Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for General Tire General AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 195/60R15

General Tire General AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 195/60R15

Average Customer Rating:
4.087 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation86%18 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 10 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for General AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 195/60R15

Good Value

09/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are very good tires for the money. I ended up paying about $52 a tire after rebate. These tires made some noise when they were new but after a few thousand miles they started to quiet down. Remeber these are directional tires, so be sure you get them installed correctly. Excellent bargain!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for General AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 195/60R15
This review is fromGeneral AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 235/65R17.

So far so good

09/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Put these tires on my Volvo XC-60 due to end of wear on OEM Pirelli's. I thought the Pirelli's were noisy and certainly more costly. I read the reviews of the Altimax HP and about four other tires before selecting the Altimax. I like the look of the tire and so far I have found the tires to provide a quiet ride. I ordered these site to store. Walmart was super fast with delivery. I went in on a Saturday morning and went right in to the service bay. So far I am very pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for General AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 195/60R15
This review is fromGeneral Altimax HP Automobile Tire 215/55R16SL.

Great tire but question pricing strategy

08/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent tire with great ride and above average wet performance. In my opinion, this is the value in tires. I do wonder why Walmart raises the price when General offers a rebate though, only to lower the price when the rebate expires.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 09/19/2014
Good question!!! Doesn't surprise me that Walmart hasn't answered.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for General AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 195/60R15
This review is fromGeneral AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 215/60R15.

not a good tire for a daily driver

06/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the tires look good and ride good but they are directional and thats a big hassle for me,Im not happy that the description or specs do not indicate that they are directional tires
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Arkansas
directional tires
Posted 08/08/2014
What do you mean by "directional"? Please advise.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for General AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 195/60R15

So far so good

03/16/2014
By ,
Northville, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Installed a month and half ago to replace the original Kuhmo factory stock that last 55K ... runs good as any other tire and quieter than previous... I will be updating every 6 month... They meet my expectation.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 09/19/2014
Thought you were going to be updating your review every six months??
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for General AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 195/60R15
This review is fromGeneral AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 185/60R14.

Not a good tire for winter.

12/08/2013
By ,
Owensboro, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased these tires 5/2012 they seemed to be a alright tire. Didn't have any snow to speak of in 2012 in my area... How ever this year 2013 we had our first snow and these tires did not stand up to the elements.... I can say that these tires have been the worst tires I've had on my vehicle since I purchased it back in 1999.... I am looking at replacing them this week for something more dependable. Very little traction on snow... almost felt like these tires were coated with grease.... Just on the slightest incline all you could do was sit there while these tires just spun in place... I will not ever get this tire again..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Great Traction
Posted 12/16/2013
If you mounted these tires yourself you may have put the tread inside out or they are a directional tire & they're mounted going the wrong direction!!!!!!!!! I live in the mountains in Co. and put a set of these on my Honda Accord & I would consider it one of the best tires I have purchased. Better traction with these than I had with Firestones with studs in them.
+6points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for General AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 195/60R15

Don't waste your money!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

08/21/2013
By ,
N. Tonawanda, N.Y.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought these tires 1 year ago for my 05 Honda Civic EX based on the reviews here. They wear faster than they should, but the big problem is tire noise. My mechanic took the car for a ride because I thought a wheel bearing was making the noise. He said the car was fine and it was the tires. I bought a set of Michelins and now I can hear the radio and even the engine! No more loud tire noise. Spend a little more and get a quality product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Balance or other issue?
Posted 10/12/2013
Something else: Two things you need to watch out for are proper balancing and the fact that they are directional (maybe not the best choice for vehicles that don't wear tires evenly). Make sure they're installed with the right direction of rotation (as designated by the arrow(s) on the sidewall).
+2points
Customer Avatar
A "little more"?
Posted 09/05/2013
At least when there's a rebate, these are substantially less expensive than most decent Michelins I've seen locally. Maybe they don't work out well for some models, and they are a little soft seeming. But for many midsize sedans with good alignment they probably work well if properly inflated (not under OR way over) and not abused. We have them on an Accord at 34/36 PSI and so far they seem to be wearing reasonably for a 440 tire, and they sound okay on most roads. Nothing fantastic, but what can one expect for what is relatively speaking a budget tire? To each his own, tho.
+3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for General AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 195/60R15
This review is fromGeneral AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 205/50R16.

