Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Moultrie Moultrie Game Spy D-55IR 5.0 Megapixel Digital Game Camera

Moultrie Moultrie Game Spy D-55IR 5.0 Megapixel Digital Game Camera

The Moultrie Game Spy D-55 IR Camera is high-end exploring equipment at an affordable price. Loaded with features, this 5.0 MP digital camera lets you shoot picture after picture with great clarity. You can record videos, shoot color photos at daytime and infrared at nighttime using this game camera. The large LCD display allows you to operate the camera easily. This wildlife hunting cameras camouflage design blends into the surroundings. It comes with a weather-resistant exterior that lets you use the camera in all climatic conditions. The response time is so quick that you can take up to three shots in span of five seconds. On every photograph, you have the time, date, moon phase, temperature, and camera ID. So following the game becomes very easy. The Moultrie infrared camera has a 16GB SD memory card slot, so you can store tons of photos and videos. This feature-rich infrared digital game camera will keep you prepared for every hunting season.
Average Customer Rating:
4.07 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation81%35 out of 43reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 27 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IR 5.0 Megapixel Digital Game Camera

game camera/moultrie

11/29/2010
By ,
south eastern nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this camera when u dowload the update and install it takes very good pics day or nite.had a stealth cam sent it back was apiece of junk.this camera for me is equal to the 3 t0 400 dollar cameras TO 687 PICS IN 14 DAYS HAD 85% BATTERY LIFE LEFT. BIGTIME
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IR 5.0 Megapixel Digital Game Camera

Great extra details!

01/22/2012
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the prices I've paid for various cameras, this is my favorite! It has accurate temperature and moon phase readings on each photo as well as the date and time and camera name. I have had regular C cell batteries in it all season (Since August# and I still have 67% battery life left taking over 300 pics a week and video one week. The IR photos are exceptional and the daylight photos rival my regular Kodak CoolPix 10megapixel camera. Trigger speed is quick and the options to take video or pics, length, or multi-shot is all I've needed to locate the deer, their main travel route, and keep track of their appearances. It was easy to set up and has the option to hook it to a solar power pack and can have pics viewed with the included USB and the optional Moultrie handheld pic viewer #I also have and love#.
The ONLY downside is it is a little larger and doesn't get a snug fit in universal mounts but it secures to the tree on it's own just fine. It does however work perfectly in the Moultrie mount. I tried the Primos 20/20 universal mount and it works o.k. #worked great on a metal fence post though), but it was better just strapped to the tree by itself.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IR 5.0 Megapixel Digital Game Camera
09/25/2011
By ,
berlin,pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
for the price best cam on the market. we put acorn rage on the cam and got pics of a deer licking the cam. the deer had no clue it was its photo op. LOL!- we actually went on a recent hunt and used the moultrie cam to take pics after the hunt. thaught the pics came out great since someone forgot the didgital cam. (thanks blood hound)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IR 5.0 Megapixel Digital Game Camera

Great Start

08/29/2011
By ,
North Mississippi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Moultrie Game Spy is a great start!
Pros:
The pictures during the day are crisp and bright.
Battery life (c-cell type) appears to be holding up well.
The color of the camera's exterior is a much lighter gray than pictured in the ad. This will be a benefit during the winter months but makes them much easier to find in the summer. Temperature, time, and moon phase on pictures are great features for the price.
16 GB card holds a large number of pictures.
Cons:
The night pictures at 20+ feet are not very crisp. They are better when the animal is closer to the camera.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IR 5.0 Megapixel Digital Game Camera

great camera !!!!!

11/02/2010
By ,
Laredo, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This moultrie camera takes great pictures....I have several cameras out in my ranch and they are working great.....also the life on the batteries is very good....excellent product......
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IR 5.0 Megapixel Digital Game Camera

ok camera for the money

01/31/2011
By ,
PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this camera takes quality photos day and night. i have it set up over a feeder and get hundreds of pics a night. batteries last about 2 wks but its working nearly all night from constant activity.    the negatives are:  its triggering range is poor, maybe 12 to 15 feet tops and then it starts missing movement. this could be a problem when trying to watch normal deer movements. next, you have to turn the camera off and then back on to view the number of photos taken. my other moultrie displays this number all day and has a much furthur triggering distance but you get what you pay for in this instance. overall it works well but it depends how you'll be using it. also trigger speed is not bad, very few empty photos but some blurry.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IR 5.0 Megapixel Digital Game Camera

Bad night pics

07/01/2011
By ,
Smackover, AR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have had a lot of IR game cameras with fewer megapixels, but this one takes especially grainy night pics. Megapixels, evidently have very little to do with the picture quality. The battery life is good, day pics are good, but the night pics are bad. I am going to keep it, but you might look at another brand in the same price range. I will include a pic that is one of the more clear night pics. I didn't save the bad ones.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IR 5.0 Megapixel Digital Game Camera

Love this trail camera

12/12/2010
By ,
South, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product and had it in the woods the day it arrived. It takes good pictures and is easy to set up if you read the book the first time.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IR 5.0 Megapixel Digital Game Camera

