Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Remington Remington S9500 Pearl Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Remington Remington S9500 Pearl Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Get sleek, straight hair with the Remington Ceramic Pearl Professional Straightener. The pearl-infused ceramic technology straightens your hair without snagging or pulling, effectively reducing the risk of breakage. The dual layer ceramic-coated plates give your hair even heat retention to prevent hear damage and fried ends. For best straightening results, it's best to work through your hair in one" sections. The Remington Straightener has 1" floating plates that adjust to each section of your hair, so you can straighten your hair quickly and easily. The Remington Straightener takes just 15 seconds to heat up and has a temperature control lock, so you can't overheat your strands.
Average Customer Rating:
4.24 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(125 Reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation81%101 out of 125reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 40 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Remington S9500 Pearl Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Very Impressed!

03/30/2011
By ,
vidor,tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this flat iron after returning the andis because it just wasn't doing a good enough job on my hair. I figured I'd try every flat iron out there till I found one that worked for my hair starting with the cheapest. I bought this one feeling like I would be disappointed as I have been with previous flat irons purchased from wal-mart but much to my surprise this is probably one of the best I've owned! I would put it up there with the GVP because that's the most expensive flat iron I've owned. For a little over $30, this was a steal! I have very stubborn,thick,wavy hair and it straightened it with 1 pass,leaving my hair very sleek also! I love that it's digital and the colors are very appealing. Also it beeps when it's heated up completely and only takes 15 sec. to get there which is what it claims! This is only my 1st time to use it so I just hope it lasts! It almost seems too good to be true! I would definitely recommend this flat iron to anyone! If it worked on my hair, most likely it will work on yours too!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Remington S9500 Pearl Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Amazing flat iron for the price!

10/07/2011
By ,
New Orleans, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This flat iron is phenomenal.
It heats up to 450 degree.
It has a swivel chord.
It heats up FAST.
It has a lock mechanism.
It has floating plates (see pictures)
The smoothness of this flat iron when it glides through hair is lovely. The whole reason I bought another flat iron is because my Ion from Sally constantly pulled my hair when flat ironing.
I have straight hair already by usually it takes me a while to pass a flat iron through, but not with this flat iron. I am done so quickly it's unreal.
In comparison, I have bought, used, and RETURNED Chi flat irons because they don't get hot enough for my hair. They also PULLED!
I have also bought and used a Maxius Maxiglide from HSN. It worked okay but broke in less than a year. It still was not nearly as smooth as this flat iron is on the hair.
The floating plates are nice. On this flat iron floating plates is where the bottom portion of the plates do not touch- just the bottom. I never had a flat iron with floating plates but I think that's what helps this flat iron to NOT PULL HAIR! It still straightens from the heat that the plates emit because the plate still touches the hair, it just doesn't SQUEEZE the hair.
My Advice: TRY IT!
You have 90-days to figure out if you like it. Keep the packaging (which you should do for everything you buy until the warranty/return period is up) and if you don't like it RETURN IT! You're only out $30 rather than $100-$250 for other flat irons.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Remington S9500 Pearl Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Great Straightener

10/30/2010
By ,
Lubbock
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have the thickest hair and it hard to find the best straightener. I always used my sisters in law Chi straightener since it worked good but I would not spend over $100 for it. I purchased this yesterday and was a little worried about how it would worked. This does heat up pretty fast on 360 and works great. My opinion works better than the chi, does not gri your hair and make that "thunk" noise when clamped together. The features are great has a lock and the digital timer. Very light weight in my view. My hair is really soft and has been like this for the last 8 hours. So for the price of this, you can still afford to buy all the hair products instead of a professional straightener.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Remington S9500 Pearl Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

beware...it only worked for a short time!

