Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Listerine Listerine Total Care Plus Whitening, 32oz

Listerine Listerine Total Care Plus Whitening, 32oz

For whiter teeth and fresher breath turn to Listerine Total Care Plus Whitening mouthwash. Use this solution twice a day to noticeably whiten your teeth and help prevent cavities. This anti-cavity mouthwash helps restore enamel, strengthen teeth and kill bad breath germs. It will freshen your breath and fight unsightly plaque above the gum line. Use it as part of your daily routine and give your mouth a cleaner, fresher feeling first thing in the morning or at night before you sleep.
Average Customer Rating:
3.396 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation62%29 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 7 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Listerine Total Care Plus Whitening, 32oz

Do you like tasting your food?

08/28/2012
By ,
East Stroudsburg, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this Listerine Total Care because, for the longest time, I have been trying to find my ACT Restoring mouthwash, but the only one I can find is the alcohol free stuff, which leaves the worst taste in my mouth when I use it and an even worse taste when I wake up the next morning. Being unable to find my usual mouthwash, I opted for Listerine and figured while I was at it, why not get the whitening stuff?
The taste was... not horrible, but not great either. It foamed in my mouth while I swished... to the point that I might start inadvertently spitting while I swished because of the buildup of pressure. When I spit it out, I felt like I was spitting forever to get all the foam out.
That, I could have dealt with. But the next morning when I had my cereal, and put a little honey on top as usual, and wiped the last drip of honey with my finger as usual, I noticed that last drip of honey tasted like... soap. I usually eat breakfast kind of late and skip lunch, so I didn't think much about it in the middle of the day. But that evening when I made my kids pizza for dinner, I picked a piece of cheese off the pizza cutter and popped it into my mouth... and immediately spit it out because it tasted so much like nothing that I wondered if it actually was cheese! (It was.# For my own dinner, I had some Ramen noodles that I love because of its saltiness... and it tasted like dishwater.
The only thing that changed was my mouthwash.
I did some quick Googling on this product and found that I was not the only one it affected in such a way.
It went straight into the trash.
I'll admit the possibility that maybe I just have sensitive mouth parts, but I have never had a mouthwash do this to my tongue before. I am now waiting to see how long it takes before I can actually taste my food again. I am only giving this product one star because zero stars is not an option.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Carolina
It sounds awful!
Posted 03/14/2013
You must have a sensitive mouth, sure enough. I started using this stuff about a year ago after commenting on my older daughter's bright teeth. She told me she'd begun using this product, so I tried it. Being a tea drinker, my teeth were always in need of a little brightening. Within a couple of weeks I could see a big improvement.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Listerine Total Care Plus Whitening, 32oz

CLEAN MOUTH! AHHHHHHHH....

06/07/2013
By ,
wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has peroxide in it so I would tell you to expect your mouth to fizz. If you ever put peroxide on a cut....there is fizz. It's working at cleaning. When I first started using it, I felt a lot like some of the comments some people have made about how it fizzed or foamed or however they described there experience. I wasn't sure I'd like to continue it either, but I always try to give the product a chance. I love it now. Since I've been using it for over a year, it doesn't fizz as much. It depends on the bacteria in the mouth. Also it helps heal my gums when I get cuts from chewing on chips, or something hard....or blisters from burning the roof of my mouth on something hot. It works extremely well on healing. So try it and give it a chance first before giving up on it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Listerine Total Care Plus Whitening, 32oz

A high quality product!

02/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this mouthwash for 2 weeks and this is the BEST mouthwash I ever had! It not only keeps your mouth super fresh but also whitens your teeth without side effects!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Listerine Total Care Plus Whitening, 32oz

Wow

07/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a dental hygiene fanatic...I love this stuff.. It has a bit of a sting to it, But it leaves your whold mouth feeling super clean and as noted on the bottle "teeth visably whiter".
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Listerine Total Care Plus Whitening, 32oz

Not the most pleasant, but the best...

09/04/2013
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is widely regarded as the best-performing mouthwash on the market.
But...it foams in your mouth, and that just doesn't FEEL very good. You end up spitting foam for a few seconds after using, and the taste of the foam continues to be unpleasant in your mouth for maybe one or two minutes, tops.
So: if what you want is a "feel clean" sensation, stick with the original Listerine. It really makes your mouth FEEL clean.
If you want is the full megillah - bacteria killing, cavity prevention and teeth whitening, then use this stuff and deal with the temporarily unpleasant after-foam.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Listerine Total Care Plus Whitening, 32oz

Terrible taste

03/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This stuff has a terrible taste - no fresh minty taste. It also "burns" when it's in your mouth. I am not the only person that has used it. I made others in my family try the one I had and they had the same reaction without me saying anything to them.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Listerine Total Care Plus Whitening, 32oz

my favorite mouthwash

03/11/2014
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tried so many but this seems to be the best one
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Listerine Total Care Plus Whitening, 32oz

Feels clean!

01/21/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a little pricy, but it works. This is my favorite listerine product among many.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Listerine Total Care Plus Whitening, 32oz

Ick

12/06/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I do not recomend this product for people with sensitive gums. The alcohol level is high and the mouthwash will eat at your gums. This happend to me and my gums have been white in diffrent spots for over 2 months. It is a good products but really it depends on the type of person you are.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Listerine Total Care Plus Whitening, 32oz

Tastes HORRIBLE

09/12/2013
By ,
Tampa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
All of the listerine whitening rinses have a weird foaming-in-the-mouth thing going on. That is tolerable, and they don't leave your tongue blue, or whatever other color/flavor you are using. The problem is with the "Fresh Mint" flavor. It is terrible. Honestly thought it might have been contaminated, but a few others have made note of the putrid taste.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Listerine Total Care Plus Whitening, 32oz

tastes gross

12/18/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unfortunately this was only available Listerine Total Care to buy online here. I have used Listerine Total Care before and was happy with it. But this one with the added Whitening makes it taste gross in your mouth when you swish it! I am definitely returning and getting something else. Couldn't be more unhappy. :(
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Listerine Total Care Plus Whitening, 32oz
Based on the average of (37) ratings-only reviews
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5