Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sunbeam Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sunbeam Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Keep the food conveniently frozen using the Sunbeam 3.1-Cu. Ft. Upright Freezer. This manual defrost freezer is great for adding extra freezer space to your home or office. The Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer features manual defrost option, adjustable temperature control, and reversible door that add to its functionality. The recessed handle allows for easy opening and closing of the freezer door. As a useful addition to your kitchen, the Sunbeam 3.1 Cu. Ft. Upright Freezer meets your freezing needs efficiently.
Average Customer Rating:
4.516 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(157 Reviews) 138
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
103
4 stars
42
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation96%150 out of 157reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
103
4 stars
42
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White
11/29/2012
By ,
Kansas City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My little Sunbeam freezer is great! It actually holds more than the picture shows. I really needed more than my refrigerator top for the holidays. The permanently fixed shelves are not the problem I was concerned about. There is good spacing between them. Actually I think having the coolant running through the midst of the food like that is a real benefit and safeguard against accidental thawing from the door being opened so much on such a small container.
I couldn't rate durability -- I've had it only 2 weeks! But cared for properly, it should wear well. A knowledgeable relative explained to me why a freezer does not perform well in extreme temperatures such as in the garage: In summer it overworks the motor and in winter it tends to not run enough (due to freezing temps around it) therefore the food is not kept at correct temperatures. I keep a thermometer in the garage. When the temp. goes down near freezing, or above 75º, I will move it indoors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 2 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Dandy Little Freezer

05/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having replaced a small chest type freezer with this upright Sunbeam, I expected the larger interior (1 c.f more) to be all I could ask for, but the ease of sight and large shelves increased my expectations even more. I elevated it (due to it only being 34" high) by setting it on a small table in a corner of my kitchen. This is a dandy little freezer that keeps contents as cold as I want and makes hardly a sound. If you live alone like me and need some freezer space in addition to your 'fridge freezer, then you won't go wrong with this. Only one I could find in this size, price range, and had the best warranty on the compressor of them all (in this price range and size). I believe that it is made by Amana which is made and owned by Frigidaire, or so I read somewhere when I researched it and according to the attached cost-of-operating sticker, has some energy saving assets too. Walmart did a great job on their site-to-store system by getting it in in quick time and with no shipping damage either, for a change. I have had it less than a week, so as far as longevity goes let's hope everything stays the same; so far, so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+31points
Review 3 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Good buy for the money!.

06/23/2012
By ,
Nevada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far, this seems to be a pretty good little freezer, however, we've only had it a couple weeks,so I can't comment on it's longevity. It is exactly what we wanted in a small freezer, and reasonably priced!
Couple reasons for the 4 star rating.....thermostat is inside freezer, and to me, takes up good freezer space. Second, according to the owner's manual it needs to be 5-inches away from the back wall for air ventilation---isn't the point of flat back is so you can put it up next to the wall and not use up extra space??? Anyway, just a heads up for those measuring the space needed---add an extra 4-5 inches to the overall depth! Shelf measurements are: top=15Wx15Dx9H, middle=15Wx15Dx6-1/2H, bottom=15Wx8-1/2Dx9H. Also, ours has a slight high pitch whine when it is running, but otherwise fairly quiet---in fact, it is quieter than our refrigerator!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 4 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Works well. but noisy

05/26/2011
By ,
Winnemucca, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice little freezer. The only negative is that's it's pretty noisy when cycling. Sounds like underwater scuba gurgling. It's not bad enough to warrant returning it, but is ridiculously loud. Owner's manual says it's normal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+88points
Review 5 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Great little freezer

03/01/2012
By ,
wichita, Ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in a little apartment and have no freezer space in the little refrigerator, so was looking for a freezer. This one was the biggest for the price. I am extremely happy with it! Works great and is not noisy like others have said. Now I can buy frozen food and ice cream, and have somewhere to put it. I was surprised at how much I could cram into it. At 80 pounds it is fairly light to move, I carried it up two flights of stairs by myself. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for this size freezer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 6 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Good little freezer.

