Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Canon Canon PIXMA MP495 Wireless All-in-One Printer with Full HD Movie Print & Mobile Printing

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Canon Canon PIXMA MP495 Wireless All-in-One Printer with Full HD Movie Print & Mobile Printing

The Canon Pixma all-in-one printer has built-in wireless printing and scanning and a compact and stylish design with innovative features. The MP495 wireless printer/copier/scanner brings high-quality performance, ease of use and convenience together in one model. You will also be able to continue your Wi-Fi photo printing with ease from compatible iPhone, iPod touch and Android devices.
Average Customer Rating:
4.322 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(460 Reviews) 377
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
275
4 stars
126
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 star
27
Customer Recommendation88%402 out of 455reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
275
4 stars
126
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 star
27
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Canon PIXMA MP495 Wireless All-in-One Printer with Full HD Movie Print & Mobile Printing

Excellent Bang 4 Ur Buck in a HTPC

02/06/2011
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My initial impressions with the product are good: There's no CD's to deal with (as if optical media is going to last for long anyway). Installation comes as easy as just popping in the USB onto the computer, and it installs the proper drivers for your new wireless set.
The keys have a somewhat quieter feel than in another Wireless HP keyboard I have. They are muffled, which is fine, it's just a little different.
Merits:
I appreciate the shortcut keys above the function keys on the keyboard, which will automatically set with the driver installation ( you have to do nothing for them to work); including functions such as: Opening your default browser's homepage, Open Default Email Application, Enable Search, Play/Pause, Volume Controls, Open Calculator and Open Windows Explorer.
I also like that the mouse will totally turn off to save battery(as you'll see in the pictures), as opposed to another HP wireless mouse that I have that just lengthens the frequency of the scan to save on battery; I'm not saying that I don't like the HP, just that I think GearHead's approach is better for battery efficiency. In turn, since just moving the mouse won't wake the mouse, you have to click on one of the mouse buttons.
Mixed Demerits:
One thing that I don't like, and I don't know if it is because of the device, or just the Wi-Fi in my house, is that this Wireless combo operates in the 2.4Ghz range, which is the same for my 802.11g (Wireless G) router...so it creates for some missing characters every once in a blue moon. The farthest you get that USB adapter from your computer's Wireless Antenna....the better.
I moved the USB adapter to another side of the computer, and it seems to behave better now.
I expect as more people switch to the 802.11n this problem will dissipate.
There's nothing that I dislike about my purchase, as said, I think that the sporadic missed key problem is because I have both my Wi-Fi and my wireless keyboard on the same band...I'll try switching channels, see if that changes something.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-6points
Review 2 for Canon PIXMA MP495 Wireless All-in-One Printer with Full HD Movie Print & Mobile Printing

Couldn't be better or easier.

04/06/2011
By ,
green valley az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a no-brainer:
Open box
Remove printer
Connect to power & computer
Run the CD - answer a few questions
Disconnect the computer cable
Print - scan - fax - Copy
After 2 Canon printers (and an Epson, 2 HPs, an NEC, a Fuji and etc.), a Canon personal copier and a CanoScan scanner I decided to get rid of several boxes and cables and get an All-in-One WiFi unit.
Looking a the specs, the MP495 has the same innards (dpi resolution, colors, flexibility) as the more expensive Canons but at $60 it is a steal - the only trade off is raw speed and an on-board screen to play with.
It isn't that much slower and I never use the little screen thingies anyway. Total install time was mebbe 10 minutes and it now sits in a corner of my office, wirelessly printing like crazy and without a glitch, hitch or hiccup.
In my book, you can't beat Canon - of all their products (12+) I've bought over the last 18 years, not one has ever failed.
And no one does images like Canon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+242points
Review 3 for Canon PIXMA MP495 Wireless All-in-One Printer with Full HD Movie Print & Mobile Printing

Wireless N for $59!

