Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for CitiKitty CitiKitty Cat Toilet Training Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

CitiKitty CitiKitty Cat Toilet Training Kit

Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation93%14 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for CitiKitty Cat Toilet Training Kit

A must buy!

04/08/2011
By ,
Braintree, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I purchased, Minnie, our pure bread Mainecoon cat in 2003. Having a toddler around we knew we didn't want to have a litter box in the house. Our options were either to potty train her or send her outside. We had no idea how to begin potty training a cat. Feeling defeated and hopeless we gave up the idea. One month later, we found the Citikitty kit at the local pet store. With hesitation but figuring we had nothing to loose, we purchased the kit. We instantly read the directions and began setting it up in the spare bathroom, but left her litter box on the ground. My husband and I thought it would never happen. To our pleasant surprise Minnie used it within a day. We picked up her litter box and threw it right away. We followed the directions, cut away each ring week by week and before we knew it she was using the toilet. Shortly after Minnie was trained, we had to potty train our son....well, honestly I wish it was as easy!
Minnie has been trained for 7 years and people still talk in amazement about how "cool" it is that we have a toilet trained cat. You have made us extremely popular people.
Thank you so much for creating such an easy and effective kit! Anyone who has a cat that uses a litter box doesn't know what they are missing!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+37points
Review 2 for CitiKitty Cat Toilet Training Kit

AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING

03/21/2011
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product changed my life! The litter box was such a problem in my house. When my cat was four, I found the CitiKitty site and decided to give it a try. My cat took to the toilet seat with litter in it immediately. I popped out the first ring after two weeks. I didn't want to rush my Ricky, so I gave him plenty of time to get use to it. Then I popped out the second ring after another two weeks. To my surprise, my chubby little buddy decided he liked that downstairs toilet better and stopped using his seat with only half of the training! I left the seat on for two more weeks to make sure he was trained and he was. He's had no accidents and no problem adjusting if I travel with him to a home with a litter box. He can use both the litter and toilet with no problem. We tell everyone we know that has cat to give this a try. Ricky is often talked about with my students and co-workers and many friends. They love him for being a toilet trained cat and so do I! Check him out at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h8fjC6vG4ck!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 3 for CitiKitty Cat Toilet Training Kit

Meh.

10/20/2010
By ,
Pennsylvania
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Our kittens had a really hard time adapting to the CitiKitty. I thought the easiest part would be just putting the pan full of litter with no hole in the toilet full, but they really resisted that. They started only eliminating once or maybe twice a day because they just didn't want to go there--and these are kittens who, left to their own devices, will just sleep on the toilet anyway. We stuck to it for about 3 weeks, only ever getting as far as having the very first hole removed for a few days, but they were just having too many accidents around the house because they couldn't get the hang of eliminating on the toilet. We tried giving them treats every time they used the CitiKitty pan, but they were just too slow in adapting. We have temporarily given up trying to toilet-train them. We may well go back to the product in a few weeks and see if they take to it any better, but for the first few weeks, it was moderately successful, but lead to far too much cleaning up of accidents around the house.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+6points
Review 4 for CitiKitty Cat Toilet Training Kit

CITI KITTY REALLY WORKS!!!!!

11/13/2010
By ,
Las Vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For about three weeks, I put my kitten's litter box right next to our toilet so he would get used to the toilet flushing and wouldn't be scared of it. Once he was completely happy using his litter box next to the toilet, I replaced his litter box with Citi Kitty. My kitten Thane used it right away and has not made one mistake since. He doesn't mind it at all- however since he is small I needed to put a stepping stool next to it so he doesn't fall off. THIS PRODUCT IS MESSY! If you are not comfortable cleaning up everyday than this product is not for you. Ok so everytime he goes to the bathroom I praise him and give him a treat. He loves getting those treats. I have only used this product a week, but I know it's great! I am taking it slow as to progressing to the next step because it is vital that you do not go to fast. Every cat or kitten is different so you have to go when you know 100% they are ready for the next level. Some it will take as little as two weeks, and other 3-4 months. My suggestion is get this product when they are young like I did, but I do know older cats get used to it really quickly. So like I said- depends on the cat:-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 5 for CitiKitty Cat Toilet Training Kit

Stick With It

03/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never wanted a cat because I hate the way litter boxes smell. I can't stand smelling (or seeing!) dirty litter boxes. My husband heard about CitiKitty and promised me that if I were to get him a cat, any cat, he could train it to use the toilet. We got a cat from our local shelter and started training her using the CitiKitty method almost right away. It took a few months and A LOT of patience and persistence but it worked. Now our kitty will use any toilet and all we have to do is flush.
Tips: We ended up having to buy 2 CittyKittys because we we punched out the next ring before our kitty was really ready and like everyone said, there's no way to go back. With the second kit we purchased, we cut out the rings with scissors a bit at a time and not necessarily along the perforations so that it was a more gradual transition.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 6 for CitiKitty Cat Toilet Training Kit

Wonderful product

08/24/2010
By ,
Wilson, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome product, but you need to be patient with the cats who are being trained. I am at the end of training my two - 3 year old cats to use the toilet and I am so happy I don't have to scoop their litter box anymore...they use the toilet, all I have to do is flush. At the beginning though, it was very messy, but, it was worth it! We had one cat who was not too happy about being trained and he peed on a bed, thank goodness for Nature's Miracle (from Petsmart), because it got the smell out of the mattress. Now the male cat is doing great with the toilet! From beginning to end, it should take less than 2 months to train your cat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Review 7 for CitiKitty Cat Toilet Training Kit

