Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nine Stars Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Nine Stars Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Keep your home neat and good-looking with the Nine Stars Touchless Automatic Motion Sensor Trash Can Combo Set. This combo set includes a large can for the kitchen and a smaller one for a bathroom, bedroom, or office. With infrared motion sensor, the two trash cans offer touch-free operation for added convenience. Touch-free operation not only eliminates cross-contamination of germs, but the inconvenience of having to open the cans manually as well. The motion sensor is water-resistant, so you can use these Nine Stars touchless trash cans to dispose juice cartons too. Not only do these trash cans provide a place to dump all your waste, but also seal in the odor completely. Made of commercial-grade stainless steel, each trash can operates on 4D batteries and helps in keeping your home clutter-free. These stainless steel trash cans together let you dump in up to 15gallons of waste.
Average Customer Rating:
4.461 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(425 Reviews) 330
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
293
4 stars
91
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation91%387 out of 423reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 115 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
293
4 stars
91
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Sensor Did Not Work Good?

12/17/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not sure if it's just the one I got, but the sensor did not work well and had to push the button. Returned the product within days. I called for support and little to no help.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Very good trash cans, with just a few suggestions

08/31/2013
By ,
Okinawa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, we really like these trash cans, and for the price, are glad we bought them. My only two issues are minor, and some will say too picky, however, they did ask for feedback!
I would have rated these trash cans five star except for two issues:
1. The sensor doesn't always pick up right away, and sometimes we have to stop and waive our hand closer to it. On the flip side of that, quite amusingly, the lid opens frequently when we just walk by.
2. It automatically closes, whether you're blocking the sensor or not. In other words, if we're scraping a plate into the trash, even if we are standing directly over the sensor, it frequently closes onto the plate we're scraping. There is a manual "open" button that stops this from happening, but I do know the technology exists to adjust that with the infrared.
Like I said, two fairly picky points. We've only had them about two weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pennsylvania
Posted 03/04/2014
I agree 100% with MommyA2. I don't feel it's too picky to wonder about the lid not staying open till you get done scrapping a plate. I also had the problem of the lid not opening when I waved my hand over it & then opening when there was motion near it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Save your dogs life!

04/11/2011
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because my Lab couldn't always resist the temptation of helping herself to leftovers that were dumped out. One night she got a mouth full of tooth picks and we almost had to take her to the Vet hospital! She finally let us yank all of them out and she recovered very well...But the scare of it all!!!! I ordered this the next day and had it here in 3 days. Excellent product, looks great and works great. It is tall enough that she can't even see down inside of it when the lid is open. She has NOT accidently tripped the sensor which I was a little worried about. In fact, it holds the food odor in so well that she doesn't even have an interest in it. I love, love, love this set of cans and would definately recommend them to anyone and everyone! Keeping my dog safe is an added bonus...Thanks for a great product!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Broke the 1st week of having it

08/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Broke the 1st week I had it! Wouldn't open up with sensor
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Great price on walmart.com;loved the functionality

09/18/2014
By ,
West Caldwell, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Loved the product and the functionality. Kitchen trash can lasted longer than the smaller one for the bathroom. Smaller one died after replacing batteries once. Kitchen can lasted a while longer but the lid mechanism broke and there is no replacement option. Warranty is only for 30 days and it will last much longer than that. Mine finally died when the lid mechanism broke (plastic parts) but that was after several years. Replacement is more expensive now.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Hands free.....

09/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second set of cans like this for me. I really liked mine so I purchased a set for my daughter. The appearance, the price, quality and free shipping made this even better. Like just having the can open automatically; its kind of fun to have it pop open.
Would definetly recommend the product and to purchase from Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

A Treasure for Trash

03/03/2011
By ,
Saint Paul, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently purchased our 2nd Nine Stars 13 gallon trash can to have one on both floors our home. The stainless steel construction is sturdy, looks good, and cleans up easily. The touchless automatic lid opening and closing feature is both practical and fun. The tight sealing lid locks in unpleasant odors. We get about 6-9 months use from a set of batteries. This was a great value from Walmart with the additional 2 gallon trash can ordered on site to store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

I love the automatic trash can

09/08/2014
By ,
wv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had an automatic trash can for the last 10 yrs. It is really the way to go. Our last one was the really slim one, I like this kind better. the small one is perfect for the bath if you have dogs that like to eat the trash. the color of the grey top blends in w/stainless appliances . Not a big expense for what you get. as we have just got this one I can't say about durability, but our last one was made by same company and lasted about 7 years
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

AWESOME TRASH CAN!!!!

09/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE IT!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

I love this product.

09/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This trash combo set has replaced the plastic trash can and plastic recycle can that I had in my kitchen corner. They look so much better and I'm having fun with the automatic opening and closing! I just want to see how long the batteries last, otherwise I just love this product and would highly recommend it to anyone looking to replace those ugly, can't keep them clean, plastic trash cans in your house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Great product

09/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

The 2 gallon can

07/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The 13 gallon trash can is fine, but the 2 gallon trash can did not work when it arrived. I sent a e-mail to NINE STARS and received instructions to check it. I followed the instructions and it did not fix anything, I sent another e-mail to Nine Stars and received the same instructions that I had received before. I wrote that this did not fix the problem. They responded with only the same e-mail that did not address my problem or the model of trash can. I did receive a RMA. Even it did address my model I returned the trash can to Nine Stars. At a cost of $12.50 for shipping the package by USPS. I am still waiting for a workable small trash can. Nine Stars has not been helpful. The added cost, the added work, does not make this a good purchase. Thank you for asking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Great product

08/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far have nothing but good things to say about these garbage cans. Grandkids think they are totally cool. Love them.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Lids Break

08/13/2011
By ,
Michigan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Since I purchased this trash can 3 years ago, I have had to replace the lid twice. The plastic hinges crack after about 18 months. It would be nice if Nine Star would sell just the plastic "flipper lid", but instead you must purchase the entire lid unit which costs from $32 to $37. I have purchased two lids and now my third one has broken as well. If I would buy my third lid I will have spent twice the price of a new trash can.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Good Buy

08/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The sensor is very accurate. This is a helpful item to have in the kitchen so that you don't have to touch garbage while preparing food.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Looks Good

04/08/2011
By ,
Atlanta, Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this item simply because of the fact that I wouldn't have to touch the trash can for it to open. Got it home, installed the batteries, waved my hand and it DID NOT open. The open/close button works only if the switch is powered on. The trash can has to be directly under bright light for the sensor to pick up motion. I have a brightly lightened kitchen but unless I want the trash can to sit directly in the middle of the floor, I will continue to use the manual open/close button. Other than that, it looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Good so far!

08/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this about a week. The only problem I have is that I could not put the trash can under a counter top. It is just a over hang of the counter but the sensor detects the counter so I had to find another place for the can. Other than that it is a nice trash can!
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

GREAT

08/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Great Buy!~ Well worth it!~

09/14/2011
By ,
Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm really happy with my purchase. It look fabulous and makes my kitchen really stand out. When people come over just make sure to warn them how it works before hand. When I have people over they are always trying to open it or can't figure it out"lol" Once I show them how it works they are really impressed and are amazed. We have had it for about 6 months and use it quite frequently and only have had to change out battery once. The only & do mean only downfall for me is that it takes a little longer to open then I would like it to "since I'm always in a hurry" I like thing to move fast as I do but overall it is a great product... You will love it!~
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Love these sensory operated trashcans!

08/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No hands needed to put trash in trash can. No more bags seen folded over lid of can. Very nice, convenient trashcan that I actually don't mind seeing in my kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 331 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next