Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Trendsetter 24 x 36 Black Poster Frame

Mainstays Mainstays Trendsetter 24 x 36 Black Poster Frame

This Mainstays Trendsetter 24 x 36 Black Poster Frame can be hung vertically or horizontally. Its contemporary styling and plexiglass insert, make this black, plastic poster frame an excellent way to display eye-catching art. Insert your favorite poster or photo enlargement in this modern picture frame and instantly add interest to any wall. The thin outline of this black poster frame allows the artwork stand out. The poster frame works well in home or office and makes a great gift.
Average Customer Rating:
3.767 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(176 Reviews) 139
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
36
3 stars
13
2 stars
17
1 star
26
Customer Recommendation74%130 out of 176reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 99 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
36
3 stars
13
2 stars
17
1 star
26
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Trendsetter 24 x 36 Black Poster Frame

A nice way to frame an inexpensive poster

01/29/2014
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted to redecorate my teenage son's room and wanted to do it inexpensively. We bought 4 posters online, and I wanted to frame them to make it look a little more polished. I chose these frames because they came as one piece that you inserted the poster in. In the past (many years ago) I used the frames that you slide on each side and I remembered that inevitably the sides started to slide down over time.
The frames I just purchased look really good and will seem to hold up as long as they are not bumped to hard. I did find on 2 of the frames ,they did not sit as flush on the wall as the other two. We used a piece of the 3M hanging adhesive strips behind it and it looks great. I decided to use at the bottom of all of them because the posters are hanging above 2 twin beds and I did not want to chance them falling. (Although I don't think these frames would fall more than any other types of frames)
I think the clarity is really good. Not as good as glass, but I knew that before I bought it.
I read a lot of reviews about the frames being broken upon arrival. I was very worried about this, but knew that I could return to the store and reorder. I was very lucky because all of them were intact.
But, it was luck, because they had a small piece of bubble wrap covering about half of the frame.
I would DEFINITELY buy again, but I do think a more appropriate price would be about $13.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Trendsetter 24 x 36 Black Poster Frame

Good Quality Frame, But Has A Flaw Or Two

02/20/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The best thing about this frame is it's price. It's pretty cheap and works well. My issues with this frame were once I opened it up, I found the bottom left corner of plastic glass broken. You can't really tell because the frame happens to cover a majority of the crack, but the last thing you want when you open up a new product is shards of plastic glass falling out. Mines also has a pretty big smudge on the right side of the glass, which I haven't even bothered to try to clean from the inside, I imagine it would disappear if I did so. Bottom line: great product, but buy in person or ship to store and make sure it's not broken before you bring it home.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Soap Lake, WA
Posted 04/08/2014
Always let Walmart know if something arrives broken! They have excellent customer service and helped me when I had some frames that broke in shipment.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Mainstays Trendsetter 24 x 36 Black Poster Frame

good for the price

07/08/2014
By ,
MOON
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
posterbrain.com sent me a perfect fit
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Trendsetter 24 x 36 Black Poster Frame

Great buy!

01/05/2014
By ,
America..
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Frame looks great in my Home Theater.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Trendsetter 24 x 36 Black Poster Frame

Great poster protection for dorm room

02/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this frame to provide cheap protection for a poster in a dorm room. The poster looks great in the frame, though the frame does cover the edges of the poster. I would have preferred a very narrow outline type frame, but couldn't find one in this large size. The cardboard backing is held in place with little metal tabs arranged along all the sides of the frame. The tabs must be bent to remove the backing and insert the poster and then bent back to hold all in place. You need a knife or screwdriver to bend the metal pieces.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Trendsetter 24 x 36 Black Poster Frame

nooooo

03/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't waste your time or money no matter how careful you are with taking the wrapper off it still chip and fall apart
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Trendsetter 24 x 36 Black Poster Frame

Didn't receive 2nd frame

03/01/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered two frames from Walmart's website. I received one of then fairly quickly, and it was exactly as described. I'm still waiting on the second. Got a call from the shipping company telling me that they would try to find it but haven't heard back from then. Wish they would have been shipped together.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Trendsetter 24 x 36 Black Poster Frame

Great product! Great Value!

