Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Richell Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Richell Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

 
Average Customer Rating:
4.55 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation95%76 out of 80reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown
08/27/2013
By ,
Palm Desert CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arrived timely, EZ to assemble, looks great as expected, we can step over and functions well to keep our three Havanese pups out of bedrooms. EZ to move when it is time for us to go to bed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Looks like a piece of beautiful furniture!

05/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a well made dog gate. We already purchased 2 of them, but did not understand why this could not have been picked up directly from Walmart, as the other 2 had. It came from a distributor. The box was missing 2 screws. I called for these missing parts, they insisted pictures to show the baggie, indeed missing the parts. REALLY!! Horrible distributor, be aware! I called Richell (manufacturer), the missing parts were immediately sent, without a question. After putting the gate together, we noticed several stress cracks, so I called Richell again. They immediately sent out the (2) front grills, now that's excellent Customer Service!! We have a bichon, and it works really well, keeping him out of dining area, and living room. Highly suggest this product!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Love this Gate

05/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It keeps my yorkies out of the dining room and we can step over it easily.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Perfect for small, non-jumper

02/04/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very sturdy and attractive gate. I bought a pet pen, then cancelled the order when I saw this. I can now put my doggie in the kitchen, with a very wide door and give him the run of the kitchen when we're gone. We have a 4.5 pound little one who does not jump. Perfect for him. Also, he is an escape artist, but won't be able to get through the narrow slats (about 1.5"). The one thing I don't like is that the width is permanent unless you want to unscrew. That said, I can't assemble anything - ever. And I was determined. With a cordless phillips I assembled this in 15 minutes. My husband is going to be so proud of me! So, if you must adjust the width, it will not be difficult. There are only 4 screws that you will need to undo and move - and they are huge and easily manageable. Seriously, I cannot EVER assemble anything and after I understood the directions, I was done in a hot second. Really easy! I love this gate. Now our little one can have the run of the kitchen and can "leak" on the floor without me caring. It will make my day more peaceful knowing he's behind a strong gate, safe and sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

great gate

03/08/2012
By ,
missouri city, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this gate. I bought this gate for my two yorkies. It is perfect. It stays in place. I was looking for something for a wide opening, but did not want it to mount to the wall. This fit the bill. I took a long time to make up my mind because I really wanted to pick the right one. Well, this is the one. The only con is that it does not have a door opening and you have to step over it, but I knew that before I bought it and that was not a deal breaker. Also walmart had the best price by far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

No longer an escape artist!

02/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had five gates for my little girl. She has been able to escape four of them because they were too high off the floor, bars were too far apart, or wasn't long enough. I finally ended up reinforcing the longest gate with the other gates and cardboard to fill in all gaps! Time consuming! This gate fits the area between the living room and kitchen perfectly. It is very nice looking. It was pretty easy to put together; I think a smaller size would be a breeze. But because this gate has to be extended to the maximum size of over 70 inches it was just hard to handle. So the only problem for me is to where to keep it when it isn't being used for what it was meant to be used for--keeping the dog in the kitchen when I am not home! But she hasn't figures out how to escape---yet!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Perfect for blocking off a wide hallway.

04/15/2014
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this in order to block off a wide hallway that other baby and dog gates weren't able to expand to. Keeps our itty bitty 5 lb chihuahua out of the hallway and where we can keep an eye on her. I'd imagine that this will only work for toy/small breeds and a medium to large dog would learn to jump over it soon enough. Nice looking, though I thought the wood would be a bit darker/reddish in color, but not a deal breaker. It works, we aren't tripping over it (easy to step over, just under knee height) and the legs make it sturdy. No more marred walls with expansion type barriers and super easy to move or adjust the width to use in a doorway or another area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

GREAT GATE !!

05/22/2012
By ,
Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful product at Walmart pricing !!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Great gate!

11/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this gate. Previously had the expandable wooden gate with the little white rubber bumbers that wedged itself in the doorway. That gate was a bit too tall to step over easily and got wobbly with age and because it was set most of the way expanded. The little rubber bumpers eventually put marks on the wall, too. Finally, the metal support that kept the 2 gate halves together would snag on the hem of your pants.
This gate has none of those problems. It is shorter to step over, very sturdy, and looks nice, too. Must not have been too bad to put together because my wife assembled it before I got home and did a good job. Has ended lots of annoying little problems. I'm very pleased!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown
11/04/2012
By ,
Grovetown, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best buys I have ever made. I have a large opening between my kitchen and family room and could not find a gate that would fit that opening without having hardware attached to the wall. Since we live in a new home I did not want to have to attach a gate to the wall. I bought this free standing gate and it is wonderful. We just fold the sides in and stand it against a wall when not in use. I have 3 miniature poodles and they have never even tried to move it. Because of the sturdiness of the gate they could not move it anyway. This gate is attractive, useful and economical. Love it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown
03/01/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this freestanding gate, you adjust it to the size you need which was very easy. I like that it has the legs so you don't have to attached it to your walls. I use it to keep my puppy from getting into things. I would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Gate insecure due to hole error

02/07/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is beautiful and I love the small one of the same type. This one however has a problem with hole alignment between the two major side rails. It is impossible to place all four bolts because when the upper holes are aligned and bolts in place, the lower holes do not align and it is impossible to place the bolts. This happens the opposite way also. Disappointing.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Use as a baby gate

04/10/2013
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually bought this as a baby gate to go around our glass entertainment center. It was the perfect height and the fact that it is adjustable was a key selling point. The fact it was freestanding was a great feature as well. I can't honestly say how it holds up with pets but my 9 month old has tried everything to get this thing out of her way with no luck. She has even pulled herself up on it a couple times and it hasn't tipped over so it seems pretty sturdy as well. It seemed a little pricey when I first purchased it but considering we are using it to keep her away from very expensive electronics it is worth every penny.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown
04/25/2012
By ,
illinois
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
good pet gate for small dog, not for big dog!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

love it

02/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this to keep our puppy contained to our living room. It looks very nice and fits in with our decor. Love it! Well worth the money!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

House Saver

02/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 3 large dogs and this fence is substantial enough to keep them downstairs during the day. It's got a great base. Good materials, just heavy enough to do the job.
Great product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Nice looking gate

03/06/2013
By ,
Sacramento, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a nice looking gate to keep my french bulldog and chihuahua front the living room when I'm not home. It's the perfect size and height. I can step over it easily and it keeps them from the living room. The color appears a little darker online than the actual gate.
The one downside is I wish it was easily adjustable so I could move it to other areas of the house.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Great for puppies and small dogs.

10/27/2012
By ,
Yakima WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pet gate was perfect to inclose our new puppy in our breakfast nook. I have received many complements on how attractive the gate is. Well worth the money. I would not purchase it for medium dogs who can jump however (jack russel ) it would not be high enough. We have used it to keep the puppy safe and contained in an area that gives him more freedom than a crate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Great stand alone gate!

01/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the fact that it has hinges so it's easier to store when not in used. The gate keeps my son away from kitchen now that he's starting to crawl while my dog is able to roam free around the kitchen when nobody is home. Excellent product!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Item arrived damaged

01/05/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The gate was delivered on time to Walmart. Pick up was easy. When I got the gate home however, I discovered that it was damaged. The corners are held together with wooden dowels and the dowels had snapped in two on two of the corners. I returned the item to Walmart, but I have not reordered a new one yet.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next