Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nine Stars Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Nine Stars Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Keep your home neat and good-looking with the Nine Stars Touchless Automatic Motion Sensor Trash Can Combo Set. This combo set includes a large can for the kitchen and a smaller one for a bathroom, bedroom, or office. With infrared motion sensor, the two trash cans offer touch-free operation for added convenience. Touch-free operation not only eliminates cross-contamination of germs, but the inconvenience of having to open the cans manually as well. The motion sensor is water-resistant, so you can use these Nine Stars touchless trash cans to dispose juice cartons too. Not only do these trash cans provide a place to dump all your waste, but also seal in the odor completely. Made of commercial-grade stainless steel, each trash can operates on 3 C  and helps in keeping your home clutter-free. These stainless steel trash cans together let you dump in up to 15gallons of waste.
Average Customer Rating:
4.46 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(437 Reviews) 342
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
301
4 stars
94
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation91%398 out of 435reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 116 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
301
4 stars
94
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Sensor Did Not Work Good?

12/17/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not sure if it's just the one I got, but the sensor did not work well and had to push the button. Returned the product within days. I called for support and little to no help.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Very good trash cans, with just a few suggestions

08/31/2013
By ,
Okinawa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, we really like these trash cans, and for the price, are glad we bought them. My only two issues are minor, and some will say too picky, however, they did ask for feedback!
I would have rated these trash cans five star except for two issues:
1. The sensor doesn't always pick up right away, and sometimes we have to stop and waive our hand closer to it. On the flip side of that, quite amusingly, the lid opens frequently when we just walk by.
2. It automatically closes, whether you're blocking the sensor or not. In other words, if we're scraping a plate into the trash, even if we are standing directly over the sensor, it frequently closes onto the plate we're scraping. There is a manual "open" button that stops this from happening, but I do know the technology exists to adjust that with the infrared.
Like I said, two fairly picky points. We've only had them about two weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pennsylvania
Posted 03/04/2014
I agree 100% with MommyA2. I don't feel it's too picky to wonder about the lid not staying open till you get done scrapping a plate. I also had the problem of the lid not opening when I waved my hand over it & then opening when there was motion near it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Save your dogs life!

04/11/2011
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because my Lab couldn't always resist the temptation of helping herself to leftovers that were dumped out. One night she got a mouth full of tooth picks and we almost had to take her to the Vet hospital! She finally let us yank all of them out and she recovered very well...But the scare of it all!!!! I ordered this the next day and had it here in 3 days. Excellent product, looks great and works great. It is tall enough that she can't even see down inside of it when the lid is open. She has NOT accidently tripped the sensor which I was a little worried about. In fact, it holds the food odor in so well that she doesn't even have an interest in it. I love, love, love this set of cans and would definately recommend them to anyone and everyone! Keeping my dog safe is an added bonus...Thanks for a great product!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Good buy overall

10/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My main reason for purchasing these trash cans was to keep my dog out of the garbage. The larger one serves this purpose perfectly. The smaller one is so low to the floor that he is able to get his nose over the sensor and open it. It seems to have deterred him though, I think maybe the lid came down on his snout and scared him.
Now for the functionality. The sensor is more sensitive than I had hoped. I have a small kitchen and little space to put a trash can. Every time I walk by it, the lid goes up. This is a little annoying but more so, I think the battery life will suffer. It would be great to have a sensitivity adjustment.
I would definitely recommend this product. I would also recommend that Nine Stars do something to adjust the sensitivity.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

GOOD PRODUCT SO FAR

10/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good price for both items with nice appearance; and the motion censor is great so you don't touch a duty trash can.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Love it!

10/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I smile every time I wave my hand to drop something in. Sooo much more hygienic than having to lift up & close the grubby lid it replaced. And great value too. Especially with the companion bathroom bin. I'd give it 9 stars like its name!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

love this..

10/27/2014
By ,
White House, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Germ free..convenient..and stylish..love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

A Treasure for Trash

03/03/2011
By ,
Saint Paul, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently purchased our 2nd Nine Stars 13 gallon trash can to have one on both floors our home. The stainless steel construction is sturdy, looks good, and cleans up easily. The touchless automatic lid opening and closing feature is both practical and fun. The tight sealing lid locks in unpleasant odors. We get about 6-9 months use from a set of batteries. This was a great value from Walmart with the additional 2 gallon trash can ordered on site to store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Broke the 1st week of having it

08/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Broke the 1st week I had it! Wouldn't open up with sensor
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Nine Stars Trash Can

10/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great item would buy another one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

I don't know

10/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It clearly says trash cans operate on 4 D batteries and they use C batteries, so I don't know if I like it or not. I have a lot of D batteries though!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Very nice product

10/13/2014
By ,
Canonsburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought these and they are working very well so far. They look very nice and clean, and the automatic open and close also helps keep them clean!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Very good.

10/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything is very professional.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Lids Break

08/13/2011
By ,
Michigan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Since I purchased this trash can 3 years ago, I have had to replace the lid twice. The plastic hinges crack after about 18 months. It would be nice if Nine Star would sell just the plastic "flipper lid", but instead you must purchase the entire lid unit which costs from $32 to $37. I have purchased two lids and now my third one has broken as well. If I would buy my third lid I will have spent twice the price of a new trash can.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Looks Good

04/08/2011
By ,
Atlanta, Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this item simply because of the fact that I wouldn't have to touch the trash can for it to open. Got it home, installed the batteries, waved my hand and it DID NOT open. The open/close button works only if the switch is powered on. The trash can has to be directly under bright light for the sensor to pick up motion. I have a brightly lightened kitchen but unless I want the trash can to sit directly in the middle of the floor, I will continue to use the manual open/close button. Other than that, it looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

i bought one some time ago, now i give it somes

10/07/2014
By ,
phoenix az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exelent product now i give it any time to a frends and relatives
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Great Buy!~ Well worth it!~

09/14/2011
By ,
Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm really happy with my purchase. It look fabulous and makes my kitchen really stand out. When people come over just make sure to warn them how it works before hand. When I have people over they are always trying to open it or can't figure it out"lol" Once I show them how it works they are really impressed and are amazed. We have had it for about 6 months and use it quite frequently and only have had to change out battery once. The only & do mean only downfall for me is that it takes a little longer to open then I would like it to "since I'm always in a hurry" I like thing to move fast as I do but overall it is a great product... You will love it!~
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Great price on walmart.com;loved the functionality

09/18/2014
By ,
West Caldwell, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Loved the product and the functionality. Kitchen trash can lasted longer than the smaller one for the bathroom. Smaller one died after replacing batteries once. Kitchen can lasted a while longer but the lid mechanism broke and there is no replacement option. Warranty is only for 30 days and it will last much longer than that. Mine finally died when the lid mechanism broke (plastic parts) but that was after several years. Replacement is more expensive now.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Well made product

09/23/2014
By ,
Reisterstown, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have only had these units for about 2 weeks, but as a replacement for another older can that was failing, this one is very good. Happy with this purchase. I would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Good product...great value

09/21/2014
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had a foot pedal can which failed. In looking for the replacement, we screened a lot of automatic options. The cost, operation, and function all exceed our expectations, and getting two cans (one small for office) was a great value. Thanks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 343 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next