Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Remington Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Remington Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Diminish frizz and flyaways while boosting style control with the Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron. It eliminates static charge by actively promoting a neutral electrical balance in the hair during styling. To help save you waiting time, it heats up in 30 seconds and can reach a temperature of up to 410 degrees Fahrenheit. This professional-grade ceramic plate flat iron features precision digital controls with temperature lock to give you smooth and silky hair. Its long, salon-length swivel cord offers enhanced maneuverability so you can move around a bit without worrying about tangles. The Remington Digital Anti Static Ceramic hair straightener features long, ceramic plates that allow for less damage, as well as floating plates that allow for easy glide. It is also equipped with a turbo boost feature, a hinge lock and a one-hour auto shutoff for added convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.591 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(377 Reviews) 353
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
294
4 stars
50
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation92%345 out of 375reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions | 245 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
294
4 stars
50
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS FLAT IRON!

12/21/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this flat iron about 2 months ago when my friend let me borrow hers because i didn't have one. let me tell you i am mixed so i have curly, nappy hair and THIS FLAT IRON KEPT IT SILKY STRAIGHT FOR 3 WEEKS!!! yesterday my mom came home with this exact one for me and I am SUPER happy and have used it already! it works great and gets really hot! you won't be let down. and for 14 dollars? GO GET ONE NOW!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

BEST FLATIRONS FOR THE PRICE

11/29/2013
By ,
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these flatirons with all my heart. They straighten with ease and they curl amazing. I'm not a professional but I'm pretty good at doing my own hair and I loved these because they made the prettiest curls. Unfortunately mine broke but I am about to re-purchase these. That's how amazing they are. DO NOT LET THE PRICE DISCOURAGE YOU!!!! They are amazing and good quality. Mine broke from my own misuse, it had nothing to do with the flatirons.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

My first flat iron is the best flat iron!

12/27/2012
By ,
Baltimore,Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this straightner my hair is poofy and curly and I always used to have it in a ponytail because everyone made fun of my hair but because of this straightner I can let my hair down and not hear any mean things come out of peoples mouths instead I get compliments :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Elk Grove, California
Not straight at all
Posted 11/15/2013
The picture does not look straight I can see lump n bump
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Amazed

09/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have really difficult to straighten and keep straight curly hair. For the past 6 years, I've been using Chi straighteners thinking that they were the only straighteners that would work for me. When I went off to college, I threw out my trusty old Chi without realizing it in a box full of trash from moving in. After accepting that it was nowhere to be found in my dorm and giving up on having to take 30 minutes every morning to deal with my hair before classes started, I looked online on Walmart's website to try to find the best straightener for cheap since I'm on a college kid budget and I saw the reviews for this straightener and decided to give it a go. I bought it and started to straighten my hair and I was beyond amazed at the quality of this straightener. It works as well-if not better-as my Chi did. I'm still upset that I threw away a hundred dollar straightener, but I'm definitely glad I found this gem. It's a great straightener for its price that can compete with top tier straighteners.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Amazing Straightener!

07/18/2011
By ,
Pocomoke City, Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So this is like the best flat iron that i have ever used. My mom and I used to share her straightener but I really wanted my own but I didn't want to spend the same amount of money that she did for hers. So I went to Walmart to find a cheap affordable but also good quality straightener. So I saw a few, but then I saw this one. This is really good on any kind of hair. I love everything about it. I love how long it is. And i love how there's a swivel cord that's long. I love the color and i love how you can lock the temperature by holding down the minus sign and i love how you can lock it when you're done with it to store away. I also love how it takes on 30 seconds to heat up. The only thing that I have negative to say about this Remington Straightener is that it take like 20 mins for it to cool off and that's a long time to me. But over all this is a very good straightener and its a pretty color. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a good flat iron.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

one of the best!

07/12/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a andis hair straightener for years. It took me nearly an hour to do my hair. It is very layered and thick, so it takes while. My old iron didnt even get it that straight or flat. It was always still poofy and static. I bought this iron 2 weeks ago and I am in love with it! It has the digital heat settings and power button. My hair stays straight for 2 days when I needed it to, even through sleep, heat and humidity! My hair ALWAYS poofs in humidity, not now! My stylist told me, because of my thickness I would need a iron of at least 400 degrees. I thought I would have to buy a very expensive iron, over a $100 for the degrees I wanted. It is a great price for the quality! Sure when you first use it, it feels cheap but when you start going over it with your hair; wow! what a difference! Now straightening my hair takes me 25minutes. I only go over each section of hair twice, when before I would go over it numerous times! I am so pleased with this iron and would recommend it to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Trust me, you'll love it!!! ;)

04/09/2014
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love, love, love, this flat iron! I have natural curly, thick, corse hair. I have never worn it straight until recently. I just turned fifty and my precious sister-in-law treated me to a hair salon visit (make-over), for my birthday. The stylist cut my thick shoulder-length hair in a bob & straightened it. Everyone loved it, because they were used to seeing me with curly hair. After that, I decided to purchase my first flat iron so I could continue wearing my new look. I purchased a Revlon flat iron at first & was so disappointed. (Always read the reviews!!). I returned it and decided to try this flat iron. I have only used this two times and can already tell you it is amazing! It is so easy to use and my hair looks & feels like silk!! I purchased my flat iron in the store and it was a few dollars higher than the online price, but, it is sooo worth it! Trust me!! ;)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Great flat iron

10/28/2014
By ,
Glen Burnie, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first experience with a flat iron. This product works great! The ceramic plates keep you hair from getting fried. The 1" size is easy for a 'first timer' to work with. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Great flat iron, especially for the price!

