Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sunbeam Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Sunbeam Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Keep the food conveniently frozen using the Sunbeam 3.1-Cu. Ft. Upright Freezer. This manual defrost freezer is great for adding extra freezer space to your home or office. The Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer features manual defrost option, adjustable temperature control, and reversible door that add to its functionality. The recessed handle allows for easy opening and closing of the freezer door. As a useful addition to your kitchen, the Sunbeam 3.1 Cu. Ft. Upright Freezer meets your freezing needs efficiently.
Average Customer Rating:
4.474 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(114 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
71
4 stars
33
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation96%109 out of 114reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 93 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
71
4 stars
33
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Received a non-freezing freezer.

04/03/2014
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After the birth of our first child a few months ago, my wife was over-producing breast milk for the baby. So we were freezing as much as we could for when she went back to work. When we ran out of room in our refrigerator freezer, we ordered this freezer for more space. It provides plenty of space for us to store more breast milk without having to throw it away. BUT when it arrived and we started it up, it wouldn't freeze. We left it running for 2 days and it never reached freezing temperatures. It's been an extremely frustrating process to get the freezer looked at by an appliance store and we just learned that the problem (a freon leak) was not fixable. So we are back to square one, wasting a bunch of breast milk and looking for a new freezer.
Space-wise, this freezer was perfect. Plus it was front-opening (as opposed to top opening), which is what we wanted. So it was extremely disappointing to receive a defective freezer from Walmart.
The search continues...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White
11/29/2012
By ,
Kansas City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My little Sunbeam freezer is great! It actually holds more than the picture shows. I really needed more than my refrigerator top for the holidays. The permanently fixed shelves are not the problem I was concerned about. There is good spacing between them. Actually I think having the coolant running through the midst of the food like that is a real benefit and safeguard against accidental thawing from the door being opened so much on such a small container.
I couldn't rate durability -- I've had it only 2 weeks! But cared for properly, it should wear well. A knowledgeable relative explained to me why a freezer does not perform well in extreme temperatures such as in the garage: In summer it overworks the motor and in winter it tends to not run enough (due to freezing temps around it) therefore the food is not kept at correct temperatures. I keep a thermometer in the garage. When the temp. goes down near freezing, or above 75º, I will move it indoors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Great freezer

11/30/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had this for a few days, but I am extremely happy with it! The quality and workmanship is excellent. I had read all the reviews before purchasing. Some talked about the noise and a gurgling sound. I have none of that. It doesn't make a sound! One thing I love: When it was delivered, Fedex did bring it in and sat it down where it was not in my traffic pattern. I am a 72 yr old female and I looked at it and thought "how in the world am I going to get this out of the box" It is heavy. My neighbor came over, again, another 70 something female. We cut the HEAVY DUTY straps off the box and gently, laid it on it's side. Much to our surprise, the bottom of the box (both heavy shipping box and the regular Sunbeam box) had been cut away. Maybe that is how they ship small appliances, all of my purchases have been large and they were delivered and installed. The heavy duty strapping was more than enough to hold the bottom in place. We stood it back upright and both boxes just lifted from the top. Much like taking off a shirt. LOL Not sure who, in the Walmart warehouse, thought of this, but it's genius!!! All in all, I am more than happy with this freezer!!! AND FREE SHIPPING!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Good buy for the money!.

06/23/2012
By ,
Nevada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far, this seems to be a pretty good little freezer, however, we've only had it a couple weeks,so I can't comment on it's longevity. It is exactly what we wanted in a small freezer, and reasonably priced!
Couple reasons for the 4 star rating.....thermostat is inside freezer, and to me, takes up good freezer space. Second, according to the owner's manual it needs to be 5-inches away from the back wall for air ventilation---isn't the point of flat back is so you can put it up next to the wall and not use up extra space??? Anyway, just a heads up for those measuring the space needed---add an extra 4-5 inches to the overall depth! Shelf measurements are: top=15Wx15Dx9H, middle=15Wx15Dx6-1/2H, bottom=15Wx8-1/2Dx9H. Also, ours has a slight high pitch whine when it is running, but otherwise fairly quiet---in fact, it is quieter than our refrigerator!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Great small freezer

04/19/2014
By ,
Port Orchard, Wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great small freezer for our apartment. It doesn't take up much room and gives us that extra freezer space that we needed. It is quiet and seems to be very efficient.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Works well. but noisy

05/26/2011
By ,
Winnemucca, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice little freezer. The only negative is that's it's pretty noisy when cycling. Sounds like underwater scuba gurgling. It's not bad enough to warrant returning it, but is ridiculously loud. Owner's manual says it's normal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+83points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

beyond expectations

04/06/2014
By ,
klamath falls, or
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
arrived in two days. has been running a week. does the job with very little noise. it is only 31 inches high and not 34 as stated in the specs. bottom of carboard and styrofoam container was torn loose on three sides at the bottom but there was no damage. looks and runs like a quality appliance. we will see.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

It's MORE than I imagined!!

