Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sunbeam Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Sunbeam Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Keep the food conveniently frozen using the Sunbeam 3.1-Cu. Ft. Upright Freezer. This manual defrost freezer is great for adding extra freezer space to your home or office. The Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer features manual defrost option, adjustable temperature control, and reversible door that add to its functionality. The recessed handle allows for easy opening and closing of the freezer door. As a useful addition to your kitchen, the Sunbeam 3.1 Cu. Ft. Upright Freezer meets your freezing needs efficiently.
Average Customer Rating:
4.516 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(157 Reviews) 138
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
103
4 stars
42
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation96%150 out of 157reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
54 Questions | 112 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
103
4 stars
42
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White
11/29/2012
By ,
Kansas City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My little Sunbeam freezer is great! It actually holds more than the picture shows. I really needed more than my refrigerator top for the holidays. The permanently fixed shelves are not the problem I was concerned about. There is good spacing between them. Actually I think having the coolant running through the midst of the food like that is a real benefit and safeguard against accidental thawing from the door being opened so much on such a small container.
I couldn't rate durability -- I've had it only 2 weeks! But cared for properly, it should wear well. A knowledgeable relative explained to me why a freezer does not perform well in extreme temperatures such as in the garage: In summer it overworks the motor and in winter it tends to not run enough (due to freezing temps around it) therefore the food is not kept at correct temperatures. I keep a thermometer in the garage. When the temp. goes down near freezing, or above 75º, I will move it indoors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Dandy Little Freezer

05/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having replaced a small chest type freezer with this upright Sunbeam, I expected the larger interior (1 c.f more) to be all I could ask for, but the ease of sight and large shelves increased my expectations even more. I elevated it (due to it only being 34" high) by setting it on a small table in a corner of my kitchen. This is a dandy little freezer that keeps contents as cold as I want and makes hardly a sound. If you live alone like me and need some freezer space in addition to your 'fridge freezer, then you won't go wrong with this. Only one I could find in this size, price range, and had the best warranty on the compressor of them all (in this price range and size). I believe that it is made by Amana which is made and owned by Frigidaire, or so I read somewhere when I researched it and according to the attached cost-of-operating sticker, has some energy saving assets too. Walmart did a great job on their site-to-store system by getting it in in quick time and with no shipping damage either, for a change. I have had it less than a week, so as far as longevity goes let's hope everything stays the same; so far, so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Good buy for the money!.

06/23/2012
By ,
Nevada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far, this seems to be a pretty good little freezer, however, we've only had it a couple weeks,so I can't comment on it's longevity. It is exactly what we wanted in a small freezer, and reasonably priced!
Couple reasons for the 4 star rating.....thermostat is inside freezer, and to me, takes up good freezer space. Second, according to the owner's manual it needs to be 5-inches away from the back wall for air ventilation---isn't the point of flat back is so you can put it up next to the wall and not use up extra space??? Anyway, just a heads up for those measuring the space needed---add an extra 4-5 inches to the overall depth! Shelf measurements are: top=15Wx15Dx9H, middle=15Wx15Dx6-1/2H, bottom=15Wx8-1/2Dx9H. Also, ours has a slight high pitch whine when it is running, but otherwise fairly quiet---in fact, it is quieter than our refrigerator!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Compact and convenient

09/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This freezer fits in the space I have and the front door opening is very convenient.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Very Satisfied

10/20/2014
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Dad loves his new Freezer. It was packed well and arrived in good condition. The compact size is a perfect addition to his mobile home. He says it’s quiet and is keeping everything frozen (0 degrees @ mid-range setting). At 91 years strong, I’m happy how much this has added to his single life.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

What's with the big dents?

05/27/2014
By ,
Green Bay, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for an extra freezer because I saw a meat sale however I didn't have enough room to store all of it. Before I purchased this Sunbeam freezer, I read many reviews. Many said it's very noisy, so far mine is quiet. Some said the freezer had a big dent in the door. I took the box off the freezer and voila a big dent!I am NOT going to lug the freezer back to Wal-Mart for a return. However please be aware that this is going on.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Upright Freezer

06/08/2014
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This size freezer is exactly what we were looking for. We did not have a lot of room for a larger one, so this fits the bill. I prefer the upright to a chest because I am able to get at everything. Good value. The fact that the shelves don't adjust is not a problem for us.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Works well. but noisy

05/26/2011
By ,
Winnemucca, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice little freezer. The only negative is that's it's pretty noisy when cycling. Sounds like underwater scuba gurgling. It's not bad enough to warrant returning it, but is ridiculously loud. Owner's manual says it's normal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Good little freezer.

