Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shell Rotella Shell Rotella Full Synthetic 5W-40 Motor Oil, 1 gal.

Shell Rotella Shell Rotella Full Synthetic 5W-40 Motor Oil, 1 gal.

Average Customer Rating:
4.93 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%43 out of 43reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 30 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shell Rotella Full Synthetic 5W-40 Motor Oil, 1 gal.

excellent for winter starting - stops the surge

10/03/2012
By ,
Omaha NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This oil completely stopped the cold start surging on my 2000 7.3 Powerstroke F350, even at below zero without being plugged in...(I am often out of town where I cannot plug in).
With regular 15w40 RotellaT, it would not start at all below about 25 degF unless plugged in. With the Rotella T6 5w40 synthetic, it starts, even below zero, without being plugged in....and no surging at all. I assure you I am not employed by Shell or Rotella, I just love this oil. I only run it in the winter though, with 190,000 miles on my truck, I figure the regular Rotella is good enough for summer...as you know the synthetic Rotella gets expensive when you are buying 4 gallons.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shell Rotella Full Synthetic 5W-40 Motor Oil, 1 gal.

Very Good Motorcycle Oil

11/01/2012
By ,
Kansas City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rotella T-6 is a sleeper in the motorcycle world. I have run it in an XR250 dirt bike off road (which is a serious test of how it works in a wet clutch.), a Honda VFR800 sport bike and a Honda Shadow cruiser. Zero problems or issues of any kind. Blackstone lab analysis showed a very good additive package and essentially zero wear after a hard run in the sport bike. This oil is JASO MA rated for wet clutches. The price is a bargain relative to "motorcycle oils". Being a 5W-40 this oil starts easier in cold weather than petro oils. I also use it in a generator and my gas powered pick up truck. This is possibly the most versatile motor oil made. Excellent stuff. (No... I don't work for Shell oil !!)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kz650
is sulphur content ok for cat converters?
Posted 03/15/2014
hi, is the sulphur content too high for gas engines with cat converters?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Shell Rotella Full Synthetic 5W-40 Motor Oil, 1 gal.

Shell Rotella 5w-40 T6 Synthetic for Motorcycles

02/20/2013
By ,
South coastal Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Shell Rotella T6 5w-40 Synthetic engine oil is both a quality product and very affordable for 4-stroke motorcycles which use 10w-40 conventional engine oil. After the auto supply store where I had bought conventional oil for my motorcycle raised the price to an outlandish level I found this very reasonably priced Shell Rotella synthetic oil at Walmart, and it is has the JASO-MA rating which indicates that it is also formulated for wet clutch motorcycles. I have been using it in my Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT for some time with zero oil consumption, and on my oil pressure gauge it registers according to the Kawasaki shop manual spec regarding pressure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shell Rotella Full Synthetic 5W-40 Motor Oil, 1 gal.

Good product

02/23/2014
By ,
OKC, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the wintertime, I llike to use the t-6 Rotella in my turbod diesel ford.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shell Rotella Full Synthetic 5W-40 Motor Oil, 1 gal.

great oil i just wish it didnt leak out n shipment

04/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
like this oil and it's the first time I bought it over the net never got a leaky bottle from the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shell Rotella Full Synthetic 5W-40 Motor Oil, 1 gal.

rotella oil

12/30/2013
By ,
fayetteville nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
how do I rate an already proven product,its excellent what else can i say.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shell Rotella Full Synthetic 5W-40 Motor Oil, 1 gal.

Great product at a great price

12/14/2013
By ,
Norfolk, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This oil does exactely what its supposed to do! Engine is quieter, runs smoother, and stays cooler. Unfortunately for me, my car calls for 5w30 and this is 5w40, thus my avg. mileage, after three tank refill periods, did go down by 1 mpg. (1995 Buick Roadmaster 350/Lt1 w/34000, yes only 34,000 miles). Combo city/hwy 15 mpg to 14 mpg. Oh yea, Walmart will probably be the best price around, however they sell it higher in the stores than online (and they will not honor/price match any online prices or ads, even if you choose the ads for that particular store). So, do their online ship to store option, you will have to pay online but at least you get the discounted price. Plus go to the Shell Rotella site and sometimes they offer a $5 mail in rebate offer to, makes it 14.22 a gallon, not bad!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kz650
add some marvel mystery oil to safely thin the oil
Posted 03/15/2014
hi, I use one quart of MMO to thin down the oil and bring up the fuel economy without damaging engine. No increase in noise, actually decreases noise. You can also put MMO in the fuel to clean your injectors too.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Shell Rotella Full Synthetic 5W-40 Motor Oil, 1 gal.

Great for hot weather and for hard working engines

12/30/2013
By ,
West Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
And if you take advantage of the oils ability to take care of your engine for extended oil change periods, it is the most economical. Buy oil filters designed specifically for synthetic oil and extended oil change periods and you can safely change oil every 10,000 miles. If you install a bypass oil filter in addition to your regular spin on filter you can extend your oil change periods even further.
On my truck and car I change the element in my bypass filter every 5000 miles. I change my spin on filter every 10,000 miles. I also send a small sample of my oil to an oil testing lab at regular intervals to determine if I need to change oil and to determine the health of my engine. I have purposely not endorsed any products other than this oil so you can do your own research.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shell Rotella Full Synthetic 5W-40 Motor Oil, 1 gal.

