Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nesco Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Nesco Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

The Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven has been fixture in the Thanksgiving Day memories of many for generations. This large slow cooking system is capable of roasting a whole turkey up to 22 lbs. This Nesco roaster oven is ideal for baking cookies, cakes, pies, quiche and even whole meals. With the patented "Circle-of-Heat" technology, this roaster oven cooks from the sides instead of the bottom, thereby retaining moisture in the food. The lift-out cooking rack in this stainless steel roaster oven is ideal for removing large cuts of meat or roasted birds. You can cook soups, stews, lasagna, and hot dishes, or steam or poach vegetables, seafood, and poultry easily with this Nesco roaster oven. This stainless steel roaster oven features an automatic temperature control system that makes it energy efficient. It is a dishwasher safe oven making clean up a snap. This Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven is completely portable so you can take it along with you to any family outing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.325 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation82%33 out of 40reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Nesco products a good buy

11/24/2010
By ,
Yuma,AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have purchased several Nesco products in the past and am very pleased with them. This 18-quart roaster oven however, is a disappointment. The quality is sub standard. The cooking well is all wrinkled on the lip that rests on the roaster. If we didn't need it for our Thanksgiving dinner, I would have returned it to the store.
I would hope that this review is shared with Nesco. I am sure that they don't like negative reviews and have inferior products on the market.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Turkey Cooker

12/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like my new Nesco roaster oven. It cooked my turkey faster than the recipe book recommended. I also cooked my dressing in the same pan. It was easy to clean and it has an attractive design.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel
11/21/2010
By ,
Mayflower, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was EXACTLY what I wanted!! Yes, I could probably gotten it cheaper, or a cheaper version at my local store, but they decided not to carry them this year! I was glad to be able to get it for my families Thanksgiving feast! It doesn't heat up the house, and you can set it, and basically forget it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

07/20/2011
By ,
Salem, Oregon
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First thing out of the box, the Roaster Oven would not sit on the table or any other FLAT surface in a level position. There are no adjustments for the legs. A shim was required to use the Roasted Oven. After the “Smoke out”, the next morning, I preheated the Roaster Over and started adding the ingredients for about 17 quarts for an all beef red chili. It was not long before I realized the ring of heat was, in fact only the back and partway along the sides, with little heat in front or from the bottom. Using a deep fat fryer thermometer to spot test the temperature, I found as much as 75F degrees difference from front to back and 50F degrees in the center. A lot of extra string was required to prepare this batch of chili. I would have returned the Roaster Oven unused just because the legs were uneven. I used Roaster Oven for the chili Cook-Off, as I had no other choice. I will not buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Love it!!

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Came in just in time for Thanksgiving. So far all we've cooked is a turkey. Came out great and the main oven was freed up for all the sides. I was amazed to read in the directions all of the other things you can cook in this. It really is like a second oven.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Cooks great!

11/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this for our Thanksgiving turkey and it worked great!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Quality??????

01/07/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased this based on past experience with Nesco. We were excited to be getting a new roaster oven after my granmother's old one finally gave out after several decades. This one looks good in pictures, but when you open the box and see just how thin the metal is for each piece, it will remind you of an easy bake oven. Very disappointed in the overall quality and concerned about longevity. It works fine, but no better than old one. It's about a third as light and my guess is it will dent very easily; and as another reviewer points out, the metal is so thin you can see wrinkles it it from the stamping process.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Very nice roaster...

12/11/2010
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use. I think I like it better than my oven! Really holds the moisture when cooking meat or chicken. Does a great job w/ rolls and bread too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Nice looking but very cheaply made

11/27/2013
By ,
Spring, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ordered 2 roasters for a wedding reception since they looked good enough to serve out of. Received in original, taped and undamaged cartons. When we unpacked them one roaster had a large dent in the side. Time did not allow for an exchange, so had to use as is. When I plugged in the roasters, they smoked a little for about 10 minutes then stopped. We had to use them anyway, but they performed fine and cleaned up well. The stainless is thin and dents easily and does not fit in the frame properly. One of the temperature dials was loose so I pushed it back on and the enamel from the inner liner chipped from the light force, Overall they are very cheaply made, not nearly as durable as their competitors.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Turkey Roaster par excellance