10/21/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you need a big poster frame, look no further! While it is a standard frame size, it reduces the amount of your poster lost to the frame to a minimum.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Trendsetter 24 x 36 Black Poster Frame

FITS MY NEEDS AND PURPOSE WELL. :D

09/29/2014
By ,
New York, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've ordered 3 of these large 24x36 frames. One arrived broken into pieces, but I've got the return and replacement from Walmart pretty fast with no issues and free return shipping.
The frame's quality is not that bad for its low price, only requires careful handling! It is very lightweight and the back cover is a very cheap material but I don't really care about that. My only wish is that there were more color options beyond the basic black, but overall, these are nice frames and very affordable to decorate large wall surfaces with poster-size images on a budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Trendsetter 24 x 36 Black Poster Frame

Aweful

08/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't ever use ship to store. The handling quality is worse than usps and items come in broken. Very poor quality. Will never use again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Trendsetter 24 x 36 Black Poster Frame

nice frame

02/01/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is for a poster and it looks pretty good. A fair price and I got free shipping!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Trendsetter 24 x 36 Black Poster Frame

Great Poster Frame

06/28/2011
By ,
Bronx, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great poster frame. Nice sleek black border with soft shiny vinyl instead of glass which makes it lighter and safer. Pretty sturdy. Poster fit perfectly and looks great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Trendsetter 24 x 36 Black Poster Frame

Does the job!

12/15/2013
By ,
Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This frame can make a poster look like a photographic print. The "glass" is plastic, but is crystal clear. The frame is very light weight. It has cardboard backing. Your poster is in between the "glass" and the cardboard, making it nice and flat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Trendsetter 24 x 36 Black Poster Frame

Value

01/22/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good Value for your money.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Trendsetter 24 x 36 Black Poster Frame

Couldn't use it.

12/26/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I shipped to store. When I took it out of the box, I thought it was a very nice frame until I looked more closely. The top left corner was cracked, the "glass" had fallen to the bottom of the frame. I had to return it. None of my local stores carry this size. I needed it be a certain day, so reordering online wasn't an option. I had to purchase a frame from Michaels which actually turned out to be cheaper. Had it not been damaged, it probably would have been a good buy.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Trendsetter 24 x 36 Black Poster Frame

Weak Material

10/01/2014
By ,
Des Plaines, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I put a single, regular poster in the frame. It was easy to do and looked very nice when I hung it up. My poster needs to be hung horizontally (landscape view) where the 36" dimension is across the top. After a few hours I noticed it began to sag, bowing at the top. The material is so flimsy that it will not support the weight of the carboard backing and the poster. I had to tape a dowel rod across the top to shore it up. If you have a poster that is horizontal, get a stonger frame.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Trendsetter 24 x 36 Black Poster Frame

Ok frame

09/07/2011
By ,
chaska, MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The frame is not a complete solid frame. All sides come off. Comes apart easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Trendsetter 24 x 36 Black Poster Frame

Decent frames, HALF ARRIVED BROKEN

08/20/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I ordered ten of these frames at a higher price point than the ones Wal Mart sells that ship two to a pack because I read the negative reviews that said they often arrived broken during shipping. Well, guess what, these are double the price of the double pack and half of my order (5 of 10) arrived with the plastic poster cover sheeting broken or cracked. In one the frame was actually broken and I had to use a glue gun to put it back together at the corner. These are for my daughter's rec room posters and we just went ahead and removed the broken plastic sheeting and used the frames to mount the posters. It's too much hassle to return them, but buyer beware--the shipping boxes arrived beat up and inside, while there is some bubble wrapping to protect the posters and they are shrink wrapped in plastic with lightweight cardboard corner protectors it is not enough protection to keep them from arriving damaged. If this is happening during shipment, then Wal Mart needs to complain. Poster frames can be ridiculously expensive (more than the the cost of the posters in my case) and for them to arrive broken is really dissatisfying for a customer. Besides the breaking in shipment part, the frames really are decent looking, nice wider black frame for mounting the posters but nothing that detracts from the posters. If you can, you're better off buying these in person and not having them shipped to you.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Trendsetter 24 x 36 Black Poster Frame

Not worth the money! very poor quality!

08/13/2012
By ,
Tempe, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this to hang a poster in my bedroom, I was surprised at how nice it looked once it arrived. I put in poster and hung it, 3 days later the frame was bending from its own weight with only a poster in it. I was very disappointed that I spent that much money on this frame. would not recommend save your money and buy something that is better quality.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Trendsetter 24 x 36 Black Poster Frame

Pretty good for the price...

12/22/2012
By ,
Blue Island, IL.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had a 24x36 picture to frame and unless you want to pay through the roof for a wooden frame you are pretty much stuck getting a cheaper plastic one. I looked at reviews for the cheaper ones and this seemed to be the best of the bunch. Appearance was nice and I guess all in all I could say (for the price) it was pretty good value. It just seems a little on the flimsy side. If you pick up by just the top the rest of the frame sags pretty bad, almost to the point that it looks like it's going to break. But hey, you're not supposed to carry these around. You're supposed to hang it. Haven't hung this yet but I'm hoping it don't sag. If if does, I may try and make some tabs for each individual corner that I can glue in place to strengthen them. Ordered online to be delivered to store. Came in big box and packed securely. All in all I would by again if needed one, mainly because I wouldn't pay $75+ for a wooden frame.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 140 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next