Great Suzuki motorcycle oil

04/21/2012
By ,
Greensboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a bandit 1200 GSF Runs excellent with this oil with my wet clutch and its rated Jaso Ma. Great price. Thanks Walmart !!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TN
GREAT OIL FOR MY GOLDWING
Posted 04/23/2012
GREAT SUCCESS WITH THIS OIL. HAVE USED T-6 SINCE I PURCHASED MY 2005 HONDA GOLDWING!!
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Shell Rotella Full Synthetic 5W-40 Motor Oil, 1 gal.

Best Diesel Motor Oil

02/21/2013
By ,
Coal Valley, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is what you want to use in a 6.0 Ford or any other diesel for that matter. Very good for cold weather use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shell Rotella Full Synthetic 5W-40 Motor Oil, 1 gal.

Great for Motorcycles!

11/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought a 2002 Kawasaki Concours motorcycle and the previous owner swears by this oil. Did some extensive research and online Concours forums questioning, this is THE stuff for improved cold starts, better shifting, and overall performance. Try buying full synthetic from motorcycle shop for anywhere near what Walmart is charging for this oil!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shell Rotella Full Synthetic 5W-40 Motor Oil, 1 gal.

Great price and perfect for motorcycles!

06/03/2012
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read around on the forums about this oil being used in motorcycles sominthought I'd try it out.
It is JASO approved which means its good for wet clutches. This is a full synthetic and it only ran me $17(on sale) for 4 quarts!
Great deal!!!
Works great, and I've noticed a much smoother ride and better shifting since the change.
If its made for diesels, I know it can handle my CBR600RR
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tawas, Mi
Wet Clutches
Posted 08/14/2012
I am not an expert but based on all the reading I have done the past week or so, I think for wet clutches the JASO rating must include MA on the end.
I have friends using the Rotella T6 in their Victory Motorcycles and they are very pleased with it. Next oil change it is going into my Victory as well.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Shell Rotella Full Synthetic 5W-40 Motor Oil, 1 gal.

Great value for synthetic oil

12/16/2013
By ,
Snohomish, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this 5w40 oil for my motorcycle. It's one of the best synthetic motor oils that I've ever used!!! Runs smooth and is especially ideal for cold winter starts. Would recommend buying this oil over Mobil 1 0w40.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shell Rotella Full Synthetic 5W-40 Motor Oil, 1 gal.

Absolute best oil for a diesel

12/22/2013
By ,
Evans Mills, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best price anywhere, order online and pickup in store....and save. Cheaper than the store price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shell Rotella Full Synthetic 5W-40 Motor Oil, 1 gal.

Best oil for my Dodge Cummins Diesel

06/03/2013
By ,
Panama City, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very particular about my vehicles. My research determined that this is the best oil to use for my Cummins Diesel. I was surprised when my research showed that Walmart carried this oil and they also had the best price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rochester, NY
save over $4.00 gal.
Posted 10/20/2013
Tractor supply sells the same oil for only $16.99 gal. Which a lot better price than Walmart has at $21.39 a gal. It all adds up fast when using almost 4 gal. to do an oil change in a 6.0.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Shell Rotella Full Synthetic 5W-40 Motor Oil, 1 gal.

Rotella T for motorcycles with wet clutches

04/07/2013
By ,
Thomasville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Motorcycle is a Honda ST1300 with 13000 miles on it. Have used the Rotella Synthetic, ostensibly advertised for diesel engines, but without the "high efficiency" additives, it works very well with my motorcycle. Clutch is just as good as new, and the engine uses no oil. To boot, the container has four quarts in it, and that just fills the ST. The Amsoil salesman stated that there is now no zirconium in Rotella T synthetic, but in my opinion there is a limit to the addition of trace elements to motor oil, and since the synthetic is a superior lubricant that will not carmelize, it is plenty adequate for everything except maybe flat out racing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shell Rotella Full Synthetic 5W-40 Motor Oil, 1 gal.

Best value 5W-40 on the market

12/21/2012
By ,
Lombard, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this product for years with great success in all of my family's European cars, my motorcycle, and my lawn and outdoor equipment. Walmart has it for the best price but is often not in stock in my area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shell Rotella Full Synthetic 5W-40 Motor Oil, 1 gal.

I use this in all my vehicles!

02/17/2013
By ,
Vancouver, wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My '99 Honda Valkyrie motorcycle, '02 BMW 1150GS motorbike, '91 Lexus LS400 and '04 Dodge 3500 diesel, all use Rotella synthetic. It is so nice to keep one oil for everything and still find that excellent cold weather starting and hot summer oil pressures are still great. I recommend this product without reservation.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shell Rotella Full Synthetic 5W-40 Motor Oil, 1 gal.

Rotella Synthetic is very good for the price.

10/25/2013
By ,
Vermont
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use the product in my F-150 gas engine truck and am very pleased. Don't let the "Diesel Engine" on the front fool you, my auto care specialist said it works fine in gasoline engines as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shell Rotella Full Synthetic 5W-40 Motor Oil, 1 gal.
10/16/2013
By ,
Woodstock, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think the T6 is the best synthetic for the money. I use in gasoline HD applications like towing and motorhome. Bought at Walmart as price at the time was the best I found. Pickup at store was easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next