Awesome Product

05/10/2011
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is wonderful, easy to use, and a great value! We trained our cat to use the toilet in 9 weeks (took longer than it would have because we were travelling some during this time). If you have patience and follow the directions, success will come! Just make sure and reward your kitty when they use the toilet/citi kitty kit every time you know they've used it. Each week you'll be pleasantly surprised at their progress! For a household with three dogs, this was a blessing! Not having to worry about a smelly cat box AND there's nothing for the dogs to get into. I would have gladly paid more for this. Money and time well spent on the training. It allows us to relax and enjoy our pets instead of worrying about what we have to clean up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:7 - 8 months
+7points
Review 8 for CitiKitty Cat Toilet Training Kit

Citikitty is a MUST HAVE for every cat owner!!!

02/10/2012
By ,
Oahu Hawaii
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just want to say "Thank you so much Citikitty!!!" This is the best kitty product ever! I've had cats all my life, love the little fur balls, but for sure not their littler boxes. The mess and the smell can be a real pain. But thanks to Citikitty, I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel! It's only been a month since we started the training with my 1 year old little girl Jasmine, and amazingly after her accidents here and there she's down to the last 2 steps to become a toilet trained kitty! I mean, it will get a little messy at times, but well worth it when you think about having a littler free life style. I was so excited that I posted her potty training photo on my Facebook page, and now all my friends are asking how I did it! Lol I told them "it's not me, it's the super easy to use citikitty potty training kit!" Again, I can't say it enough how much I love this product, and how thankful I am to be on my way to a littler free life style!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for CitiKitty Cat Toilet Training Kit

It really works!!!

08/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sister used CitiKitty to train her 2 cats last year and it worked perfectly. It's amazing to see them use the toilet! Best part is she hasn't had to buy litter since...no more smelling it, no more cleaning it.
I started on my cat 3 weeks ago and am almost done. VERY excited to get rid of the litter box!
Glad you can buy this on walmart.com! If you've got a cat, you've gotta do this!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+18points
Review 10 for CitiKitty Cat Toilet Training Kit

All effort will be worth the end result.

06/11/2011
By ,
NH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this item directly from the CitiKitty website. I was hoping Walmart would have them in stores, which is how I came across this page. i wish I had begun by buying the reusable version of this for double the price, but this temporarily does the job. My only concern being if/when I get an addition to the house I would prefer to have one I can use without another purchase, or if they regress I only have one replacement that comes to go back a step.
Other than that good product. It is made of a flexible plastic, so with every next step you pop out another circle (which you cannot replace). I have two cats. My domestic took right to it, but my Persian had some trouble with hs short legs. IF you are using this with a kitten or a cat with a similar issue a nice resolve would be to get a kids toilet seat. The one I have stays enclosed in the top of the toilet seat with a hidden agent unless I pull it down.
This is my second time trying it, and the key it to keep up with cleaning it (I mix in some baking soda to keep it fresh), keep up with the treats, and don't give up! Praise, praise, praise! It is worth the effort and patience. Also, don;t be upset if someone has an accident. It is a big change, and they will catch on.
Overall good concept, but go for the reusable kind. It may save you some money in the end.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 11 for CitiKitty Cat Toilet Training Kit

Highly recommend Citykitty

10/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have two white kitties, Sam and Snow. They're brothers and we rescue/adopted them at six weeks old. They were not full adults, but weren't kittens either and someone recommended CityKitty. We followed all the steps and had no trouble whatsoever. In less than two months, you will be litter box free. I highly recommend this product. I have been 100 percent satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 12 for CitiKitty Cat Toilet Training Kit

Not for cats that are overweight or water-adverse

06/10/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because of the awesome reviews, but let me tell you - it just doesn't work if your cat is either too heavy, or scared of water. My first cat, who's 3 years old and about 14 pounds, wouldn't go near the thing because the plastic was too flimsy and would buckle under his weight. My second cat, who's much smaller, wouldn't go near the thing after I punched the first hole because he was too scared of the water.
It might work for you, but I would recommend at least getting a kit that's a bit stronger. Guess you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 13 for CitiKitty Cat Toilet Training Kit

Awesome product!

02/10/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought CitiKitty a few months ago when I got a new 4 month old
kitten…Rocket Rocky (named for obvious reasons)****
I had heard about cats using toilets but never believed they would. Here
is proof! After using your product for just under 3 months he uses the
toilet every time (one or two mistakes early on but I just went back and
replaced a ring or two) In fact, while he has his own toilet, he frequently
uses mine.
Thanks for a great product and worth every penny!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 14 for CitiKitty Cat Toilet Training Kit
10/16/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this item for my husband to train our cat and it worked perfectly. It's very easy to use. The best part is when we had any questions or concerns the customer service staff was awesome and answered all our questions. If you follow the instructions step by step and have patience then your cat will be successful. We just got a new kitten this week and we got another City Kitty kit to start training him too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for CitiKitty Cat Toilet Training Kit

CitiKitty In Progress

09/25/2012
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this kit and have only just started Step 2. I have high hopes. I am making a blog about the whole experience, in great detail, if anyone is interested in reading more: http://citikittytoilettrainingblog.tumblr.com/
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point