Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Remington Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Remington Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Diminish frizz and flyaways while boosting style control with the Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron. It eliminates static charge by actively promoting a neutral electrical balance in the hair during styling. To help save you waiting time, it heats up in 30 seconds and can reach a temperature of up to 410 degrees Fahrenheit. This professional-grade ceramic plate flat iron features precision digital controls with temperature lock to give you smooth and silky hair. Its long, salon-length swivel cord offers enhanced maneuverability so you can move around a bit without worrying about tangles. The Remington Digital Anti Static Ceramic hair straightener features long, ceramic plates that allow for less damage, as well as floating plates that allow for easy glide. It is also equipped with a turbo boost feature, a hinge lock and a one-hour auto shutoff for added convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.573 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(354 Reviews) 330
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
274
4 stars
47
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation91%322 out of 352reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 241 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
274
4 stars
47
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS FLAT IRON!

12/21/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this flat iron about 2 months ago when my friend let me borrow hers because i didn't have one. let me tell you i am mixed so i have curly, nappy hair and THIS FLAT IRON KEPT IT SILKY STRAIGHT FOR 3 WEEKS!!! yesterday my mom came home with this exact one for me and I am SUPER happy and have used it already! it works great and gets really hot! you won't be let down. and for 14 dollars? GO GET ONE NOW!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

BEST FLATIRONS FOR THE PRICE

11/29/2013
By ,
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these flatirons with all my heart. They straighten with ease and they curl amazing. I'm not a professional but I'm pretty good at doing my own hair and I loved these because they made the prettiest curls. Unfortunately mine broke but I am about to re-purchase these. That's how amazing they are. DO NOT LET THE PRICE DISCOURAGE YOU!!!! They are amazing and good quality. Mine broke from my own misuse, it had nothing to do with the flatirons.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

My first flat iron is the best flat iron!

12/27/2012
By ,
Baltimore,Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this straightner my hair is poofy and curly and I always used to have it in a ponytail because everyone made fun of my hair but because of this straightner I can let my hair down and not hear any mean things come out of peoples mouths instead I get compliments :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Elk Grove, California
Not straight at all
Posted 11/15/2013
The picture does not look straight I can see lump n bump
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Amazing Straightener!

07/18/2011
By ,
Pocomoke City, Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So this is like the best flat iron that i have ever used. My mom and I used to share her straightener but I really wanted my own but I didn't want to spend the same amount of money that she did for hers. So I went to Walmart to find a cheap affordable but also good quality straightener. So I saw a few, but then I saw this one. This is really good on any kind of hair. I love everything about it. I love how long it is. And i love how there's a swivel cord that's long. I love the color and i love how you can lock the temperature by holding down the minus sign and i love how you can lock it when you're done with it to store away. I also love how it takes on 30 seconds to heat up. The only thing that I have negative to say about this Remington Straightener is that it take like 20 mins for it to cool off and that's a long time to me. But over all this is a very good straightener and its a pretty color. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a good flat iron.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

one of the best!

07/12/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a andis hair straightener for years. It took me nearly an hour to do my hair. It is very layered and thick, so it takes while. My old iron didnt even get it that straight or flat. It was always still poofy and static. I bought this iron 2 weeks ago and I am in love with it! It has the digital heat settings and power button. My hair stays straight for 2 days when I needed it to, even through sleep, heat and humidity! My hair ALWAYS poofs in humidity, not now! My stylist told me, because of my thickness I would need a iron of at least 400 degrees. I thought I would have to buy a very expensive iron, over a $100 for the degrees I wanted. It is a great price for the quality! Sure when you first use it, it feels cheap but when you start going over it with your hair; wow! what a difference! Now straightening my hair takes me 25minutes. I only go over each section of hair twice, when before I would go over it numerous times! I am so pleased with this iron and would recommend it to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Trust me, you'll love it!!! ;)

04/09/2014
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love, love, love, this flat iron! I have natural curly, thick, corse hair. I have never worn it straight until recently. I just turned fifty and my precious sister-in-law treated me to a hair salon visit (make-over), for my birthday. The stylist cut my thick shoulder-length hair in a bob & straightened it. Everyone loved it, because they were used to seeing me with curly hair. After that, I decided to purchase my first flat iron so I could continue wearing my new look. I purchased a Revlon flat iron at first & was so disappointed. (Always read the reviews!!). I returned it and decided to try this flat iron. I have only used this two times and can already tell you it is amazing! It is so easy to use and my hair looks & feels like silk!! I purchased my flat iron in the store and it was a few dollars higher than the online price, but, it is sooo worth it! Trust me!! ;)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Great but hot

