Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Activision World of Warcraft: Cataclysm (PC/MAC)

Activision World of Warcraft: Cataclysm (PC/MAC)

Building on the foundation established in World of Warcraft and its first two expansions, Cataclysm will add a variety of new content and offer players the opportunity to rediscover Azeroth and experience the game from a whole new perspective. New features coming with the game's third expansion include: Two New Playable Races, an Increased level cap, flying mounts in Azeroth, guild advancement, new high level content, new pvp and rated battle zones, new race & class combinations.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation82%41 out of 50reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 58 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for World of Warcraft: Cataclysm (PC/MAC)

Really bad

04/13/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WoW Cataclysm is perhaps the worst video game I have ever purchased. It has a few good points, but essentially no quality control and a design that is best characterized by the word slipshod. My opinions on this subject seem to be shared by many, as the number of players on-line on my server gets smaller and smaller every day.
The Good:
New players will enjoy the game more than experienced MMO players (who have likely been playing WoW for at least a few years). Cataclysm rebuilds the old world of Azeroth and fills it with many new quests that are fairly interesting and readily doable for the solo player. The quests are more linear (which is both good and bad) and structured and also allow for fairly rapid leveling. The new high level quest zones also follow this trend and are provide interesting and diverse visual environments including the elemental plane of earth and a large underwater area. New guild advancement system is borrowed from other games but is a nice addition. The new optional profession of archaeology takes some time to get into, but provides some entertaining back story and decent fun rewards.
The Bad:
PvE (player vs. environment): Once at maximum level players tend to do instanced dungeons and daily faction quests in preparation for end game raid content. Cataclysm fails on all counts here. Dungeons, especially harder heroic dungeons, were initially too hard for the average player to complete at release (and have since been retuned) and provided rewards that were too small for the time and effort invested. The available instances get old very quickly and some of them are recycled from earlier content. Daily quests are simply a grind for reputation to allow the player to purchase gear and gear modifications (enchants) from various factions. They are unimaginative and boring. Raiding in Cataclysm is just downright painful and the exact opposite of fun. Raid encounters are full of stupid mechanics that will easily destroy a party that is not operating at 100%. This is just as true for trash encounters as for boss encounters. Many of the mechanics are recycled from older encounters and it is very obvious that the development team is out of fresh ideas (even the models for many of the boss mobs are recycled). Blizzard introduced a design philosophy of “Bring the player, not the class” that has failed totally on all counts. The raid encounters are extremely biased against melee classes in favor of casters and ranged classes and many melee players are finding themselves unable to find raid groups. Pick up groups (PUGs) for raids were common in the prior expansion but unheard of in this one. Class balance is a joke (more on this in the PvP section). Some classes have been redesigned from the ground up (paladins) while others have been extensively modified and given new resources (for instance, hunters). Paladin design is a joke (this is a long running tradition for Blizzard- Paladins have been a joke in WoW since the release of the original game). Feral druids, once the hardest spec to play, are now one of the easiest. Arcane mages can be played by a dunking bird. Again, balance just does not exist at all.
PvP (player vs. player): Never a strong suite for WoW, PvP is now an utter farce. In Cataclysm rated battlegrounds were introduced and intended to largely supplant arena combat for PvP. This too has failed as many players find assembling a full battleground group is too difficult to allow access to battlegrounds. This becomes a greater issue when inexperienced groups do assemble and are suddenly pitted against an opposing team with far higher ratings (which approximates skill) and are completely trounced with no hope of even competing. Such mismatches occur due to the lack of teams playing. The new PvP areas are not very imaginative and are too small (Tol barad) or just rehashed capture the flag battlegrounds. PvP class balance simply does not exist. Some classes and specs are simply far and away better than others. Frost mages for instance are vastly overpowered and required no skill to play but can mop the floor with any other class. Similarly warriors are overpowered relative to other melee. Rouges self heal for more than healing classes do. The list just goes on and on. It is apparent that no attempt was made by the development team to establish any balance in PvP. This is supported by patch changes that buff these overpowered classes with nerfs are dealt to the weaker classes.
Summary: Spend your entertainment dollar elsewhere. WoW is dying and its developers are either incompetent or just don’t care. Playing computer solitaire is more fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for World of Warcraft: Cataclysm (PC/MAC)

The WoW Game of all Wow Games Is Here!!!

