Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Salad Spinner Basic

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mainstays Mainstays Salad Spinner Basic

Crispy and fresh salads are a cinch with the Mainstays Salad Spinner Basic. Simply load salad ingredients into this handy appliance, rinse them in the sink, and give it a spin. A handy spout located on the lid allows water to pour out the top and keeps the salad locked into place. Powered by a simple hand crank, this green appliance uses no electricity and compliments any modern kitchen.
Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation88%29 out of 33reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Salad Spinner Basic

$5 GEM

01/18/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Mainstays Basic Salad Spinner at my local Wal-Mart for only $5. And, I'm thrilled I found it! Here's why:
1. Simple knob turn - no string
2. Drain Holes in bottom of bowl - allow me to rinse/dry in same bowl & vegs are very dry 1st spin!
3. Several dollars cheaper than all other spinners.
Previously, I owned the more expensive pull-string spinner - the string broke almost immediately! And, to dry the vegs, I had to pour off the water contained in the bowl - repeatedly. I know it's so the salad can be made in the same bowl. But, think about it, do you want to make your dry salad in a wet bowl? If not, after pouring out the water, you have to wipe the bowl dry. So, why not simply spin once & put your dry vegetables in a pretty, dry bowl?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+105points
Review 2 for Mainstays Salad Spinner Basic

Can't believe I didn't get one sooner!

06/23/2012
By ,
Auburn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad I read the reviews and purchased this spinner. The website said they were out of stock in my local store but I found one anyway!
Easy to use and dries nicely. This will keep my greens longer and make it easy to clean and store them. I am a diabetic and eat a lot of vegetables and I can't believe I never thought of this until now.
Thank to those who wrote reviews. I wasn't sure if a spinner under $5 was going to work but it is a great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Review 3 for Mainstays Salad Spinner Basic

Perfect and cheap

06/20/2012
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a fast cheap solution to my watery salad. I found this at Walmart for like 5.00 and considered buying the more expensive one but glad I didn't cause this did the job perfectly!!! Just make sure you hold the lid if you spin it fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+31points
Review 4 for Mainstays Salad Spinner Basic

Great product, esp. for older hands.

10/12/2012
By ,
Oxford, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this $5.00 salad spinner, easy to spin, light weight, and easy to hold on to (great for older hands), dries produce very well, I would purchase again and I would recommend to a friend, great gift. The only thing I had to get used to was the bowl does not have a solid bottom, which is great for rinsing and draining but not for soaking. Spinner must be held over the sink or a towel as the water continuously spins out the bottom. My old spinner had a basket inside a solid bottom bowl.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Review 5 for Mainstays Salad Spinner Basic

Super Salad Spinner

09/05/2013
By ,
Pleasanton, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this salad spinner. I have heard so many things as of lately about the salads having bacteria and even dirt and what not I decided to get one of these salad spinners. There were two on the shelf so I bought both. I used this one and for what I wanted, which was a really clean salad, it beat out the other by a leaps and bounds.
So the idea is to clean the salad and then have the dirty water spun off and you are left with a very fresh clean leaf of salad of your chosing or whatever you decide to spin clean. Both of the items spin but do they really clean??? The bowl spinner with no openings at the bottom could spin your leaf dry but depending on how much water was captured in the leaves you could still end up with dirty water splashing back up on your salad because there are not vents or holes on the bottom to let the water go through.
The Mainstays Salad Spinner was perfect. You can rinse and spin all at the same time then do a super drying spin to make sure everything came off. The whole while the dirty water is dripping out of the bottom of the salad spinner and down the drain so you are left with fresh clean dry salad. You can complain about the plastic and even the plain design but you know what as far as making it correctly!?! I believe this will beat out $39 salad spinners if you put them to a dye test because this really truly works.
I am so happy with this product that everytime I see one at the store I buy a new one. They are good to give as gifts and also I like to have spares as it is plastic. I know it will not last forever.
Bonus: It is very easy to clean and it will dry pretty fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 6 for Mainstays Salad Spinner Basic

Great for spinning

05/10/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a great greens spinner - BUT not for storage of the greens. The spinner has drainage holes in the bottom, which I didn't know about prior to purchase, so must use a different storage means.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 7 for Mainstays Salad Spinner Basic

Love this!

05/29/2014
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loves leaf lettuce so I thought this would be easier to use to dry the leaves...it's great. I've never tried a salad spinner before and frankly wasn't sure I would like it. I used it to dry celery! I didn't think it would work for that, but it did...boy, talk about saving me some time. This is a great tool for any kitchen and you can't beat the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+4points
Review 8 for Mainstays Salad Spinner Basic

Great value.