Best Tire for the Cheapest Price

07/26/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you do a simple mathematical division of warranty miles by price - General Altimax comes out the cheapest for all tire offerings on my Ford Focus. A good all-weather tire, I have used this tire to drive numerous times across the U.S., in-city stop and go traffic, and harsh mountain winters. The tire performed flawlessly throughout, offering great grip, low noise, and good ride comfort.
Do the math, see which tire offers the cheapest miles per dollar, and that is a good tire for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for General AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 195/60R15

Great Buy

05/22/2013
By ,
Morgantown,WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tire for Hyundai Elentra. 20,000 miles done on them and still looks great. Good grip even in winter time. the ride is smooth and comfortable. No road noise, good at braking, Steering feels light. I am very happy to have them. I would highly recommend this tires. Don't forget to get lifetime rotation from Wal-Mart while purchasing and balance it every 6000 miles to get max out of the tires before a new set.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for General AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 195/60R15
This review is fromGeneral AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 195/65R15.

So far so good

05/29/2013
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At first I couldn't decide between General Altimax and Bridgestone Turanza Serenity Plus with lower rolling resistance, but went with these because I couldn't find a rebate at the time for the former and these seemed like a decent value. I don't know how they'll perform in the long run (and so I'm slightly ambivalent about saying yes to recommending to a friend), but so far I like the wet traction and the noise level is generally good.
I did inflate them to 8 PSI over the automaker's recommendation of 30 PSI, because to me they were a little too soft & bouncy, and may not have yielded the best MPG either. Ride quality hasn't suffered much, and judging by the road grime on the tread I have the pressure about right for my car (the contact patch is reasonable for tread life and safety). If they hold up as long as my previous set with no problems, I'll be happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Oregon
~1,000 Mile Update
Posted 07/24/2013
After a bit more time breaking in the tires, still not bad overall but they turned out to be a little harsh on some roads. I let the pressure drop some from my original level for the sake of a smoother ride, and maybe slightly better road contact on the rears. Also got my rebate. So it's still looking like a reasonable buy. Depending on wear and longer-term ratings, though, I may try the Bridgestone or the Kumho Ecsta LX Platinum next time I tire shop. Especially since these have gone up a little/the price difference has narrowed.
0points
Customer Avatar
Oregon
As an Aside
Posted 06/03/2013
So far a little mark against this tire is that the tread seems to attract small stones more than my previous set (maybe just because they're new), but that's probably no big deal. If too many get lodged far in, I might just wet them down while washing the car (to lubricate the rocks) and carefully pick 'em out.
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for General AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 195/60R15
This review is fromGeneral AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 215/60R15.

smooth and quite ride

04/12/2013
By ,
Saint Louis MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The tires look good on the car and ride very well.
Quite ride
Smooth ride
Looks good
Stops very well
Make my 10 yr old car feel new as far as the ride is concerned.
Inspite of smooth ride the driver does feel the road and the bumps which is a good thing it gives confidence of control, the difference being the bumps are smoother as compared to the bridgestone I had earlier.
I have not experienced wet surface yet but I feel confident it will handle that well too.
Best tires I bought in my 11 years of driving.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for General AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 195/60R15
This review is fromGeneral AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 195/65R15.

A Good Overal Tire, just OK in Snow.

03/05/2013
By ,
Portland, ME
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good overall tire. Nice ride, low noise and good wet/ dry handling.
Cornering is also good. Very hard to feel a difference between
Altimax HP and Michelin MXV4+ on my Volvo. Altimax was $45 less
per tire at time of purchase. Tires were adequate in 3-4" snow with
full tread depth, and much better than the MXV4+ tire.
Now useless in the snow with 5/32" tread left. I would
purchase again if I lived in a non-snowy state.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for General AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 195/60R15
This review is fromGeneral AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 215/55R16.

glad i bought these

12/31/2012
By ,
elberton georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought these for a 2003 ford taurus . these are the best investment i made. they are really quiet and smooth ride when going on the highway 90 mph and turns i thought i try out how they do in rain . also on turns . i will most likely buy these again and put some on my wife's 2006 accord lx when shes due for tires . these tires arent the correct factory requirment size which is 215/60R16 i just wanted a smaller sidewall look. so i got these
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for General AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 195/60R15

Can't beat these tires for the price!