08/24/2010
By ,
Atlanta, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Been waiting a long time and it has finally came the launch of the 3rd add on for WoW Cataclysm is finally here. This new attatchment to the already world wide popular pc game will have something for everyone whether your a old school lvl 80 or a new comer just joining the world of Azeroth. Players will get there world literally fliped upside down with the new villan Deathwing taking siege to the world of Azeroth destroying and chaning the lands of Kalimdor and Eastern Kingdoms forever. Two new races will be ariving the Alliance's Mighty Worgen and The Horde's Fierce Goblins will be joining the fight. Max level to 85 now. New proffesion Archeology. New lands to discover and much much more. I pre ordered mine the 1st day I recommend if your interested pre order asap because this will be sure to sell out quick during this holiday season. FOR THE HORDE!!! -Kark-
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for World of Warcraft: Cataclysm (PC/MAC)

Wow not wow

11/10/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not the same feeling used to be playing this game. Was glad I switched ESO blows this game away.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for World of Warcraft: Cataclysm (PC/MAC)

Yes!!!!! They day has arrived

12/01/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Short and sweet! Looking for a PC game? Look no further! This game has everything! I love it. My family loves it. Blizzard/ WOW is celebrating there 6th anniversary!! We have been there since the beginning. 6 years of family play? What can we say. We Love World of Warcraft! You will too.
Enjoy! FOR THE HORDE!!!! XD
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for World of Warcraft: Cataclysm (PC/MAC)

Best Expansion to date

10/20/2010
By ,
scottsboro, az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far the best expansion to WoW, its changing the way a lot of classes play, completely changing the old world, which greatly improves questing..it has such a nicer flow to it now.. The 2 new races have incredible starting zones, even better then the death knights..the 80-85 quests are just fantastic, very story driven. The updated graphics are also quite good, especially the new water.
The new talent trees are VERY simple...you dont need to theorcraft nearly as much to have a good spec, you can easily do it yourself now.
Hunters using forcus now makes more sense, you get 2 spells taht let you regenerate focus, and talents that can improve their focus generation... Yes you cant spam stuff over and over again..but you dont go oom all the time either...less downtime..
Warlocks being limited to 3 soul shards isnt horrible, yes you dont have as many as before, but now your bags arent filled with tons of them...and it makes the abilities that use soul shards better then they were before since your now limited....You also have an ability that resotres your soul shards AND heals you...and soul drain still generates soul shards...
Paladins using holy power is actually pretty awesome, it isnt nearly as bad as combo points since your not as restrcited by mana as you are energy...If your actually using your abilities that require holy power the pally class is qutie fun.
Death Knights new rune system gives more freedom then the old rotations that didnt really have any free global cooldown for any new abilities..and if you screwed up you lost dps... Having a dedicated tanking tree is also a good thing since you wont have to go into every single tree to get the good talents, its all consolidated into 1 tree...hopefully thatll make for less fail DK tanks...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for World of Warcraft: Cataclysm (PC/MAC)

Everything has changed

12/21/2010
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I started with WoW during Burning Crusade, so my comments will be flavored accordingly.
Cataclysm is an expansion for the World of Warcraft, and is dependent upon the purchase of the original game, the Burning Crusade and Wrath of the Lich King expansions. This expansion builds upon these others, so it cannot be used alone or without them.
This expansion provides WoW toons with the ability to attain levels 81 - 85 and adds two new races (Goblin and Worgen). In addition to advancing all professions, Cataclysm provides an additional secondary skill (Archaeology) as well as introducing several new opportunities for group play through new instances and raids.
Blizzard customer service seems to vary significantly from month to month. In the years I have played, I initially found that the customer service department was second to none. Technical support calls were answered at most hours of any day by knowledgeable, helpful people who spoke English. However, the focus shifted away from service and for some time there was no real way to get support due to week-long in-game lack of resolution to game play problems, extremely limited support times, and less helpful customer service representatives than nearly any other technology company I've experienced. Fortunately, Blizzard has chosen to improve from those terrible days to a place in the middle. They now provide OK (not extraordinary) support both in game and by phone. Considering that there are now generating more monthly subscription fees than ever in the history of gaming, I find this and the continuation of known bugs downright offensive.
That said, the content of the game is extremely robust, with so much flexibility that a player can do peaceful, mundane activities like fishing and cooking, highly interactive things like joining small, medium, or extremely large groups to experience team play, or pursue quests given by non-player characters which may involved working with others or may not, depending upon player preference. For those with economic interests, there is a lively and robust exchange of in-game items through the auction house, which may be combined with crafting or gathering items in the game and then selling them for game currency.
The social interaction with other players is readily available through proximity chat, guild chat, and chat with others who have a toon in a large city. While there are always going to be people who abuse their ability to say things to thousands of "listeners", Blizzard does allow players to mute the city chatter.
Overall the interaction, extremely diverse access to a wide variety of play options, and enormous world of varies terrains and weather patterns have produced the most robust and entertaining game in history. This expansion continues to keep players engaged and provides new game mechanics. While the economy is so terrible, WoW allows an escape to a fantasy world with interaction far superior to watching TV all day for the millions who have been forced out of work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for World of Warcraft: Cataclysm (PC/MAC)

