Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Apex Apex 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LD4086

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Apex Apex 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LD4086

Combine stunning LCD TV design with full-HD picture quality, superior functionality and convenience and you get the Apex 40" 1080p LCD HDTV. This HDTV features a high-performance LCD panel for deep contrast, three HDMI inputs and a QAM tuner to enable direct reception of digital cable channels without the use of a set top box. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Apex 40" 1080p LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(98 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
33
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation88%86 out of 98reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
33
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Apex 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LD4086

VERY VERY BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE

02/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought a APEX LCD in Nov, complained that the TV has some dark spot on it on Dec 28th. No fix till now.
They say we are waiting on parts and will take 2 weeks.
This is the order/complaint confirmation number from DEC 28th RA763101W-GB
I suggest not to buy APEX products, or if you do, buy some good third party warranty.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 2 for Apex 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LD4086

Great Value

12/21/2010
By ,
Chesapeake, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this TV as an early Christmas present for my husband.
So far it has met expectations--there is one problem-it is with our cable server-COX Cable remote-cannot find the right "code" to set up remote for off/on and volumn.
Otherwise a good TV for the price ( I did see a competitor offer the same TV for $15 less)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Apex 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LD4086

What a Deal!

09/20/2010
By ,
Killeen,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not be happier with this TV. I have it connected to directv and have thoroughly enjoyed the picture quality. I'm not an HDTV expert, but I know what I like and I like this set. The sound is very good, in my bedroom I set it on about 7 out of 100. Now don't get me wrong, surround it isn't, but it's great for just standard speakers and you can always upgrade to any sound system. Plenty of connections, a large, stable base, and nice glossy finish. Also, one feature I really appreciate, the connections are vertical from the bottom so you can position this set very close to the wall without worrying about the cords being in the way. Did I mention I'm using it as my computer monitor as well. Love it, can't beat the price either!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+64points
Review 4 for Apex 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LD4086

Great TV for the price

10/12/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our old CRT TV was on its last legs, to the point that the remote control no longer worked and pressing any button on the TV pulled up the menu screen. We had a little bit of money to spare so we decided to upgrade to a larger screen and HD resolution. Aside from occasional blurriness that (which may be mostly the fault of what's being displayed and not necessarily the TV), it's a great TV and the price was wonderful. Provides a good-quality picture and phenomenal sound with cable, the Wii, and our DVD player; looking forward to getting a Blu-ray player now that they're finally dropping in price to the point that they're reasonable to see how it does with video designed for HD as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Review 5 for Apex 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LD4086

Worth every penny.

10/07/2010
By ,
Springfield, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this TV to replace a three week old, 47 inch LG LCD TV. A shot glass accidentally got thrown through that one. The picture quality is far below the LG, but at less than half the price that is to be expected. It is still a nice set. The blacks are not that deep, and the screen glare is pretty harsh from florescent light. The picture though is very nice. I do not use the sound so I can not comment on that. If you are looking to upgrade from something smaller, or are trying to get into High Def on a limited budget, this set would be killer. If you can afford an LG or Sony, then this is not your best buy.
The bottom line: An excellent value for the money. It is a 40 inch 1080p LCD for ~400 bucks.
I have only had it a few hours, so I can not comment on the life of it. I will say that there are no noticeable dead pixels.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 6 for Apex 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LD4086

Love It So Far

10/27/2010
By ,
new haven, ct
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned this tv for about 2 weeks, but so far I love it! For the price you can't beat it. I was really concerned about picture quality because of the low price point but it's actually pretty good. The sound quality is surprisingly impressive (above 25 is too loud!), but then again I live in a small studio so that may have something to do with it. If you're on a budget and want/need to upgrade then you won't go wrong this. As far as durablity, it's too soon tell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 7 for Apex 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LD4086

Advice for buyers

11/21/2010
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The TV and the HDMI cable came separate. When we got the TV we hooked it up right away using the Coaxial cable we had for the previous TV. We weren't impressed with the picture and there was a buzzing in the speakers. We Emailed our problem assuming a blown speaker. We were advised to go to higher quality connections. RCA cables improved visual quality substantually but it still buzzed a bit. Several days later we got, and used, the HDMI. Wow! Noise was gone and picture was extraordinary. We're thrilled!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 8 for Apex 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LD4086

Great Deal

11/03/2010
By ,
NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very inexpensive TV which I bought for a second home and didn't want to invest a great deal of money. Though the reviews were somewhat mixed I took a chance on this one and have been pleasantly surprised. The picture is very good even on a non HD channel. The sound is actually pretty good compared to the 42 inch plazma TV I bought for my main residence. I'm actually leaning toward buying one of these for my main residence. From what I have experienced with this TV, you can't go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 9 for Apex 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LD4086