05/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tires for the price. They made it through a Colorado winter with no problems and the ride is very comfortable.
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for General AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 195/60R15
This review is fromGeneral AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 215/60R16.

Loud Noisy Tires!

05/03/2012
By ,
Crown Point, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tire is not "low noise"! At 20 mph all you hear is this loud humming noise that sounds like an airplane. I can't think of a single reason to recommend this tire. Buyer beware!
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
-46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Check Balance and Mounting
Posted 11/19/2013
These are directional tires, which means they must be mounted in the correct direction. Check the arrows on the tire to make sure. Also check to see if they are balanced properly. These tires should make virtualy no noise.
+6points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for General AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 195/60R15
This review is fromGeneral AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 215/60R16.

Great tires at a good price.

11/21/2011
By ,
Newark, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like these tires so far after 225 miles. They have a very nice ride to them with very little tire noise and have been good in the rain so far. They are still in the break in stage and the big test will be this winter in central Ohio with my 2003 Toyota Camry XLE without traction control. I will update this review after this winter and if they handle good on the snow and ice I will buy a set for my wife's car.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for General AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 195/60R15

Exceptional tire and great price!

06/17/2011
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these tires for a 99 Mazda 626. I traveled through a terrible rainstorm last night and these tires performed exceptionally well!!! There were rain puddles on the road of about 3-4 inches and the car did not pull or slide at all when I traveled through them. I am very glad that I purchased these tires from Walmart.com
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for General AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 195/60R15
This review is fromGeneral AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 225/60R16.

Highly Recommended Tire

06/06/2011
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tire has to be one of the most overlooked tires for someone looking to replace the tires on their large automobile (2000 Grand Marq) . It has many built-in aids for determining overall wear, wheel alignment issues and special rubber compounding for a smooth ride. Reviews I have read noted this tire is supposed to be excellent in wet or slippery conditions, something the previous tires were deficient in. These tires replaced some aged Michelins and the ride and handling differences were noticeable even at low speeds. It also is a good-looking tire on the car. I paid $20 less per tire than the comparable Michelins, as well.
Overall, with only a few thousand miles on them, an excellent tire.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Texas
Bought these for my wife's Mitsubishi Lancer
Posted 02/03/2012
I had a set of 4 of these, only for a year becuase the car was totaled in an accident, but I was shocked by how smooth and how much grip they offer. General has come a long way in 20 years, they used to be the ones you stayed away from, now they are highly recommended if you are looking for quality without paying for the absolute best.
About to buy more of these for my car!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for General AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 195/60R15

Good Tire

03/26/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good price, on time shipping and good performance tires.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for General AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 195/60R15
This review is fromGeneral AltiMAX HP Passenger Performance Tire 205/50R16.

Great on Dry Pavement and in Rain Horrible in snow

03/16/2011
By ,
Maine
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got these tires about 35k miles ago for my 07 Kia Spectra 5 and living in Maine I needed a relatively good all season tire. The tire tech's raved about these tires and the reviews were great so I decided to try them out.
For the first 20k miles they were great loved the feel of them going through rain and on dry pavement, they were quiet and seemed to improve my gas mileage weird as it sounds.
After being hit by some hay bails in the front end of my car that fell off a truck going by it messed up my front end real good and alignment was way out of whack. Well after getting the car fixed and realigned I noticed some bad wear along the edges and they were real choppy(could have been a bad alignment) so I brought the car back to get realigned hoping this would help and make my tires last the other 20/25k they say they will. Well that never happened. Even after rotating the tires and 2 alignments I tried to make the wear a little bit more even, instead 2 tires began to bubble and now I need new ones. after 35k miles.
They are directional tires and I rotate them every 2 oil changes to maintain good wear but once these tires have any problems with abnormal wear they turn to junk real fast.
If I was living in a non snowing part of the country I would def. get these again but here in Maine where snow is around half the year I really don't recommend these. I got stuck left and right this winter and I am far from an aggressive driver.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next