Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for POWER A POWER A PS3 ProEX Wired Controller, Black (PS3)

POWER A POWER A PS3 ProEX Wired Controller, Black (PS3)

Immerse in the experience of gaming with the POWER A ProEX Wired Controller. Featuring an exclusive ergonomic design in a corded controller, the PS3 game controller gives gamers an edge. With dual rumble motors to create rumbling sound effects at some interesting points in the game, and reverse analog sticks to prevent cramping during extended gaming sessions, the PS3 corded controller provides precision game control. Armed with custom designed R2 and L2 buttons, the controller offers improved gameplay and comfort. You can easily play the game in the dark as the buttons are LED-illuminated. The PS3 wired controller features textured rubber grips that are not damaged by sweaty palms, and the palm handles are expanded to improve your grip.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation81%34 out of 42reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 24 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for POWER A PS3 ProEX Wired Controller, Black (PS3)

DO NOT BUY

07/30/2011
By ,
Springfield, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The design of the controller is great, but you definitely get what you pay for.
I bought two of these (one for me, one for a friend) and both of them had a malfunctioning left analog stick after about a month of slight use (we primarily play on Xbox so we really didn't use them enough to justify their faultiness).
The manufacturer has a 2 year warranty, but why go through the trouble? Spend the extra few bucks and get a quality controller instead of this faulty hunk of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for POWER A PS3 ProEX Wired Controller, Black (PS3)

NOT the best controller but close.

06/26/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this controller a few days ago and let me tell you that at first i liked it because it made me feel like i was holding an xbox 360 controller in my hands, there were a few problems with the controller. Like for instance the analog sticks had a slight dead zone to them. they still worked for games just not so much for shooters like call of duty just because of those dead zones with in the sticks made it so hard to aim especially when using a sniper rifle. i could never line up the shot to be perfect. The second thing that was wrong with the controller was that the sticks felt like they were too far spaced from the face buttons which made it hard for me because i had to stretch my finger out just to move the stick and it was very uncomfortable for me. Other than that it is still a good controller except for those flaws with the sticks. I would only reccommed this product to someone who hardly ever plays shooters but more action/adventure games.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Sony Sixaxis Wireless Controller (PS3)
4.7 out of 5(55)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for POWER A PS3 ProEX Wired Controller, Black (PS3)

Great Controller

04/01/2011
By ,
Dacula,GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this controller better than the Sony PS3 factory controller, I chose the wired version, it has a 10 ft cord and I do not have to worry about charging it. Very , Very comfortable and it is laid out like a Xbox 360 controller as far as where the analog sticks are located. I hardly ever use my Sony controller anymore, the only drawback that I can think of is that I think this controller does not have a gyro where it is sensitive to balance type control. However most games do not use that anyway. I also like that it lights up in low light conditions so you can see the buttons. Great controller would highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for POWER A PS3 ProEX Wired Controller, Black (PS3)

great product

10/10/2010
By ,
columbus,ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is one of the best ps3 controller ive ever used, the rubberized body makes you hold the controller pretty good. Best for shooter or role playing games. Its even much better than the original ps3 controller and the its only $20.00. beat that.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for POWER A PS3 ProEX Wired Controller, Black (PS3)

Just what we wanted!

01/03/2011
By ,
Oxford, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were looking for an extra controller for our PS3 when I came across this. I have always been an Xbox 360 fan, and liked the controllers much better than the PS3. This controller is a lot like an Xbox 360 controller. It is larger than a PS3 controller and even feels more sturdy. It has become my main controller, and my children use it more often than the PS3 controller as well. It is wired, but for us that isn't an issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for POWER A PS3 ProEX Wired Controller, Black (PS3)

Ps3 controller

01/30/2011
By ,
Bronx,NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I relly recomed this product who ever got big hand or want extra space on the analog sticks them this is it. Xbox360 controller body is the best controller ,don't give me wrong ps3 fans but u got it try it !
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for POWER A PS3 ProEX Wired Controller, Black (PS3)

$20!!!

