Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Continental Tires Continental ExtremeContact DWS Ultra High Performance Tire 215/50ZR17

Continental Tires Continental ExtremeContact DWS Ultra High Performance Tire 215/50ZR17

Each Continental ExtremeContact DWS Ultra High Performance Tire is designed to provide you with stability and security. With a special radial design, it's ideal for sports cars and trucks or high-performance sedans. Each all season tire uses an advanced silica-based high grip. It can be used in light snow and slush with decent traction. The Continental ExtremeContact DWS Tire, 215/50ZR17, will help to ensure that each and every ride you take on the road is comfortable, safe and as efficient as possible.
Average Customer Rating:
3.909 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation73%8 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Continental ExtremeContact DWS Ultra High Performance Tire 215/50ZR17
This review is fromContinental ExtremeContact DWS Ultra High Performance Tire 225/40ZR19.

nice and quiet

10/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just installed these tires on my Infiniti and love them. They are nice and quiet and hug the road extremely well. I previously had General G Max tires and hated them. My car rides like a completely different vehicle. We'll see how they handle the Wisconsin snow and how they take the miles.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental ExtremeContact DWS Ultra High Performance Tire 215/50ZR17
This review is fromContinental ExtremeContact DWS Ultra High Performance Tire 225/55ZR16.

only 38,000 miles.

05/01/2014
By ,
charlotte, nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
these are the worst tires i have ever driven. they say the tires will get to 50k. that's a JOKE. i bought them because they were so highly rated on websites. they were kind of quiet tires, but after around 39,000 miles. they were down to zero tread. outer treads are completely gone now. they were rotated every 4000 miles and i bought them new 2.6 yrs ago. I wont buy tires from continental again and am definitely suspicious of reviews I read on the internet. i used to buy michelin and remember they lasted long.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental ExtremeContact DWS Ultra High Performance Tire 215/50ZR17
This review is fromContinental ExtremeContact DWS Ultra High Performance Tire 215/55ZR17.

Great the firrst year

02/21/2014
By ,
Wisconsin
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I just bought these tires 21000 miles ago and they are already down to 4/32nd. There is no way I will get 50,000 miles out of these tires. I purchased the Walmart lifetime rotate on balance and have had them them rotated and balanced three times now. They were great for about 15000 miles then I started to notice the traction wasn't as good. Should have bought the Michelin MX4s.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental ExtremeContact DWS Ultra High Performance Tire 215/50ZR17
This review is fromContinental ExtremeContact DWS Ultra High Performance Tire 225/55ZR16.

Best tire you can buy !

12/07/2013
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had these on my Audi A6 4.2 for sometime now and thought I would try them on my 2009 Camry XLE. They are very quiet and give you a comfortable ride in any conditions. Winter/Summer and especially Wet conditions even at very high speeds. If you would like a superior tire to Michelin, Bridgestone,Goodyear, You can't go wrong with Conti DWS.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental ExtremeContact DWS Ultra High Performance Tire 215/50ZR17
This review is fromContinental ExtremeContact DWS Ultra High Performance Tire 215/45ZR17.

Great for 1st 15,000 miles then...

11/25/2013
By ,
Erie PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased these for my Kia Fortes SX. I travel 70 miles a day on the highway very early in the morning, and at a high rate of speed. I assumed the wear would reflect that abuse, but high speed only on highway not around turns or anything. First winter they performed great! by the next winter the DWS letters signifying the amount of wear had all worn off! Only got 22,000 miles out of these tires and rotated them every 6,000 miles, every other oil change. They are perfectly flat, no outside or inside favored wear. I can only guess they wore out so fast from high speed? I don't know but the only way you'll get 55,000 miles out of these is if you keep them in your trunk!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental ExtremeContact DWS Ultra High Performance Tire 215/50ZR17
This review is fromContinental ExtremeContact DWS Ultra High Performance Tire 225/50ZR17.