Blizzard Does It Again!

10/24/2010
By ,
SE Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Six years since the launch of the MMO that rocked the foundations of gaming and Blizzard's World of Warcraft shows no signs of slowing down, having just recently passed the 12 million mark in active subscribers. With this newest expansion set, Cataclysm, Blizzard hits the mark in bringing its rabid fan base a host new content to devour while also giving fans a bit of the old, as well.
The Cataclysm is being used as motivation by Blizzard developers do what gamers have been asking for since first we stepped through The Dark Portal in The Burning Crusade: give old Azeroth some TLC! Blizzard delivers just that and in spades. With the horrific emergence of Deathwing, once known as Neltharion the Earth Warder and one of five Dragon aspects charged with maintaining elemental balance on Azeroth, the lands we knew between levels 1 and 60 have been forever altered. Some examples: Thousand Needles is now almost entirely flooded, Desolace now sports lush jungle landscapes, The Barrens have been sundered in two and Darkshore has seen its coastal towns annihilated. In addition, Blizzard has seen fit to introduce new zones for max-level (being raised to 85, btw) characters in Azeroth such as the Twilight Highlands, Uldum and Deepholm.
Also introduced will be a host of new raids and dungeons. Wrath raiders will be pleased to know that the days of two to three day long instance clears will be a thing of the past. Blizzard has elected to serve up several new raid dungeons that offer smaller chunks of content that can be done in single nights instead of one massive 15-boss affair that requires several sessions to clear.
A final major feature for Cataclysm will be two new playable races! The Horde will welcome into the fold the Goblin race, specifically the goblins refugees of Bilgewater Cartel, marking the first time the normall neutral species will be forced by dire circumstances to pick a side. specifically the refugees of Bilgewater Cartel. The Alliance will be joined in their efforts by the Worgen of Gilneas, once a member nation of the old Alliance that hid itself when the Orcs first invaded. A curse soon ran wild behind their walled kingdom, turning the human inhabitants into savage werewolf-like creatures.
Some other features being introduced with Cataclysm:
- Flying Mounts in Azeroth!!
- New race-class combos (Undead Hunters, Troll Druids, Gnome Priests, Dwarf Shaman and many more)
- New secondary profession: Archaeology
- Two new Battlegrounds: Twin Peaks and The Battle for Gilneas
- A new world PvP zone: Tol Barad
- New Rated Battlegrounds that allow access to highest-level PvP rewards
- Guild Achievements and Guild Leveling that offer unique rewards and in-game benefits.
Better get ready, WoWers. The Cataclysm's coming. Are you prepared?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for World of Warcraft: Cataclysm (PC/MAC)

Well...

12/19/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like many of the game changes personally, but it would be wise for a World of Warcraft player to try out the free trial before making any $40 decisions. Might as well try before you buy if you can.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for World of Warcraft: Cataclysm (PC/MAC)

It's alright

06/14/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cata is ok i guess, but I still think vanilla and burning crusade were the best times of WoW.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for World of Warcraft: Cataclysm (PC/MAC)

I loooooooooooove itt!!

