Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for General Tire General Grabber AT2 Light Truck and SUV Tire 255/70R16

General Tire General Grabber AT2 Light Truck and SUV Tire 255/70R16

Up to $70 REBATE with Purchase of 4 Select General Tires AVAILABLE ONLY FROM August 27th - October 3rd, 2014 Click Here
Average Customer Rating:
4.231 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation85%11 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for General Grabber AT2 Light Truck and SUV Tire 255/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber AT2 Light Truck and SUV Tire 30X9.50R15LT.

Straigh forward.

03/26/2014
By ,
Northern CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After reading a lot of positive (about 80) reviews and 2 negative reviews I thought I would give these tires a try. I replaced my Good Year tires with these GG AT2's. They look great on my Jeep unlimited.. a good beefy tread. I've had these tires since early December so now its March and I've survived the winters snow and ice season. So I think I can give a fair assessment.
Being a New Englander I see all sorts of weather; snow, ice, rain, etc. I found these tires to handle just okay in snow, not the best. In ice the traction seems to be okay as well as rain, again not the best. The biggest disappointment of these tires is: driving on the highway at 65-75mph I find myself drifting.. drifting to the left or drifting to the right, as if there were strong winds. When it is windy, I find myself holding onto the steering wheel really tight as to not find myself in another lane. I'd like to say that my vehicle is NOT in the need of an alignment since I had one done relatively recent. Maybe an improper balancing upon installation? Going back to see if that's a possibility.
In short: They're an average tire ( + or - ) insofar as handling in bad weather. Highway driving is bad based on my own experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for General Grabber AT2 Light Truck and SUV Tire 255/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber AT2 Light Truck and SUV Tire 255/70R15.

They have Passed every TEST

03/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my Grabber's online and was told they would arrive 3/3/13 to 3/19/13 which was a shock at first. It is 3/2/13 and I already had my tires installed 2/28/13. It was a dry day the tires where quiet on dry pavement at speeds around 65mph. Then was able to test them out in the sleet and snow today. They dug in no problem with not a hint of slipping. Stopping was around the same. I would recommend these tires to anyone looking for an all terrain tire. Too me tires are tires in a way but in two days I am more then impressed, enough to write this review.
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for General Grabber AT2 Light Truck and SUV Tire 255/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber AT2 Light Truck and SUV Tire 265/70R17.

Great tires!

12/25/2013
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hated to see these tires leave when I traded in my '99 F-150 4x4. Quiet on dry pavement but really bite in snow and mud. The factory Goodyear Wranglers were toast at 30,000 and got these. They still looked great after their 63,000 miles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dallas, GA
One year on vehicle?????
Posted 02/20/2014
I'm not sure when you got the tires but you post is Dec. 2013 and you say you have had them on your vehicle. I am asking if you got the tire in 2012?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for General Grabber AT2 Light Truck and SUV Tire 255/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber AT2 Light Truck and SUV Tire 215/70R16.
07/04/2013
By ,
Williston, ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had these on my 99 Grand Cherokee did awesome in mud snow dry and ice.
Put them on my 03 Chevy 2500HD wouldn't do it on any truck that is over a half ton.
Going to put them on my 2011 Jeep Patriot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for General Grabber AT2 Light Truck and SUV Tire 255/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber AT2 Light Truck and SUV Tire 205/75R15.

Great Tire for a Reasonable Price!

03/23/2013
By ,
Rapid City, SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I special ordered in a set of 4 - 205/75/15 tires for a Suzuki SideKick JX I had just purchased 2nd hand. These tires are great on the highway, very quiet, but they perform very well in mud & snow. I had heard many good things about them in several other forums which between that & a very reasonable price lead me to purchase them. I look forward to riding on them for many, many miles!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for General Grabber AT2 Light Truck and SUV Tire 255/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber AT2 Light Truck and SUV Tire 265/70R15.

Great tire

12/12/2012
By ,
Mesquite, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a set of 225/70/15 Grabber AT2 for my Ranger. I drive over 100 miles roundtrip per day for work and live out in the country. Theyre great on the highway and just as good offroad. Ive gotten 60,000 miles and I just ordered a set of 265/70/15 AT2's to replace them. They did go up in price but since it is 2 years later I guess that is to be expected. I cant wait to get these new bigger tires on my truck.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for General Grabber AT2 Light Truck and SUV Tire 255/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber AT2 Light Truck and SUV Tire 265/65R17.

best tire for the price

10/02/2012
By ,
pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
never need all or 4 wheel drive in snow. tires are quiet on road and handle great .best all terrain tire i have ever had .dn't spend a ton of money on pricey tires when these tires are priced great and gets the job done .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for General Grabber AT2 Light Truck and SUV Tire 255/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber AT2 Light Truck and SUV Tire 31X10.50R15LT 109S.