08/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had a similar salad spinner for years. The only problem was that the spinner mechanism on the top broke. My husband tried to glue it, but it wouldn't stay. This spinner is the same design, which I like because you can let cold water in through the opening at the top and it drains out the bottom. It is a little light weight. Hope the top doesn't break on this one. Other spinners I saw online cost between $30-50 and didn't have the feature to run the cold water through your vegetables.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 9 for Mainstays Salad Spinner Basic

Did not dry

03/10/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used this as a replacement for a Pampered Chef spinner that died after 7 years of constant use, I thought it would work in the interim as I waited for my replacement spinner. Perhaps ours was a dud, but it did not dry my greens at all. I tried it a half a dozen times and always had wet greens. It is also very small, a small head of bok choy completely filled it. It did not create much centrifugal force, the greens were never on the outside of the bowl, they didn't appear to have moved at all.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 10 for Mainstays Salad Spinner Basic

1st Salad spinner ever

03/27/2014
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the only complaint I have is the wholes on the very bottom. while spinning the water comes out on the bottom so I have to spin it in the sink. other than that it's good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 11 for Mainstays Salad Spinner Basic

I am surprised

06/15/2013
By ,
Alexandria, Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought a $5 salad spinner would be junk ..... but I was wrong.
I have a big garden and I needed to get a spinner for my lettuce ASAP.
I am very short on cash and it is an IN STORE item
so I went out and got it today.
it works great!
It spins the lettuce really dry quickly.
EXACTLY what I needed for a price I can afford
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for Mainstays Salad Spinner Basic

Holes in the Bottom!?

01/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had a simple, light salad spinner similar to this one for years. It finally broke so I bought this one at Walmart. I didn't think to look at the bottom until I got home and went to use it. Who would have thought; holes in the bottom! I took it back. Would have kept it if it weren't for the holes because I did like the rest of it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 13 for Mainstays Salad Spinner Basic

Consider why you are purchasing a salad spinner

05/31/2013
By ,
Ga.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you need a bowl, there isn't one. Unless you have a large bowl, it is rather impractical as there is no way to wash the greens; the water runs right out from the bottom. So you will have to wash the greens first, then transfer them to the spinner. My dial didn't work at first and the unit seemed more like a colander than anything else. IF you don't mind the extra work and have a bowl, then for the price it's a good buy if your only need is to get rid of excess water.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sparta, TN
You do not need another bowl to rinse.....
Posted 10/15/2014
run water into the spot at the top of the bowl while slowly spinning, then turn off water and spin fast to dry. The only thing you need another bowl for is after you dry it and make the salad (especially if you put dressing on it ;) )
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Mainstays Salad Spinner Basic

Basic spinner is all you need

06/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well...good for spinach, fruits, green lettuce....the price is excellent. No need to buy a more expensive one. Lightweight....but not collapsible.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 15 for Mainstays Salad Spinner Basic

What a deal!

12/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped online a bit for this useful item because I wondered why there was such a wide range of prices for the same function on each one.
For five bucks I figured I couldn't go wrong on this Mainstay basic spinner.......and I didn't.
This manual salad spinner is simple but effective. The basket is large enough for a big salad and the spinner moves freely and super fast!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for Mainstays Salad Spinner Basic

Helpful product

06/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good price and it serves the purpose. I use it a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 17 for Mainstays Salad Spinner Basic

Gr8!!!!

01/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works very well! Used for romaine and strawberries so fat; going to save
Alot of money not buying prewahed!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 18 for Mainstays Salad Spinner Basic

Makes life much easier

02/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad I purchased this spinner. I love salads, but dreaded washing and drying the lettuce. This spinner cut my prep time in half. I would recommend all salad lovers get one.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 19 for Mainstays Salad Spinner Basic

Very nice, affordable lettuce spinner!

11/04/2013
By ,
The greater Chicago area.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great lettuce spinner! The only thing that kept me from giving it a five-star rating is that the inner basket is a little fragile. If you're careful with it, I'm sure it'll last though. And it is definitely worth it for the price!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 20 for Mainstays Salad Spinner Basic

Great product for the price.

09/16/2013
By ,
Mobile, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This salad spinner is inexpensive and it does the trick. However, this salad spinner does have holes or vents in the bottom of it to allow water to escape. It does not trap the excess water in the bowl as more expensive models do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next