10/05/2010
By ,
MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this printer when I needed ink for my aging HP OfficeJet and for $1.03 more than the twin pack of black and color cartridges, I got a wireless printer for my home network.
Setting up this printer was a breeze, connect it to a PC and setup your wifi, then disconnect the cable from the PC. I installed this printer on the 4 computers in the house (2 XP, 1 Windows 7 and 1 Mac) in about 20 minutes.
Overall print speeds are adequate for our needs - light printing. I like that the printer can really be placed anywhere in the house and the kids can print more easily now.
Deciding factors for me for this unit over a comparable HP unit in store was this:
$10 cheaper - ink costs are very comparable
wireless b/g/n - HP was b/g
I have not tried photo printing but I do not do a lot of that. Again, as a basic needs home printer with wireless, this is a no brainer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+197points
Review 4 for Canon PIXMA MP495 Wireless All-in-One Printer with Full HD Movie Print & Mobile Printing

Easy to set up and reliable as a rock

12/12/2010
By ,
Silicon Valley
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This printer was easy to set up. The only thing that seemed weird was that you had to temporarily hook it up to a USB port. Canon's software finds your network type and key automatically. If you use MAC ID filtering you will need to turn it off or manually enter the MAC ID of the printer. Once that's don you remove the USB cable. If you have W7 you will not need to load drivers or anything on other computers using this printer. If you're using XP you will need to load the drivers from the CD.
Text and graphics printing is good.
Photo printing is as good as my 'high end' HP photo printer - without a special photo cartridge!
Scanning is good. Wireless scanning is faster than I expected
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+367points
Review 5 for Canon PIXMA MP495 Wireless All-in-One Printer with Full HD Movie Print & Mobile Printing

mp495 canon all in one printer

03/12/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
buy another brand. I bought this for $59 at wal-mart and it sets up good. appears to scan fast but if you run out of ink in one cartridge (we'll say color, a window pops up and says it will print this in color only and will disable your black only settings #if you are using it. then it prints the pages but w/o any color as your color cartridge is empty and it doesn't allow you to print in black. I talked to the canon workers and they told me its designed to print with two full cartridges. So it ignores your settings, will not print the color/ or black you choose. This is junk, The cartridges color and black cost together) as much as the printer itself. Canon used to be good but they have turned to !!! with this printer. I would definitely avoid buying any canon product as they seem only interested in making money off of you. This is just a junk printer/scanner and mine just got tossed in the trash, and I will be buying a different brand but NOT cannon
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 6 for Canon PIXMA MP495 Wireless All-in-One Printer with Full HD Movie Print & Mobile Printing

Meets Expectations.

02/03/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What a steal for $50. Figure with the ink you are only paying $20 for the printer! Wireless setup was simple. Installed on three home computers and working flawlessly. It has been on for a week and I just printed a document without having to switch the printer on and off like some other models. The only glitch is it takes a few seconds to find the printer from the computer when printing. Just be patient you will have your printout within one whole minute. Not super fast but how can you complain with this bargain!!!! By the way it prints nice and clear. It took me more time to unwrap the darn thing then to set the wireless up! Don't pass it up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+151points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Beaverton, OR
Good deal, less than great photos...
Posted 02/10/2012
Unless I'm doing something wrong, the print quality of the photos isn't great. They're all very dark. I thought it was because I was using regular paper, but they look the same on photo paper :( I tried to go into the setting and find something to adjust, but I've got nothing so far. I'll have to go thru the manual, because right now I'm very disappointed. Everything else about the printer is great: quick & easy set up, fast enough printing speeds, not too noisy, not too big...not too pricey either, we got it for $49 at our local Walmart.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Canon PIXMA MP495 Wireless All-in-One Printer with Full HD Movie Print & Mobile Printing

Love it!

12/16/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros:
1) Nice pictures (not on picture paper) so I can only imagine what it would look like on nice paper.
2) Super fast printing in color.
3) Scans in really well
4) Comes with all the Cords Needed
5) Comes with both inks
6) Cheap
7) I can put 3-6 photos on the scanner, and it will cop each one individually for me so I don't have to do a bunch of editing.
Cons:
1) Wireless set up for a novice could be confusing. With my Windows 7 the screens that popped up were not the same ones in the directions. So I just had to assume which was right. Also I've always called a USB cord well a USB cord, and in the directions they call it a LAN cord, so that was confusing.
2) Using the scanner is a little confusing. You MUST be connected to the printer directly to scan.
3) The Scanner program is not clear. Usually a printer comes with a program...and this one comes with tons of folders, so some reading of the on screen manual is a must.
Overall: I've used the printer only a few times since i got it, and I love it. I've used the scanner a TON scanning in old family photos, and they look great! Keep in mind, your photos are going to look better on a updated PC/Laptop, with a good video card and monitor.
NOTE: as stated in other reviews you MUST plug in the printer during installation even if you are doing it wireless. In the beginning choose wireless set up. Plug in the cord when it tells you to, and when installation is finished, unplug the cord, and try out your new printer :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+44points
Review 8 for Canon PIXMA MP495 Wireless All-in-One Printer with Full HD Movie Print & Mobile Printing

