Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for American Tourister American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

American Tourister American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

The American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set in black is the ideal set for those who travel frequently. The set includes five different bag sizes to provide for many kinds of trips - long business trips or short weekend stays. The advantage of having travel luggage sets in the same color scheme is that you will find it easy to identify the bags while travelling. This particular luggage set includes a boarding bag, carry-on upright bag, a 24-inch upright bag, a 28-inch expandable upright bag, and a garment carrier. These American Tourister bags in black are quite durable, as they are made from durable 1200 denier polyester fabric, which is known to be rougher. Maneuvering them is simple too. Each bag has retractable handles with push-button release mechanisms, making it easy to handle or carry. This five-piece luggage set has all the luggage solutions you will require, irrespective of the duration of your trip.
Average Customer Rating:
3.763 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
33
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation81%75 out of 93reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 24 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
33
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Looks nice but that's about it...

10/20/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had an American Tourister Luggage Set that I used HEAVILY for 10 years! It had literally been around the world and back a few times! So naturally I turned back to AT for a new set to replace my great old set. Well this set is super-flimsy and low quality.
The piggy-back option is only on the largest of all the suitcases... ie: you cannot piggyback the roll-aboard bag onto the smaller checked bag. The fabric does look very nice and durable but that is really the only parts that doesn't look and feel cheap. The zippers prior to first use already get stuck on strings and seams. On the biggest suitcase, one of the stoppers in front of the wheels, was missing a screw to hold it in place - I only realized that after taking this on my first trip and it was barely hanging on! I feel like a grandpa saying this... "they just don't make them like they used to"!
Unfortunately my first trip to use this luggage on is an extra long trip and I am still on it... I hope to return the luggage to Wal Mart for a full refund upon my return back to the US and look for a new set :(
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

very disapointed

08/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this probably would of been a great deal if only i had all the pieces when i went to pick up my order. i went to pick it up , thinking it was all coming inside a big box, all new etc.... when the customer rep. came out she was carrying the big bag , unzipped and no other pieces. this was off the floor display and told me to go see if the other 4 pieces were on the shelves. Really now, that is not the service I expected or the fact that I had to go a find all the pieces for this order. I was very upset and requested a refund. After spending over 100 on this I expected better, everything in a packaged box all ready to go, not one piece and search for the rest. Very bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Excellent Quality and Looks

03/14/2014
By ,
Huntington Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hurry! Snap this set up before someone realizes a mistake was
Made somewhere along the line in pricing scheme. The bags are very attractive and well-made. A nice feature is that they all fit nicely inside one another for easy storage. The smallest bag is perfect as a carry on or
A gym bag.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Nice luggage but have problem with handle

11/17/2011
By ,
Charleston, SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Initially I had purchased this set of luggage over 6 years ago. It is a good value for the money but it was getting old and needed to be replaced. I purchased the new set because the small rolling suitcase is the only one which fits in the overhead of the small regional jets. Unfortunately, upon delivery, the small suitcase had a problem with the handle....it would extend up but you could not close it. No problem as I returned the set and ordered another set which arrived without any problems.
The resaon I gave this set only three stars is because the inside of the suitcase is reinforced with plastic which will break after using for some time. Also the case is NOT waterproof and if your luggage is outside the airplane, in the rain, the contents will arrive soaking wet.
Having said all that it is still a great value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Great Set; Horrible Shipping

10/02/2013
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The set is great - great durability, great looks, even better price. the bad part came when the set shipped. We got the big box on our doorstep and it was almost in pieces. the box the set was shipped in was so flimsy that the wheels of the largest piece of luggage were poking through the box. The top was horribly sealed, so the flaps were almost open by the time we got it. Normally, I would say that this was a mistake on the shipping company's part. But in this case, the shipping box that Walmart used was so flimsy that I'm surprised that it wasn't most damaged than it was. Thank goodness the luggage seemed to have suffered no wear and tear. Keep in mind when buying this - the set is great and for a great price, but the shipping can be a risk (unless Walmart improves on its shipping boxes).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Good value

06/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Economical yet one of the more durable luggage sets.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Excellent 5-Piece Luggage Set