05/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful value straightener. I purchased this for my daughter as a starter flat iron. It has almost everything you want in a great straightener except the popular or expensive name brand. It doesn't catch or pull on the hair, it has a swivel cord, & floating plates. The temperature can get up to 410° but you can control it for a lower temperature. It is ideal for a young girl when you are not ready to pay a lot of money. She's been using it for a while and I have not seen any damage to her hair. I've used it a few times on my own hair and think it is comparable to a Chi I've used before. My biggest complaint is that the sides of the iron get really hot. Otherwise it is a wonderful flat iron that does the job.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Great flat iron, especially for the price!

08/09/2011
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been needing a new flat iron (or hair straigtener) for the past 2 years, but I never wanted to dish out about $70+ for a new, amazing one. About a week or 2 ago, I was shopping at Walmart and just decided to take a look and saw that this particular hair straightener was on sale for $14.97 (orig. price $19.97, still NOT bad). Quickly, I took out my cell phone and looked up reviews and saw it always got at least 4.5-5 stars for most of the people who purchased it. So, I bought it.
Right when I got home, I started to use it and saw that it heated up in 30 seconds (VERY TRUE) and I even figured out how to curl my hair with it right away. It's such an amazing product and very worth the $15 I spent on it, right now it looks like it's on sale for $16.77 online, which still isn't bad.
IF YOU NEED A NEW HAIR STRAIGHTENER + HAIR CURLER, THIS IS IT! BUY IT!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Great product for the money

07/21/2014
By ,
Memphis
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have to start by saying I hardly use a flat iron (an average of twice a month). I needed something that was cheap, had good reviews, and advertised "ceramic plates". The iron itself is pretty light in comparison to an old classic Chi, the plates provide a smooth straightening, the temperature can be regulated digitally and warms up quite fast, and the tongs can be locked in closed position. The iron has a swivel cord, but kind of short. I have fine to normal hair, slightly wavy, and 310-330F is just the right temperature to get my hair either straight or wavy. The Remington S5500 can also create hair waves. I don't know yet how to create them perfectly, but for a very basic beginner as I am, it does well. I don't know if it deserves 5 stars since I have used it only several times, but I hope it will last and that the blades are indeed ceramic (safer for the hair).
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Bought For a Different Reason

07/20/2014
By ,
Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I didn't buy this for my hair. I bought it as a make-shift shrink wrap sealer for the soaps I make.
For anyone who is interested in using this for that purpose, set it at 310 (the lowest setting), clamp it down on the plastic shrink wrap and pull off. It seals the shrink wrap closed so you can use a hair dryer to shrink the wrap around the soap or whatever you're using it for. If you use it at a higher degree or if you don't pull it as soon as you clamp it down, it will just burn the plastic instead of sealing it closed.
I did use it on my hair once. It made my hair smooth but I have curly hair and I usually just dry it with a hair dryer and a brush so it takes out most of the curl and leaves it wavy. If I decide to wear my hair straight again, I will use this after I dry it since it made it smooth and shiny the one time I used it for what it is actually intended for.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

finally found the right straighter

07/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ok so first of all this product should be $100 for its value. my hair is thick curly poofy and only managable in the water. it usually takes me 4 hours to straighten my hair, this time it only took an hour. simply amazing. a day after my hair is still shiny and not a frizz in sight. i wish i could upload pictures or a video. if you have poofy hair with tight curls this is the answer to your prayers. just add some olive oil (for hair) after your done to give your hair some moisture and added protection against frizz. if you dont buy this for $16 you are insane and missing out on beautiful hair.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+118points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Great for the price

09/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a smaller iron to do my bangs, but I use it for my hair much more often. This is fantastic. It has different heat temp, It takes only quick 2-3 times and my hair is perfectly straight on 370. I straighten my hair much more now. It's quick and easy. It can get too hot so you have to be careful but other than that it's perfect.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

straight and steady!

03/08/2011
By ,
east hartford, ct
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After my super expensive flat iron ceramic plate had fallen out, i decided a twenty dollar straightner would do just as well. As i was so happy i was right! This straightner heats up in less than a minute, and although the plates may seem small, they can get any hair job done. Personally i have thick curly hair, but if this straightner can flatten out my kinks, im positive this product can make your hair beatuiful too.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+315points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

My hair has never looked better!