One of the best tires I've ever owned

03/12/2012
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 2 BMWs, an '01 Z3 and an '08 535i. My Z3 was purchased with Conti ProContacts and when they needed replacing I went the Conti ExtremeContact DWSs. I have about 17K miles on them, and am much happier with these than the ProContacts. I do both city and highway driving, and drive aggressively when conditions allow. These tires have good adhesion in dry and wet conditions, excellent wear and they are quiet and stable at high speeds. For the serious enthusiast, the sidewalls are a bit too flexible and don't give the best feel at turn in. I forgive them this shortcoming because I prefer the softer, quieter ride 95% of the time. The 535 gets these shoes in a couple of months. I live in North Texas, so they don't get any practice in the snow.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental ExtremeContact DWS Ultra High Performance Tire 215/50ZR17
This review is fromContinental ExtremeContact DWS Ultra High Performance Tire 215/45ZR17.

Great Tire

12/15/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife and I each bought a set of these tires to replace the Goodyear Eagle LS2 tires that came as OEM tires on our 2010 Kia Forte SX sedans. These tires made a big improvement in the feel and handling of the car in wet and snowy conditions. Dry handling is about the same as the OEM tires which was fine. Based on current milage it appears the tires will last the stated 50K mile warranty and unless something looks better we plan on getting the same tires next time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental ExtremeContact DWS Ultra High Performance Tire 215/50ZR17
This review is fromContinental ExtremeContact DWS Ultra High Performance Tire 245/30ZR22.

Love the Extreme Contact tires

10/06/2011
By ,
Miami, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been riding on these tires for 30k and they are great I do not think they will make it to the 60k warranty but to get this many miles from a low profile tire is amazing. I got my fronts from Walmart and my rears from www.dubsandtires.com did not see the 295/25ZR22 online so I purchased it somewhere else. Regardless the tires are great and I would recommend them to anyone who is tired of getting only 15,000 to 20,000 miles out of a set of tires. I will say they are a bit stiff at first but once they are broken it they are great.
KB2
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental ExtremeContact DWS Ultra High Performance Tire 215/50ZR17

Great Tires

01/10/2011
By ,
Wilmington,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These tires have been a great purchase. The ride and handling has improved in my Chevy HHR. I also had a vibrating problem while braking with the old tires and these have solved that as well. There are no excess noise , actually less than my original set, as noted by the other reviewer. He must have some other issue going on in his vehicle.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental ExtremeContact DWS Ultra High Performance Tire 215/50ZR17
This review is fromContinental ExtremeContact DWS Ultra High Performance Tire 205/50ZR16.

Road magnets

02/22/2011
By ,
Phoenixville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought these in preparation to sell the car, so a long term review won't be possible, however, my experience thus far has made me feel compelled to write this review. The day after these arrived we got a second major snow storm and got about 10 inches. Had to drive these to work, also pick up my little one from school. WOW, what a difference. Had Firehawk GTs on (with ~25-30K on them) and struggled pull away from Stop's and Light's (with the previous snow storm). Now, regardless of what the tires sit on at a stop, I can pull away NO PROBLEM! Parking the car is also a treat with icey/snowy street parallel parking. Tires spin some, but the car moves forward and back as I ask it to. Previously, car would just sit and I needed to 'help' the car with shovels and other hands to get the car moving and park it/get out of parking spot. Additionally, can now carry on a regular conversation with out feeling the need to talk loudly to be heard and can hear the little ones from the back seat with out needing them to speak up for us to hear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental ExtremeContact DWS Ultra High Performance Tire 215/50ZR17

Great tires regardless of price

11/05/2010
By ,
Worcester, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've put about 500 miles on these tires on my 2008 Mazda 6 and so far love them. Dry traction is great, wet traction is unbelievable. I haven't tested them in the snow yet, looking forward to seeing how they perform. They ride very comfortably and quietly and were a HUGE upgrade over the OEM Michelin tires I had before. We'll see how the tread wears but to see an UHP tire even with a treadlife warranty blows my mind. If they last even 35k I'll be more than pleased. Great job on this tire Continental -- If these are still around when it comes time to replace them I will definitely purchase again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.