08/09/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been needing a new flat iron (or hair straigtener) for the past 2 years, but I never wanted to dish out about $70+ for a new, amazing one. About a week or 2 ago, I was shopping at Walmart and just decided to take a look and saw that this particular hair straightener was on sale for $14.97 (orig. price $19.97, still NOT bad). Quickly, I took out my cell phone and looked up reviews and saw it always got at least 4.5-5 stars for most of the people who purchased it. So, I bought it.
Right when I got home, I started to use it and saw that it heated up in 30 seconds (VERY TRUE) and I even figured out how to curl my hair with it right away. It's such an amazing product and very worth the $15 I spent on it, right now it looks like it's on sale for $16.77 online, which still isn't bad.
IF YOU NEED A NEW HAIR STRAIGHTENER + HAIR CURLER, THIS IS IT! BUY IT!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Great but hot

05/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful value straightener. I purchased this for my daughter as a starter flat iron. It has almost everything you want in a great straightener except the popular or expensive name brand. It doesn't catch or pull on the hair, it has a swivel cord, & floating plates. The temperature can get up to 410° but you can control it for a lower temperature. It is ideal for a young girl when you are not ready to pay a lot of money. She's been using it for a while and I have not seen any damage to her hair. I've used it a few times on my own hair and think it is comparable to a Chi I've used before. My biggest complaint is that the sides of the iron get really hot. Otherwise it is a wonderful flat iron that does the job.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

finally found the right straighter

07/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ok so first of all this product should be $100 for its value. my hair is thick curly poofy and only managable in the water. it usually takes me 4 hours to straighten my hair, this time it only took an hour. simply amazing. a day after my hair is still shiny and not a frizz in sight. i wish i could upload pictures or a video. if you have poofy hair with tight curls this is the answer to your prayers. just add some olive oil (for hair) after your done to give your hair some moisture and added protection against frizz. if you dont buy this for $16 you are insane and missing out on beautiful hair.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+120points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Great for the price

09/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a smaller iron to do my bangs, but I use it for my hair much more often. This is fantastic. It has different heat temp, It takes only quick 2-3 times and my hair is perfectly straight on 370. I straighten my hair much more now. It's quick and easy. It can get too hot so you have to be careful but other than that it's perfect.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

straight and steady!

03/08/2011
By ,
east hartford, ct
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After my super expensive flat iron ceramic plate had fallen out, i decided a twenty dollar straightner would do just as well. As i was so happy i was right! This straightner heats up in less than a minute, and although the plates may seem small, they can get any hair job done. Personally i have thick curly hair, but if this straightner can flatten out my kinks, im positive this product can make your hair beatuiful too.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+322points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

My hair has never looked better!

08/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought $20 hair straighteners before and was disappointed. I have been using a $40 one for a few years and it worked "ok" but my friends who had more expensive ones always had smooth straight hair. I have blonde fine straight hair but even when using my previous straightener I was never fully satisfied with the outcome of my hair. After looking at the reviews for this one I decided to give it a try and since the price was so low I figured that it wouldn't hurt my wallet too much. I am so happy with this straightener my hair has NEVER looked this good. There is NO reason anyone should pay alot of money for a good straightener anymore!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Great product

10/18/2014
By ,
San Antonio,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first time using a flat iron.I did some research and ended up buying this one.I have relaxed Afro hair that has re-growth coming through,I don't want to relax my hair any more and thought I could flat iron my roots.when I first used it I was amazed at the results and I didn't do it all that well the first time but the results were great.I highly recommend this flat iron,it works really well and left my hair feeling really silky and soft especially the roots and ends.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Awesome

10/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already had this item before purchasing it from Walmart, and I was extremely satisfied with the results I was getting from the flat iron. The price was exactly right on. I would highly recommend this product to anyone. The old one I had I gave it to my granddaughter, and this is why I decided to buy the same exact one again for myself.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Very good

10/22/2014
By ,
Norcross,GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price you can't go wrong with this. It might not be as good as the high stuff but it gets the job done just as well.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

great

10/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great product I love doing my hair and my daughter hair with it. There is no need to buy a high priced one when you got this
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Biggest bang for the buck

11/15/2013
By ,
Tampa, Fla.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought my second Remington flat iron. The plates on the first had begun to wear the coating off the edges after 18 months of daily use, and it was taking longer to heat up. But all in all, I have been so pleased with both. The new one hits 410 degrees in less than 30 seconds. When I got my first iron, I wondered how I ever lived without one. For the price, it is an excellent value. There are other irons far more expensive, but I doubt they do any better of a job. I have thick, wavy hair that is usually smooth, but live in a humid climate in the summer which wreaks havoc on hair. So this iron gets a lot of use in the summer especially. I have never had any fried hair or complaints that I felt it caused any damage. But I always use a heat protecting serum. Why spend a fortune on a flat iron when you can get the same bang for fewer bucks?
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Great Bang for your Buck!

02/24/2011
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a dual voltage hair straightener for my trip to Ireland. Been using now for a couple weeks. Works better than those expensive ones.
Heats quickly!!! Works great!
Im glad I purchased! Worth every penny!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+139points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 320 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next