Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for iLive iLive 2.1-Channel Bar Speaker for iPhone/iPod, ITP180B

iLive iLive 2.1-Channel Bar Speaker for iPhone/iPod, ITP180B

Enjoy an exceptional audio experience with the iLive ITP180B 2.1-Channel Bar Speaker. It is specially designed for use with your iPhone or iPod, which can dock right on it using the included adapters and Apple dock. It features a 2.1" channel speaker system with a sizeable 30" width to fill your room with clear, rich sound at just a touch. The iLive speaker for iPhone/iPod includes an AM/FM radio with 20 user presets that allow you to enjoy your favorite stations with ease. It also comes with a digital clock and an alarm for added convenience. You can easily mount this iLive docking speaker on a wall and access it from anywhere across your room with its included infrared remote control device. The package includes video and audio cables, mounting hardware, remote control and six iPod dock adapters.
Average Customer Rating:
3.185 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation52%14 out of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 34 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for iLive 2.1-Channel Bar Speaker for iPhone/iPod, ITP180B

Expected more based on previous reviews

07/05/2011
By ,
Cedar Rapids, Ia.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I don't normally write reviews but felt the need here. Picked this up at a local store based on the reviews. Was looking for an iPod dock for my 2nd gen ipod touch. I needed something for work. Was happy with the optional FM radio. Got it home and found the sound quality to be below expectaions. The FM radio sounds muddy. The sound is better with my ipod, but only marginally. I don't know how it sounds with a TV which is it's intended purpose. It lacks the full bodied sound I was looking for. I wasn't looking for earth-shattering bass or concert hall quality. Just something that gave a good performance at low volumes. What it really needs is a pair of tweeters and a small sub with it's own volume control. As far as the ipod dock goes, my 2nd gen touch did not fit the dock with the supplied adapter. Tried both with and without the cover on it. That's ok, because if you're careful, you can use the dock without the adapters. I ended up keeping it. But if you are looking for better performance, keep looking.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for iLive 2.1-Channel Bar Speaker for iPhone/iPod, ITP180B

Worth the money

05/20/2012
By ,
Warren Co, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Originally I purchased this sound bar from Radio Shack got it home and the radio tuner was bad. I wanted another but they were out of stock so I Googled it and found it available at Walmart. Not all stores have this product. The second Walmart I want to had it and it was $20. less then Radio Shack. I'm using this sound bar outside under my Gazebo. The mounts that came with the unit make it so easy to remove from the mounts to bring inside in bad weather. It picks up stations that are usually hard to pick up. The iPOD tray works flawless and the sound bar is quit the addition to our outdoor living space. There is a simple pug that is attached directly to the unit so (no bulky adapter). Good Customer Service dept at iLive, which help me determine that the tuner went bad on the first one I purchased from Radio Shack which was a display model and may have lead to the problem but I loved the sound bar for what I'm using it for and I was happy to find it available at Walmart for less money.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for iLive 2.1-Channel Bar Speaker for iPhone/iPod, ITP180B

Worke GREAT for my purposes

12/27/2012
By ,
Potterville, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this sound bar to replace a (wired) home theatre system with DVD player- our kids had given us the old system as a gift, but I never did like the wires to the speakers everywhere, and the DVD player had quit playing most of our DVD's??? Anyway, I called my neighbor to ask her advice, since they have a sound bar, and she said she had this system (which they dock their ipod on), and that she had just ordered one for her inlaws as a Christmas gift. I had been looking at sound bars with a wireless subwoofer- about $200 more than this product. I don't even own an ipod- just wanted a speaker for the big TV that my old ears could hear. This item is FABULOUS so far- extremely simple set up, sounds GREAT, FM radio is a nice little perk, fits into my decor-NO wires everywhere (LOVE IT!!). I would definitely reccommend this to anyone looking for speakers for a big TV that they'd like to be able to hear...by the way, free shipping to home was an extra gift, and as I've said- price was RIGHT!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for iLive 2.1-Channel Bar Speaker for iPhone/iPod, ITP180B

Not good for TV sound, but great stereo sound

05/16/2012
By ,
Tarboro, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I normally don't take time to write a review, but in this case I feel it's necessary. I bought this because the receiver to my surround sound home theater went out and wasn't wanting to buy a whole new home theater system when I didn't need all the speakers, so I bought this for the advertised sound effects and a separate DVD player. I have a 42" HDTV and the sound out of my TV is 10 times better than this, but I decided to keep it for the FM stereo part which sounds remarkably better than the sound for the TV. I did not have a stereo once the old receiver went bad. So if you're looking for a true sound for TV out of this bar, it isn't going to deliver, but if you need a FM receiver for stereo, then this is great. I'm still confused on the sound and volume when switching from TV to stereo. The stereo is much louder and I love my music and movies loud. Was very easy to mount on the wall though. I did it by myself and I am a single 51 year old female.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for iLive 2.1-Channel Bar Speaker for iPhone/iPod, ITP180B

Works great with an optional subwoofer.

