Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Farberware Farberware Deluxe Mandoline Slicer Set

Farberware Farberware Deluxe Mandoline Slicer Set

This Farberware Deluxe Mandoline Slicer slices, shreds and juliennes vegetables quickly. It features a V-shaped blade for easy and efficient slicing and includes five stainless steel blade inserts to create all kinds of slices, a safety insert, food guard and storage rack. Folds for easy storage. Dishwasher safe, top rack only.
Average Customer Rating:
3.526 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation63%12 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Farberware Deluxe Mandoline Slicer Set

Worthless Piece of Junk

05/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A poor rating is absloutely to high. Even after figuring how to use it according to the nonexistent instructions, it is deplorable. Do no waste hard earned money on this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Farberware Deluxe Mandoline Slicer Set
01/02/2013
By ,
Hiram, Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Two screws have already come out of the mandoline. We will have to bring the machine back to Walmart today or tomorrow. We only used it for two days. I am totally unsatisfied with the quality of this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Farberware Deluxe Mandoline Slicer Set

Does not create even slices

04/29/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this product to slice fruits and vegetables to use with our dehydrator. I wanted a product that would cut food quickly and consistently. I also wanted to be able to change the thicknesses.
At first glance this looked to be the right product for us. I liked the various options. My opinion changed upon trying the product today.
The first problem I discovered was that the directions were lacking. I was puzzled also as to why the photo, one of the only clues to how to use it, showed the protective insert installed while it was supposed to be slicing a cucumber. This could potentially be misleading.
I have used a commercial device similar to a mandoline before, so I had an idea of how to use it, but to anyone who is unfamiliar with this piece of equipment, you will possibly need to look up more information for general use and troubleshooting.
My primary issue with this product is the blade.
It is in fact two separate blades overlapped at the center of the V. This causes one side to be slightly higher than the other. To make this worse, the lower side is actually warped downward in the center. This means every time I sliced my sweet potato, I got an odd half super thick, half super thin slice that is going to be unacceptable to use with a dehydrator, as it will dry at different rates.
Of course I could try cutting my chunks of potato smaller so that I can run it only in one half of the mandoline to get more consistent results, but this product is supposed to make things easier, not more of a hassle. I guess they didn't use the product itself to cut the food shown in the picture, because mine can't do that.
The plastic does feel somewhat flimsy in places. I suspect that when cutting, pressure pushes the inserts down, so that you get a thicker cut at the start of each pass, but this could be in part my own fault.
I did think the guard was interesting, though perhaps unnecessary.
In conclusion, this product is far from being able to produce anything like what it promises, unless you go out of your way to make it work. I'd prefer to buy something that works.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Farberware Deluxe Mandoline Slicer Set

ABSOLUTE JUNK

12/10/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had priced other mandolins, and this was slightly more reasonable than models I had seen at Kohls, and all I wanted it to do was to make French Fries (they show a picture of that ability on the box).
Well, the blade height was not adjustable, and while I only tried to use the "Thick Julienne" blade, the product finely shredded my potatoes. It was NOT anywhere near what I was expecting, and the cheap plastic base wobbled on the counter, and this little steel "pin" that was intended to hold the height of the slice popped out, and I gave up within 5 minutes of using the poorly made item.
It is back in the box and will be returned to the store this evening. It gives Farberware a Bad name.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Farberware Deluxe Mandoline Slicer Set

Horrible

01/05/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is very cheap. First, this product did not come with any instructions. Second after watching several youtube videos on how to some how use the product the slices are nothing like the displayed. For example, I tried to mince an onion, and the blade was not steady and most of the sliced onion was stuck in between the blade and slider. I am going to return this product immediately.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Edgewater, FL
Not bad at all!
Posted 06/10/2011
I got this for Mother's Day and I really like it. The only thing is mine was missing that button in the hand guard to push the food down. Other than that, the blade is more than sharp enough to slice potatos, tomatoes, zucchini and onion. I am making meals just to play with it. True, the "thick" julienne isn't very thick, but who cares? My fries just cook quicker. Very satisfied!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Farberware Deluxe Mandoline Slicer Set

Flimsy material

03/25/2013
By ,
DFW
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I returned the initial slicer because it had a crack in the plastic when I opened it. The replacement I received showed multiple small cracks after the first use. Cheap material. Spend a little more for another product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Farberware Deluxe Mandoline Slicer Set

very awkward

05/14/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
very hard to slice,awkward using the safety holder which does not really slide in the track well...and has no wavy cut which I wanted
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Farberware Deluxe Mandoline Slicer Set

Not bad at all!

06/10/2011
By ,
Edgewater, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this for Mother's Day and am very pleased. The "thick" julienne is not very thick, but fries just cook quicker. If the food gets stuck, move it back because you've cut so much its blocking the slice. Its not rocket science! The blade is sharp enough to cut any vegetable I've tried so far. Its pretty fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Farberware Deluxe Mandoline Slicer Set

Works better than expected for a great price.