06/19/2014
By ,
United States
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i had purchased this straightener the beginning of june 2014 & it already has quit working. i only used it 3 times and it has only been 2 weeks since i had purchased it. i of course ordered it online & didnt think i would be returning this when the product arrived so i had thrown away the packing slip & the box it came in...please reconsider before purchasing this product!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/23/2014
Good morning, thank you for providing your feedback regarding your Remington product. We are sorry that our product did not meet your expectations and want to ensure your concerns are resolved. Please contact us at Contactus@remingtonproducts.com and reference case ID number 1239220 so that we may better assist you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Remington S9500 Pearl Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Love this flat iron!

02/28/2011
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been on the market for a new flat iron and I am so glad I came across this one! I tried a few brands now and I was ready to splurge on a "better" one but now I don't have to. This iron is very light and has good temp. settings. It leaves my normally dry and coarse hair silky smooth and gorgeous! My hair is very thick but with this iron I only have to go over it twice tops. It is great for making curls as well; I have gotten many compliments. The price is great too, can't beat it. Thank you Remington for making such a great product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Remington S9500 Pearl Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

African American LOVE IT!

01/17/2011
By ,
Northern CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm an African American female with non-relaxed hair and i ABSOLUTELY love this flat iron!!! I couldn't ask for a better product ESPECIALLY for the price! 450 degrees was what caught my attention. My CHI is going back to the store as soon as I find my receipt! lol
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Remington S9500 Pearl Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

best flat iron

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned one for more than a year. It works great heats up quick, straightens my hair professionally. I am very satisfied. I bought this one for my daughter.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Remington S9500 Pearl Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Good for African American hair

12/28/2010
By ,
Sunbury PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this straightener. I am in school to be a cosmetologist so I come across a lot of professional and non-pro flat irons and i have to say this one works just as well as a $180 flat iron that is obviously much more expensive. What i do recommend as a future professional is if your hair is thick, wavy, or kinky to glide it down from root to ends a little slower, this way your hair should straighten in 1-2 glides.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Remington S9500 Pearl Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

It was O.K. for very thick hair

04/22/2011
By ,
Mobile, AL.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I liked the color and features, but I did not like the gap in between the plates! It may work if you have thick hair, but as far as I am concerned there should not be any gaps between the plates. It took forever to straighten. I do not have anything against Remington, I believe they make quality products. I had been using a Wet-to-Straight for a while and it did not have any gaps between the plates. I bought a new one only because I needed to upgrade to a 1" versus a 2" and also because I heard it is not good to flat iron your hair when wet, even if the iron is designed for that. For those of you who have a Wet-to-Straight out there, do not worry! Just use it on dry hair for less damage.
I really liked the features on the new Pearl, digital flat irons, but next time I will take it out of the package before purchasing. If I plan on purchasing online, I will personally look at it at the store then make my purchase online. For example, the New Remington (Anti-Humidity) has plates that close all the way.
Also look for gaps at the end of the plates that may catch your hair and pull. A good flat iron should have no gaps in between the plates, they should be the "floating" type and also they should have no gaps at either end to minimize catching and pulling you hair.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Remington S9500 Pearl Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

WORKS GREAT BUT NOT FOR LONG

11/05/2011
By ,
Bell, Ca.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
so i got this hair straightener and it works great. it heats up fast and works great. i have semi long hair and with my last straighter it took me 45 minutes to straighten my hair but this one took 15 minutes. results were great my hair wasn't frizzy and stayed straight all day. now for the DOWNSIDE it just stops working. out of no where it just gives out. i take care of my things and it just died. it you want a straightener that lasts for 6 months then get this one. now after only a few short months and maybe 60 uses i hace a staightener that doesn't even power on. very upsetting since the product does a great job when it does work.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Remington S9500 Pearl Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Keeper

05/16/2011
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had this for a few months...def much better then my old straightener...(wet to straight) I was hesitant at first but im overall satisfied that i got it. It heats up quick and doesn't take long to straighten ur hair. (and i have long hair) its a good buy if ur not looking to spending too much i would recommend this.
I was worried about the button location but i havent bumped it yet...and i am usually not the "taking my time getting ready type" im the 10 min gettin ready bc thats all the time i have kinda person. haha
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Remington S9500 Pearl Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Best For Thick Hair

07/03/2011
By ,
Louisville, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Let me explain the low ratings.
This product is definitely best for someone with thick hair, as many love it. But if you have relatively thin hair (like myself) that isn't naturally straight, though, I wouldn't opt for this straightener.
The plates do not close all the way, leaving a gap, so thin hair just kinda slips right through, taking much longer to straighten.
It is beautiful to look at, and light weight, though...
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Remington S9500 Pearl Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

GREAT FLAT IRON 4 DRY CURLY HAIR!!

