Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA 7" Portable TV, RTV86073

RCA RCA 7" Portable TV, RTV86073

The RCA 7-inch Portable TV allows you to watch your favorite shows on the go. It comes with a built-in ATSC digital/NTSC analog tuner that allows for both kinds of inputs making the RTV86073 widely compatible. Further, the Digital LCD TV has a 7" widescreen display, a detachable antenna, flip-out stand, AC power adapter, rechargeable battery, and full-function remote control. The RCA RTV86073 also features parental control to keep kids from meddling it. The built-in speakers are ideal for public viewing whereas the standard headphone jack lets you use the portable digital television with privacy. Ideal for tailgating, camping, vacation, your deck or the office, you can use this RCA TV anywhere where you can get a TV signal.
Average Customer Rating:
3.408 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(331 Reviews) 298
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
118
4 stars
82
3 stars
24
2 stars
31
1 star
76
Customer Recommendation65%214 out of 331reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
84 Questions | 491 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
118
4 stars
82
3 stars
24
2 stars
31
1 star
76
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for RCA 7" Portable TV, RTV86073

Nice TV

07/07/2011
By ,
Harrisburg Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this yesterday and can get 7 channels in my area. Depending where I am inside my house one is clearer than others. I live about 10 miles from a TV Station that comes in clear.I may invest in a better antenna. Not a bad TV for 60 bucks !!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for RCA 7" Portable TV, RTV86073

Portable Digital TV

05/30/2011
By ,
35205
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor reception indoors. Wanted it for an emergency TV to watch weather from safe place during a storm. Could not get reception. I don't necessarly think it is the RCA TV but rather the digital technology.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for RCA 7" Portable TV, RTV86073

They say it is portable, but.....

12/21/2010
By ,
Coastal Central Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I live less than 30 miles from Tampa, in a very flat area....no buildings more than 2 stories. With a rooftop antenna, I get 27 channels on my regular TVs. With this "portable" antenna and TV, I got 2. When I hooked it up to my rooftop antenna, surprise..... 27 channels. It's a good little TV, if you connect it to a big permanent antenna. "Portable"? No. It went back to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for RCA 7" Portable TV, RTV86073
06/23/2011
By ,
duluth, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product for a low price. Picks up all digital channels in the area and even an analog channel from 130 miles away. doesnt stay charged for very long but worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for RCA 7" Portable TV, RTV86073

Clear picture!

06/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect to attach to our elliptical. Recharges fast. Free TV in our area gives us all the local channels. Cable can be easily attached. I am very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for RCA 7" Portable TV, RTV86073
07/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the TV for my motorhome. I simply hooked up my motorhome antenna to the unit and did a station scan. Bingo. It's a great TV at great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for RCA 7" Portable TV, RTV86073
12/03/2010
By ,
Dallas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very impressed with this product just wish it had a dvd player attached.However the pic show's very good and it pics up great reception...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for RCA 7" Portable TV, RTV86073

TV

08/21/2011
By ,
Collinsville,OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
To be a truly portable it wouldn't need an external antenna.
For the price and exceptional performance, it's really a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for RCA 7" Portable TV, RTV86073

Great to keep in the car

05/31/2011
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good unit to keep in the car for those times you are stuck waiting on people or picnicing or camping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for RCA 7" Portable TV, RTV86073

Needs additonal antenna

08/11/2011
By ,
Gulfport, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
--> I purchased this portable TV as part of my hurricane kit, in the very likely event we lost electricity. [I had a SONY TV in my hurricane kit before they changed analog/digital TV stations and it worked great] I expected similar results with this TV & the enclosed antenna and was bitterly disappointed.
--> In the Tampa Bay area, we have many TV station transmitters within a 10-20 mile radius of my home. One is less than 5 miles away from me. I picked up 1 station using the enclosed indoor antenna and it was a totally useless frozen pixilated image. That cheapo antenna should be discontinued or RCA should make a serviceable/workable functional antenna, an option at time of TV purchase.
---> *** NOTE: The reception with cable TV is wonderful *** However during a hurricane I anticipate not having cable available, especially if I'm hiding in my ''safe'' room, an interior bathroom or camped outside post hurricane & the cable line does not reach that far. So be prepared to for an additional purchase of an indoor antenna if your not connected to cable.
---> It's nice to have a rechargeable TV, however once the battery is spent, without electricity, I am SOL in an emergency situation. I'd recommend it as a good non-emergency portable TV attached to cable. I would NOT recommend it this TV as part of an emergency kit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for RCA 7" Portable TV, RTV86073
05/31/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is a great little tv and well worth the money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for RCA 7" Portable TV, RTV86073

