Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nine Stars Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Nine Stars Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Keep your home neat and good-looking with the Nine Stars Touchless Automatic Motion Sensor Trash Can Combo Set. This combo set includes a large can for the kitchen and a smaller one for a bathroom, bedroom, or office. With infrared motion sensor, the two trash cans offer touch-free operation for added convenience. Touch-free operation not only eliminates cross-contamination of germs, but the inconvenience of having to open the cans manually as well. The motion sensor is water-resistant, so you can use these Nine Stars touchless trash cans to dispose juice cartons too. Not only do these trash cans provide a place to dump all your waste, but also seal in the odor completely. Made of commercial-grade stainless steel, each trash can operates on 3 C  and helps in keeping your home clutter-free. These stainless steel trash cans together let you dump in up to 15gallons of waste.
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(456 Reviews) 361
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
316
4 stars
97
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
26
Customer Recommendation92%416 out of 454reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 119 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
316
4 stars
97
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
26
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Sensor Did Not Work Good?

12/17/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not sure if it's just the one I got, but the sensor did not work well and had to push the button. Returned the product within days. I called for support and little to no help.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Very good trash cans, with just a few suggestions

08/31/2013
By ,
Okinawa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, we really like these trash cans, and for the price, are glad we bought them. My only two issues are minor, and some will say too picky, however, they did ask for feedback!
I would have rated these trash cans five star except for two issues:
1. The sensor doesn't always pick up right away, and sometimes we have to stop and waive our hand closer to it. On the flip side of that, quite amusingly, the lid opens frequently when we just walk by.
2. It automatically closes, whether you're blocking the sensor or not. In other words, if we're scraping a plate into the trash, even if we are standing directly over the sensor, it frequently closes onto the plate we're scraping. There is a manual "open" button that stops this from happening, but I do know the technology exists to adjust that with the infrared.
Like I said, two fairly picky points. We've only had them about two weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pennsylvania
Posted 03/04/2014
I agree 100% with MommyA2. I don't feel it's too picky to wonder about the lid not staying open till you get done scrapping a plate. I also had the problem of the lid not opening when I waved my hand over it & then opening when there was motion near it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Save your dogs life!

04/11/2011
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because my Lab couldn't always resist the temptation of helping herself to leftovers that were dumped out. One night she got a mouth full of tooth picks and we almost had to take her to the Vet hospital! She finally let us yank all of them out and she recovered very well...But the scare of it all!!!! I ordered this the next day and had it here in 3 days. Excellent product, looks great and works great. It is tall enough that she can't even see down inside of it when the lid is open. She has NOT accidently tripped the sensor which I was a little worried about. In fact, it holds the food odor in so well that she doesn't even have an interest in it. I love, love, love this set of cans and would definately recommend them to anyone and everyone! Keeping my dog safe is an added bonus...Thanks for a great product!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Lids Break

08/13/2011
By ,
Michigan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Since I purchased this trash can 3 years ago, I have had to replace the lid twice. The plastic hinges crack after about 18 months. It would be nice if Nine Star would sell just the plastic "flipper lid", but instead you must purchase the entire lid unit which costs from $32 to $37. I have purchased two lids and now my third one has broken as well. If I would buy my third lid I will have spent twice the price of a new trash can.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

A Treasure for Trash

03/03/2011
By ,
Saint Paul, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently purchased our 2nd Nine Stars 13 gallon trash can to have one on both floors our home. The stainless steel construction is sturdy, looks good, and cleans up easily. The touchless automatic lid opening and closing feature is both practical and fun. The tight sealing lid locks in unpleasant odors. We get about 6-9 months use from a set of batteries. This was a great value from Walmart with the additional 2 gallon trash can ordered on site to store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Looks Good

04/08/2011
By ,
Atlanta, Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this item simply because of the fact that I wouldn't have to touch the trash can for it to open. Got it home, installed the batteries, waved my hand and it DID NOT open. The open/close button works only if the switch is powered on. The trash can has to be directly under bright light for the sensor to pick up motion. I have a brightly lightened kitchen but unless I want the trash can to sit directly in the middle of the floor, I will continue to use the manual open/close button. Other than that, it looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Great Buy!~ Well worth it!~

09/14/2011
By ,
Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm really happy with my purchase. It look fabulous and makes my kitchen really stand out. When people come over just make sure to warn them how it works before hand. When I have people over they are always trying to open it or can't figure it out"lol" Once I show them how it works they are really impressed and are amazed. We have had it for about 6 months and use it quite frequently and only have had to change out battery once. The only & do mean only downfall for me is that it takes a little longer to open then I would like it to "since I'm always in a hurry" I like thing to move fast as I do but overall it is a great product... You will love it!~
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Disappointed

