Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Pennzoil Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Pennzoil Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Pennzoil Ultra 5W30 Motor Oil, 5 qt, with Hyper Cleansing Technology is a synthetic formula designed to exceed tough car manufacturer standards and engineered to keep your engine as close to factory clean as possible. At Pennzoil, we know that a cleaner engine is better protected, more efficient and delivers optimum performance. Extend the life of your engine with this Pennzoil ultra oil by protecting it against the build up of sludge, damaging deposits, corrosion and engine wear. Pennzoil motor oil can be used for all cars, trucks, SUVs and light vans. Commute to work, run errands and take roadtrips with confidence. Change your oil regularly, and keep your engine running smoothly with a 5-qt jug of Pennzoil Ultra 5W30 Motor Oil. Get quality engine performance with this Pennzoil ultra oil.
Average Customer Rating:
4.634 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation92%37 out of 40reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 24 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Outstanding oil at the very best price I've seen.

11/22/2013
By ,
Montgomery, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 2007 Suburban was beginning to burn 1 quart of oil every 3000 miles. I always ran full synthetic oil in it but read many complaints that once the 5.3L engine of that year production reaches 110,000 miles or so, they start using oil due to certain parts gumming up or getting some type of carbon build up. Pennzoil Ultra is suppose to have the best detergents and "keep a new engine cleaner than any other oil inside" - not necessarily clean up one that already has issues. But I tried it out. And what do you know. First oil change with Pennzoil Ultra the car used about 3/4 quart in 3500 miles. Second change it only used 1/2 quart in 3500 miles. So I've gone from my engine using 1 quart per 3000 miles to 1/2 quart per 3500 miles by switching to this oil. Not saying it's a miracle, just saying it worked for my problem. I'm sold. And it's as inexpensive as any other synthetic when you buy on line from Walmart and if you get 4 of the 5 quart containers, shipping is free! no tax! delivered to your door. inexpensive and the newest oil out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Best synthetic available

07/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first couple of changes, a lot of gunk came out of my engine. After that, it cleared up, and my engine runs way smoother than before. This stuff is supposed to be the best on the market on the car boards, and other sites sell it for 40-50$ for a 5 quart. It does seem to work very very well. Also, my car says 0w-20 on the cap, but this works better so i use it anyway. I can hardly hear my car at idol now, and would never go back to the cheap stuff.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Great product

07/23/2014
By ,
Houston, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Pennzoil Ultra has been a very good synthetic oil, I have used it for over two years and now walmart stopped stocking it over the counter. I have found that many stores show it to be in stock yet it is not on the shelves local. Other stores have it on the shelf in both old and new labels, also most new auto makers are calling for six quarts, with out singles on the shelf it's not economical to purchase this brand! Walmart would be a great supplier if they could keep up with items customers desire, need the Pennzoil Ultra 5w30w on the shelf in 5qt, 1qt, or 6qt packs soon!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Better than Mobil 1 Extended Performance

06/13/2013
By ,
South Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 2007 Honda Accord with the 2.4 liter 4-cylinder engine. Car has over 130,000 miles. I have always used Mobil 1 Synthetic, and recently used Mobil 1 Extended Performance, both in 5w-20. I did not notice a difference between regular Mobil 1 and the Extended Performance version. I recently switched to Pennzoil Ultra in 5w-30. The engine seems to run quieter and smoother, and also seems to want to accelerate a little bit quicker. It seems to just run better. Honestly, I don't know if it's the Ultra, or if its the little heavier viscocity (20 v. 30). All I know is that I am going to continue using Pennzoil Ultra in 5w-30.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Florida
Update to 6/13 review
Posted 09/24/2013
I have changed my oil at 5,000 intervals religiously with Mobil 1 Synthetic 5w-20, and recently with Mobil 1 EP 5w-20, and most recently with the Pennzoil Ultra in 5w-30. I just changed the oil today with having the Ultra in it for 5,000 miles. Here are my findings: 1) the Ultra was AMAZINGLY cleaner that the Mobil 1 Synthetic AND the Extended Performance. In fact, the 5,000 mile oil was still gold in color! I have never seen 5,000 mile used oil look so clean! So when Pennzoil says that the Ultra has "HYPER-CLEANSING" additives, this is completely accurate! 2) I have actually noticed that my engine is quieter with the Ultra. 3) I have also noticed that I consistently got better gas mileage with the Ultra. 4) I have also noticed that my engine seems to accelerate a bit faster (and easier) with the Ultra. I am not saying that the Ultra is a miracle oil, but I am definitely saying that, after 5,000 miles of use, it is the best oil that I have ever used....PERIOD! And I am not exaggerating, because I have no need to exaggerate. I used to be a Mobile 1 guy, but I am certainly glad that I tired the Ultra because it really is a better oil.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Best Oil