The perfect second printer

10/20/2010
By ,
New York, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Received the printer 1 month ago and have used it almost every day since. An inexpensive ($60) machine that works just fine. Color is great, love the wireless capability. My only complaint is that the ink runs out too quickly. This will be the perfect second printer when I buy a primary printer for all of my papers.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Review 9 for Canon PIXMA MP495 Wireless All-in-One Printer with Full HD Movie Print & Mobile Printing

Great value

12/17/2010
By ,
Greenville, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For less than $50, this product connects wirelessly to your wireless router, contains software that you can load on multiple PC's, has a helpful user manual to assist with setup and configuration (set up is not trivial, but if you follow the instructions, it is fairly smooth), and allows you to send print jobs from anywhere in your house. Prints are good quality. Software is user friendly. Scanner is easy to use. I'm truly amazed that such an all-around good product can be manufactured and delivered to your door for this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Review 10 for Canon PIXMA MP495 Wireless All-in-One Printer with Full HD Movie Print & Mobile Printing

A perfect fit!

01/28/2011
By ,
Fall River, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product was a breeze to setup. The instructions on the setup disc were helpful. The printer produces great quality quick. Also, the "Quiet Mode" setting is great. Just go into your Printers folder, right click on the printer, and open Properties. I found that setting in the "Maintenance" tab.
I highly recommend the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Review 11 for Canon PIXMA MP495 Wireless All-in-One Printer with Full HD Movie Print & Mobile Printing

Good Little Printer

02/07/2011
By ,
Harker Heights, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At a low-end price, this printer has exceeded my expectations. I have an older Canon Pixma at work ( that the front office didn't want ) and it "takes a lickin', and keeps on tickin'". So I thought I would give this guy a try. It's long-term reliability cannot be determined yet. I've only been using it a day or two. The unit arrived promptly as scheduled. It was to be used on a table next to my wife's laptop ( she is mobility restricted ) strictly for USB to local printing. Following the instruction ( and not too closely, I might add ), it was up and running in a matter of a few minutes... And I failed the "Computer for Dummies" class. Deciding to be brave, I reinstalled the software with the wireless configuration, and just like magic, there is was. Amazing! As other have noted, it is a bit noisy, but at 50 bucks I can handle that little quirk. I would recommend this printer for anyone not wanting to shell out a lot of money, and prefer hassle-free set up. Good job Canon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for Canon PIXMA MP495 Wireless All-in-One Printer with Full HD Movie Print & Mobile Printing

Awesome printer at a *great* price

07/05/2011
By ,
seattle, wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This printer is fantastic - I couldn't be happier. I can't believe I got such a deal as the printer was only $60 before tax! I did not have any problems getting the driver installed - you just have to be careful to follow the directions ..exactly..
The printer, from my perception is *fast*. I've read reviews, both personal and professional reviews stating how this isn't the fastest printer but my experience has been it's very fast (it's all about perception, I imagine). Black & White prints out super fast and color jobs take a bit longer but are still very fast.
Another negative that I read about this printer in reviews was it's lack of modern features, such as automatic double sided printing, an LED panel, etc. To be honest, I didn't need nor care for any of that, so it was a moot point for me.
The greatest advantage of this printer is, of course - it's wireless. I can be in a different room and print out stuff and just grab it off the printer when i'm ready. I have scanned documents wirelessly as well - pretty awesome.
I did have random issues with the driver, where at random times when trying to print from a computer - i'd get a "the printer is offline" message. This happened on more then one computer - and even happened on one computer while at the same time - I was able to print from another computer - so i'm guessing it's a driver issue. It is annoying but doesn't happen very often.
Last, the ink. It's an inkjet so you pretty much know it's going to blow through ink pretty fast. Also, there's only one cartridge for the color - so if ink runs low on any color - you have to replace the whole cartridge instead of purchasing only the cartridge for the color you need. Overall though, with the amount of printing i do (not tons), i almost prefer the cost of one cartridge then randomly having to replace any one of three cartridges.
Lastly (ok, this time i mean it - ha), the print output is awesome. I've only used regular paper thus far - but everything is crisp and spot-on.
All in all this is one of the best printer purchases I feel I've ever made - yay!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Review 13 for Canon PIXMA MP495 Wireless All-in-One Printer with Full HD Movie Print & Mobile Printing

