Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for General Tire General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16

General Tire General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16

Update you vehicle's performance with this General Grabber HTS Tire. It is constructed with Duragen technology, which provides you with superior tread wear, driving confidence and exceptional mileage. This General Grabber tire is suitable for all weather use on crossover vehicles, light trucks and sport utility vehicles. The noise-capturing pockets and tread cushioning system on this tire provide you with a ride that is both quiet and comfortable.
Average Customer Rating:
3.444 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation61%11 out of 18reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 3 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 225/70R15.

Tires did not last

07/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased these tires for my sons 2001 Ford Escape XLT in October 2013, and now it is July 2014 and the tires are just about bald and I need to buy new tires.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
florida
miller
Posted 07/29/2014
Get an Alinment. They have lasted me 57000 and still going. It's important to take care of your truck or car .
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire P265/70R17.

Best tire for the money

05/18/2014
By ,
Memphis, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a pair of Grabber HTS about three years ago for the rear tires on my truck. I also moved the original spare (not a General Grabber) to the front. That front tire wore out in those three years, the two rear Grabbers still have lots of tread left! Just replaced the two front with new Grabbers.
Great wet traction, no noticeable road noise. My driving is about 99% road/highway so I can't speak about non-paved driving. But, these are the best tires for highway use! I ordered them Site-To-Store. They were available the nest day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 245/70R16 107S.

Great Tires

04/25/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had 2 sets of these on my Dodge Dakota and have gotten every bit of the 60,000 rated miles out of them. They are quiet, have great traction in the rain and snow and are priced right. I would not hesitate to recommend these tires to anybody looking for a great light truck street and highway tire!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire LT235/75R15.

GREAT TIRE

09/19/2013
By ,
south carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought these tires for my explorer sport and i love them. i put about 90 miles a day on them and they ride nice , are very quiet and wearing very well. i am buying another set for my other explorer sport. i have had general tires before and they are very good quality tires for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/75R16.

Disappointed

08/13/2013
By ,
Central Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this tire as a replacement on my '99 Silverado LS in March of 2009 at roughly 77,000 miles. Today I have 101,000 with 3/32 left on the tread and WalMart says they probably won't be able to balance/rotate any longer. This is a smooth riding, noiseless tire that just flat wears out which doesn't make it a very good deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Canton, TX
Bad tread wear mileage
Posted 02/20/2014
I am having the same issue at 25,000 miles. I have emailed General about this but not received a response. I will not be buying a General tire again. These were rated at 60,000 miles and more expensive than others. I even paid for the extended road hazard warranty with Walmart. Bad choice on my part.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16

Never Again

04/02/2013
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have slightly more than 35,000 miles on this tire and it would not pass vehicle safety inspection because of hardly any tread depth remaining.
Bought these on the recommendation of a family member.
Not all that great in snow either.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tampa fl
34,000 miles is all I got
Posted 04/09/2013
I bought these tires 34,000 miles ago for my ford f-150 . very loud noise and did not
last . I rotated every 5,000 miles too!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/75R16.

Short tread life

04/09/2013
By ,
Decatur, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought these three and a half years ago, and drive 10K per year. The tread is worn down and need replaced. When I bought the tires I didn't think highly of the thin tread. I have rotated them every third oil change. Wet/snow traction is poor. It seemed ok in the beginning, but I'm disappointed in how short a time they lasted. I'm spending the extra money next time for Michelin's, so I don't have to change tires as often. I had the same problem with a set of Cooper tires.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire P265/70R17.

Good tire for the money

12/18/2012
By ,
Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a 2WD Z71 06 tahoe and replaced my Michelin's LTX M/S with these tires a month ago. So far, these tires are better than I expected. No road noise to speak of, good traction in rain, and I picked these up for $141/tire...$660 out the door. I saved $300 over a set of Michelins. I would recommend these tires.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire P265/70R17.

A good SUV tire for the money!

11/22/2012
By ,
Alma,WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tires in this size are a lot of money,but this general tire is a good bargain and a good tire as well, for under $170 it's a good all around All-Season tire.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire P265/70R17.

GREAT TIRE

11/17/2012
By ,
Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Put these on my Ford Ranger 4x4 and love them.. Good lookin gtire and exceptional wear and traction. Beats the GoodYear Tracker hands down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16

One or two issues but would recommend

09/24/2012
By ,
wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A bit noisy on one tire. I rotated them after one year - same noise. Might be the SUV. Tires said to low rolling resitance - I agree. I get 23mpg on my Honda Pilot at 55 with cruise and flat roads. Thats good from normal reports. I'd guess I have 20,000 miles on these now.
I pump them up to 35 psi.
Overall, I like the price! $506 + $35 mounting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire LT245/75R16.