Low Cost Television

12/21/2010
By ,
Missouri
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this television on Cyber Monday, so received an excellent price. The cost is reflected in the movie quality and in the sound. The remote control is also very limited, and has to be pointed directly at the receiver or it will not work.
For gamers, the picture quality is excellent with HDMI cables to a XBox 360, however, when watching a movie, the picture is grainy at almost all times. The video adjustments make a negligible impact on the actual picture.
The audio adjustments are the same as the video adjustments in that they do not make a big impact on the actual output. I have tried many combinations and it is very hard to hear the words during movies and games. At times, the bass, no matter the adjustment, causes the speakers to pop with static, as well.
Overall, this television is a good value, depending on the price you pay, but do not expect a lot of bells and whistles and be prepared to purchase a theater system if you want better sound quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Apex 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LD4086

fantastic product for a great price

03/28/2011
By ,
Upstate, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i was in the market for a new tv and shopped around A LOT. I was torn between several different tvs, some 37'', some 42'', and a couple 40'' tvs. For th most part, i was stuck on the brand names because i pretty much knew what i was getting. But then i realized, i wasnt entertaining with tv, it was only going in my bedroom, so i wasnt in need of the most amazing tv out there, and i was more concerned about saving money. Originally this was my last choice because i had never heard of Apex, but wow am i glad i changed my mind. For the price, you can no beat it. Sound quality is outstanding (and if its not how you like it, there are many options and adjustments you can make to perfect it). Picture quality is not bad at all. When hooked up to normal cable, its still VERY clear, but obviously not like an HD hook up. I have an XBox hooked up in HD, and believe me, the picture quality is OUT OF THIS WORLD. For the money, you can not beat this television. An absolutely AMAZING buy, so id reccomend this product to any, and everyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Apex 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LD4086

works well

01/24/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works well, decent picture and sound
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 12 for Apex 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LD4086

Great Deal!

11/23/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading the reviews on this TV I decided to go ahead and give it a try. I am so happy I did. For the money you can't beat the quality. The picture quality is just fine for me. The sounds is great. All and all this was a great deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 13 for Apex 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LD4086

Great buy at $399

05/24/2011
By ,
Carrollton, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I researched LCD TV's for about a month before I finally made my purchase at the end of November. We still had an old 27" tube tv that we'd owned since about 1995, so ANYTHING is a huge improvement over that. I was going to purchase a Vizio 37" when I stumbled upon this model. From the mixed reviews of others, it seems that there is the occasional lemon in the bunch, but I've had no problems with mine. My only complaint is that the sound coming from the built-in speakers is horrible, but I knew it would be. You can't expect decent sound at that price, nor can you expect it from an LCD tv at twice the price. Flat panels just aren't made for built-in sound. $399 + $98 for quality "surround" sound is STILL a fantastic deal! I also bought a Sauder Entertainment center for under $150 and they look fantastic together.
What's great: Price point, picture quality
What's not: Poor sound quality, lack of customization for sound and picture in menus
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Apex 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LD4086

Great TV!

11/16/2010
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is great! Great product for an even better price! The sound is really good on it- only have to put it on 6 or 8 for it to be loud enough for the room. Would buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 15 for Apex 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LD4086

The 40" Apex

11/27/2010
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very pleased with this product, and the pricing was acceptional. Would recommend this product to anyone looking ffor quality, and value. Again, I'm very pleased. Thank you, 'Walmart'!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 16 for Apex 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LD4086

APEX customer service is awful

03/03/2011
By ,
TEXAS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked this tv, however, within a month after buying it, occassionally the tv would just 'lose" the channel lineup and I'd have to rescan for channels. After numerous calls to APEX Customer Service and always being talked to by a person called "AL", there was no resolve, he kept saying " I'll have a technician call". Finally the tv's digital tuner crapped out all together, a local tech said it was most likely defective to begin with, which is rare, but does happen. So, another call to AL, and this time, he told me 4 to 6 weeks before anyone could come check it out. MY advice, call walmart customer service and calmly explain the issues, seems this isn't the only problem they've had with APEX.
I'll put it this way, if you've seen the commercial on tv about credit card miles and the guy answers the phone as "Peggy"... I think they copied that from having to deal with APEX! I will say, Walmart stands behind what they sell and I have a new TV coming, I just hope this one works. HINT, buy the extended warranty... you just never know with electronics when a defective part is going to land in the one you buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Apex 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LD4086

So far so good

11/06/2010
By ,
Pomona, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the cheapest 40 inch i could find for my fiancee, it's not the plasma i wanted, but my budget was low and it's still an upgrade from crt. A friend has had 2 large lcds from brands i've never heard of, and they have survived his family, so i figured i would take the risk.
We took it home on 10/22/10, and i was worried about the quality. We only have standard cable (NOT HD), so commenting soley on Standard Definition, it looks great. Just make sure everything is plugged in right, my fiancee managed to plug in the A/V cables wrong and got me worried when we tried to turn it on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Apex 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LD4086

Great Value

11/08/2010
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this as a gift for my parents and of course it blows away their old console tv. I have only watched 3 hdtv's. This one is the largest and needs to be viewed from further away. Gets plenty loud. Can't beat the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+2points
Review 19 for Apex 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LD4086

Great TV/GREAT Price!

03/22/2011
By ,
KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a cheap TV. I didn't need anything super fancy or expensive. I was so happy to find this one on Walmart.com for such a great price. It's a perfect size for my family room. You can't find anything else cheaper. I did the "Site to Store" to save on shipping... it took a LONG time. I live in KS. When I tracked the TV, it actually left KS and went to AR, then came back! Oh, and it was "delayed" in shipping. However, it was worth the price to wait 10 days!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Apex 40" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, LD4086

piece of junk

08/22/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got TV from WalMart.com in April. Was easy to set up and had good picture, for about a week, now no picture. I've called Apex, after a long search to find a number to call, only to talk to someone who asked me to send proof of when I got the tv which I did and was told that someone would be out to my house to try to fix it within 4 weeks. That's been 4 months ago. Finally found a number to call only to find out that Apex was sold to another company. Called this company and was asked " No ones been out to look at your tv?", my reply if someone had checked it would I be calling asking about when someone was coming to check the set. This person told me that someone would be calling my home in a day or two to set up a time to come check the set. If this happens I'll repost with a better review.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
1-20 of 74 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next