07/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With a 500,000 mile Pennzoil warranty you can't go wrong. If I see the Ultra at the store I buy it because Walmart never has it in stock. I've bought online before just to have my order canceled.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Best oil you can buy

08/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great oil for a good price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Possibly the "Best" Money Can Buy

11/01/2013
By ,
Orange County
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I drive 110 miles/day in Orange county traffic & 75% in the grid lock of 91 FWY, needless to say I am always looking for the best synthetic motor oil to minimize wear & tear on my engine and pretty sure I've finally found it in Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30. You can't find this oil in West Coast Walmarts anymore, so online is the only way to get it.
I've been changing my own oil ever since 2009 when my car went out of warranty. I have systematically tried "every" brand of synthetic 5W-30s available on shelves, including some of the high dollar "boutique" name brands like Royal Purple, Amsoil and Lucas.
Most of the "SN" rated synthetics oil are capable of providing good-excellent engine protection but few provide what I considered "outstanding" protection, my gas mileage consistently increased 2 mpg ever since the switch and engine start up is smoother with lesser vibration.
Don't be surprised if you noticed oil gets dirty quickly after the first oil change ! That's a sign this oil is doing a better job at removing engine carbon deposits & sludge "better" than other oil out there. For as counter intuitive as it sound, an oil that gets dirty quickly is keeping your engine cleaner than the one that stays "clean" longer.
There is also noticeable difference in oil consumption comparing to other brands. I change my oil every 5K and typically see a 1/2 quart drop in oil level, but with PU the oil level drops about quarter of inch on dip stick, which equates to a few ounces.
I recently found out from a popular automotive forum that Pennzoil Ultra is what Ferrari dealers use for customers. At less than 30 per jug you can't ask for more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Ultra is one of the best synthetic oil!

09/02/2013
By ,
Radcliff, Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having used Mobil 1 Extended Performance in my 2006 Nissan Frontier, I decided it was time for an oil and filter change and I opted to try a different brand of oil. I read alot of positive reviews on the Pennzoil Ultra and decided to give it a try. I was surprised on how quiet the engine ran. I don't do much long distance driving so I can't comment on the gas mileage but I'm sure it would be about the same as with Mobil 1. I wouldn't hesitate to use Pennzoil Ultra at my next oil change.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

great oil, great price

12/09/2013
By ,
Atlanta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an exceptional oil. It really cleans things up. I use it in my BMW 330i, and my wife's Toyota Tacoma. I change every 5K. Her's is spotless, mine is getting cleaner. Walmart, please keep selling the Ultra.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Ideal oil for Infiniti G37S

12/25/2013
By ,
Chino Hills, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After much research on the G37 forum, I decided to try this oil, and it has been working great. I used to take my car to the dealer for oil change every 5,000 miles. They used synthetic Kendall, and I had to add 3/4 to a quart at 4,000 miles, which I did not appreciate. Then I decided to change my own oil and found Pennzoil Ultra with a great price from Walmart. My G37S has 83,000 miles, and I drive it semi-aggressively, half freeway, half street. I have used this oil three times; the car runs great and has not lost a drop of oil at 5,000 miles. I also found that Wix makes great oil filters. I am very satisfied with this product and ordering/delivery was smooth, on time delivery.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Superb Product great price

