakes and some of the ProStreet tracks.
Bottom line: Criterion, in my opinion, is not the right developer for the Need for Speed franchise. The game is fun enough that, if you’re a Need for Speed fan, you’ll want to buy it. But I would definitely recommend waiting for the price to go down.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360)
07/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a grate game its hard but its super good
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360)

not the best need for speed

12/15/2010
By ,
Spooner St Quahog RI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this was not the best need for speed game made. i agree with the other person need for speed undercover was one of the best. pre race videos cant really be skipped, they just mute the voice. as a racer or cop, if you hit your opponent head on at over 200mph it does no damage to the opponents car. those are just a couple things that aggravate me but over all a decent good game and great cars used.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360)

Great game, much like original years ago

11/24/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great game, reminds me of the original Need For Speed with the Cops and Rebels. Amazing graphics and great car control allow you to drift around corners and control the sliding easily. Hard to drive at night but just need to get used to it really.
All the cars are great, just got the Shelby GT500 and that is cool, plus the Camaro SS is available next.
Free roaming is nice feature and also the multiplayer adds hours of extra play time.
Definately buy!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360)

Great buy

01/19/2011
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an awesome game but it gets kind of repetitive. Great crash scenes and great cars!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360)

The game rocks!!

01/02/2011
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the game for my son's Xbox; I played the game first on my Sister's PS3 prior to purchasing the game. It was so much fun. So I decided to make the video game a family present for Christmas. We love it; even my 4yr old enjoys it. It's a really fun game!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360)

Awesome

01/03/2011
By ,
Newark, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought this game for my son and boyfriend, and they haven't put it down since. The effects of the game are amazing, and the chase scenes look like there in 3D. I highly recommend buying this game for any game lover out there!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360)

Disappointed in Purchase

01/01/2011
By ,
Bridgeport, Connecticut
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I didn't like the fact that this game was only one player. You can only play multiplayer online, I find that stupid, because I bought it so I could race against my friends and my fam and then I come to find out that I can't.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360)

Need for Speed Hot Pursuit

01/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my grandson and he said it is the best game ever.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360)

Fun

01/02/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The kid I bought this for has been enjoying the game everyday.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360)

Excellent

01/15/2011
By ,
Suwanee GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Kids really enjoy playing this game.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360)

Great game!

01/11/2011
By ,
Napoleonville, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really solid game.
In campaign mode, you switch between being a cop and a racer. Both give you the same adrenaline rush and you get to use weapons (EMP,spike strips) to take down either a cop or a racer.
The only downside to this game is there are no customization options outside of what color your car should be.
This game features awesome cars some of which go over 200mph.
I would recommend this product for all audiences as it provides fun gameplay and an addictive online setting for any gamer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360)

Good new version of a classic game

11/20/2010
By ,
Springdale, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The game isnt all that bad if you have ever played NFS Hot Pursuit/ Hot Pursuit 2 for the PS2 or another console back in 2002 or so...
The game doesnt allow you to customize cars but it does allow you to change the colors of them and whatnot. The world map seems small, but when you are down on the track the races take forever and are much bigger than what the world map makes it to seem. The track map is descent size and you can view far enough ahead to see whats coming. You have to be going really fast to crash into traffic going your direction otherwise head-ons always cause you to crash. You can ride the walls and the sides of the roads will not pull you to the guardrail. Dirt makes you drive slower and hitting walls at high speeds cause you to crash!
You have the choice to be a racer and/or a cop... you can choose. The graphics of this game are awesome especially if you are a Burnout fan and NFS fan. NFS hot pursuit in this one have the graphics of Burnout and the aftermarket products of NFS underground and the other recent versions of NFS. The only flaws i have with this game is the fact all the races seem to be time trials or races where you have to beat the time more so than racing opponents and chasing people down as a cop. As the racer you have to get to the finish within a certain time and as a cop they consider it your "response time" to get to a scene to complete a road block to block a racer in from finishing a race. Wrecking in the game is also not all that dramatic. It takes maybe 3 seconds to watch the crash scene and your back on the road. You can also crash into the cops and destroy the cops if they are in front of you, same goes for if you are the cop and chasing the racers.
You can also receive a certain amount of weapons for a race. As a racer you can get EMP which will damage the opponents car and temporarily shut it down for a second, spike strips which will flatten the opponents tires and spin them out of control, Jammer which will prevent cops from using their weapons on you such as roadblocks; spikes; etc., and turbo which will boost your cars speed but be careful using it as it introduces a significant strain on your cars infrastructure. As the cop you get EMP, Spike strips, and a helicopter which i find kinda useless because all it does is lay a spike strip far ahead of you and the opponent. I would prefer just roadblocks! Also as a cop you get time added to the clock during a Response time race for hitting the walls or civilian cars so the goal is to drive clean the entire race. Its really not that hard to do but to some people it might be!
I am a big fan of NFS games and Burnout games so as an introduction of both coming together this one is a good game for them to start with. I believe later in the years their games will progress and become much better than the regular NFS and Burnout games. I would rate this game 4 of 5 star. Graphics are amazing, cars are cool looking, and crash scenes are awesome! Would suggest to get this game if you are into the classics of NFS simply cause its a better mimic of NFS hot pursuit/ hot pursuit 2! I miss the classics!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360)

One of the hottest racing games..........

12/07/2010
By ,
new york
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like racing games this is the one to get.. Forget about gran turkey.. it may look hot but there nothing like chasing down someone or being chased by the police. Online play is so much fun and the missions are cool. Cars are awesome.. Nothing like driving 200+ in the wrong direction and the crashes are sick...there is nitrous,spike strips and even the helicopter. Believe me when I say never have I had so much fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360)

GREAT FUN

05/27/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yes the game is great. But your lucky to fine people to play with on line except for friends
The game will get your heart pounding if you like driving fast cars.
PS: A racing wheel will not make you a better driver the Xbox controler works just fine for this game.
Happy Motoring
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360)

Online Fun

01/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Disappointed one player game - online the races are limitless and playing against friends and family times posted is really competitive. Wish there was more aspects of takedowns like burnout but the collaboration of the two games is pretty awsome
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360)

old school meets new school

12/27/2011
By ,
sweetwater tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have always loved the need for speed underground games. i always rocked at it. now my kids have a 360 and i want to find it so i can knock them off their high horses and show emwho the real champ is!!! hope i can find it soon...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
Classic Game Collection Folding Wood Travel Mancala
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
Parker Brothers Monopoly Board Game
 
 
 
Monopoly Collection (Wii)
4.3 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit (Xbox 360)

My Boys love it...

01/01/2011
By ,
Hamden, New york
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Boys age 15 and 10 love it they are haveing the best time with this game and so is daddy.. I loose all the men in me house for hours at a time and just hear them haveing a blast winning new cars and raceing agianst each other..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1 2 Next