06/17/2011
By ,
bellingham, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This controller is $20. You cant beat that price for a PS3 controller. There is a wireless version of this controller for $30 but Im not taking a gamble with cheap wireless controllers, Ive always had bad luck. The button layout is similar to the xbox 360, which is why I bought it. Im not a fan of first person shooter games on PS3 because of the controller but on 360 I love it, so this gives me the best of both worlds. The Its not better than the Sony brand controller by any means but for what you get you cant beat it. Great controller, extremely value price. You can buy 3 for the price of 1 Sony controller. And its actually good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for POWER A PS3 ProEX Wired Controller, Black (PS3)
12/21/2010
By ,
Douglasville, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a great controller the only down side is the cord. Over all it is still great and a very good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for POWER A PS3 ProEX Wired Controller, Black (PS3)

Not for the serious to moderate FPS players

11/09/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's easy to be optimistic about this controller like I was. Especially with all the great reviews on this product. However, this definitely was not suitable for what I needed. I personally played a lot of FPS and love the feel and layout of the 360 controllers. However I've converted to the PS3 and have been seeking the answer for replacing their DualShock. Don't get me wrong, I love the DualShock... however it's not the greatest comfort when playing any type of FPS games. Precision is key for anyone that is looking for serious gaming.
Pros: VERY comfortable, great feel, and the buttons are very responsive. Absolutely no latency like other wireless devices or 360 controller to PS3 converters. The weight is definitely a plus... it's slightly heavier than a DualShock and noticeably lighter than a 360 controller.
Cons: There is a dead zone close and surrounding to the stationary position of both joysticks (L3, R3). Translation: Well the reason why this controller is unsuitable for serious FPS gaming is due to when moving the joystick very slightly in any direction there is absolutely no response. If you guys play anything like Halo or COD (I tested this on MW3) you'll know what I'm talking about when you're trying to aim and you need to make just a small adjustment by strafing to hit your target. There's just empty space about 2mm in width encircled around a stationary joystick (about the same amount of width you would need in order to command your FPS character to walk or strafe slowly). This space is what we call a dead zone and it is VERY noticeable when using this controller for these types of game.
Verdict: It's still a great controller with probably the greatest value for anyone with big hands and/or are playing other games or aren't playing FPS seriously. But if you're like me, that need for precision will turn you away to other controllers or back to the DualShock. I'm still looking for the answer so if anyone has any suggestions, I would appreciate it immensely.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for POWER A PS3 ProEX Wired Controller, Black (PS3)

Sssooooo CLOSE!

01/20/2011
By ,
Connecticut
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Being an Xbox 360 user for many years, I recieved a PS3 as a gift this past Christmas. While both are great systems... the controller for the PS3 is where it faulters compared to the Xbox 360 controller. Mind you, I said FAULTER and not FAIL. As the PS3's controller works for what it's for, but the layout, set-up, and comfort is far superior with the 360's controller. I went on a hunt for a "Xbox 360 Style" controller for the PS3. At this time, (and prob for good), the selection is very limited. Pretty much- you have a choice between this, or the Nyko "Raven" controller. I went with this controller to start-off. I must admit, even though it's wired, it's a great-value @ around $20.00. It also feels very well built, comfortable, and the button layout is top-notch. But in performance (the MOST important part), is where this controller fails! The "dead spots" (very slow, or difficult/hard to respond), in the sticks is HORRIBLE. I tried this controller with "Resistance" on the PS3, and this problem became apparent right-away. I returned it the next day. Please, do yourself(s) a favor and save your $. Find a better alternative (if you can)... or stick with Sony's stock DualShock 3 controller. You'll be much better off, trust me. Sad, but true. This controller was ALMOST there. But just plain fails with basic performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for POWER A PS3 ProEX Wired Controller, Black (PS3)

Great for the Xbox Players out there

12/06/2010
By ,
Warner Robins, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never liked the Playstation controller and this has been my saving grace. I always seemed to get trashed talked by my Playstation buddies because I could never give them a run for their money in any shooter we played. However after getting this, it feels like I’m playing Xbox. I would recommend this to anyone out there who likes the Xbox controllers over the PS3 controllers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for POWER A PS3 ProEX Wired Controller, Black (PS3)

Best controller for the price

01/26/2011
By ,
Okc, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this cause my triangle button on my PS3 controller started to stick, thinking what the heck it's only $20 bucks. Got it home and was blown away by the quality of it. Deadzones seem fine and the d-pad doesn't bother me at all. Only bad part is the buttons light up which attracts my 18 month old son lol.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for POWER A PS3 ProEX Wired Controller, Black (PS3)