Poor tire quality

08/01/2012
By ,
NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Read good reviews for this tire but found out otherwise. Took tires back to have balanced two times after installation and then had to go somewhere else to have them determine tires were out of round.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire P245/70R17.
07/27/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tire was original to my brand new 2011 Silverado 1500 LS. I had just over 18,000 miles on my truck and the tires were already wearing down badly. I took it to the dealership to get free replacement tires, preferrably a better tire. The service guy that I talked to informed me that this particular tire is a performance tire and that it is made with soft rubber, hence the fast wear. He agreed with me that this tire should NOT be put on a TRUCK. I am fighting with Chevy to replace with better tires free of charge given that the truck is only a year old and has only 18,000 miles. Do not buy this tire. Spend a little more and get a better tire.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+81points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Tucson, Arizona
tire review
Posted 08/17/2013
This site was designed for comments on purchased items from Wal-Mart not from your dealer purchased items when you purchased the vehicle. Sorry to say original equipment issues need to be brought to your tire warranty attention not on this site. They buy in bulk so what does that tell you, on the cheap I think you got.
-2points
Customer Avatar
Louisiana
Comment on tires on 2009 Chevy Silverado
Posted 05/30/2013
Our 2009 Silverado still has the original General tires on it with approximately 55,000 miles on them. We are looking to replace the tires at this date. I think they have done well for our truck and yes it has low mileage because it only gets driven a couple of times a month to go to work down in south Louisiana.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 14 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire P265/70R17.

Very good tire

07/27/2012
By ,
louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was worried about buying these due to no real world info on these but I went ahead and pulled the trigger on these, installed them on my 2010 Tahoe 4x4, they are great in wet weather, here in southern louisiana we get pounded by the rain, they have not slipped once during takeoff or breaking, even hard. Handling on dry pavement is just as good, actually better, so far 15k on them and show no wear at all. As far as offroad capabiltys, not so much, would they get me out of a bind yes, mudding no, but thats not what these tires are for
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+136points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire P265/70R17.

EASY TO PURCHASE, GREAT PAYMENT PLAN

07/26/2012
By ,
MILLINGTON, TENN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THEY WERE EASY TO BUY AT WALMART.COM AND I PAID FOR THEM WITH BILL ME LATER THEY OFFERED NO INTEREST AND NO PAYMENT FOR 6 MONTHS
A GREAT DEAL I PURCHASED 4 OF THESE TIRES FOR MY DAUGHTER'S TRUCK ALREADY HAD PURCHASED 4 FOR MY SON IN LAW'S TRUCK
A GOOD PRICE, GREAT PAYMENT PLAN AND FAST SHIPPING VIA FEDX SHIPPING
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 265/70R16.
07/07/2012
By ,
Wytheville, Va
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Greatly disappointed in this tire. 34,000 miles and it is worn out. Traction in snow is fair at best. There has to be better tire values out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 255/70R16 111S.
05/19/2012
By ,
swainsboro,ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BOUGHT THESE GENERAL GRABBERS FOR MY TRUCK THEY RIDE GREAT NO ROAD NOISE FOR THE PRICE &RIDE I WILL BUY THESE TIRESWHEN I WEAR THESEOUT. FOR MY CHEVY SILVADADO LOOKS GREAT WITH THESE TIRES ON THE IT!I HAVE NO PROBLEMS ACTUALY WAS CHEAPER AT THE STORE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Thelma, Ky
2006 Chevrolet Silverado Z71
Posted 05/26/2012
These tires do look great on my truck. I love these tires because of the no road noise.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for General Grabber HTS Light Truck and SUV Tire 235/70R16

Great Buy especially using Site to Store

01/11/2011
By ,
Saint Louis , MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews on tirerack.com and found these tires to be the best performers within my price range for my Escape...then got them ordered from Walmart Site to Store. Quick and Easy...Walmart got them on and I was out the door before the next snow. They were able to take care of my Tire Pressure Monitoring System...other tire places suggested removing them...Thanks Walmart for making this expensive but necessary purchase so easy and delivered just in time (and a week earlier than expected)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+183points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.