Good Food Plot Camera

09/29/2011
By ,
Grovetown, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have gotten some good pictures from 2 of these cameras. I don't like the delay time from the moment the animal enters the trigger area to when the camera shutter functions. The shortest delay time is 15 seconds, causing me to get good pictures of my food plot after the deer has walked past the camera. If the deer stays in front of the camera for 16 seconds, I get a good picture. I don't like the color choice Moultrie used on the plastic case either. The camera does not blend in with surroundings at all. This camera actually stands out in a natuaral envioronment making it an easy find for a thief. The pictures used in the advertisement for this camera lead you to believe the colors used on the case are a lot darker that they really are. I bought mine from the website and should have inspected the camera in store before the purchase. Battery life is very good and the pictures I have got are good. Images are clear and sharp out to 100 plus yards from the camera. I have got good clear 50 feet pictures and have had other deer well past the 50 foot trigger range. I would recommend this camera to friends, but I would make the limitations known to them based on my use of the camera. I hope all of my club members a honest. I will paint these after the warantee expires. Me and my TIG welder will be in the lock box bussiness soon. Then color won't matter.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IR 5.0 Megapixel Digital Game Camera

Not worth the money

10/03/2011
By ,
Huntsville, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first camera didn't take pictures as it should. My feeder would be empty but no pictures of anything eating it. Just a single pic every 10 or 15 minutes although the camera was set for 15 sec intervals. And the clip on the strap broke right away. I took it back to Walmart and traded for another of the same kind...this one took pics although the animals had to be still. Any movement would cause a blur (see pics). Also the slot on the back for the strap broke the first time I moved it to a new spot. Not worth the trip back to trade again but I'll know better next time.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IR 5.0 Megapixel Digital Game Camera

Good Camera Value

04/01/2011
By ,
Moneta, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third Moultrie Game Spy Cam that we have bought and my husband loves them. He has purchased one for his brother and his son-in-law. The Wal-Mart price is the best he has found. Walmart.com is a great way to buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IR 5.0 Megapixel Digital Game Camera

Not Bad

01/04/2011
By ,
Hurricane, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well made, easy to understand, takes fantastic, clear pictures both day and night.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IR 5.0 Megapixel Digital Game Camera

Love this camera

12/04/2010
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love my Moultrie camera. Just don't turn it on until it is set up and strapped down. I got three great pictures of my shirt, two of my thumb, and two nice ones of my yard from something setting it off which I think was my movement on the side. So, it works great with great quality pictures.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IR 5.0 Megapixel Digital Game Camera

Pretty decent camera

06/26/2011
By ,
Katy, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far, the photos we've gotten are pretty decent. The daylight photos are clear but so far, only photos are waving grass and leaves. I really have not been able to see speed of the photography for deer walking through the area yet. the night photos are a little blurred but we can tell what animal is being photographed. We have it mounted near a tank so the animals are more stationary at that time, mostly raccoons. we are using duracells to power it and the battery life has been very good. I think it's been out for at least 4 weeks and still @ 98%. If I had to criticize 2s thing it would be that you can't tell if any photos have been taken until you take the card out and put it in our camera. It would be nice if it can indicate that the camera has been triggered. Also, you know generally what area is being photographed but since there's no viewfinder, you have to guess if you're in the right area that you want monitored. The strap doesn't hold that well so we had to take some extra twine with us to secure it to the trees. But, overall, it's seems to be a good camera for the price and I would go with the same model if I were to buy another.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IR 5.0 Megapixel Digital Game Camera

Don't like very much

09/06/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The reason I bought this camera was due to the reviews most reviews seemed to be good. This camera does take good pictures. However, the time delay makes it so something has to stand in front of the camera for 15 seconds or longer. If you are on a trail where something is just walking through odds are you will not get the picture of it or you will get just part of it. Also I don't think the range of motion is very good it doesn't seem to pick up as far as they say it will. I would not get this camera if what you are taking a picture of something that doesn't stand within 20 feet of the camera for over 15 seconds. Fifteen seconds is a long time when something is walking at a normal pace. So far this camera is about useless for me. Will more than likely be taking it back if the second test of this camera is the same as the first. I will be looking for something which has a shorter delay.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IR 5.0 Megapixel Digital Game Camera

Ok Camera

09/30/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I did not keep it for long. I found a much better camera on walmart.com for the same price. It does not take very good night pics. They are blurred. Trigger speed is slow. I can walk into its trigger area and be at the end of it by time it takes a pic. It does take real good day pics and is easy to use. The other cam I found had many more features, 6 MP, remote control operation, and was the same price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IR 5.0 Megapixel Digital Game Camera

Not that good

09/29/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this camera and went out to the woods only to put batteries in it and find out that it doesnt work. i have a moultrie d50 which is fine but i wanted an ir cam. for the price what u get is good if it works not very happy with purchase returned it for my money back will buy a diff one
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IR 5.0 Megapixel Digital Game Camera

In the box!

11/29/2010
By ,
Carriere Ms.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great pictures day or night! great deal better than G mountain , Ca----, sportm-- gui-e, Ba-- Pr- Sh-p.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IR 5.0 Megapixel Digital Game Camera

pics ok but motion terrible

11/26/2011
By ,
Crystal Springs, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had other cameras and this one is about the worst when it comes to trigger time and motion detection..... My other camera was getting several pics a week but this one only got 3 in a month(knowing i was seeing several tracks but no pics)....The few pics it took are ok. A little fuzzy at night compared to other cameras... Since the testing month, i have gone back to a known good camera, and I am getting pics again....If they ever get the Trigger time and motion problem corrected, It can be a good camera ...But until then, it is a very useless object on the shelf and not in the woods...
To me, the only real good thing about camera, is that it is easy to set up compared to others....
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IR 5.0 Megapixel Digital Game Camera

Great starter camera

09/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picked this model over the rest after reading the reviews. Great camera for the money. Does exactly what it is described to do. Got perfectly acceptable game pictures the first time I set it out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1 2 Next