09/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like and enjoy the Luggage Set and I would recommend it to someone else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Good Luggage Set for Price

03/13/2011
By ,
Cookeville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I travel 2 - 3,000 mls a wk for work, as well as internationally for pleasure. This set is very well made. The material is very sturdy, and the zippers are good quality. I really liked the expandability feature that allowed me to get that one extra item in without having to cram it in and wrinkle everything. I do wish that the hanging case were a little larger. It only holds 3 or 4 items; anything more and everything is horribly wrinkled. The handles and wheels are also good quality. So far no problems with the wheels breaking, or being shredded by use on less than adequate parking lots.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+129points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

American Tourister at this price: Fantastic

07/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its the best value for money. Given the credibility and quality of American Tourister, the price is great and the quality not only matches the prices but delivers the standard American Tourister quality. I would've given an overall rating of 5 if the bags had 4 wheels instead of two. I mean, even increasing the prices by say 20 or 30 bucks of the package but giving spinner bags would've been the ideal buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Damaged Luggage

07/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The largest piece of the set
was damaged on its first use!
It was promptly replaced
but I fear the next use
(months from now)
will be ineligible for replacement.
Very Dissatisfied
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Sturdy luggage at a great price

02/20/2014
By ,
Warren,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this as a site to store or pick up today order. They pulled it from store shelves and I picked it up next morning. Didn't have to go to 5 different locations to find it. It arrived spotless and attractive. Inspected zippers and all were in excellent working order. The variety of sizes are excellent. My first trip I packed all but the medium suitcase. Stood up well to travel, no wear and tear noted. Everything such as zippers, wheels, handles, and straps still working and undamaged. I am not a big fan of replacing luggage so I picked this basic, rugged looking set. I totally recommend this set. Doesn't show dirt, and all 5 pieces fit well inside each other for storage. For a moderate or light traveler these will be perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Very Helpful for what I needed

02/21/2011
By ,
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Additional color selection would be nice. Also woild have been helpful to have luggage tags. Very happy with the product,especially for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

LOVED IT IT WORKED PERFECTLY

09/07/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The price was nice and the quality was great. What makes this product so valuable to me is that I dont have to use all the pieces . I can select certain pieces that I need depending on my travel status.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

American Tourister 5 piece luggage set

07/09/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great value! The garment bag was not a true piece of luggage for flying but is good for car travel. The luggage served our family well from car to plane to ship and back! Still excellent condition.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black
08/05/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was really excited when I ordered this luggage set, since I hadnt ever bought luggage before. We travel 2-4 times a year. This set is awesome. The large suitcase is very spacious and perfect. The only thing I wish, is that the medium size suitcase had the extra inch that the big one does, the one where you unzip that extra little bit. Its not a huge issue, I just need to push everything down more :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Absolute garbage

07/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The suitcase broke the first time I used it, leaving me struggling on a trip to Europe. Coming apart at seams, handle won't come out. A complete waste of money--and worse, since I now have to manage somehow for the rest of the trip.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Exactly what I wanted!

08/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this luggage piece to transport my belonging to and from college. The price for this set was great too! Anywhere else would be really pricey. I haven't actually used it yet, but everything seems to fit inside the suitcases exactly the way I wanted. I'd definitely recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Great Luggage

08/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Survived its first trip, looking for to many more trips with this set
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Great buy!

08/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great sizes, sturdy, appealing and I am very happy with the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
earth
you gave the wrong star rating
Posted 08/24/2014
you gave this 1 star instead of 5. since you liked this product you should update your review..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for American Tourister 5-Piece Luggage Set, Black

Sturdy, well made luggage

08/27/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are ones to read the reviews on a product before purchase. Our trip to Europe isn't till December and we saw this American Tourister 5 pc set for a great price. All the reviews were great! The other brands got poor reviews and some luggages did not make it to thier destination in one piece due to poor manufacturing. A.T. luggage made by Samsonite is made well and durable, and the brand has been around a long time. The 4 star rating is for price, ruggedness, and we have not made the trip yet, maybe we can change that to 5 star when we come back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 72 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next