Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Remington Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Remington Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Get that salon-styled look everyday in your own home with the Remington S5500 Digital Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron. The Remington Anti-Static Digital Ceramic Straightener eliminates static charge by actively promoting a neutral electrical balance in the hair. This flat iron hair straightener heats up in 30 seconds and can reach up to a temperature of 410 degrees Fahrenheit. This professional ceramic hair straightener features precision digital controls with temperature lock to give you smooth and silky hair in minutes. The long salon-length swivel cord offers better maneuverability. Experiment new hairstyles everyday and get salon-style results with this handy flat iron hair straightener.
Average Customer Rating:
4.57 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(314 Reviews) 290
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
242
4 stars
43
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation91%285 out of 312reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 234 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
242
4 stars
43
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS FLAT IRON!

12/21/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this flat iron about 2 months ago when my friend let me borrow hers because i didn't have one. let me tell you i am mixed so i have curly, nappy hair and THIS FLAT IRON KEPT IT SILKY STRAIGHT FOR 3 WEEKS!!! yesterday my mom came home with this exact one for me and I am SUPER happy and have used it already! it works great and gets really hot! you won't be let down. and for 14 dollars? GO GET ONE NOW!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

BEST FLATIRONS FOR THE PRICE

11/29/2013
By ,
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these flatirons with all my heart. They straighten with ease and they curl amazing. I'm not a professional but I'm pretty good at doing my own hair and I loved these because they made the prettiest curls. Unfortunately mine broke but I am about to re-purchase these. That's how amazing they are. DO NOT LET THE PRICE DISCOURAGE YOU!!!! They are amazing and good quality. Mine broke from my own misuse, it had nothing to do with the flatirons.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

My first flat iron is the best flat iron!

12/27/2012
By ,
Baltimore,Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this straightner my hair is poofy and curly and I always used to have it in a ponytail because everyone made fun of my hair but because of this straightner I can let my hair down and not hear any mean things come out of peoples mouths instead I get compliments :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Elk Grove, California
Not straight at all
Posted 11/15/2013
The picture does not look straight I can see lump n bump
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Amazing Straightener!

07/18/2011
By ,
Pocomoke City, Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So this is like the best flat iron that i have ever used. My mom and I used to share her straightener but I really wanted my own but I didn't want to spend the same amount of money that she did for hers. So I went to Walmart to find a cheap affordable but also good quality straightener. So I saw a few, but then I saw this one. This is really good on any kind of hair. I love everything about it. I love how long it is. And i love how there's a swivel cord that's long. I love the color and i love how you can lock the temperature by holding down the minus sign and i love how you can lock it when you're done with it to store away. I also love how it takes on 30 seconds to heat up. The only thing that I have negative to say about this Remington Straightener is that it take like 20 mins for it to cool off and that's a long time to me. But over all this is a very good straightener and its a pretty color. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a good flat iron.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Trust me, you'll love it!!! ;)

04/09/2014
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love, love, love, this flat iron! I have natural curly, thick, corse hair. I have never worn it straight until recently. I just turned fifty and my precious sister-in-law treated me to a hair salon visit (make-over), for my birthday. The stylist cut my thick shoulder-length hair in a bob & straightened it. Everyone loved it, because they were used to seeing me with curly hair. After that, I decided to purchase my first flat iron so I could continue wearing my new look. I purchased a Revlon flat iron at first & was so disappointed. (Always read the reviews!!). I returned it and decided to try this flat iron. I have only used this two times and can already tell you it is amazing! It is so easy to use and my hair looks & feels like silk!! I purchased my flat iron in the store and it was a few dollars higher than the online price, but, it is sooo worth it! Trust me!! ;)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

I'm in love with this flat iron

03/13/2014
By ,
OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this flat iron and the first time i used it i noticed a difference. I have very thick hair and with my old one it took 2 or 3 passes to smooth my have. This one is just one pass and perfect. It also does a great job curling and my hair never keeps a curl. I highly recommend for anyone that needs a well priced flat iron that gets the job done quickly!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Biggest bang for the buck

11/15/2013
By ,
Tampa, Fla.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought my second Remington flat iron. The plates on the first had begun to wear the coating off the edges after 18 months of daily use, and it was taking longer to heat up. But all in all, I have been so pleased with both. The new one hits 410 degrees in less than 30 seconds. When I got my first iron, I wondered how I ever lived without one. For the price, it is an excellent value. There are other irons far more expensive, but I doubt they do any better of a job. I have thick, wavy hair that is usually smooth, but live in a humid climate in the summer which wreaks havoc on hair. So this iron gets a lot of use in the summer especially. I have never had any fried hair or complaints that I felt it caused any damage. But I always use a heat protecting serum. Why spend a fortune on a flat iron when you can get the same bang for fewer bucks?
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Great flat iron, especially for the price!

08/09/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been needing a new flat iron (or hair straigtener) for the past 2 years, but I never wanted to dish out about $70+ for a new, amazing one. About a week or 2 ago, I was shopping at Walmart and just decided to take a look and saw that this particular hair straightener was on sale for $14.97 (orig. price $19.97, still NOT bad). Quickly, I took out my cell phone and looked up reviews and saw it always got at least 4.5-5 stars for most of the people who purchased it. So, I bought it.
Right when I got home, I started to use it and saw that it heated up in 30 seconds (VERY TRUE) and I even figured out how to curl my hair with it right away. It's such an amazing product and very worth the $15 I spent on it, right now it looks like it's on sale for $16.77 online, which still isn't bad.
IF YOU NEED A NEW HAIR STRAIGHTENER + HAIR CURLER, THIS IS IT! BUY IT!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Why pay more?

