Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Richell Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Richell Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

 
Average Customer Rating:
4.655 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation98%57 out of 58reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 19 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown
08/27/2013
By ,
Palm Desert CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arrived timely, EZ to assemble, looks great as expected, we can step over and functions well to keep our three Havanese pups out of bedrooms. EZ to move when it is time for us to go to bed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Perfect for blocking off a wide hallway.

04/15/2014
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this in order to block off a wide hallway that other baby and dog gates weren't able to expand to. Keeps our itty bitty 5 lb chihuahua out of the hallway and where we can keep an eye on her. I'd imagine that this will only work for toy/small breeds and a medium to large dog would learn to jump over it soon enough. Nice looking, though I thought the wood would be a bit darker/reddish in color, but not a deal breaker. It works, we aren't tripping over it (easy to step over, just under knee height) and the legs make it sturdy. No more marred walls with expansion type barriers and super easy to move or adjust the width to use in a doorway or another area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

attractive and functional

04/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks nice in house. Super easy to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

great gate

03/08/2012
By ,
missouri city, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this gate. I bought this gate for my two yorkies. It is perfect. It stays in place. I was looking for something for a wide opening, but did not want it to mount to the wall. This fit the bill. I took a long time to make up my mind because I really wanted to pick the right one. Well, this is the one. The only con is that it does not have a door opening and you have to step over it, but I knew that before I bought it and that was not a deal breaker. Also walmart had the best price by far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Sturdy and good looking

03/13/2014
By ,
Cedar Rapids
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have purchased some dog gates through the years, but usually for a narrow doorway. We needed something for a 5 foot doorway. This gate is made well and sturdy. We were able to set it to set in the doorway nicely. There is no way to "squeeze" it inside the doorway frame. The end pieces sit squarely and balance it well. It does not collapse in anyway for storage, so a person will need to realize that it will take a large space to set it when not in the doorway. It is easy to step over (about 18 inches high), but our Schnauzer doesn't jump it. Very nice looking, pretty wood color. We like it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Nice looking functional gate

03/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate blends in perfectly with my decor and does not look cheap or tacky at all. Easy to step over and keeps my 5lb puppy out of the sectioned off area.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown
03/01/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this freestanding gate, you adjust it to the size you need which was very easy. I like that it has the legs so you don't have to attached it to your walls. I use it to keep my puppy from getting into things. I would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown
11/04/2012
By ,
Grovetown, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best buys I have ever made. I have a large opening between my kitchen and family room and could not find a gate that would fit that opening without having hardware attached to the wall. Since we live in a new home I did not want to have to attach a gate to the wall. I bought this free standing gate and it is wonderful. We just fold the sides in and stand it against a wall when not in use. I have 3 miniature poodles and they have never even tried to move it. Because of the sturdiness of the gate they could not move it anyway. This gate is attractive, useful and economical. Love it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Looks good. Works great for our Boston Terrier.

01/05/2014
By ,
Emmetsburg, IA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appears to be made well. The wood look is nice for the living area. Easy to step over for adults. Also simple to move to open if needed. I would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Perfect for small, non-jumper

02/04/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very sturdy and attractive gate. I bought a pet pen, then cancelled the order when I saw this. I can now put my doggie in the kitchen, with a very wide door and give him the run of the kitchen when we're gone. We have a 4.5 pound little one who does not jump. Perfect for him. Also, he is an escape artist, but won't be able to get through the narrow slats (about 1.5"). The one thing I don't like is that the width is permanent unless you want to unscrew. That said, I can't assemble anything - ever. And I was determined. With a cordless phillips I assembled this in 15 minutes. My husband is going to be so proud of me! So, if you must adjust the width, it will not be difficult. There are only 4 screws that you will need to undo and move - and they are huge and easily manageable. Seriously, I cannot EVER assemble anything and after I understood the directions, I was done in a hot second. Really easy! I love this gate. Now our little one can have the run of the kitchen and can "leak" on the floor without me caring. It will make my day more peaceful knowing he's behind a strong gate, safe and sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

GREAT GATE !!

05/22/2012
By ,
Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful product at Walmart pricing !!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Nice gate too short for my dog

02/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a shih poo that is about 10 pounds and fully grown and he was able to hop over it, so unfortunately mine got returned. It is a great quality product and durable!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Excellent gate

11/14/2013
By ,
tonawanda ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this was just what i was looking for. Needed a stepover gate to keep my little puppy in kitchen and didnt want to attach anything to walls.. Walls at odd angle.. This was able to be placed perfectly.. Easy to move, nice wood .. Nice to look at instead of other type gate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Good Product

01/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great to block a wood stove.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown
04/25/2012
By ,
illinois
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
good pet gate for small dog, not for big dog!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Perfect for my use.

12/29/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice well constructed gate. I bought it for my dog that went blind so it works perfect as she will not jump anymore. This might not work for a dog that jumps. I use it to block the stairs and it works perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Nice looking gate

03/06/2013
By ,
Sacramento, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a nice looking gate to keep my french bulldog and chihuahua front the living room when I'm not home. It's the perfect size and height. I can step over it easily and it keeps them from the living room. The color appears a little darker online than the actual gate.
The one downside is I wish it was easily adjustable so I could move it to other areas of the house.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Great for puppies and small dogs.

10/27/2012
By ,
Yakima WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pet gate was perfect to inclose our new puppy in our breakfast nook. I have received many complements on how attractive the gate is. Well worth the money. I would not purchase it for medium dogs who can jump however (jack russel ) it would not be high enough. We have used it to keep the puppy safe and contained in an area that gives him more freedom than a crate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Great for small dogs

12/20/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it's sturdy, it's pretty & best of all it works! I have a 16 pound Morky & he can't get past the gate! Although he barks continually I'm hoping he will adjust to it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Richell Freestanding Large Pet Gate, Brown

Use as a baby gate

04/10/2013
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually bought this as a baby gate to go around our glass entertainment center. It was the perfect height and the fact that it is adjustable was a key selling point. The fact it was freestanding was a great feature as well. I can't honestly say how it holds up with pets but my 9 month old has tried everything to get this thing out of her way with no luck. She has even pulled herself up on it a couple times and it hasn't tipped over so it seems pretty sturdy as well. It seemed a little pricey when I first purchased it but considering we are using it to keep her away from very expensive electronics it is worth every penny.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1 2 3 Next