Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Remington Remington S5520 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1.75" Flat Iron

Remington Remington S5520 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1.75" Flat Iron

Get straight, sleek, shiny hair with the Remington S5520 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1.75" Flat Iron. This powerful device delivers a professional-quality finish in the comfort of your own home. The Remington flat iron eliminates static charge by promoting a neutral electrical balance, keeping hair flat to the head. The flat iron heats up to a salon temperature of 410 degrees Fahrenheit and heats up within 30 seconds for fast use. It's outfitted with special, long ceramic plates that handle large portions of hair at once, reducing styling time. A salon-length swivel cord gives you flexibility and ease of use. Digital controls provide precision in your selections while a hinge lock keeps the plates closed. The heat shuts off automatically after an hour, for safe use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.247 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation85%61 out of 72reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Remington S5520 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1.75" Flat Iron

Great for the price!

12/02/2012
By ,
Los Angeles,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great iron! I love how it glides smoothly,works very well. I also love how there is a lock for easy storage. Good size,great price!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Remington S5520 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1.75" Flat Iron

In Love With This Straightener!

09/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this on accident and it was the BEST "accident" I could have! I love this straightener! I have extremely thick, course, wavy frizzy hair and my hair is so smooth and straight from using this! It does get hot, even on the lowest setting, but it is exactly what my hair NEEDS to straighten correctly. I have NEVER been able to get my hair "Fresh from the salon, straight!" until I bought this straightener! I am going to buy a 2nd one soon, so I have it for a back up, just in case. I have been raving about this straightener on Facebook for days and have been recommending to people like crazy! I wish I had thought to get a picture of my hair before using it both times, but it is really embarrassing how big my hair is, so I will show you what this straightener has done for my hair! I swear this is the BEST $20 I have ever spent in my life. (It is $20 in the store!) I never thought I could get my hair this straight at home! I highly recommend it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Remington S5520 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1.75" Flat Iron

Amazing and Affordable

07/16/2013
By ,
Boynton FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this flat iron since November 2012. I have to say, I am very pleased with the results. I have thick unruly hair, it is more wavy than curly and it gets very frizzy even on low humidity days. It is also pretty long hitting just at my lower back.
That being said, I straightened it around 8 in the morning and went out for the entire day for a 4th of July party/parade. After the whole day of sweating and wind blowing in my face, my hair was still straight! Usually after an hour of commuting my hair goes back to its wavy-self and poofs up like a frizzball. How amazing is that? It also heats up very quickly and my hair does not get caught in the hinge unlike my old straightener. It takes me a shorter amount of time to straighten and I only have to run it through my hair once. Overall, I am very happy with my purchase. I think the price is pretty great too!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Remington S5520 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1.75" Flat Iron

By far one of the best.

05/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been straightening my hair with conair products for a long time, and not to disregard conair because they have definitely been stepping their game up, but I am completely in love with this straightener. I can't believe it has an overall 4 star rating because it def deserves five! I can even curl my hair with this and it works very well. It heats fast, and I don't have to constantly go back over my hair! AND IT'S 16 DOLLARS. Its awesome.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Remington S5520 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1.75" Flat Iron

Best straightener ever!

05/21/2011
By ,
South Beloit, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used many different straighteners over the years, and I have to say this is best one I have ever bought. The heat up time is amazing and the digital setting is great. I have long thick hair, it used to take me 45 mins to get my hair the way I wanted it. Thanks to this product my hair is done the way I want it in less than 20. I recommend this product to anyone looking for an amazing product!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Remington S5520 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1.75" Flat Iron

Amazing!!

11/10/2013
By ,
Park Hills, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ended up buying this straightener as a temporary fix because my expensive one broke....but it's going to become a permanent fix because this thing works better than any other straightener I have owned. Highly recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Remington S5520 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1.75" Flat Iron

yeeeesss

04/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good item
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Remington S5520 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1.75" Flat Iron
07/20/2011
By ,
Arlington,WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I L O V E this straightener, I will never again buy a conair. The only thing I didnt like the first few uses was the smell, but that quickly went away.
Buy it, you wont regret it :)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Remington S5520 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1.75" Flat Iron

Awesome flat iron for an affordable price!!!