03/20/2014
By ,
Nashua, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical that a $15 flat iron could do a good job, but after reading so many positive reviews, I figured, what have I got to lose? I've owned mine for about a month now and couldn't be happier. It is simple to use and works great. Even with fairly short hair, it's easy to get a nice curl. I've seen some reviews mentioning that it snags your hair and the plates are not smooth. I have not experienced that. The plates are smooth and my hair glides right through. The only down side I have experienced at all is the barrel gets very, very hot, but you don't need to touch the barrel to style your hair, so that is not a big deal to me. Would definitely recommend!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

one of the best!

07/12/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a andis hair straightener for years. It took me nearly an hour to do my hair. It is very layered and thick, so it takes while. My old iron didnt even get it that straight or flat. It was always still poofy and static. I bought this iron 2 weeks ago and I am in love with it! It has the digital heat settings and power button. My hair stays straight for 2 days when I needed it to, even through sleep, heat and humidity! My hair ALWAYS poofs in humidity, not now! My stylist told me, because of my thickness I would need a iron of at least 400 degrees. I thought I would have to buy a very expensive iron, over a $100 for the degrees I wanted. It is a great price for the quality! Sure when you first use it, it feels cheap but when you start going over it with your hair; wow! what a difference! Now straightening my hair takes me 25minutes. I only go over each section of hair twice, when before I would go over it numerous times! I am so pleased with this iron and would recommend it to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Really Great Flat Iron!

09/28/2013
By ,
Draper, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used the professional grade CHI for the past few years. It stopped working and I needed a new flat iron. After reading the reviews I was encouraged about the product, plus the price is ridiculously inexpensive for what you get. The flat iron works as well as/if not better than the CHI. My hair is thick, frizzy and wavy and this flat iron made it silky, smooth and straight with one pass. The plates are not as smooth as the CHI but I find it hasn't damaged my hair yet. This is a great buy and with the two year warranty how can it get better?
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

finally found the right straighter

07/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ok so first of all this product should be $100 for its value. my hair is thick curly poofy and only managable in the water. it usually takes me 4 hours to straighten my hair, this time it only took an hour. simply amazing. a day after my hair is still shiny and not a frizz in sight. i wish i could upload pictures or a video. if you have poofy hair with tight curls this is the answer to your prayers. just add some olive oil (for hair) after your done to give your hair some moisture and added protection against frizz. if you dont buy this for $16 you are insane and missing out on beautiful hair.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+112points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Love it♥

11/20/2013
By ,
Hagerstown, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned a CHI for years but it was starting to pull my hair so it was time for a new Flat Iron.. Saw the reviews and just to tell you its awesome! Love it!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

straight and steady!

03/08/2011
By ,
east hartford, ct
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After my super expensive flat iron ceramic plate had fallen out, i decided a twenty dollar straightner would do just as well. As i was so happy i was right! This straightner heats up in less than a minute, and although the plates may seem small, they can get any hair job done. Personally i have thick curly hair, but if this straightner can flatten out my kinks, im positive this product can make your hair beatuiful too.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+314points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Great buy!! I'm so glad I got this curling iron.

04/19/2014
By ,
Palm Springs, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have long thick hair and most irons haven't given me a sleek look, like this one. It is an excellent buy.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Never again

04/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The plates felt very rough and metal-like. It did not straighten my hair. My hair feels damaged and rough. It is the worst flat iron I have ever used.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

So far so good!

04/04/2014
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this flat iron after reading all the great reviews. I'm glad I did because this flat iron works really well and is very easy to use. For the price, you really can't beat it. You can control the temperature which is digital and lights up that makes it extra easy. I can't say anything wrong about this item. I used it on myself and on my daughter and it works fast on flattening coarse curly hair. This was a good buy as I don't and won't be using the flat iron too much because every day use will damage hair no matter what flat iron you use. But I did want something that works well and wasn't too pricey.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

My hair has never looked better!

08/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought $20 hair straighteners before and was disappointed. I have been using a $40 one for a few years and it worked "ok" but my friends who had more expensive ones always had smooth straight hair. I have blonde fine straight hair but even when using my previous straightener I was never fully satisfied with the outcome of my hair. After looking at the reviews for this one I decided to give it a try and since the price was so low I figured that it wouldn't hurt my wallet too much. I am so happy with this straightener my hair has NEVER looked this good. There is NO reason anyone should pay alot of money for a good straightener anymore!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

What a difference a good flat iron makes! Bargain!

01/17/2014
By ,
Galveston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I knew it was time for a new flat iron. I had a super expensive one a decade ago and have tried three medium priced ones in the last six years. They all wear out eventually. Thought I would give this a try. I love a bargain. This is a good flat iron. Just washed, dried and flat ironed my hair. My hair is smoother and shiner than when using the older one. Handles easily. The description does not make it clear if the temp is adjustable - it is...three different temps. Love the slim/sleek design and of course - the color. I have wavy, slightly curly hair - but I didn't want a flat iron that would damage my hair. So far - I love it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Great Bang for your Buck!

02/24/2011
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a dual voltage hair straightener for my trip to Ireland. Been using now for a couple weeks. Works better than those expensive ones.
Heats quickly!!! Works great!
Im glad I purchased! Worth every penny!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+136points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 264 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next