Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Frigidaire Frigidaire FRA296ST2 28,500-BTU 230V Heavy-Duty Room Window Air Conditioner with Temperature Sensing Remote Control

Frigidaire Frigidaire FRA296ST2 28,500-BTU 230V Heavy-Duty Room Window Air Conditioner with Temperature Sensing Remote Control

Frigidaire's 28,500-BTU 230V window-mounted heavy-duty air conditioner is perfect for rooms up to 1,960 square feet. It quickly cools the room on hot days and quiet operation keeps you cool without keeping you awake. Ready-Select electronic controls allow you to set the comfort level to your preference, while the convenient temperature readout displays the set temperature. Effortless temperature sensing remote control allows you to see, set and maintain room temperature from across the room. The multi-speed fan features three different fan speeds for more cooling flexibility and the multi-directional comfort control design allows you to easily control the direction of the cool air, wherever the unit is mounted. Plus, the clean air ionizer removes pollen and impurities from the air providing relief for allergy sufferers. This unit requires a special 230V electrical outlet and will not operate with a standard 115V household electrical outlet.
Average Customer Rating:
4.591 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation95%21 out of 22reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 35 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Frigidaire FRA296ST2 28,500-BTU 230V Heavy-Duty Room Window Air Conditioner with Temperature Sensing Remote Control

Excellent AC for large areas.

08/15/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Please note that it needs a 30 Amp line and circuit braker. I had a 240 volt line, but it was only rated at 20 Amps and was the wrong plug configuration. The wire also needed to be upgraded. After I got that installed the air conditioner is great. It puts out a very good flow of very cold air if you want to rapidly cool a hot area. It works great on low fan in power saver mode when you don't need as much cooling. The remote control provides easy changing of settings. I love the unit. It is awsome.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Frigidaire FRA296ST2 28,500-BTU 230V Heavy-Duty Room Window Air Conditioner with Temperature Sensing Remote Control
09/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product for the money. Definitley did its job during our 2 month long 100+ heat wave. While it was 105 outside, it maintained my 3000sq ft metal building with 12' ceilings at 85-90. Much better than it could have been w/o AC.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Frigidaire FRA296ST2 28,500-BTU 230V Heavy-Duty Room Window Air Conditioner with Temperature Sensing Remote Control

Excellent A/C unit

07/30/2011
By ,
Northwest Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful product, cools the house quickly, remote feature is like having a central A/C unit, a lot of plastic and foam, but what do you expect now days.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Frigidaire FRA296ST2 28,500-BTU 230V Heavy-Duty Room Window Air Conditioner with Temperature Sensing Remote Control
04/25/2012
By ,
Ripley, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent air conditioner. We are using it to cool a 2000 sq. ft. house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Frigidaire FRA296ST2 28,500-BTU 230V Heavy-Duty Room Window Air Conditioner with Temperature Sensing Remote Control
09/02/2011
By ,
Troy, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would very much recomment this airconditioner, I think its great but Walmart or the manufacturer should note that the 220 plug is not standard. We had to have an electrician come in and rewire since the standard outlet we had would not work.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Frigidaire FRA296ST2 28,500-BTU 230V Heavy-Duty Room Window Air Conditioner with Temperature Sensing Remote Control

Just what we needed!

07/27/2012
By ,
East Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We read many customer reviews of this product from this web site and several other web sites. Based on those combined reviews we felt that this was the A/C solution we needed for the 910 sq ft mobile home we are remodeling. We knew in advance that this was a 220 unit and that we needed a special plug for it. Installation simple and we are happy with the performance in our 100+ degree Texas summer heat!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Frigidaire FRA296ST2 28,500-BTU 230V Heavy-Duty Room Window Air Conditioner with Temperature Sensing Remote Control

Unit failed after 2 weeks

07/05/2012
By ,
Little Rock, AR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The unit was easy to install and set up. It worked perfectly for 2 weeks then stopped cooling. Repairman said the main circuit board was bad and had to be replaced. It's taken over a week to get a new circuit board, and it still hasn't been repaired!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Frigidaire FRA296ST2 28,500-BTU 230V Heavy-Duty Room Window Air Conditioner with Temperature Sensing Remote Control

Beats the old one we had.

07/17/2012
By ,
West Frankfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The new unit replaced a 25 year old unit that sounded and acted like it was on its last leg. The new unit makes less noise, cools the entire house quickly and I love the remote feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Frigidaire FRA296ST2 28,500-BTU 230V Heavy-Duty Room Window Air Conditioner with Temperature Sensing Remote Control

Great A//C

08/28/2011
By ,
hannibal mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This A/C is the great it cools my house down fast a great buy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Frigidaire FRA296ST2 28,500-BTU 230V Heavy-Duty Room Window Air Conditioner with Temperature Sensing Remote Control
06/26/2012
By ,
Alice,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great A/C unit for it price and cheaper than fixxing your old Central.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Frigidaire FRA296ST2 28,500-BTU 230V Heavy-Duty Room Window Air Conditioner with Temperature Sensing Remote Control

It cools a 1600 sq. ft. house in no time.

06/06/2013
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old 24,500 a/c went out at the worst possible time. 90 degrees and 70% humidity. I have a 8000 BTU Frigidaire window unit I used until this one arrived.
Temperature sensing remote is awesome. The econo settings allow for the fan/compressor to stop running when the cooling temp is reached, saving on electricity. All the features of this a/c is unsurpassed by any unit I ever owned. Simply AWESOME!!! Cool house=HAPPY ME!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Frigidaire FRA296ST2 28,500-BTU 230V Heavy-Duty Room Window Air Conditioner with Temperature Sensing Remote Control

Meets my expectations

06/18/2012
By ,
Port Jervis. NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit works at a level higher than I expected. Would like to have been able to optionally purchase required wall outlet with the unit. Unit was delivered earlier than original delivery date. freight company was flexable to my satifaction to deliver on exact date that was agreed on.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Frigidaire FRA296ST2 28,500-BTU 230V Heavy-Duty Room Window Air Conditioner with Temperature Sensing Remote Control

Air Conditioner works good......

07/28/2013
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The air conditioner showed up a week before they said it would be here. (a plus) The unit works great so far, the only problem was finding an outlet for the cord. I'm guessing they don't use this plug on a lot of products because we had a time finding the right one. To make a long story short we had to make a run into the city. Now we are up and running and again the unit works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Frigidaire FRA296ST2 28,500-BTU 230V Heavy-Duty Room Window Air Conditioner with Temperature Sensing Remote Control

quiet

07/15/2013
By ,
st joe mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This air conditioner is more quiet than my last one and seems to be cooling very well
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Frigidaire FRA296ST2 28,500-BTU 230V Heavy-Duty Room Window Air Conditioner with Temperature Sensing Remote Control

Good AC

09/23/2012
By ,
Utica, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with my AC. The one that it replaced was 40 years old. The Fridgaire is much quiter than my old one. Also more energy efficent. Cooled my house down in no time at all. The remote control is a nice feature.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Frigidaire FRA296ST2 28,500-BTU 230V Heavy-Duty Room Window Air Conditioner with Temperature Sensing Remote Control
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5