02/15/2014
By ,
Atlanta, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this for about 2 weeks now and it is the best! For a flat iron that cost under $30 I wasn't expecting much but this really exceeded my expectations. It works better than my old expensive flat iron! Get it! you won't regret it!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Remington S5520 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1.75" Flat Iron

Does not last

04/08/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This straightener worked great in the beginning, but I have had it less then a year now and the first problem I had was that it would not turn off. I would hold down the power button and it would not turn off, so I always had to just unplug it. Now 2 months later I cannot get it to turn on without having to hit it in the right spot. I sit there for 10 minutes sometimes trying to get it to turn on, and it still will not turn off unless I unplug it. Bottom line- do NOT buy unless you are purchasing the warranty because you will need it!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Remington S5520 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1.75" Flat Iron

two words: FLOATING PLATES

04/04/2012
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been stuck using 1 in straigteners for too long. Thank you for making one that will except my thick long hair and take the time out of straightening. I've used many Remington straighteners as well as expensive $100+ ones and this one wins. Better then the scratchy ceramic one my stylist uses. you need to apply the right pressure to the plates to be able to utilize the benefits but it's worth not having to do one inch strips of hair at a time. Remington...market the heck out of this thing it's amazing!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Remington S5520 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1.75" Flat Iron

WOW! Amazingly better than my CHI

02/08/2012
By ,
Harlan, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Immediately after washing and drying my hair, I straightened it with this flat iron and it stayed completely straight and frizz free for 2 days! I have thick, frizzy hair. It's a nightmare! This flat iron took all the work out of straightening my hair. I no longer have to spend over an hour fixing my hair to walk outside and it frizz out again. This flat iron was bought to replace my broke CHI. I paid over $140 for my CHI and it was a huge let down. I have finally found MY flat iron for my hair after 33 years of searching!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Remington S5520 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1.75" Flat Iron

better than my $100 flat iron!!!!

04/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I saw "floating plates" I was skeptical. But this flat iron really went above my expectations! It does not tug or pull my hair and it's cut my straightening time in half! And you can't beat the price point.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Remington S5520 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1.75" Flat Iron

Amazeballs!

03/04/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This flat iron is AH-MA-ZING. I went through chemotherapy and my hair has been growing back with "chemo curls." To just say it's curly is an understatement; it is CURLY. I got this flat iron today for a birthday gift and I am shocked. My hair is super straight now and it took so little effort I can't believe it. I used to use a flat iron with metal plates and it would never get all the curl out but this thing does. I feel normal again. Buy this. You will love it!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Remington S5520 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1.75" Flat Iron

More than expected

11/18/2013
By ,
Ft Lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter was excited to receive this flat iron. She says it is easy to use and more than she expected in a hair accessory. It was well worth it to see her enjoy her new hair styling tool. Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Remington S5520 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1.75" Flat Iron
04/06/2012
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had several flat irons throughout the years, and spent so much money on irons that didn't work as great as this Remington one I recently purchased. It heats up QUICK! And straightens my hair 1, 2, 3. I never have to go over my piece of hair more than twice compared to other irons where I was going over the same piece until my hands got tired. I HIGHLY recommend this product. It's worth your money, the price is great, the quality is great.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Remington S5520 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1.75" Flat Iron

I am so pleased with this flat Iron.

03/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the iron because it gets hot in 30 seconds and after you use it, it stays hot. I don't have to wait for it to get hot. I only use my iron twice a week that is awesome for a person with curly hair. I have had compliments on my hair and how shinny it looks. I paid $24. 00 for this iron and it was worth every penny.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Remington S5520 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1.75" Flat Iron

Great straightner!

08/12/2012
By ,
Holland, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love, love, love this straightener! Works better than most other brands. I like it so much that I am buying one for my daughter. Heats up fast, and straightens hair with one stroke.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Remington S5520 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1.75" Flat Iron

LOVE IT!

03/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace my curlmaster flat iron I bought years ago that died. I have to say this is way better than what I had and i paid twice as much for my old one. My hair is thick and since it's 1.75", it doesn't take long at all to straighten my hair. Leaves it silky straight. I also put Suave leave in conditioner with keratin after I towel dry it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Remington S5520 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1.75" Flat Iron

awesome

02/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great. Well worth the money. Heats up in seconds
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next