12/01/2010
By ,
Fayatteville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you don't have this, get it now. The new additions are great and the way they fixed the talent system is a little funky...BUT it's pretty simple and saves some time. Mostly. I love this game, I love the players(only on my faction^^), I'd tell everyone to play if I knew it'd be kinda hard to quit(especially with these new additions). The only problem I have with this game is that my guildies won't be able to have fun with me. =( It's only a week away and now's the time to oreder. =)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for World of Warcraft: Cataclysm (PC/MAC)

It's Here!!!

12/10/2010
By ,
Western Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband is Very into World of Warcraft. We weren't planning on buying until after Christmas since the game is not really cheap.
I decided to get it for him anyway to surprise him. I put in a preorder not knowing the game can be bought online so they release day it would be ready to go. Luckily I did not cancel the order because even though the receiving date was set for the 15th or 16th it was here on the 7th (official release date)!
It was also very easily tracked.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for World of Warcraft: Cataclysm (PC/MAC)

Yes, Yes, Yes! Need I say more...

11/06/2010
By ,
Manteca, Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So much has gone into this expansion, it's amazing! I have been playing the beta tester and I have been blown away. The abilities and options that are available today are impressive and the transition has been a lot smoother than I expected. I have been playing for 4 years and the options that cater to the brand new player are wonderful along with the new characters. I believe the price they charge to purchase this expansion is extremely low for what you get. The best yet in my opinion. Thanks Blizz
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for World of Warcraft: Cataclysm (PC/MAC)

Cataclysm

12/18/2010
By ,
Independence, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely LOVE this game!! The only drawback at this time, as usual, is the lag and issues that come with an upgrade, which I am absolutely positive they will have fixed as soon as possible. I would suggest anyone and everyone get this game.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for World of Warcraft: Cataclysm (PC/MAC)

LOVE THIS GAME

12/07/2011
By ,
Middletown, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Been playin for 6 plus years.. saved tons of money by playin WoW and not playin my Xbox.. lol 60 bucks for 1 new game every two weeks (avg time to beat a single player game) that 120 a month.. LOL I pay 15 and u can't beat this game.. =)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for World of Warcraft: Cataclysm (PC/MAC)

WoW isn't worth playing anymore

10/17/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I admit I've played my fair share of this game, but once I heard the news of this expansion I just foresaw it has just a waste they're destroying the original lands and remaking it into something worse.
And on top of that they're pretty much saying to both factions "Ok here, go fly into your opposite faction and kill their Raid Bosses and fly away to get back out" even with defenses in the air it'd be easily bypassed. And then they ruin some of the classes given the two races would be kinda nice but ruining a class like the warlock class by restricting them to a certain amount of soul shards just ruins them, and switching Hunters from Mana to w/e it is now is also ruining there's really no point of doing that since everyone liked it the other way.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
-64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for World of Warcraft: Cataclysm (PC/MAC)

Way to go Blizzard!!!

01/24/2011
By ,
Hattiesburg, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By far the best expansion yet. Blizzard has definately outdone themselves on this one. Can't decide if I want to level my 80 or grind a lowbie.. I'm alliance through and through but the goblins sure have alot to offer. It's hard to decide where to start!!! Definately worth the wait though!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for World of Warcraft: Cataclysm (PC/MAC)

World of Warcraft

12/08/2010
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you play WOW this is a must have ! All my family, sons, grandsons, brother all play WOW and we love it...Perfect Christmas present
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for World of Warcraft: Cataclysm (PC/MAC)
12/21/2010
By ,
N.C
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great game to play it is a easy game to learn you will love it slot of fun
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for World of Warcraft: Cataclysm (PC/MAC)

Cataclysm

12/31/2010
By ,
MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I started playing world of warcraft series back in November 25, 2004. This new expansion called cataclysm is the worst of them all. They have new worgens that are useless in pvp. But goblin is ok. The dungeons used to be fun in this game. Now they are hard, tasteless, and time consuming. They take alot of time and work to complete. So if you have a job, you will have very little time to do a full dungeon. I have called Blizzard on the phone for a refund and they basically give you the run around. I would have been more happy if I didn't upgrade to this expansion and just stayed with wrath of the lich king.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for World of Warcraft: Cataclysm (PC/MAC)

Words cant even express

12/25/2010
By ,
Los Angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Been a WOW player since 2006...the game keeps getting better and better!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next