10/29/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For under $100, I wasn't expecting awesome sound, and I I knew that the small speakers would be a bit weak on bass response. Sure enough, the iLive soundbar itself gives only marginal sound quality. Fortunately, there's an output jack (RCA) compatible with the Logitech subwoofer I already own. With the extra bass, I'm reasonably pleased. Certainly good enough for my small condo; I don't really want to blast out the neighbors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for iLive 2.1-Channel Bar Speaker for iPhone/iPod, ITP180B

It Fails in a Few Key Areas

12/31/2011
By ,
Tampa, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I tested this out for pretty much every area in which it was built to be used and honestly, it fails at the main function for which people would purchase this product.
IPOD
Works excellent for this use if you have a Sub Woofer attached! It is capable of playing controlling your iPod or iPhone and can play both Audio and Video from them. The sound using this method is great and you can even watch HD Video from them with component cables.
FM RADIO
This again works well for sound the preset EQ Settings are decent for this purpose. Again, no complaints.
TV
Most Television will broadcast in Stereo and the Sound Bar handles that okay without many issues and the sound was actually much better than my thousand dollar TV. However, and this is a very big problem, if something broadcasts in ore than 2 channel stereo you're going to find the voices and mid-range drowned out by both the highs and the lows!
BLU-RAY / DVD
As I mentioned earlier, if you can force the Audio to output Stereo then you'll likely have pretty decent sound... Unfortunately, Blu-Ray has pretty much left 2 Channel audio behind and in many Blu-Ray players you can compress the audio but you can't force it to two channels very well... Again, this is a problem if you want to hear the voices very clear because, they're often drowned out by the highs and lows!
SPECIAL FEATURES
The Sound bar has built in Presets for EQ but the problem with that is they're all built for Music but none for Cinema or TV Output... If they simply optimized one or two of these for Video this might make the product all that much better but, they didn't so I really cannot say this feature is very useful.
BOTTOM LINE
I bought it for use with Movies and TV to which it sadly doesn't live up to expectations and only does half the job, half the time! For that reason alone I cannot recommend this product to anyone serious about upgrading their sound for a better multimedia experience. Honestly, I also have the 27" Sound Bar from iLive as well and that handles the mid-range much better than this 30" system for half the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for iLive 2.1-Channel Bar Speaker for iPhone/iPod, ITP180B

Wow!

07/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This soundbar is just amazing... especially for the money, it packs a punch! Not only does it make my LCD TV sound amazing... It links my ipod directly to it! I danced for 2 hours when I got this because the sound was great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for iLive 2.1-Channel Bar Speaker for iPhone/iPod, ITP180B

Decent but not great

01/16/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This sound bar is pretty good for what it is. It has decent sound at moderate volume. It is not Bose so it will not replace a home theater system, however it will greatly improve your TV sound. A sub would make it better.
The main problems I have with it are:
1, The remote only works about 15 degrees from straight on.
2, The bar is not compatible with universal remotes, although I did find a code for power only.
3, The controls for an Ipod touch 3rd gen are poor. It will not scroll through the menu, songs, or albums as it should. Sometimes it will scroll through a song list but not usually.
Overall it does what it was purchased for, to improve the tv sound. I have not used the radio function so I have no opinion on that. The Ipod interface was the most dissapointing part, followed by the lack of universal remote compatibility (cable remote). Would still recommend for tv sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for iLive 2.1-Channel Bar Speaker for iPhone/iPod, ITP180B

Can't hear your new flat screen TV?

12/25/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you buy this you will be able to hear the sounds coming from your new flat screen TV. I know I'm not alone when I say that TV manufacturers these days make awful speakers for their TV's. I guess they want us to purchase the expensive home theater packages to go with the TV. Well....you don't have to if you buy one of these bar speakers. We bought this one and are very satisfied with the sound it puts out. No you won't have the room vibrating with surround sound but you may be able to understand conversations. No more asking the other viewers "What did he say?"
It isn't made only for iPod/iPhone. Yes there is a dock for that but it can also be hooked up to your TV alone. Pretty simple to attach. Cords could be a bit longer but I made them reach.
Inexpensive solution to a common problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for iLive 2.1-Channel Bar Speaker for iPhone/iPod, ITP180B
12/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this soundbar online for $48 during the sale. It was quick and easy to hook up and the sound is great! We connected it to our 37" HDTV because the tv's sound was not very good and now it is dynamic and we are very pleased. I will add, I first thought it wasn't going to work because I was getting static and thought all it would do was work with the FM radio or another device but when I pushed the "source" button on the sound bar remote, I realized that I had to set it to 'Aux 1" which is the connection I used on the back of the tv.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for iLive 2.1-Channel Bar Speaker for iPhone/iPod, ITP180B

Dosen't reconize

01/15/2014
By ,
Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It says it is for iPods of 1st. I have tried three different iPod touches, and classic and Nano, all which are supposed to be supported and work. They don't. I contacted customer service for ILive and after their few suggestions didn't work I got the "Well sorry it doesn't work" email. All I asked was for it to do what it says it does. Never buying an iLive product again just due to the horrible, don't care customer service. I gave it all low ratings because it doesn't do what it is supposed to.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for iLive 2.1-Channel Bar Speaker for iPhone/iPod, ITP180B