03/14/2012
By ,
TEXAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IVE ALWAYS BEEN SKEPTICAL ABOUT DRUGSTORE HAIR STRAIGHTENERS. SO I USED THE CHI TURBO FOR 4 YEARS UNTIL IT GAVE OUT. IT WAS GREAT! BUT ALSO EXPENSIVE AND A BIT HEAVY. SO THEN I PURCHASED THE CHI NANO FROM A LOCAL SELLER..USED THE IRON FOR LESS THE A YEAR AND I JUST NOTICED IT DAMAGED MY HAIR REALLY BAD! NEEDLESS TO SAY IM THINKING IT WAS A FAKE:( IM GETTING MARRIED SOON SO CUTTING DOWN ON EXPENSES I READ THE REVIEWS FOR THE REMINGTON & THOUGHT WHY NOT!? SO I BOUGHT IT TODAY FOR $40 ITS ***AWESOME** IT LEFT MY HAIR SUPER STRAIGHT, SHINY AND SOFT! & THATS CAUSE I HAVE REALLY CURLY FRIZZY DRY HAIR! MY HAIR LOOKS 10X HEALTHIER! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT! :D
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Remington S9500 Pearl Ceramic 1" Flat Iron
08/10/2011
By ,
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I Got this as a present. And at first i LOVED it. And i have had it for about 2 months now. And The other day i started straightening my hair, and the screen on it just went blue. and it wont work anymore.
Im not sure what happened. It worked GREAT then just quit. I've taken really good care of it. So im not sure whats up with it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Color Appeal
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Remington S9500 Pearl Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Awesome straightener

04/13/2014
By ,
Fort Wayne, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works great. I had one for two years and my puppy chewed it, so I purchased a new one, it's cheaper here than any where else! Works amazingly! :)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Remington S9500 Pearl Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

love it!!

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this!! Just like I stepped out the shop!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Remington S9500 Pearl Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Quits working after a few months

11/17/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product 3 months ago & one day I turned it on to use it, the second I started using it on my hair it shut off. Thought maybe I accidentally hit the button so turned it on & tried again. Same thing. Even tried it a third time. I am not happy with this product at all. I have used hair straighteners for quite a few years everyday so I've had quite a few different ones & this one is by far the worst.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Remington S9500 Pearl Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

BEST Flat Iron Ever!

11/13/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading countless reviews about this product, I finally decided to pick it up at a nearby Walmart for around $37. I have quite a good ammount of hair that's pretty wavy. I had the Vidal Sassoon flat iron for several years, but it just didn't seem to do the trick. After testing it out on my hair, I have to say; it beats the CHI, Babyliss, and all of those other expensive brands. It leaves my hair silky smooth and pin straight (how I like it to look). I can truely say that even though a straightener is on the more affordable side, doesn't mean that it isn't a great one.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Remington S9500 Pearl Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

love it!!!!!!

03/23/2014
By ,
houston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the Remington pearl line!!!! It just glides thru my hair. My hair stays pin straight all day long. Just such a great product!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Remington S9500 Pearl Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

not as good as I read....

04/16/2011
By ,
Stillwater, OK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Theres sooo many good reviews about this, and when i first got it and used it I liked it too but after using for about a month, it started not working as good. I bought it on Jan 21 2011 and it is April 16 2011 now and it quit on me as of a few days ago. It turns on and warms up then shuts off as soon as you start ironing. Maybe I got a bad one but I am very disappointed..
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next