Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for General Tire General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16

General Tire General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16

Average Customer Rating:
3.308 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation58%15 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 3 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16

Excellent tire and great price point

04/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased a set of these tires for a Dodge Ram 1500 that is driven less than 10,000 miles a year. The tire is priced well but delivers the comfort and performance of a high end product. The ride and traction is comparable to Michelin light truck tires at a price of approximately half of them. The only negative a I can find on these tires is that the tread life is lesser than what the warranty covers. As of today, I cannot vouch for tread life, but the tires are exceptionally quiet, ride very well, and the wet traction is beyond impressive. Highly recommend these tires.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 265/70R16.

GRABBERS ARE GREAT

05/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS IS THE SECOND SET OF GRABBERS AND I WOULD BUY THEM !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire P245/70R17.

Less than 25,000 miles....almost worn out

05/06/2015
By ,
Diamond City, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
General Grabbers came OE on my 2011 Silverado 1500. As you can tell by the mileage I do not drive the truck a lot. Have had the tires rotated with each oil change and do not spin the tires and usually drive below 70 mph. I was surprised to find the tires have a 60,000 mile tread warranty. I discovered this shopping for new tires for my truck at less than 24,000 miles. Now I wonder who do I contact about the warranty? I will not buy General again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire P245/70R17.

Great tire put lots of miles on them.

04/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These came as OE on a 2013 Silverado fleet truck. I was a little skeptical because of the Brand. I drive lots of hwy miles and to job sites every day. Aside from a few nail hole repairs the tires have been great. I am ordering a new set after putting 114,000 on this set. I could stretch them another few k if needed but don't want to. Yes that 114K miles. Rotated 3 times. Pic of wear at 114K.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 265/75R16.

best low cost name brand truck tire.

03/22/2015
By ,
Denver
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got these for 04 dodge ram 1500. Consumer reports lists as 5th best truck tires. Top being michelin at $200 + per tire. After 29k use tires still great tread, considering haven't rotated yet. Live in colorado mountains snow traction been geat, ride quite, absorbs road well, mpg gone up over oem tires. Over all price and value very good. Of note every truck drive suspension and torque is different so this tire may not be good due to its soft rubber and possible uneven wear complaints , hence probably the bad reviews. But for dodge trucks this tire seems to hold up well , much better than oem tires, but always buy tire for needs not price. If need heavy duty towing tire or off road tire look else where. But for every day all season highway tire this is very good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire P265/70R17.

Wear out too early

12/15/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought 4 Grabbers on two different occasions. 1st set wore out too early but I thought I would give them a 2nd chance. 2nd set wore out early too. Buy something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire P265/70R17.

Disappointing

12/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I believe I had ply separation. Two of the four tires made a thumping noise as though out-of-round. This occurred after about 20K miles and was confirmed by a dealership. I am thoroughly disappointed because the tires still had plenty of tread left but I had to dispose of them. I would never consider these tires again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire P245/70R17.

Did not wear well.

09/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought a set of 4 @ $140 ea. in Feb 2012, supposed to be 60,000 mile tires. Was best price in town at the time. Now it is Sept. 2014 and 35,000 miles later, tires are worn out and will not pass state inspection.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 225/70R15.

Tires did not last

07/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased these tires for my sons 2001 Ford Escape XLT in October 2013, and now it is July 2014 and the tires are just about bald and I need to buy new tires.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
MD
General Grabber Tires
Posted 11/15/2014
The General Grabber tires that came new on my F150 were LT265 tires, and they were amazing for tread wearstill have two on the truck at 102K. Replaced them with the P265 General Grabbers, and those have NOT worn well. Find the LTs, avoid the P's
0points
Customer Avatar
florida
miller
Posted 07/29/2014
Get an Alinment. They have lasted me 57000 and still going. It's important to take care of your truck or car .
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire P265/70R17.