Great product

12/26/2013
By ,
housron texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second one of these I have bought ... great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for iLive 2.1-Channel Bar Speaker for iPhone/iPod, ITP180B

soundbar

12/03/2013
By ,
westallis. Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for the bedroom. Has clear sound a super value. Long live walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for iLive 2.1-Channel Bar Speaker for iPhone/iPod, ITP180B
03/15/2012
By ,
NORTHERN CALIFORNIA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BEWARE! DO NOT BUY THIS UNLESS IT IS FOR A ROOM THE SIZE OF A BATHROOM. I HAD TO REPLACE MY OTHER SOUNDBAR AFTER FOUR YEARS OF USE, AND THOUGHT I'D TRY THIS ONE TO SAVE A LITTLE MONEY. SPEND THE EXTRA MONEY NEEDED FOR QUALITY SOUND. THERE WAS NO MORE SOUND OUT OF IT THAN A TRANSISTER RADIO. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY OR TIME (BUYING, HOOKING UP, UNHOOKING AND RETURNING IT TO THE STORE). I RETURNED THIS ONE AND SPENT AN ADDITIONAL $125.00 AND ENDED UP WITH A GREAT SOUNDBAR.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for iLive 2.1-Channel Bar Speaker for iPhone/iPod, ITP180B

Lousy TV audio

01/14/2012
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this thing to improve the audio of my 42" plasma TV, it failed miserably. The FM radio had good volume and decent sound but the TV audio is weak and poor quality. It has to be turned up to near full volume just to hear it. This thing is supposed to have a built in subwoofer but the bass is very weak. Totally useless for it's intended purpose, It gets returned.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for iLive 2.1-Channel Bar Speaker for iPhone/iPod, ITP180B

Awesome!

03/10/2012
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I use this dock for our iPhones. We originally grabbed it to listen to music but discovered we can watch our iTunes movies on our tv with it! It has great sound and an awesome picture! Not to mention it charges our phones while we watch our shows.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for iLive 2.1-Channel Bar Speaker for iPhone/iPod, ITP180B
03/27/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Received the product in used condition, not packed by the manufacturer, everything in mess. Can't beleive its a Wallmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for iLive 2.1-Channel Bar Speaker for iPhone/iPod, ITP180B

Vizio Blu-ray owners beware!

02/08/2012
By ,
Lexington, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Good:
For under 100 bucks I wasn't expecting theater quality sound, and on this front the speakers actually delivered more than I was expecting. Bass was better than I thought it would be and was a definite upgrade from my 4 year old TV's built-in speakers. Setup was easy and I was up and running in minutes.
The Bad:
It is kind of annoying that the default power-on state for this is set to the FM tuner. I like that is HAS the radio built-in, but my primary use (as I can only guess is most owners of this sound bar) is as a speaker upgrade for my TV, not an extra radio in my living room. The reason I don't like having the default input as the FM tuner is because I have everything that's on my entertainment center on outlets that are tied to a wall switch. I don't see any need for all the power bricks and power "stand by" lights sucking extra power while I'm not at home. So every time I want to watch TV, I have to re-select the input source (I believe "AUX" is the last in the list, by the way) to get it to play my TV's audio.
The Ugly:
I have a Vizio Blu-ray player. It's an older model by a couple years but it plays EVERY Blu-ray I've ever stuck in the drive, and it's still on it's factory supplied firmware. When I use either the remote that came with my player, or a Vizio universal remote that I bought the same day I got the sound bar, strange things happen on my sound bar. Pausing my player causes the sound bar to switch inputs to the iDevice dock. Other times I've hit buttons (I don't recall off hand what I was doing) and the sound bar has muted itself, WITHOUT going into "mute" mode - it still showed the volume was at 25. Using the sound bar's remote has no effect on my player. Strange stuff, I tell you!
For the price, the sound is better than I expected and setup was easy, but because of the similarity in infrared frequencies between my Blu-ray device and the sound bar it's a deal breaker for me. I'm taking it back today and getting a Vizio sound bar to avoid this type of complication.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for iLive 2.1-Channel Bar Speaker for iPhone/iPod, ITP180B

great item for the price

12/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
better than expected, easy to use, just great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas City, TX
Great product
Posted 05/28/2011
I have this product, Its compares to my portable stereo system and it sounds just a great. Great sound only thing, to connect this to my television i need to buy a converter, but loved it so much I still decided to keep it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for iLive 2.1-Channel Bar Speaker for iPhone/iPod, ITP180B

Good for Apartments, easy set-up, great sound.

12/28/2011
By ,
Austin, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this set in-store and it had the option of a wireless sub woofer with the sound bar, so we opted for that. The sound bar meshes perfectly with out 42" flat screen and the set up was really easy. The sub-woofer was a tad larger than I expected, and has some synching problems, but the sound bar itself is clear, resonant, and works well in our 700sq ft. living room. This is an excellent buy. Though the sound isn't the best in the world, for 90 dollars it sure seems like it is. This is a great product for young adults in their apartments and dorms if you want boastful sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next