03/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pennzoil is the Shell/Sophos group's flag-ship brand, and Ultra is Pennzoil's very best product - even better than their Platinum product, but they do not push Ultra as heavily in advertising (probably because they make a limited amount of it), so most people do not know... being Ultra & Platinum are priced the same. (either way both are better than most)
I say the value is good vs excellent because it costs extra to go pick-it-up being most Walmarts and Auto Parts stores do not have it, which makes it expensive to get even though the actual price on the shelf is "excellent." I am not certain this is going to stay their best product or not because they are starting to make Platinum with base-stock from Natrual Gas (i.e. their proprietary gas to liquid, which supposedly produces even better base-oil than hydro-cracking traditional, conventional crude). Obviously, it is hard to say being not much data is available on their newest products at this time, but regardless this is better than the regular Pennzoil Platinum Full Synthetic without a doubt... and arguably one of the best, most highly-refined oils to ever have any components sourced from crude.
It keeps all the valves nice and quiet in my Infiniti G37 - it does as well as Nissan's Synthetic Ester Oil, which is $13/qt, not to mention it comes back with far better Used Oil Analysis reports - each showing less wear, and more cleaning additive left... The only thing it does not have a lot of is molybdenum, but I don't think Pennzoil has a choice being this meets the latest emissions standards API SN... No way they could throw in a bunch of Moly and maintain that standard. They would be forced to back-rev to API SM like the Nissan Synthetic Ester... Regardless, Pennzoil Ultra still somehow shows less wear metals, and it goes without saying that very few naturally-aspirated (i.e. non-turbo) engines are harder on oil than the Nissan/Infiniti VQ series with VVEL... There are just so many hot, moving parts; high compression; a LOT of horsepower/liter; and the crankcase holds just barely over 5 quarts.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

excellent, highly recommend

07/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to buy, shipping fast, great product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Best oil out there.. Without paying big bucks.

02/11/2014
By ,
Buffalo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do your research. Quality product at half the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Best 5W-30 made IMO

02/27/2014
By ,
East TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great oil that is more that up to the rigors of a direct-injected gasoline engine. It holds grade very well, and shears less than any oil out there in this weight. If you can run 5W-40 Rotella T6 might be a little better, but for someone like myself that is forced to run a 5W-30 this can't be beaten.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Happy to see Walmart carry this oil again!

02/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart stopped carrying this oil for about a year, to my disappointment. Very happy to see they are selling it again. Bought 4 of the 5 gallon jugs just in case they stop again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Excellent Oil

12/31/2013
By ,
Dfw, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this after reading so many good things, ive been impressed. The engine in my 4runner feels much smoother on cold starts. And I have an oil that I can do extended drains on. Walmart also has the best price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Great synthetic oil

12/30/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If wal mart could keep it in stock I'd love to continue to use this oil. I can easily go 10,000 miles on it. The engine runs very quiet and smooth.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Exceptional proven product

01/02/2014
By ,
Oakwood, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Pennzoil Ultra is the best full synthetic oil produced today. It exceeds GM Dexos specs, Honda European specs as well as Ford specs..
Pennzoil offers a 500,000 mile engine wear warranty when this product is used according to mfg change requirements.
What else can be said?
I wish the local Walmart would stock this product, however, it is easy to order on line from Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Great oil

02/22/2014
By ,
Joplin MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great oil, cars run smoother and I got a 2% increase in my mpg
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Pennzoil Ultra 5W-30 Full Synthetic Motor Oil, 5 qt.

Walmart phasing out Ultra

09/12/2013
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best protection for your money. Ultra keeps the engine clean and gives me peace of mind. Don't forget to do UOA........Change your oil every 10,000 miles with a well maintained vehicle.
Walmart is phasing Ultra out of the Stores. Only 1 store within a 60 miles radius sells it in Albuquerque and there are only a few 5 quart bottles left.
The five quart bottles are economical and easy to pour.............
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next