Best tire for the money

05/18/2014
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a pair of Grabber HTS about three years ago for the rear tires on my truck. I also moved the original spare (not a General Grabber) to the front. That front tire wore out in those three years, the two rear Grabbers still have lots of tread left! Just replaced the two front with new Grabbers.
Great wet traction, no noticeable road noise. My driving is about 99% road/highway so I can't speak about non-paved driving. But, these are the best tires for highway use! I ordered them Site-To-Store. They were available the nest day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 245/70R16 107S.

Great Tires

04/25/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had 2 sets of these on my Dodge Dakota and have gotten every bit of the 60,000 rated miles out of them. They are quiet, have great traction in the rain and snow and are priced right. I would not hesitate to recommend these tires to anybody looking for a great light truck street and highway tire!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire LT235/75R15.

GREAT TIRE

09/19/2013
By ,
south carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought these tires for my explorer sport and i love them. i put about 90 miles a day on them and they ride nice , are very quiet and wearing very well. i am buying another set for my other explorer sport. i have had general tires before and they are very good quality tires for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/75R16.

Disappointed

08/13/2013
By ,
Central Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this tire as a replacement on my '99 Silverado LS in March of 2009 at roughly 77,000 miles. Today I have 101,000 with 3/32 left on the tread and WalMart says they probably won't be able to balance/rotate any longer. This is a smooth riding, noiseless tire that just flat wears out which doesn't make it a very good deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Canton, TX
Bad tread wear mileage
Posted 02/20/2014
I am having the same issue at 25,000 miles. I have emailed General about this but not received a response. I will not be buying a General tire again. These were rated at 60,000 miles and more expensive than others. I even paid for the extended road hazard warranty with Walmart. Bad choice on my part.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16

Never Again

04/02/2013
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have slightly more than 35,000 miles on this tire and it would not pass vehicle safety inspection because of hardly any tread depth remaining.
Bought these on the recommendation of a family member.
Not all that great in snow either.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tampa fl
34,000 miles is all I got
Posted 04/09/2013
I bought these tires 34,000 miles ago for my ford f-150 . very loud noise and did not
last . I rotated every 5,000 miles too!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/75R16.

Short tread life

04/09/2013
By ,
Decatur, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought these three and a half years ago, and drive 10K per year. The tread is worn down and need replaced. When I bought the tires I didn't think highly of the thin tread. I have rotated them every third oil change. Wet/snow traction is poor. It seemed ok in the beginning, but I'm disappointed in how short a time they lasted. I'm spending the extra money next time for Michelin's, so I don't have to change tires as often. I had the same problem with a set of Cooper tires.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire P265/70R17.

Good tire for the money

12/18/2012
By ,
Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a 2WD Z71 06 tahoe and replaced my Michelin's LTX M/S with these tires a month ago. So far, these tires are better than I expected. No road noise to speak of, good traction in rain, and I picked these up for $141/tire...$660 out the door. I saved $300 over a set of Michelins. I would recommend these tires.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire P265/70R17.

A good SUV tire for the money!

11/22/2012
By ,
Alma,WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tires in this size are a lot of money,but this general tire is a good bargain and a good tire as well, for under $170 it's a good all around All-Season tire.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire P265/70R17.

GREAT TIRE

11/17/2012
By ,
Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Put these on my Ford Ranger 4x4 and love them.. Good lookin gtire and exceptional wear and traction. Beats the GoodYear Tracker hands down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16

One or two issues but would recommend

09/24/2012
By ,
wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A bit noisy on one tire. I rotated them after one year - same noise. Might be the SUV. Tires said to low rolling resitance - I agree. I get 23mpg on my Honda Pilot at 55 with cruise and flat roads. Thats good from normal reports. I'd guess I have 20,000 miles on these now.
I pump them up to 35 psi.
Overall, I like the price! $506 + $35 mounting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire LT245/75R16.

Poor tire quality

08/01/2012
By ,
NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Read good reviews for this tire but found out otherwise. Took tires back to have balanced two times after installation and then had to go somewhere else to have them determine tires were out of round.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1 2 Next