Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for American Tourister American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

American Tourister American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

The American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set in black is the ideal set for those who travel frequently. The set includes five different bag sizes to provide for many kinds of trips - long business trips or short weekend stays. The advantage of having travel luggage sets in the same color scheme is that you will find it easy to identify the bags while travelling. This particular luggage set includes a boarding bag, carry-on upright bag, a 24-inch upright bag, a 28-inch expandable upright bag, and a garment carrier. These American Tourister bags in black are quite durable, as they are made from durable 1200 denier polyester fabric, which is known to be rougher. Maneuvering them is simple too. Each bag has retractable handles with push-button release mechanisms, making it easy to handle or carry. This five-piece luggage set has all the luggage solutions you will require, irrespective of the duration of your trip.
Average Customer Rating:
3.867 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
28
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation81%61 out of 75reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
28
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Looks nice but that's about it...

10/20/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had an American Tourister Luggage Set that I used HEAVILY for 10 years! It had literally been around the world and back a few times! So naturally I turned back to AT for a new set to replace my great old set. Well this set is super-flimsy and low quality.
The piggy-back option is only on the largest of all the suitcases... ie: you cannot piggyback the roll-aboard bag onto the smaller checked bag. The fabric does look very nice and durable but that is really the only parts that doesn't look and feel cheap. The zippers prior to first use already get stuck on strings and seams. On the biggest suitcase, one of the stoppers in front of the wheels, was missing a screw to hold it in place - I only realized that after taking this on my first trip and it was barely hanging on! I feel like a grandpa saying this... "they just don't make them like they used to"!
Unfortunately my first trip to use this luggage on is an extra long trip and I am still on it... I hope to return the luggage to Wal Mart for a full refund upon my return back to the US and look for a new set :(
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Excellent Quality and Looks

03/14/2014
By ,
Huntington Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hurry! Snap this set up before someone realizes a mistake was
Made somewhere along the line in pricing scheme. The bags are very attractive and well-made. A nice feature is that they all fit nicely inside one another for easy storage. The smallest bag is perfect as a carry on or
A gym bag.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Nice luggage but have problem with handle

11/17/2011
By ,
Charleston, SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Initially I had purchased this set of luggage over 6 years ago. It is a good value for the money but it was getting old and needed to be replaced. I purchased the new set because the small rolling suitcase is the only one which fits in the overhead of the small regional jets. Unfortunately, upon delivery, the small suitcase had a problem with the handle....it would extend up but you could not close it. No problem as I returned the set and ordered another set which arrived without any problems.
The resaon I gave this set only three stars is because the inside of the suitcase is reinforced with plastic which will break after using for some time. Also the case is NOT waterproof and if your luggage is outside the airplane, in the rain, the contents will arrive soaking wet.
Having said all that it is still a great value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Great Set; Horrible Shipping

10/02/2013
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The set is great - great durability, great looks, even better price. the bad part came when the set shipped. We got the big box on our doorstep and it was almost in pieces. the box the set was shipped in was so flimsy that the wheels of the largest piece of luggage were poking through the box. The top was horribly sealed, so the flaps were almost open by the time we got it. Normally, I would say that this was a mistake on the shipping company's part. But in this case, the shipping box that Walmart used was so flimsy that I'm surprised that it wasn't most damaged than it was. Thank goodness the luggage seemed to have suffered no wear and tear. Keep in mind when buying this - the set is great and for a great price, but the shipping can be a risk (unless Walmart improves on its shipping boxes).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Good Luggage Set for Price

03/13/2011
By ,
Cookeville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I travel 2 - 3,000 mls a wk for work, as well as internationally for pleasure. This set is very well made. The material is very sturdy, and the zippers are good quality. I really liked the expandability feature that allowed me to get that one extra item in without having to cram it in and wrinkle everything. I do wish that the hanging case were a little larger. It only holds 3 or 4 items; anything more and everything is horribly wrinkled. The handles and wheels are also good quality. So far no problems with the wheels breaking, or being shredded by use on less than adequate parking lots.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+120points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Returned it

04/04/2014
By ,
Frisco, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor quality but very inexpensive. I returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Sturdy luggage at a great price

02/20/2014
By ,
Warren,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this as a site to store or pick up today order. They pulled it from store shelves and I picked it up next morning. Didn't have to go to 5 different locations to find it. It arrived spotless and attractive. Inspected zippers and all were in excellent working order. The variety of sizes are excellent. My first trip I packed all but the medium suitcase. Stood up well to travel, no wear and tear noted. Everything such as zippers, wheels, handles, and straps still working and undamaged. I am not a big fan of replacing luggage so I picked this basic, rugged looking set. I totally recommend this set. Doesn't show dirt, and all 5 pieces fit well inside each other for storage. For a moderate or light traveler these will be perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Very Helpful for what I needed