10/07/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bathroom one is great. Kitechen on is great EXCEPT for one problem with the sensor. I put the kitchen one in the only place it can go, but it's a high traffic area. The can opens every time someone walk by. I read the reviews before purchasing these and didn't see this issue with anyone else. I may return them.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Great value, perfect for young kids

12/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let me first say that I do not typically write reviews. They tend to be unhelpful because some people write a review when they get home and open the box. When I read a review, I do not care how your package was damaged. That is a truck delivery issue and not a product review. I also do not like reviews that say whether or not the product is great after 2 hours of receiving it. Big deal. My reason for buying a product is: over time, how does it hold up?
Saying all that, my family loves the touchless trashcans, especially the larger model. In the kitchen, we are frequently with dirty hands or messy from mixing eggs, wiping runny kids noses, etc. How freeing to only move your hand in front of the sensor so we don't have to touch the trash can.
The ONLY downside I would see, and this is just an FYI, is that we need to remember not to move our hands away from the sensor when dumping several things into the can. The can closes on you while you are dumping. But, no matter, it is not heavy. It opens right up.
I purchased the cans in August 2014 and have not replaced the batteries in either model.
We are thankful for this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Hands free trash-cans

09/26/2011
By ,
New Orleans, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cans themselves are of good size and durability for what is to be expected....the 'lids' however seem to be pretty cheaply made and the openings for you to deposit your tash are a little smaller than I would like. They require quite a few batteries and I am not sure how long the battery life will be. Over all I am satisfied and with the comments above would still recommend them to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

OK, but get'r on Sale

12/26/2011
By ,
Washington DC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
13 gallon trash bags fit it perfectly - no problem. Although it looks good, durability will be a challenge -- it doesn't appear like it will last more than a couple of years of continual use, so GET IT ON SALE. Plan ahead and get some batteries in advance. If the sensor ever goes out, I'll throw the whole thing away since the top is difficult to open manually. The opening on the top is smaller than the entire opening, but fits a paper plate nicely. Again... find it on sale and good luck with it for the long-haul.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel
09/10/2011
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value and durability. With 2 trash tins great. When shipped dents are on the larger can. Second set same but pushed majority of dents out, a few left I can live with. Need to find a better way of shipping whereby there are no dents.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Nice trash cans

07/29/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
These are nice trash cans: a bigger one (we use in the kitchen) and a smaller one (we use in the bathroom). They look nice and work well for the most part. Sometimes it takes a bit of hand-waving before the sensor opens the lid for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Great Trash

08/16/2011
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kind of expensive for a trash and we haven't really had a place for the little trash since it is very small. I am happy with the product though. It looks great, however many people that visit have no idea how to use it and they try to grab the tiny handle and open it, it gives us a good laugh every time. The batteries seem to last forever. We got it because my son would throw his toys away in the "open" trash, now he doesn't ever throw anything away. It is pretty quiet and easy to dump. It does hold any smells in so when the lid opens it kind of blows it into the air.... all the reason to dump the trash!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

broke after 6 months

06/03/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's a good product for only 6 months... Poor quality is truly disappointing. After 6-month of regular use, the trash can just can't be closed. Even with the power turned off, the trash can can't be closed manually. Waste of money!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Lid doesn't open

06/18/2011
By ,
GREAT FALLS,MT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
They look great,the little one works good-but the lid on the big one doesn't open at all.We will have to return them.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

This attractive duo fit our needs perfectly!

02/17/2013
By ,
Alton, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looked at a few trash cans in stores and decided to look on-line before making a purchase. I was delighted to find this duo at a price that was far more reasonable than many single kitchen trash cans. We did not want to take up precious under the counter space for a trash can, and this slim-line, automatic model is a very attractive alternative that we have been delighted with.
I was not thrilled with NineStar's gaudy silver logo shining up on the top of the smaller trash can, but my clever husband made it virtually disappear by spray painting it black to match the top of the can. Also, the site originally listed a fairly quick delivery date. After I placed the order, the date for the site to store delivery was given as a whole week later. We weren't happy about that, but were willing to deal with it since it seemed like a good value. I am delighted to say that the product was delivered to our local WalMart by the first date posted!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

It Works For Me

12/26/2011
By ,
HOUSTON, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works for me. No one has to touch it. You just wave your hand over the sensor and it opens sometime and sometimes it does not depending on the lighting where the item is located. The small can takes the bigger batteries (D) while the larger can takes the smaller batteries (C).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel
11/22/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The small waste basket does not open very wide. It is annoying to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nine Stars 13-Gallon Slim / 2-Gallon Trash Can Combo Set, Stainless Steel

Broke the 1st week of having it

08/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Broke the 1st week I had it! Wouldn't open up with sensor
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 362 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next