Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nine Stars Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Nine Stars Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Keep your home neat and good-looking with the Nine Stars Touchless Automatic Motion Sensor Trash Can Combo Set. This combo set includes a large can for the kitchen and a smaller one for a bathroom, bedroom, or office. With infrared motion sensor, the two trash cans offer touch-free operation for added convenience. Touch-free operation not only eliminates cross-contamination of germs, but the inconvenience of having to open the cans manually as well. The motion sensor is water-resistant, so you can use these Nine Stars touchless trash cans to dispose juice cartons too. Not only do these trash cans provide a place to dump all your waste, but also seal in the odor completely. Made of commercial-grade stainless steel, each trash can operates on 4D batteries and helps in keeping your home clutter-free. These stainless steel trash cans together let you dump in up to 15gallons of waste.
Average Customer Rating:
4.473 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(393 Reviews) 298
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
271
4 stars
85
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation92%359 out of 391reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 109 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
271
4 stars
85
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Sensor Did Not Work Good?

12/17/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not sure if it's just the one I got, but the sensor did not work well and had to push the button. Returned the product within days. I called for support and little to no help.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Very good trash cans, with just a few suggestions

08/31/2013
By ,
Okinawa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, we really like these trash cans, and for the price, are glad we bought them. My only two issues are minor, and some will say too picky, however, they did ask for feedback!
I would have rated these trash cans five star except for two issues:
1. The sensor doesn't always pick up right away, and sometimes we have to stop and waive our hand closer to it. On the flip side of that, quite amusingly, the lid opens frequently when we just walk by.
2. It automatically closes, whether you're blocking the sensor or not. In other words, if we're scraping a plate into the trash, even if we are standing directly over the sensor, it frequently closes onto the plate we're scraping. There is a manual "open" button that stops this from happening, but I do know the technology exists to adjust that with the infrared.
Like I said, two fairly picky points. We've only had them about two weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pennsylvania
Posted 03/04/2014
I agree 100% with MommyA2. I don't feel it's too picky to wonder about the lid not staying open till you get done scrapping a plate. I also had the problem of the lid not opening when I waved my hand over it & then opening when there was motion near it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Save your dogs life!

04/11/2011
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because my Lab couldn't always resist the temptation of helping herself to leftovers that were dumped out. One night she got a mouth full of tooth picks and we almost had to take her to the Vet hospital! She finally let us yank all of them out and she recovered very well...But the scare of it all!!!! I ordered this the next day and had it here in 3 days. Excellent product, looks great and works great. It is tall enough that she can't even see down inside of it when the lid is open. She has NOT accidently tripped the sensor which I was a little worried about. In fact, it holds the food odor in so well that she doesn't even have an interest in it. I love, love, love this set of cans and would definately recommend them to anyone and everyone! Keeping my dog safe is an added bonus...Thanks for a great product!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

A Treasure for Trash

03/03/2011
By ,
Saint Paul, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently purchased our 2nd Nine Stars 13 gallon trash can to have one on both floors our home. The stainless steel construction is sturdy, looks good, and cleans up easily. The touchless automatic lid opening and closing feature is both practical and fun. The tight sealing lid locks in unpleasant odors. We get about 6-9 months use from a set of batteries. This was a great value from Walmart with the additional 2 gallon trash can ordered on site to store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Was exactly what I wanted.

04/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks great and works well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Great Value

04/09/2014
By ,
Sun City Center, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the automatic opener on these stainless trash cans. I placed the 13 gallon at the end of the kitchen island and everytime I walked by, it opened. Being almost 6 feet tall, I guess my hips were just at the right height to open the lid when I walked by. So, now the can has been placed against a wall in the corner and it's great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Nice to match stainless steel appliances

04/03/2014
By ,
new haven, ct
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I brought this set as a gift for my parents and they love it so far. I wish that it came with rechargeable batteries or a cord to plug it in. The price of batteries can add up after a while. We will see how long they last.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Love these cans!

04/01/2014
By ,
Phenix City, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These cans really look great and work well. We love the motion sensors and the price can't be beat. The one drawback is putting a bag in the small one is a bit difficult since it's made to not need one but since I have it in the bathroom I want a bag in it. Other than that we are very pleased with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Excellent Product

03/28/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

exactly what i was looking for!

03/28/2014
By ,
Sewell, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perfect
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Lids Break

08/13/2011
By ,
Michigan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Since I purchased this trash can 3 years ago, I have had to replace the lid twice. The plastic hinges crack after about 18 months. It would be nice if Nine Star would sell just the plastic "flipper lid", but instead you must purchase the entire lid unit which costs from $32 to $37. I have purchased two lids and now my third one has broken as well. If I would buy my third lid I will have spent twice the price of a new trash can.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Looks Good

04/08/2011
By ,
Atlanta, Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this item simply because of the fact that I wouldn't have to touch the trash can for it to open. Got it home, installed the batteries, waved my hand and it DID NOT open. The open/close button works only if the switch is powered on. The trash can has to be directly under bright light for the sensor to pick up motion. I have a brightly lightened kitchen but unless I want the trash can to sit directly in the middle of the floor, I will continue to use the manual open/close button. Other than that, it looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Excellent product!

03/20/2014
By ,
Culver City, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it! Very clean looking and feeling. So far good battery life, no malfunctions.
I got the bundle of both size bins and it was an excellent value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Great if yoy need to have a hands free Trash Can

03/14/2014
By ,
S. Centeral Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Order Number: 2677290-26444
The Trash Cans arrived Yesterday. I was sent a repackaged Product, which I Normally wouldn't mind, but there is a Dent in the large Can. If the Dent was in the Back I would Have No Problem, but the Dent is in the Front.
Walmart should have inspected this product before Shipping. This should have been Identified as a second, and price as a a product with a minor defect.
DFP
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Nice trash can

03/20/2014
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what we were looking for. We weren't sure how we would like the automatic opening lid, but it works like a charm.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Great look and price!

03/14/2014
By ,
Largo, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely love this trash can. The shape is great, it allows for me to fill it all the way. My other trash can was tall, narrow and round, so it was had to fill bag out and be able to remove it from can. I have been looking online for months, I only wish I would of purchased sooner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Great combo for anyone

03/15/2014
By ,
Summerville,SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a combo of a large and small trash can for my house and Walmart had it! I use the smaller one in a bathroom downstairs and the larger one in the kitchen. I would recommend this combo for anyone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Looks gr8 BUT....

03/11/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It looks gr8... Exactly as shown in the pic BUT... the lid only stays up about two seconds before closing, barely enough time to empty your dust pan.... Also... The sensor at my house at least... Works whenever it feels like it... There has been far too many days where I have to physically lift the lid with my hand... Which totally defeats the purpose of having a motion sensor...
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Great Buy!~ Well worth it!~

09/14/2011
By ,
Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm really happy with my purchase. It look fabulous and makes my kitchen really stand out. When people come over just make sure to warn them how it works before hand. When I have people over they are always trying to open it or can't figure it out"lol" Once I show them how it works they are really impressed and are amazed. We have had it for about 6 months and use it quite frequently and only have had to change out battery once. The only & do mean only downfall for me is that it takes a little longer to open then I would like it to "since I'm always in a hurry" I like thing to move fast as I do but overall it is a great product... You will love it!~
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Love this product

02/01/2014
By ,
Little Rock
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works like a charm new shape makes it easier to remove full trash bags. Love it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 299 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next