Excellent printer

01/06/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this printer for about a month and I love it. The print quality is excellent and it's great to have a wireless printer. Was very easy to set up the wireless connection. The only thing that bothers me is that the top of the printer scratches very easily and is a dust magnent. I highly recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Review 14 for Canon PIXMA MP495 Wireless All-in-One Printer with Full HD Movie Print & Mobile Printing

OverAll Great

12/18/2010
By ,
Mount Orab, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have bought this printer and it is amazing. We have read the reviews and they are opinions. Wireless is only wireless with an router. How else do you want the information to get there? It has to have some type of knowledge or you would need a cord. Have had Canon many years and always have been very happy with Canon. Way btter then Kodak!!! I would recommand to everyone I know and plus more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 15 for Canon PIXMA MP495 Wireless All-in-One Printer with Full HD Movie Print & Mobile Printing

Great product...

02/11/2011
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a tech geek I have purchased, installed and supported every brand of printer out there over the last 15 years. I have to say as a "former" HP supporter, despite various models being complete trash, I have finally found the printer that does what it claims and goes above. The ink cartridges are a bit pricey but the ease of set up and use, along with the amazing print quality for such a low price... I will pay the little extra for the ink. I HIGHLY recommend this printer for home or even small office use. Destroys the competition in my book.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 16 for Canon PIXMA MP495 Wireless All-in-One Printer with Full HD Movie Print & Mobile Printing

Great Value

03/18/2011
By ,
Hammond, LA Southeastern Louisiana University
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read all of the reviews trying to find a wireless printer for my dorm room. I love this printer. easy to set up, i am not using the wireless right now because it takes a router and i dont have access to that on campus but it has the capability, and that is what was important. It also has a quite function, which is awesome.
I recently switched from pc to mac, and have a macbook pro 13". this printer works great with it.
I highly recommend and the price is great. also it comes with both black and color ink in the package:-))
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 17 for Canon PIXMA MP495 Wireless All-in-One Printer with Full HD Movie Print & Mobile Printing

Dont touch MY pixma!

01/23/2011
By ,
troy, ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this wireless printer so I could print downstairs and not have to run upstairs anymore. I am so happy I did. This canon looks like it cost a fortune, Sleek and sexy black with easy to read buttons and easy set up My husband set up both our laptops and I have been printing away ever since. The inexpensive cartridges and the low cost of the printer sold me right away. You get a 5 star printer for a 2 star price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 18 for Canon PIXMA MP495 Wireless All-in-One Printer with Full HD Movie Print & Mobile Printing

NEVER AGAIN HP! I'VE FOUND MY ONE AND ONLY!

08/13/2011
By ,
Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I paid over $120 for an HP printer that I bought at Staples. I fought with that printer on and off for weeks! I couldn't get it to print a simple piece of paper. I was talking about it with the guy at the post office, and he told me to put the paper in the freezer!. I did, and that was the ONLY TIME I got that printer to work....NEVER AGAIN! I'm a picture nut, but more important, I sell Ebay, and not having a printer that works left me dead in the water...so I went to Walmart online to get a printer "to get me through for now"...well I'm in LOVE! It took me less than 1/2 hour to get up and running, and I'm TOTALLY electroncally challenged! I went right to printing a picture and was so pleased I almost kissed the printer! I most likely will never use all the features this printer has, but it's nice to know I have them. CANON, I will never leave you again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for Canon PIXMA MP495 Wireless All-in-One Printer with Full HD Movie Print & Mobile Printing

Love love love it!

12/06/2010
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hate buying stuff like this cause I never know how to set it up, but it was easy and done in ten minutes! Prints like a dream and can't say enough good things about it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 20 for Canon PIXMA MP495 Wireless All-in-One Printer with Full HD Movie Print & Mobile Printing

Eh, its what its worth

02/09/2011
By ,
Lubbock, Tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this because I needed a printer after dealing with the Dell I had and got really irritated with having to keep buying ink. So I bought this Canon for $49.95. It works beautifully! ONCE YOU CAN GET IT TO PAPER FEED! I was trying to print my tax return so I can mail it in, well, it wouldnt paper feed. So after jacking with it for an hour, I decided to jack with it further by feeding the paper backwards...well, the paper isnt strong enough to do that, so I used a credit card to put in the paper feed. I jammed it up there and moved it from side to side to loosen the rollers, and WHAMMO! IT WORKED! Couldnt believe it! So when all else fails, grab an old credit card or ID or some kind of hard thin plastic card and ram it up its paper feed! I cant guarantee it will work for you, but its worth a shot!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
1-20 of 378 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next