06/06/2013
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was given as a gift, and very much appreciated. I was nervous about the low price and afraid that it would be difficult to assemble or operate. However, it worked much better than expected and is already frequently used. With this my daughter can prepare things that only my superior [experienced] knife skills and a sharp knife could produce. [And the mandoline was cheaper than my knife!]
So far, the juliene blade is a disappointment because my daughter found she couldn't use the vegetable holder on the potato lengthwise and ended up with short, cross cut fries. This may be something that can be improved as she gains experience with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Farberware Deluxe Mandoline Slicer Set

Great for folks with arthritic hands

06/11/2012
By ,
New Waterford , Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoy cooking but my hands are too bad to safely use my knives for slicing and cutting. This little unit makes it a snap to do all I need. Easy to clean and makes perfect slices , even a very ripe tomato. Instructions are on the box if you can't figure the unit out. One caution though , make sure you use the food guard in the right direction or you'll slice off the guide rails on the food guard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Farberware Deluxe Mandoline Slicer Set

Perfect Slicing Machine

05/28/2013
By ,
Livonia, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mandolin for me is wonderful. Price is great. Works well. Blades are extremely sharp, BE Careful! Have used this mostly for making french fries, shoe strings, potato chips, onion rings, just the usual stuff you would prepare for deep fryers. Also use for slicing onions and tomatoes(should be chilled for better slice). I believe it would slice just about any vegetable perfectly. The only blade I don't use is the slicer blade for VERY thin slices, that one is too thin for me. Would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Farberware Deluxe Mandoline Slicer Set
03/08/2013
By ,
san angelo, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used this for over a year now with great success, not sure why someone would need instructions, pretty self explanatory, if you are a seasoned cook anyway. When mine finally wears out I will purchase another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Farberware Deluxe Mandoline Slicer Set

Nifty time and finger saver!

02/12/2012
By ,
Ormond Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For a number of decades I have simply used a chef knife for slicing, dicing and julienne cuts. But recently was absorbed in a Foodnetwork show and watched Alton Brown using a V slicer and he highly recommended getting one for the home kitchen. Was surprised to find one at Walmart! Yay Walmart!
Farberware's V Mandolin slicer comes with 4 blade changers, a hand guard, folding feet support and a protective case for blade storage. Blades are labeled thin, medium and thick slice and thin and thick julienne. The thin slice blade is awesome for making fresh potato chips! The julienne blades are great for salad veggies. The thick julienne blade creates shoestring size french fries. Was hoping for a more standard sized cut and have written to the company requesting a steak fry sized cutter. Looking forward to their response.
This unit really needs no instructions. But for the unimaginative, a simple diagram printed on the box, or molded into the back of the blades may help. There are dual indentations under the mandolin which to me seems an obvious place to rest across a mixing bowl edge!
To dice an item simply use a knife to cut cross wise of products julienned!
This machine saves a lot of time, offers nice even cuts - which makes for evenly cooked and visually appealing food! Best of all it is safe for my fingers! I saved and use the original box and baggies for storage. Also I only hand wash all my kitchen items, so cannot speak to its longevity if washed in a dishwasher.
I would definitely recommend this item for home kitchens!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Farberware Deluxe Mandoline Slicer Set

Low Price and Excellent Quality

11/29/2011
By ,
Cave City, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical of this mandolin at such a low price (it was 9.97 at my local Wal-Mart) but that disappeared when I started using it. With the blade staying stationary and simply changing the bed for thickness control it is so easy to operate. The blade cuts extremely well and the machine is relatively strong for the money even though you wouldn't want to abuse it. I was able to cut thin potato slices for baked chips whereas a 1MM blade for my Cuisinart would cost nearly $50. The only problem I had was the pins in the food holder didn't line up with the holes in the plunger but that only took a minute to fix with a kitchen knife. Don't look for instructions inside the box they are printed on the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Farberware Deluxe Mandoline Slicer Set

I am confused....

07/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product about 3 weeks ago (early July, 2014). The product reviews were all over the place. “Absolute junk” to the equivalent of “the greatest thing since sliced bread.”
Perhaps Farberware has change the product? I don’t know....
What I do know is that I recently bought a Farberware V-blade Mandoline Slicer (#5050405; $20) at Walmart and I don’t know how I ever got along without it. Potatoes, cucumber, even fully ripe tomatoes from my own garden. [But use caution. Those V-blades are truly sharp and, as I quickly learned, they have a penchant for dumb fingers so USE the food holder as much as possible.]
I bought it, despite some of the very bad reviews, because Walmart has a very customer-friendly return policy.
Clean-up is so easy. Immediately rinse under cold running water (I use my food brush to dislodge any recalcitrant particles). Air dry and you’re done because all parts are either plastic or stainless (both of which, given reasonable care, will last about 500 years).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Farberware Deluxe Mandoline Slicer Set

Works Great

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used it yesterday to slice onions - it did a great job. My only issue is that it is larger than my last one - now I must rearrange my cupboard to find room for it. It is very very nice!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Farberware Deluxe Mandoline Slicer Set

Great deal, great product

07/11/2011
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use, easy to clean, versatile & small storage footprint. If you're looking for a commercial quality slicer, look elsewhere: this is exactly what it looks like (light weight plastic), but for mowing through 5 lbs of potatoes for scalloped potatoes, or paper thin cucumber slices for sandwiches, it's fast, convenient, and just what I needed. A quick tip: plop the potato down and squash the "holder-thingy" onto it for "mounting". It makes loading the spud way easier. Oh yeah, set the thing up parallel to your body and work with a side-to-side motion instead of perpendicular to your shoulders & pushing away from you. I find it's smoother action and better control, whether you work with the leg under it or over a bowl.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Farberware Deluxe Mandoline Slicer Set
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5