02/21/2011
By ,
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Additional color selection would be nice. Also woild have been helpful to have luggage tags. Very happy with the product,especially for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

LOVED IT IT WORKED PERFECTLY

09/07/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The price was nice and the quality was great. What makes this product so valuable to me is that I dont have to use all the pieces . I can select certain pieces that I need depending on my travel status.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black
08/05/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was really excited when I ordered this luggage set, since I hadnt ever bought luggage before. We travel 2-4 times a year. This set is awesome. The large suitcase is very spacious and perfect. The only thing I wish, is that the medium size suitcase had the extra inch that the big one does, the one where you unzip that extra little bit. Its not a huge issue, I just need to push everything down more :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

served its purpose and then some

03/10/2014
By ,
louisville ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought luggage for trip to boca raton fl and it was sturdy for the trip. Garment carrier could have been more sturdy but overall good pruchase
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Sturdy, well made luggage

08/27/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are ones to read the reviews on a product before purchase. Our trip to Europe isn't till December and we saw this American Tourister 5 pc set for a great price. All the reviews were great! The other brands got poor reviews and some luggages did not make it to thier destination in one piece due to poor manufacturing. A.T. luggage made by Samsonite is made well and durable, and the brand has been around a long time. The 4 star rating is for price, ruggedness, and we have not made the trip yet, maybe we can change that to 5 star when we come back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Broken when I got it.

02/04/2014
By ,
Castle Rock, CO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ordered these online. When I picked it up at Walmart they looked fine. But after I signed for then I noticed the handle was stuck and would not extend. after opening the bag you could see that it had been bent badly. If it is broken before you even put and stuff in the bag? I took it straight too customer service and had to do a return. Geeze I would have thought American Tourister's quality would have been better than this. I started shopping around and learn that there are a lot better luggage manufactures out there and for the same price. Pass on AT.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

great

02/22/2014
By ,
willis, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Great luggage!

11/08/2012
By ,
Yonkers, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family and I have used this luggage to go on two plane trips (Paris & Bahamas) and several car trips. We had no problems with them and they still look great. Looking forward to using them again on our next trip. Highly recommend them,
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Good variety of sizes

11/11/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I travel frequently on business and can be away overnight up to two weeks. This five piece set allows me to choose the size that fits my needs. It contains three suitcases with two wheels, a folding garment bag for dry cleaned items like suits, and a collapsable duffle bag. They should last a few years with frequent airline trips and much longer if you travel by car where the luggage is not subject to as much wear from rough handling. The larger suitcases are not expandable, so what you see is what you get, but they are plenty roomy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Zipper Broke

11/02/2011
By ,
Morgan Hill, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We used the large suitcase to go to Mexico and the zipper broke before even checking the bag in. We had to tape it. Very disappointed.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Reisterstown, MD
disappointed as well
Posted 03/12/2012
We received this set of luggage as a XMAS gift and used it once to take the family to Florida. On our flight home, the front large zipper on the large piece busted wide open. Funny thing about this was that this set was not the original set I picked out. The person buying it for us read a review about a broken zipper on first time use on the set I chose and thought this set would be better.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Not a good purchase

06/18/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this luggage for a trip to Europe. The luggage set looks good and appears to be pretty durable. We were sure we were getting a good deal since American Tourister is a brand name. However, the zipper on one of the pieces of luggage broke as I was picking it up off of the conveyer belt in the airport and my clothes fell out of the bag and onto the floor. It was embarrassing to say the least! I am very disappointed in this purchase. I would not recommend this luggage to my friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Bad 1st impression

10/04/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would have been great value if it worked as supposed to. Bought set for my 1st cruise, didn't over-pack to leave room for purchases on trip. Only used the 28", garment and carry-on bags. 1st surprised by small 24" garment bag, only long enough for shirts or folded pants, but that was a small inconvenience. Telescoping handle on 28" didn't work after 1st day, could not pull up so had to pull by strap. Porter at dock was able to pull it up because when it was delivered to my room, the handle was up but after I lowered it back down for storage, I couldn't get it back up when ready to leave
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Terrible DO NOT BUY

09/08/2013
By ,
Temple,GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
we bought this luggage set to go on a cruise, the MED. size bag came apart how embarrassing. Try taking your luggage off the ship waiting for your cloths to fall out. Really Wal Mart wht has hppen to your quality of your items.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Missouri
Take it back
Posted 12/01/2013
Take the set back and get a refund, they will stand behind their merchandise!!!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1 2 3 Next