08/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought $20 hair straighteners before and was disappointed. I have been using a $40 one for a few years and it worked "ok" but my friends who had more expensive ones always had smooth straight hair. I have blonde fine straight hair but even when using my previous straightener I was never fully satisfied with the outcome of my hair. After looking at the reviews for this one I decided to give it a try and since the price was so low I figured that it wouldn't hurt my wallet too much. I am so happy with this straightener my hair has NEVER looked this good. There is NO reason anyone should pay alot of money for a good straightener anymore!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Surprised at How Well This works

08/23/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received one of those dreaded bad hair cuts at a salon while on the road for 6 weeks and made several attempts to correct it at other salons. The only way to make it look half way decent and presentable was to straighten my hair. I was traveling and tried 2 flat irons one by Conair and one by Revlon. I returned the Conair I couldn't even grip my hair in it. Who makes flat irons with stoppers? The curved handle didn't add to it's functionality either. The Revlon was retractable. Great for Travel but didn't get hot enough. I saw this one and it had great reviews. I NEEDED something fast but didn't want a CHI for a growing out stage. I didn't expect it to make my hair look amazingly better. It gripped my hair without ripping out any strands. Had three levels of hotness 370, 390 and 410. It goes up by increments of 20. It heats up in 30 seconds. It has a lock switch to lock the flat iron closed and a cord that swivels 360 degrees. You can use this to even put waves or curls in the hair or wear it flat. I am super glad this one worked for me and didn't break my bank. In fact, this one is keeper and I will definitely add it to my styling regimen. It turned a bad haircut into something I could live with. Let's just say I won't leave the house until after I have used my Remington to make me look better and my husband is happier too. Just one thing, it does get HOT near the plates. I can live with that and my reflection in the mirror. Happy straightening ladies. Hope this one works for you too. So glad I didn't "HAVE" to buy a Chi to make me look this much better.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Biggest bang for the buck

11/15/2013
By ,
Tampa, Fla.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought my second Remington flat iron. The plates on the first had begun to wear the coating off the edges after 18 months of daily use, and it was taking longer to heat up. But all in all, I have been so pleased with both. The new one hits 410 degrees in less than 30 seconds. When I got my first iron, I wondered how I ever lived without one. For the price, it is an excellent value. There are other irons far more expensive, but I doubt they do any better of a job. I have thick, wavy hair that is usually smooth, but live in a humid climate in the summer which wreaks havoc on hair. So this iron gets a lot of use in the summer especially. I have never had any fried hair or complaints that I felt it caused any damage. But I always use a heat protecting serum. Why spend a fortune on a flat iron when you can get the same bang for fewer bucks?
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Really Great Flat Iron!

09/28/2013
By ,
Draper, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used the professional grade CHI for the past few years. It stopped working and I needed a new flat iron. After reading the reviews I was encouraged about the product, plus the price is ridiculously inexpensive for what you get. The flat iron works as well as/if not better than the CHI. My hair is thick, frizzy and wavy and this flat iron made it silky, smooth and straight with one pass. The plates are not as smooth as the CHI but I find it hasn't damaged my hair yet. This is a great buy and with the two year warranty how can it get better?
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Great Bang for your Buck!

02/24/2011
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a dual voltage hair straightener for my trip to Ireland. Been using now for a couple weeks. Works better than those expensive ones.
Heats quickly!!! Works great!
Im glad I purchased! Worth every penny!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+137points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

REMINGTON S5500

08/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE this flat iron. I had a very expensive Revlon iron prior to getting this one. I was about to purchase the same iron again (the other one broke) but I saw reviews about this one and decided to give it a try and I'm glad I did. It heats up fast and I love the digital screen. My hair has a lot of frizz but this iron does a great job at managing that. I'm glad I bought this. Definitely worth the money and more!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron

Was $5.00 cheaper online

08/05/2014
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my fist experience buying a flat iron. After researching it online I found it got good reviews for the price. It works well, doesn't pull my hair and heats up fast. I've had it for a couple of weeks but I don't use it daily. My only complaint is that I bought it in the store and paid $20. Got home and found it was only $15 online for the exact same model. I returned the one I bought and bought the same one line and was able to pick it up the same day through site to store pick up.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 300 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next