02/01/2014
By ,
Peru, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
needed a small freezer for extra room...didn't expect the space there is in this freezer!! WAY MORE than it looks in the pictures :) Just love it!! Doesn't take up a lot of room but sure supplies lots of freezer space :) and for the price DELIVERED right to your door....can't be beat!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Great little freezer

03/01/2012
By ,
wichita, Ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in a little apartment and have no freezer space in the little refrigerator, so was looking for a freezer. This one was the biggest for the price. I am extremely happy with it! Works great and is not noisy like others have said. Now I can buy frozen food and ice cream, and have somewhere to put it. I was surprised at how much I could cram into it. At 80 pounds it is fairly light to move, I carried it up two flights of stairs by myself. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for this size freezer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Good little freezer.

08/16/2011
By ,
Redding, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very happy with this little freezer - my Sanyo that I had for over 25 years finally bit the dust so this is a replacement. It's a bit different than my old one but overall, just as efficient. One thing I like really well is that the temp control is on the inside and easy to use. It's a little noisy if you have never had a compact freezer before but you get used to it fast. The Sanyo used to gurgle - this little Sunbeam just kind of hums when the compressor is on. Overall, I'm very pleased and very relieved to have a reliable extra freezer again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

More room than expected

11/22/2013
By ,
Duluth Mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best price. Was delivered to my home without any problems. Freezer runs quiet and cooled
down. Very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Great value for size

12/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say, there is nothing like having an extra freezer in your home. My wife and I are recently married and therefore do not require excessive amounts of storage space. Nonetheless, cooking for two often turns out more than just two portion sizes, and eventually the amount of space in the fridge's freezer is at a premium. As a solution to this issue, we bought this Sunbeam 3.1, and it is doing exactly what we intended it to do. It's small enough to fit into a crawlspace under the stairs, yet has a significant amount of freezer space. It is the only front-opener of this size that I was able to find for this price. Plus, it doesn't make nearly as much noise as some of the reviews suggested. (possibly because for long-term use, the 4/10 setting is more than enough). In short: Great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Perfect for extra freezer space

11/26/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was hard deciding on which freezer to go with. We just wanted additional space for some of our frozen food. We didn't want a big freezer or chest. This worked perfectly and met our expectations. Delivery was really quick. For the price, it's a great buy. One thing worth mentioning is the noise. It can be a little noisy, but it's not too bad. I suspect other mini-freezers are similar.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Love it

10/27/2013
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its worth the price and very quiet
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

One of the few small upright freezers

03/15/2012
By ,
Blacksburg, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this freezer because we buy in bulk from a membership club and our regular freezer is too small. We looked for a freezer of this size due to space limitations, and we wanted an upright because we wanted to use the top to put things on.
Overall the freezer seems to be well made. We've had it about a month and it's keep the items in it frozen as expected. Frost buildup hasn't been too bad but it's clear we will need to defrost it in the next 4 to 6 weeks.
For the price as long as it continues to work well we'll be happy with it. Basically our recommendation is that this freezer is exactly what it's suppose to be: a small upright freezer at a decent price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Good

03/31/2014
By ,
Cheyenne
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just what is need for two....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

A good, quiet freezer

03/23/2014
By ,
Fayetteville, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've had the freezer for only a week, but so far we've been happy with the purchase. The freezer is easy to move around, it is remarkably quiet and has enough shelves to suit our needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

good purchase

03/21/2014
By ,
st. paul, mn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
satisfied
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

perfect size for my needs

11/25/2013
By ,
Rotterdam. NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice compact freezer and price range good. Came in perfect shape. Received in two days plus free shiping.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

first one, bad...seond one good

04/08/2011
By ,
Millville, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received th first unit which was not completely built and did not work.
Your customer service department responded appropriately and sent a second unit, which is operating properly and we are happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 96 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next