08/16/2011
By ,
Redding, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very happy with this little freezer - my Sanyo that I had for over 25 years finally bit the dust so this is a replacement. It's a bit different than my old one but overall, just as efficient. One thing I like really well is that the temp control is on the inside and easy to use. It's a little noisy if you have never had a compact freezer before but you get used to it fast. The Sanyo used to gurgle - this little Sunbeam just kind of hums when the compressor is on. Overall, I'm very pleased and very relieved to have a reliable extra freezer again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 7 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Great value for size

12/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say, there is nothing like having an extra freezer in your home. My wife and I are recently married and therefore do not require excessive amounts of storage space. Nonetheless, cooking for two often turns out more than just two portion sizes, and eventually the amount of space in the fridge's freezer is at a premium. As a solution to this issue, we bought this Sunbeam 3.1, and it is doing exactly what we intended it to do. It's small enough to fit into a crawlspace under the stairs, yet has a significant amount of freezer space. It is the only front-opener of this size that I was able to find for this price. Plus, it doesn't make nearly as much noise as some of the reviews suggested. (possibly because for long-term use, the 4/10 setting is more than enough). In short: Great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 8 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

One of the few small upright freezers

03/15/2012
By ,
Blacksburg, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this freezer because we buy in bulk from a membership club and our regular freezer is too small. We looked for a freezer of this size due to space limitations, and we wanted an upright because we wanted to use the top to put things on.
Overall the freezer seems to be well made. We've had it about a month and it's keep the items in it frozen as expected. Frost buildup hasn't been too bad but it's clear we will need to defrost it in the next 4 to 6 weeks.
For the price as long as it continues to work well we'll be happy with it. Basically our recommendation is that this freezer is exactly what it's suppose to be: a small upright freezer at a decent price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 9 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Great freezer

11/30/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had this for a few days, but I am extremely happy with it! The quality and workmanship is excellent. I had read all the reviews before purchasing. Some talked about the noise and a gurgling sound. I have none of that. It doesn't make a sound! One thing I love: When it was delivered, Fedex did bring it in and sat it down where it was not in my traffic pattern. I am a 72 yr old female and I looked at it and thought "how in the world am I going to get this out of the box" It is heavy. My neighbor came over, again, another 70 something female. We cut the HEAVY DUTY straps off the box and gently, laid it on it's side. Much to our surprise, the bottom of the box (both heavy shipping box and the regular Sunbeam box) had been cut away. Maybe that is how they ship small appliances, all of my purchases have been large and they were delivered and installed. The heavy duty strapping was more than enough to hold the bottom in place. We stood it back upright and both boxes just lifted from the top. Much like taking off a shirt. LOL Not sure who, in the Walmart warehouse, thought of this, but it's genius!!! All in all, I am more than happy with this freezer!!! AND FREE SHIPPING!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 10 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Quieter than expected!!

03/13/2012
By ,
Yonkers, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this Sunbeam freezer and I love it!! I had read a review claiming it was very noisy so I was a bit nervous but i find it very quiet. Even though I knew the dimensions I was impressed with how much it actually holds. It freezes very quicky and i only have it set on 3!! Great freezer!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 11 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

first one, bad...seond one good

04/08/2011
By ,
Millville, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received th first unit which was not completely built and did not work.
Your customer service department responded appropriately and sent a second unit, which is operating properly and we are happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Review 12 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

What's with the big dents?

05/27/2014
By ,
Green Bay, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for an extra freezer because I saw a meat sale however I didn't have enough room to store all of it. Before I purchased this Sunbeam freezer, I read many reviews. Many said it's very noisy, so far mine is quiet. Some said the freezer had a big dent in the door. I took the box off the freezer and voila a big dent!I am NOT going to lug the freezer back to Wal-Mart for a return. However please be aware that this is going on.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 13 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Upright Freezer

06/08/2014
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This size freezer is exactly what we were looking for. We did not have a lot of room for a larger one, so this fits the bill. I prefer the upright to a chest because I am able to get at everything. Good value. The fact that the shelves don't adjust is not a problem for us.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+6points
Review 14 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Keeps everything frozen!

07/02/2011
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It keeps everything frozen, as expected. It just makes a little bit more noise than expected every now and then.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 15 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

AWESOME DEAL!!!!!!