08/16/2011
By ,
Redding, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very happy with this little freezer - my Sanyo that I had for over 25 years finally bit the dust so this is a replacement. It's a bit different than my old one but overall, just as efficient. One thing I like really well is that the temp control is on the inside and easy to use. It's a little noisy if you have never had a compact freezer before but you get used to it fast. The Sanyo used to gurgle - this little Sunbeam just kind of hums when the compressor is on. Overall, I'm very pleased and very relieved to have a reliable extra freezer again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Great little freezer

03/01/2012
By ,
wichita, Ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in a little apartment and have no freezer space in the little refrigerator, so was looking for a freezer. This one was the biggest for the price. I am extremely happy with it! Works great and is not noisy like others have said. Now I can buy frozen food and ice cream, and have somewhere to put it. I was surprised at how much I could cram into it. At 80 pounds it is fairly light to move, I carried it up two flights of stairs by myself. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for this size freezer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

excellent value

07/30/2014
By ,
Syracuse, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we have been very happy with this small freezer. It arrived sooner than expected and my wife had no trouble getting it into the home. I was at work. the motor makes very little noise. we have been surprised at how much it holds. overall we are very happy with this purchase. we recommend this freezer.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

WalmaRt or Sunbeam sent me USED ONE

05/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered and paid A NEW freezer, waited almost one week to get it. It arrived as upside down re-packed, (It was opened before.) unprofessionally. Front door has a hugh dent, inside of freezer looked used-has many fingerprints and dirt on door. A mark that looks there was a dot whole which has been fixed. call Customer Ser. within 20 min, back to Walmart for replacement. 1st time user of walmart online.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Great freezer

11/30/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had this for a few days, but I am extremely happy with it! The quality and workmanship is excellent. I had read all the reviews before purchasing. Some talked about the noise and a gurgling sound. I have none of that. It doesn't make a sound! One thing I love: When it was delivered, Fedex did bring it in and sat it down where it was not in my traffic pattern. I am a 72 yr old female and I looked at it and thought "how in the world am I going to get this out of the box" It is heavy. My neighbor came over, again, another 70 something female. We cut the HEAVY DUTY straps off the box and gently, laid it on it's side. Much to our surprise, the bottom of the box (both heavy shipping box and the regular Sunbeam box) had been cut away. Maybe that is how they ship small appliances, all of my purchases have been large and they were delivered and installed. The heavy duty strapping was more than enough to hold the bottom in place. We stood it back upright and both boxes just lifted from the top. Much like taking off a shirt. LOL Not sure who, in the Walmart warehouse, thought of this, but it's genius!!! All in all, I am more than happy with this freezer!!! AND FREE SHIPPING!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Great value for size

12/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say, there is nothing like having an extra freezer in your home. My wife and I are recently married and therefore do not require excessive amounts of storage space. Nonetheless, cooking for two often turns out more than just two portion sizes, and eventually the amount of space in the fridge's freezer is at a premium. As a solution to this issue, we bought this Sunbeam 3.1, and it is doing exactly what we intended it to do. It's small enough to fit into a crawlspace under the stairs, yet has a significant amount of freezer space. It is the only front-opener of this size that I was able to find for this price. Plus, it doesn't make nearly as much noise as some of the reviews suggested. (possibly because for long-term use, the 4/10 setting is more than enough). In short: Great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

One of the few small upright freezers

03/15/2012
By ,
Blacksburg, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this freezer because we buy in bulk from a membership club and our regular freezer is too small. We looked for a freezer of this size due to space limitations, and we wanted an upright because we wanted to use the top to put things on.
Overall the freezer seems to be well made. We've had it about a month and it's keep the items in it frozen as expected. Frost buildup hasn't been too bad but it's clear we will need to defrost it in the next 4 to 6 weeks.
For the price as long as it continues to work well we'll be happy with it. Basically our recommendation is that this freezer is exactly what it's suppose to be: a small upright freezer at a decent price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

perfect size

08/31/2014
By ,
Boerne, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Sunbeam freezer. It's just the right size for my tiny studio apt which came with a tiny fridge/fteezer which couldn't even freeze, much less fit a box of Eggos. Now I can even have ice cream. It freezes everything perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer

08/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White purchased from Walmart is a GOOD product. The price is much lower than other stores that I have checked. The operation is excellent. After letting it set overnight, washed the interior, leveled the unit, set the thermostat to 40 deg. in 4 hrs the internal temp was 20 deg. I placed all of my pre frozen homemade garden tomato sauces, tomato soups, collard greens, and broccoli di rapa in the freezer and in a couple hours the temp was at zero degrees. You can't get better results from a freezer than this one. Thanks WALMART!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Works fine

09/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stuff stays cold.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Quieter than expected!!