Not as advertised

07/19/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm sick of paying for tv's and finding out they don't show all the stations that I have on my regular tv at home. I would at least think you could get the major network stations like ABC, NBC and CBS, but they don't. I don't have cable but I do have digital tv's and digital antenna, but it seem ridiculous to be expected to attach a 7" portable tv to my digital cable when it only services two 47" sets now. I have again wasted money on a new digital tv that doesn't work.
Don't waste your money on this one unless you live next to the tv stations. It asked how often I use it. I had to say "never" since I can't get my channels on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for RCA 7" Portable TV, RTV86073

Read the Friendly Manual First

08/07/2011
By ,
Oakland, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I set this up in the parking lot at Walmart. Had to change the settings from 'cable' to on air. Then did a scan. Got about forty channels altogether, but most were shopping network and ethnic UHF type stations. Only got a couple of the main ABC, CBS, FOX, NBC, etc. type stuff.
The included antennae was barely adequate. Later I put on my real antennae and got better reception on stations a little further, but it doesn't pick up stations more than a few miles from me. That's consistent with almost any TV in the area I live, unless you do a real outdoor antennae.
Sound is adequate, but using headphones is definitely preferred.
Need to rescan when you move to other places. I have a converter in my van so I can pick up local stations when camping or visiting new places.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for RCA 7" Portable TV, RTV86073

Great picture

04/28/2011
By ,
Radcliff, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good picture hooked up to the cable.
I'm too far from the stations now to get much reception without an antenna. The little antenna that came with the set might do close to a city.
The sound isn't great, but hooked up to speakers or headphones it is good.
My only gripe is the little sliding switch on the left hand side that seems to be the only way to turn the set on or off. It is too close to the power plug and the earphone jack plug, right between them. The little remote won't turn the set on and off, but works OK otherwise. For the price it exceeds my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for RCA 7" Portable TV, RTV86073

Great!

08/20/2011
By ,
Minot, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great HD quality. The antenna that comes with it picks up all local stations for a tiny antenna.
Get it while it lasts. With my job traveling this will be in my go kit from now on.
Pros: Great Color, Sheek Design, Very Portable yet viewing is awesome.
Cons: Non really exept the fact that you cannot utilize it as an monitor. There are no RCA inputs or Video inputs to attached a dvd player or any other devices (There are adapters you can buy though), but I knew that before I bought it.
Conclusion? I love it! Its football season.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for RCA 7" Portable TV, RTV86073

Almost a great portable television

08/04/2011
By ,
East central Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very easy to setup. Used digital antennae - about 40 miles from tv stations. Receive about 20 stations. Purchased two, one for employees at work, one for emergency use at home. Will be perfect for emergency use.
Outstanding picture from all stations.
Cheap, tinny sound.
Plugged in a computer speaker system with self-contained power supply and amplification. This provided an excellent sound system. Looks stupid with two fairly large speakers connected to a beautiful portable television.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for RCA 7" Portable TV, RTV86073

works great

06/21/2011
By ,
Levittown, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for a room that is not near a window and it works great. When I first turned it on and tried to get channels inside the building I got nothing and thought I would have to return it- the key is you must go outside or hold the antenna outside to initially get the channels in the tv, after that it works great inside. You may have to move the antenna around to get some of the channels in. Color and clarity are great and cant beat the price! Definitely recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for RCA 7" Portable TV, RTV86073

1 RCA 7" Portable TV

07/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is problably the best portable tv.it does almost everything.it just doesnt pick up very good signal in a car.but its small enough to put on a desk and its perfect for camping.this includes: tv remote, 2 built in speekers, antenna, lcd hdtv screen, pararental controlls, headphone jack, lithiom ion battery pack (rechargable), 9 volt charging adapter (can also be used whil pluged in).so my advice...if you are looking for a portable tv take this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for RCA 7" Portable TV, RTV86073

Great Multipurpose Product

04/03/2011
By ,
King, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before using this product for the enjoyment of TV anywhere and anytime, use the TV to perform a site survey of off-air TV station hot-spots in your location as the terrain will greatly affect the reception of off-air Digital TV. This survey will aid in selecting an outdoor antenna if needed of the proper size and height for long term reception pleasure. Remember that Digital TV in a moving vehicle will not work as it did in the Analog TV days.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for RCA 7" Portable TV, RTV86073

excellent picture and sound.

03/02/2011
By ,
Tool, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only things I didn't like about this TV is that it has a very small on/off button that slides back and forth...just not handy. Also, to use it at home, I had to hang a better antenae outside to get more chanels.
But, the picture and sound is really great. With a better antenae I get almost all the local chanels. The remote is handy too.
I love it, and can't wait to see how it works for the kids on trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 299 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next