Smooth control

12/28/2010
By ,
CA, National City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Responsiveness 4.5/5 VERY QUICK RESPONSE!! Get it for shooters, although as I snipe a lot in games such as CoD MW2 GTA IV and BFBC2 The analog sticks have a big dead-zone compared to the Original PS3 control. making sniping hard, everything else is perfect. The control feels smooth nice grip does not scratch easy although the D-Pad is a bit stick seems to get stuck although it has no gunk or nothing. Bin having for 2 Months works fine one other thing is the light in the middle does not really work since the whole thing lights up can't tell what player are you! one thing I did not like at all but great control for 20 bucks great rumble BUT NO SIX AXIS not like I use it or tend to use it at anytime :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for POWER A PS3 ProEX Wired Controller, Black (PS3)

right stick messed up

11/12/2011
By ,
NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this controller and it worked properly for awhile,certainly doesn't have the quality of the original ps3 controller.But then again for $20 would you even aspect it too.So it did good for awhile,around about two weeks then the right stick started to move very slowly when move to the right or right diagonal while moving it to the left had same movement motion,right anolog has messed up.And this controller is a little over sensitive it's ok if your playing campaign but it's certainly not one you want to play with online! No adjusting will fix it, not so it will have smooth motion like the regular ps3 controller.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for POWER A PS3 ProEX Wired Controller, Black (PS3)
02/23/2012
By ,
Westmoreland, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros.
1. Very Durable--I had to buy this because I broke the one that came with the system (the 55.00 kind). The Power A lasted a lot longer. I'm amazed at the beating it took. It finally broke, but the next day I put it back together with tape, and it worked good as new.
2. The long cord makes it possible to sit across the room.
3. The wire is built in the controller, so it wont keep falling out like the 55.00 kind kept doing.
5. The bulky and rough handles make for a great grip
6. It is only 19.00
Cons--The first Power A controller I bought wroked great, but the D pad kept messing up. Sometimes when I pushed down it would go left. But very few of the games I play require the D pad.
However, I bought another one today for two player action and the D pad works fine. To me, I do much better using the Power A controller than I did with the 55.00 one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for POWER A PS3 ProEX Wired Controller, Black (PS3)

Best Controller that meets my standards.

07/29/2011
By ,
San Diego, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This controller is the best that I've used. It's the one that I keep coming back for whenever something happens to my controllers. For a cheap controller less than 20 dollars, it's pretty tough.
Pros:
* Although it is wired, the wire is pretty long I’d say 7 and half feet.
* The gripping on the ends makes the controller feel so ergonomic and hard to slip from your hands.
* Reaction time is great.
* A very sturdy controller.
* Very inexpspensive product under 20 dollars.
Cons:
* Hard to break
* Packaging it comes in makes it a challenge to open.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for POWER A PS3 ProEX Wired Controller, Black (PS3)

Not for hard core FPS gamers.

01/15/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Title pretty much sums it up, so I will just list the pro's and cons.
Pro's
-Feels very durable.
-Xbox layout
-grips so the controller does not get slippery.
-Long wire
-Comfortable
Cons
-Has a delay when turning is fps games.
-The analogs a very Jumpy.
-Buttons are not sensitive enough.
This controller is not what you are looking for if you are into competitive gaming. If you are a casual gamer who likes to play games other than FPS the this is a great deal. But competitive gamers be weary.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for POWER A PS3 ProEX Wired Controller, Black (PS3)

nice addition

07/13/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
its a little different than the ps3 model controller but works just as fine. i would recommend buying this wired one for extended game play because the ps3 only comes with 1 wireless controller. plug and play all day :-) i also like the comfort grip that it offers because my hands tend to sweat and slip on the smoother ps3 controllers while playing. decently lengthed cord. nice addition to ps3 bundle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for POWER A PS3 ProEX Wired Controller, Black (PS3)

TERRIBLE!

08/17/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've owned 3 of these controllers in the past year and every single one of them have had the same problems. You push the left or right directional button and your character will move up or down. Trying to navigate through menues are quite challenging as well as testing your patience. It works this way right out of the package. Even though this controller is about $30.00 cheaper than Sony, it's just simply not worth the hassle and aggrevation. Spend the money on Sonys controller or find a different off brand controller because this one is terrible.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for POWER A PS3 ProEX Wired Controller, Black (PS3)

Great product

07/01/2011
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves this controller. He likes it because it is bigger than the Sony, so it fits his hands better. It is also more comfortable for his thumbs because the knobs are concave. The hand grips have light texturing on them that feels nice and they are also longer than the Sony, both of which makes it easier to hang on to. He is really glad we bought it and would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1 2 Next