12/01/2010
By ,
Mansfield, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were going to be having the family Thanksgiving at our home this year. With 17 hungry people we needed to be able to cook a large turkey and other items. Our wall oven is only 24". Not larger turkey sized at all. With this roaster we were able to perfectly (according to the family) cook our 19 lb. stuffed turkey. This roaster not only roasts, but slow cooks and bakes. A great buy for any family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven

11/12/2010
By ,
Jacksonville, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I ordered the roaster oven, it said "Porcelain", but when it arrived, it said Stainless Steel. The box actually had a sticker on it that said Porcelain, but the actual box said Stainless Steel. I am not sure this matters, just curious as to the difference. I love the roaster and am looking forward to having it help me prepare a great Thanksgiving dinner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Turkey or Standing Rib Roast

01/02/2011
By ,
Ofallon, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used a Nesco for years to cook the required Thanksgiving and Christmas Turkey, but this year I wanted to do a Turkey and a Standing Rib Roast. It is possible use and oven and fight with the guest that bring in their favorite dish that needs to be heated or you could just use a Nesco and avoid all the trouble. So easy to use and to clean, and think about the power savings of using just the right size cooker! Go green with a Nesco!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel
01/27/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just received my Nesco 18 quart roaster oven and boy do I love it. Cooked two chicken in it and the chickens was so juicy and did not use browning just coated it with olive oil and it was crispy and brown. Can't wait to do a turkey and more dishes. Worth the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Surprised

04/04/2013
By ,
Naples, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was expecting to see a little electric oven roaster, but to my surprise, it was huge. I'm extremely happy with my new roaster oven. I also bought the buffet to go with it. It works really well. Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Performs well.

01/04/2014
By ,
New Rochelle, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an attractive oven that performs very well. We have used it to bake bread and pies.
The initial conditioning is not optional and SHOULD be performed outdoors due to the smoke that is released from the heating coils.
I wish that it included an external lid support hook to enable easier access to the hot oven. We use the oven in our dining room, which is not convenient because the only heatproof surfaces on which to place a hot lid are in the kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Superb roaster oven

09/30/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This oven does more thing than I had ever imagined. It not only bakes, it steams,roasts,cooks and slow cooks. It cleans up very easily. I cooked a 16.8lb stuffed turkey the first time using it, it browned so great, the skin was crispy, and I had never checked it for 4hrs. I didn't need to baste,like in a regular oven. It cames out nice and juicy. I would recommend this to eveyone. I can't wait for the holidays,I will be baking breads in my roaster oven, it will bake 2-3 at a time.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel
12/27/2010
By ,
Nevada
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Burned outside of ham and the inside was cold. So it didn't cook through
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Wish I had Bought this years ago!

11/29/2013
By ,
Champaign, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This roaster worked great. The turkey was tender and juicy. I used the recipe that came
with it which called for browning sauce to be mixed with butter and seasonings and then brushed
on. It yielded a beautiful
golden brown skin. The cookwell cleans easily in the sink and the body is stainless steel
that you just wipe off. Great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Great Roaster!

12/01/2010
By ,
Santa Maria, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I choose this roaster because of the size of turkey it could accommodate. It was the only one that could roast a turkey more than 18 pounds...it can roast a turkey 22 pounds or less. The only problem was with the roasting instructions...the table had a roasting guide that didn't have the same temp as the section labeled Roasting A Turkey. little confusing...I opted for the Roasting a Turkey instuctions instead of using their table for roasting...made for a very dry bird! Next time I will just follow the table & not their recipes in the booklet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nesco 18-Quart Roaster Oven, Stainless Steel

Great in every way!!

12/31/2010
By ,
Grosse Tete, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used this thing for everything from baking biscuits to roasting turkeys. It doesn't heat up the house like our stove's oven and always cooks evenly. The only problem I've had with it was self induced and a learning experience. The first time I used it, I didn't use the rack under the pan and had a hard time getting the pan out without burning my hands. I eventually used a pair of pliers, but the included rack makes removing hot dishes a snap.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next