03/13/2012
By ,
Yonkers, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this Sunbeam freezer and I love it!! I had read a review claiming it was very noisy so I was a bit nervous but i find it very quiet. Even though I knew the dimensions I was impressed with how much it actually holds. It freezes very quicky and i only have it set on 3!! Great freezer!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

SUNBEAM UPRIGHT FREEZER IS ALL I COULD EXPECT+++

06/16/2014
By ,
New York, U.S.A.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this model of "s
I ordered this model of "Sunbeam 3.1 cubic foot Upright Freezer, in White". Thanks, Walmart.com, for furnishing this customer with a thoroughly excellent shopping experience, and, along with Fed-Ex, everyone worked together to promptly and properly deliver my unit within just a few days. I should not even mention the only one, barely noticeable, tiny dimple on the exterior upper/front corner of the door. The good reason that I do mention this "minor damage" to an otherwise truly perfect condition unit, is to emphasize that no potential customers should possess a reluctantly close-minded perception, as a result of those discouraging negative reviews, since those are not ultimately indicative of what every customer can anticipate to receive. Think positive, if it seems worthwhile to do so, and give it a chance. Again, this one dimple is of no real significance, nor is it of any adverse effect. Yes, I do set my expectations very high, but, even though I still prefer new purchases to be in perfect condition, we must learn to balance the good and the bad, and what is of true significance. In the case of this model of freezer, surely what should be focused upon is principally the overall operation and functioning, and when damage is merely mildly aesthetic, not actually damaging, then weigh what does count. I, personally admit the fact that I do, indeed, understand this, since in much younger years, I could be rather picky, and sometimes I still persist in that mannerism; that is dependent on the specific type of product, its purchase price, and so forth. Now, having gotten all of that out of the way, we shall proceed in my customer review in relevance to this specific product. Of course, there are numerous makes and models of upright and chest-style freezers on the market. Many refrigerators and/or freezers are actually made by one or two companies, and then branded with various names. "Sunbeam" is an old-standard in the industry, and if my information is nearly as correct as I think, this brand has been taken over by an even more reputable brand "Frigidaire". I, however, cannot speak to what warranty policies had been in effect when this model was introduced on the market, circa 2011. I am certainly capable of observing what standards are obvious to this customer. In the manufacturing of this model, it is clear that no quality has been sacrificed. This unit is solidly constructed top to bottom, front to back, inside and out. The white exterior coloring, while I do tend to ordinarily enjoy professional stainless-steel styling, this white exterior has an impressively nice appearance, and the white exterior yields a cool, clean appearance. As far as aesthetics are concerned, it blends quite well into a kitchen that is primarily designed with stainless steel appliances. It does, indeed, add a pleasantly impressive glow, which seems to brighten the room. As I believe I've already indicated, this unit is constructed with due quality and consideration. The included features are all I would anticipate, and more, to completely suffice in providing excellent performance. Although it's not equipped with an interior light, it must be better to just try your best to organize your items, so as not to keep the door opened for unnecessary periods of time, since once the shelves become stocked approximately half way, an interior light would not serve much of a helpful purpose, anyhow. Each wall is thickly insulated, and on the one door, though not including shelves, instead offers additionally dense insulation. This is so indisputably essential. Basically, this unit includes three shelves, one at the bottom to keep foods normally frozen, and two quick freeze shelves at top and center, to rapidly freeze new contents or maintain an extra solid frozenness to those food items requiring this. When unpacking, be careful....it is plenty bulky and weighty. I negotiated the unit's installation over many obstacles all by myself, and thankfully all went superbly, during one day which had a fortunate break in summer heat and humidity. However, I would generally recommend, for basic safety, that others should not attempt this on their own, and should likely find some assistance. Allow the unit to settle unused for a few hours, then you should be rather pleasantly surprised at how quickly the positively built-in, non-adjustable, coolant operating shelves rapidly freeze food and maintain everything in solidly frozen, better than perfect condition. It, in my perspective, and that of some persons with whom I've conferred, has a generously spaciously interior, either, for one single person with needs of keeping a large quantity of assorted frozen items, or for a sizeable bunch of people in a household. Further, as for a family, unless you've a rather large family and/or entertain lots of company, etc., the size seems absolutely ideal. Interestingly, for an astonishing twenty-six plus years, I have a still working reasonably-sized refrigerator compartment with huge-sized upper freezer compartment, and this is just a bit larger. And, it's just perfect. It, evidently, is highly energy efficient, and while rapidly maintaining solidly frozen foods, the on/off cycle does not seem to consume much electricity at all. In my case, and I'll pass this along in hopes of helping others, of the seven settings, #3 is probably as high as the setting needs to be, and, under ordinary circumstances, I find the ability to lower the setting in increments of one number at a time to a setting of #1 or #2. It is an impressively powerful and effective freezer. You, of course, can set according to your preferences. I've inspected this unit in every possible manner, and, unlike some other models of freezers or refrigerators, the manufacturing of this model has not compromised on quality construction, where you can openly see and where parts are not too easy to notice. Also, I honestly do believe there are numerous benefits to an upright versus a chest-style freezer, but that too depends upon one's preference. You should expect, as with almost any good freezer, the exterior body becomes temporarily warm, and the many coolant coils do make a slight small plumbing sound "gurgling", which is understandable when the coolant is circulating and thermostat is adjusting itself. All in all, this is a wonderful "Sunbeam" freezer...at a great Walmart price. I certainly wish it lasts and lasts for a very long span of time. I am genuinely grateful to Walmart for selling this, at a time when I happened to desire purchasing such a product. Every home needs one of these guys. I strongly recommend this very fine product to fellow customers. Enjoy!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 139 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next