Excellent

08/06/2012
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look great,ride great,price is great!
Never any problems.Have 81,000 miles on them!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+117points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for General Grabber AT2 Light Truck and SUV Tire 255/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber AT2 Light Truck and SUV Tire 265/70R17.

Grabber AT2

06/14/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought these tires two years ago. I have 26000 miles on them and they are going to the shop to be prorated today. They have worn even, but have very little tread on them now...1/8". I rotate them religiously with oil changes. I'm a little disappointed in this tire.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
26000 miles
Posted 11/29/2013
One thing to take into consideration when buying tires is what kind of driving you will be doing. An aggressive tread like this is not designed for extended use on paved surfaces. As result the tires will wear faster on the highway than the mileage they are rated for.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Sunset Beach, NC
26,000 miles and tire rotation
Posted 11/15/2012
If you only got 26,000 miles out of these tires, either you're having your tires rotated diagonally (from one side to the other) which wears tires out twice as fast or you drive like you're qualifying for a Nascar race. If the first scenario fits you; try having your tires rotated front to rear and rear to front, keeping the tires on the same side of the vehicle. Tires feather in the direction they travel. When you reverse that, you go against the grain per say and that will inevitably wear your tires out twice as fast. It's just a way tire dealers get you to buy more tires sooner. I have been driving 4 wheel drives and SUVs for over 35 years and I have never rotated my tires on any vehicle I've ever owned, not even on the same side. I have always averaged 60,000 to 65,000 miles per set. These are fantastic tires by the way. My Xterra and Rubicon will never wear anything else!
+4points
Customer Avatar
Canon City, Colorado
Another reviewer said he has 81,000 miles on his
Posted 10/04/2012
You only got 26,000 miles out of them? Then how did this other guy get 81,000 miles out of his? It has to be the way that you drive and not the tires fault you like to hear them squeal when you take off and drift around corners. You would have to be abusing them in one way or another to wear them out that fast. What kind of vehicle do you have them on? What size motor does it have? Is it 2 wheel or 4 wheel drive?
+5points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 10 for General Grabber AT2 Light Truck and SUV Tire 255/70R16

NICE

04/01/2011
By ,
Newnan, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the tires online on a Friday and the next Friday they were on my "01 Explorer sport. They dont look exactly like the picture but they do look good, ecspecially on this type of vehichle. 75 mph on the interstate is no problem, even with a Bass boat. My debit card wasnt really charged until they were installed. Great grip on asphalt. They do discharge a lot of rain water, so its kinda loud when the water hits the wheel well. Ive had mine about 2 months and they still look good. The treads are so big that they will hold rocks and sling them (from dirt road to asphalt). Very small amount of roaring (sound). I was charged the price online plus roughly $20 after all was said and done. Over all, I am satisfied with the tires and pretty sure I will purchase them again. Wife loves them. One more thing, I really dont see a difference in gas cost.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+171points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
montgomery
Nice Looking!!!!
Posted 07/22/2012
But its not so nice to try and get prorata on tires if they wear out in kess thn 30k miles.... you will find there aint a tread wrnty
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for General Grabber AT2 Light Truck and SUV Tire 255/70R16

GREAT!!!!!!!!

03/29/2011
By ,
Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got these tires and love them no complaints at all. Great in the rain and the mud cant wait to try them out in the snow!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for General Grabber AT2 Light Truck and SUV Tire 255/70R16
This review is fromGeneral Grabber AT2 Light Truck and SUV Tire LT265/70R17.

Awesom Tire

01/16/2011
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tire meets and exceeds expectations. great for snow and icy roads. minimal highway noise at 70. planning to purchase this product again.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+165points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lakeland,Fl
Great tires.
Posted 09/20/2012
I have had mine for 9 months now and they still look brand new. They are not loud on the highway and pull like crazy in the dirt and mud. Mounted them on a 2001 Tacoma and they are probably the best tires I have ever had. Will be getting 2 more for the front asap. They get rid of water like it isn't there. I oughta get some sort of discount from the factory as I have really been pushing these tires to everyone that comments on them.
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Ratings-Only Reviews for General Grabber AT2 Light Truck and SUV Tire 255/70R16
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5