02/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I order this freezer on 2/8 had it expressed shipped. It arrived on time and well packaged. I plugged it in and had to have everyone in my house be quiet so that i could tell if it was running. I let it run for about 6 hours then I put my kids freezer pops in and about 2 hours later they were almost frozen. Well worth the money!!!!! The size is great for holding all my meat products so that my freezer attached to my fridge holds all the kids favorite frozen foods. Thanks WALMART!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 16 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

WalmaRt or Sunbeam sent me USED ONE

05/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered and paid A NEW freezer, waited almost one week to get it. It arrived as upside down re-packed, (It was opened before.) unprofessionally. Front door has a hugh dent, inside of freezer looked used-has many fingerprints and dirt on door. A mark that looks there was a dot whole which has been fixed. call Customer Ser. within 20 min, back to Walmart for replacement. 1st time user of walmart online.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Review 17 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

High power consumption

06/13/2013
By ,
Petaluma, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The freezer was delivered by FEDEX one day late but in excellent condition with no scratches or dents. A setting of 4 resulted in 3 degrees above zero before shutting off in a few hours. A setting of 4.5 achieved -1 degrees before shutting off.
Unfortunately, after achieving sub-zero and shutting off, the unit was cycling on and off much more than our Maytag refrigerator freezer in the same kitchen. This Sunbeam cycle was 8 minutes on, 10 minutes off, on almost as long as it was off. Our Maytag stays off much longer than it is on in each cycle.
On a meter attached to a temperature probe set inside the Sunbeam freezer, I watched the temperature start to rise immediately after shut off. The probe wire is very thin and was easily sealed by the door gasket. As expected, the meter showed the temperature inside the Maytag rising much slower after each shutoff.
I measured the Sunbeam power consumption at 144 watts when the compressor is running, which works out to 560 kwh/year, not the 300 kwh/yr shown on the Energy Guide label.
Is the heat from the condenser panels finding it's way back into the freezer through the freezer walls? Did the manufacturer forget to insulate the walls in the unit that I received?
Perhaps other owners could post the on and off times they experience with this Sunbeam freezer, because if it's anything like my experience their units are also using almost twice as much as rated power consumption.
Walmart could not have been better when I returned the freezer to a nearby store for a refund. For now I have re-organized how we use our Maytag freezer section and we are putting a freezer purchase on hold.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Review 18 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White
05/29/2011
By ,
Palmyra.NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture shows it's on wheels/it's not. Could use door compartments. Otherwise will worth the money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Central NY
I don't think so....
Posted 06/15/2013
Those don't look like wheels to me. They look like levelers.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Noisy, Good size & $

12/10/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The size fits conveniently in a medium sized kitchen. There are 3 shelves that cannot be moved, more or less spaced across the interior height. No storage panels on the door. Im a family of 1adult, 1sm child, so the storage space works. I would imagine a larger family or regular bulk purchaser would find this on the small side. On a few occasions, the door did not shut completely when I closed it like a regular refrigerator & expecting the weight to close it shut. No lock. The freezer immediately cooled & froze items w no problems; and I have it set at level 3 rather than the recommended 4. it's easy to push into place as I was worried about weight & it's nice being able to put items on top (space saving).
The thumbs down section: The freezer is on the noisy side despite my having a good tolerance for white noise & I understand what the other reviewers were experiencing. This is the best i can describe it It alternates betw a quiet hum (good), a high pitch (noisy), and a revving sound (annoying & caused me to see if it had broken down). I thought it had something to do w me putting in new unfrozen items or opening the door, but I can't figure out the pattern.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 20 for Sunbeam 3.1-cu. ft. Upright Freezer, White

Perfect for extra freezer space

11/26/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was hard deciding on which freezer to go with. We just wanted additional space for some of our frozen food. We didn't want a big freezer or chest. This worked perfectly and met our expectations. Delivery was really quick. For the price, it's a great buy. One thing worth mentioning is the noise. It can be a little noisy, but it's not too bad. I suspect other mini-freezers are similar.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
1-20 of 139 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next