Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shell Rotella Shell Rotella T 15W-40 Heavy Duty Diesel Oil, 1 gal.

Shell Rotella Shell Rotella T 15W-40 Heavy Duty Diesel Oil, 1 gal.

Shell Rotella T 15W40 Motor Oil, 1 Gal, with Advanced Soot Control is a premium quality, heavy-duty multigrade oil for all-season use in diesel-powered or a mix of gasoline- and diesel-powered equipment. This Shell Rotella Motor Oil is designed to meet or exceed the warranty and service requirements of virtually all diesel and gasoline engine manufacturers, including newer and older engines. The motor oil is recommended for on-highway service applications and off-highway applications, especially where all-season use is desired. This Shell Rotella T 15W40 Motor Oil, 1 Gal, is meant to protect against engine wear that occurs due to soot. It works to extend the life of your engine and can be used on a variety of vehicles. Use Rotella T Motor Oil in passenger cars, light trucks, fork lifts and farm equipment to help protect their engines.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%9 out of 9reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 14 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shell Rotella T 15W-40 Heavy Duty Diesel Oil, 1 gal.

'12 KLR 650/ Awesome motorcycle oil

06/30/2013
By ,
Missoula, Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've ordered Castrol Power RS 4T Synthetic from Amazon (pack of 6). At the time, seemed as nice deal ($40). Not even 5 miles after that oil change, I've noticed clutch slippage and how hard it is to switch gears especially into second gear, not to mention how jerky the bike behaved. After a bit of research online (KLR forum), I've noticed that people speak about this oil A LOT and everybody likes it. I was a bit skeptical. Heavy duty oil into motorcycle? I have gave it a try. This time with a HifloFiltro instead K&N and non synthetic oil.
Why the heck I did not this earlier? I don't think I will EVER out any other oil than Rotella T into my bike. My Kawi loves it, my wallet loves it as well. Shifting is smooth, bike runs quietly, does not burn oil at all (like Castrol) even KLR's are quite known for that. It all get down to JASO MA1/MA2 standard and Rotella T goes beyond that. I go with this oil in summer, 5w-40 syn in fall/winter.
Highly recommended oil.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shell Rotella T 15W-40 Heavy Duty Diesel Oil, 1 gal.

FANTASTIC!!

10/26/2012
By ,
bellingham, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this oil to be run in a Kawasaki Ninja 250R since it carries the JASO MA rating that Kawasaki wants. Getting motorcycle specific oil is not a whole lot different or any different than Rotella T for a LOT less money. When I can spend about $25 a gallon for kawasaki's conventional oil or I can spend $12 for Shell's thats pretty much the exact same thing Im going to go with Shell. My Ninja runs the exact same and I havent noticed a bit of difference. Rotella T has a huge following in the motorcycle community so if you have a motorcycle do yourself a favor and give Rotella T a try. You wont regret it for a second and will keep coming back to Walmart for more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Ma.
Rotella 15w--40
Posted 02/13/2014
This is an all purpose oil that can be used in ALMOST any engine,
unless synthetic or different weight is required. It's great in a motorcycle with a wet clutch.
The zinc makes this oil very slick but doesn't have the friction additives that make wet clutches slip. It can be used in place of 10w-40. I use it in my Jeep with 190k on it, my pick up with 200k and my Yamaha VMAX with 45k on it. I've been a loyal user for over 8 years.
0points
Customer Avatar
FL
Rotella T
Posted 09/09/2013
This oil is NOT JASO-MA approved however meets YASO-MA specifications in "shell testing".
Other words shell did not pay for the licence to officially carry YASO-MA stamp.
Good oil -its a shame shell is not having motorcycle oil line like Europe , but most bikers know that this Rotella 15w40T and 5w40 T6 would work. Use correct weight according to your owners manual & climate you riding in.
Ride safe :-)
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Shell Rotella T 15W-40 Heavy Duty Diesel Oil, 1 gal.

great for diesel trucks

04/04/2014
By ,
virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is definitely my oil of choice for my Dodge diesel truck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shell Rotella T 15W-40 Heavy Duty Diesel Oil, 1 gal.

Very high quality motor oil

02/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rotella works great in both autos and tractors and would recommend usage in all types of engines, high performance, daily drivers, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shell Rotella T 15W-40 Heavy Duty Diesel Oil, 1 gal.

Great Deisel Oil

01/13/2014
By ,
Georgetown, mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great oil !!! Have 250k on the truck. 97 ford uses 15 quarts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shell Rotella T 15W-40 Heavy Duty Diesel Oil, 1 gal.

good deal

10/31/2013
By ,
salem, or
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bought for a regular engine gas pickup heavy duty oil good for any rig super cheap price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shell Rotella T 15W-40 Heavy Duty Diesel Oil, 1 gal.

The Best Oil On The Market Today

07/24/2012
By ,
Southeastern Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using Shell oil for years and have always had good luck with it. I really like the Shell Rotella 15W40 I change my oil every 3000 miles and this oil still looks like new when you drain it out. So I highly recommend this oil for everyone. Walmart has the best price on this oil I can find.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
It should not drain looking new.
Posted 04/11/2013
If your oil is coming out looking clean, then it is not performing its job. Also, do not get stuck on the 3,000 miles/ 3 months old school way of thinking. Perform regular oil changes per the manufactures recommendations for your vehicle's year, make, and model.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Sulphur, LA
BEST OIL FOR DIESEL ENGINES
Posted 09/28/2012
I have always used it in mine and am still running at 368,000 miles.
+1point
Customer Avatar
CA
Are you towing your vehicle or driving it?
Posted 09/21/2012
One loses credibility very quickly with a comment like yours. How can your oil look like new after 3k miles? You must be towing you vehicle...
+3points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Ratings-Only Reviews for Shell Rotella T 15W-40 Heavy Duty Diesel Oil, 1 gal.
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5